• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

DBS says $500K not enough for Sinkies to retire. Wah lau eh!!

both me n wife only early 30, retire then too sian at home.

Even I don't spend money but I will not retire till I accumulate at least 800k cash. Otherwise I don't feel song.
Oh if early 30 i think not enough liao you still have a long way to survive.

Cost is one thing. The quality of life is even more important when you are old.

The quality of healthcare (at least for the lesser mortals) is nothing to shout about. There are also too many people and not a lot of nature spots.

So many health hazards are now becoming a part of Spore e.g, errant bicycle & car users, dengue, SARs & now the haze.

Something I've noticed is that the PSI readings have stayed in the ranges of 60 to 80 despite the rains. Makes me wonder if the problem is homegrown from the practice of incinerating our rubbish & having so many cars in Spore:confused:

Cost is one thing. The quality of life is even more important when you are old....
Yes, quality of life is the most important. Some misunderstood that money can buy quality of life. Some basic qualities that money can't buy are :

1. Able to walk briskly, climb steps effortlessly and jump
2. Bladder control
3. Able to take a 17 h flight
4. Better memories
... and many more simple tasks that I never thought would be of concern when I was younger.

Like an old man, no amount of money can buy him the ability to stand up independently again. So what use is the millions of dollars.

Even I don't spend money but I will not retire till I accumulate at least 800k cash. Otherwise I don't feel song.
Oh if early 30 i think not enough liao you still have a long way to survive.

yes, i hope i am an old man or a dying man.

Like an old man, no amount of money can buy him the ability to stand up independently again. So what use is the millions of dollars.

So that he don't have to stand independently when he can't:confused:

Kindly point out where we can get 5%. Most mortals are getting only 2.5% in their CPF. If you can get 5%, I suggest u start your own financial company for investors.

Just dump all your money into SPY for 30 years. An annual savings of $10k over 30 years will give $1.3 million.

Greedy PAP won't let you do it because then they cannot use your money to make money for themselves.

But Singapore healthcare outcomes number 1 in the world why u worry?if u move elsewhere the outcome may not be as desirable.

Have been looking at LOS because they have a reasonably good hospitals. Many of the specialists there have been trained in the US.

I think just as important is the environment. Many towns in LOS are healthier e.g. less stress, less pollution, more space,...

Yes, quality of life is the most important. Some misunderstood that money can buy quality of life. Some basic qualities that money can't buy are :

1. Able to walk briskly, climb steps effortlessly and jump
2. Bladder control
3. Able to take a 17 h flight
4. Better memories
... and many more simple tasks that I never thought would be of concern when I was younger.

If u have millions u have the option of dieing with dignity and not wobbling around uselessly in a McDonalds and having a pinoy manager abuse you for being slow and stupid.

Have been looking at LOS because they have a reasonably good hospitals. Many of the specialists there have been trained in the US.

I think just as important is the environment. Many towns in LOS are healthier e.g. less stress, less pollution, more space,...

whats LOS?the communist republic of Laos of south east asia? or los angeles?how can healthcare in US be cheap?

I think ok too. Staying in that type of environment will be healthier and may avoid the old age problems that arises if stay in sg environment.

If u have millions u have the option of dieing with dignity and not wobbling around uselessly in a McDonalds and having a pinoy manager abuse you for being slow and stupid.
I think we are talking of different old man. I agree with you.

I think ok too. Staying in that type of environment will be healthier and may avoid the old age problems that arises if stay in sg environment.

If you use the cheaper Ruko hotels in Batam you will notice that they start off being a great bargain. Over time things get run down e.g. old furniture breaking, beds springs sagging, aircon not so good,....
The same thing is happening in Spore. The owner of Spore is focusing on profits & not paying attention to the hotel. Even when they renovate it is to make $ & not to improve the hotel.

What people do is to simply to go to the newer hotels. Must take the same attitude because Spore does not really belong to us, it belongs to the famiLee.

Batam is a good place for a short break but doesn't have the infrastructure of LOS.

Strangely why do singaporean allows Spore to belong to famiLee.

People are too afraid to talk about politics openly in Spore because they don't know who is listening. This fear extends to the voting booth as there are rumours of civil servants being fixed if they vote for the wrong party. Whether or not this is true, the fear is there.

However I think the PAP has finally pushed Sporeans too far. It has become a matter of financial survival that even the 60% cannot ignore eg. CPF, the rising costs in Spore.

People are too afraid to talk about politics openly in Spore because they don't know who is listening. This fear extends to the voting booth as there are rumours of civil servants being fixed if they vote for the wrong party. Whether or not this is true, the fear is there.

However I think the PAP has finally pushed Sporeans too far. It has become a matter of financial survival that even the 60% cannot ignore eg. CPF, the rising costs in Spore.

Hopefully Singaporean and reclaim back Singapore from famiLee in 2016.

If you use the cheaper Ruko hotels in Batam you will notice that they start off being a great bargain. Over time things get run down e.g. old furniture breaking, beds springs sagging, aircon not so good,....
The same thing is happening in Spore. The owner of Spore is focusing on profits & not paying attention to the hotel. Even when they renovate it is to make $ & not to improve the hotel.

What people do is to simply to go to the newer hotels. Must take the same attitude because Spore does not really belong to us, it belongs to the famiLee.

Batam is a good place for a short break but doesn't have the infrastructure of LOS.

I am looking at Mudland. Good option imo.