• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Couple guilty of sedition

@rmadill0

In my opinion, these 2 fellas deserved to be punished. Although I no PAP supporter, but I support harsh punishment dealt to fundies like them. Due to our dedicated social fabric, we cannot allow people like them to talk ill about others' religion. Riots arising from such hatred can be disastrous. I do not care much about whether this will affect our economy of whatsoever. I just know that my love ones are in Singapore and they might get hurt for no reason because of some stupid idiots like them who stir up a storm.

TeeKee

i disagree with you.

people emotions get stirred up whether it is true or not. if they did get stirred up in the first place.

people should control their emotions...

not depending on the state to prevent their emotions from blowing up.

so what happens to the ah pek kena punched by the ah beng until bloody? non sizeable and civil case?

see what i mean? strange laws in sgp we have..

@rmadill0

I do agree with you that there are some laws (and even sentencing) here that are strange. But when it comes to actions like this that could incite hatred among religious or racial groups, I support the authorities to come down hard. This is because the consequences is dire is we allow such things to go unchecked. Imagine these 2 fundies are able to rally enough people to join them, pissed off more muslims and triggered a riot? I can assure you that the Muslims will not check with the Chinese they whack what god they pray to.

TeeKee

I do agree with you that there are some laws (and even sentencing) here that are strange. But when it comes to actions like this that could incite hatred among religious or racial groups, I support the authorities to come down hard. This is because the consequences is dire is we allow such things to go unchecked. Imagine these 2 fundies are able to rally enough people to join them, pissed off more muslims and triggered a riot? I can assure you that the Muslims will not check with the Chinese they whack what god they pray to.

so are you saying we should convict based only on assumptions?

anybody could arbitarily arrest people and convict them based on certain assumptions?

do you feel free living in such draconian state?

commoner

i don't think they are really fundies at all,,,,,

i have seen some proclaimed God's law is more important than the laws of man, and God's command to spread the gospel is bigger than the laws in Singapore, etc etc,,,,, but when they know about they can be jailed if they continue, they shut up already,,,,,

TeeKee

i don't think they are really fundies at all,,,,,

i have seen some proclaimed God's law is more important than the laws of man, and God's command to spread the gospel is bigger than the laws in Singapore, etc etc,,,,, but when they know about they can be jailed if they continue, they shut up already,,,,,

Jesus salvation is more important than God's law..

But God should be on top of all hierachy...including the state, because the state comprises of all sinners...believers and non believers.

That's from Christian way of thinking....

Of course they shut up if they know they will be jailed....if they jailed, how can they continue go spreading the gospel?

I admire those who carry on speaking for God even when they are jailed or killed....

they deserved my respect for being so faithful to God all the way to the end....i donno if i can do that.....

but many non believers on seeing that, will definitely convert, i can assure you that...that's the beauty of God's grace...

Once again, God works in mysterious ways!

SneeringTree

Wah had tendency can get up to 3 years max?

Actually Long See Lang can get you free from jail.

What kind of law is this??

This law beri strange leh, the couples are not inciting hatred or violence against others...

they are just providing truthful information.

people who incite violence or hatred against others should be the ones arrested and jailed instead...

The Sedition Act precisely says the tendency to incite is enough to convict.

commoner

it would be damn funny when....

TeeKee passed on, reach the pearly gates, get a summon to see God and find God is LKY incarnate

hahaha

@rmadill0

so are you saying we should convict based only on assumptions?

anybody could arbitarily arrest people and convict them based on certain assumptions?

do you feel free living in such draconian state?

No, we cannot convict based on assumption if the law need the intention to be proven. In this case, the intention is clear. Common sense will tell me that I should not give a publication that talk bad about their religion to my Malay neighbours. It is clear to see their intention, is to incite hatred. There is no assumption here. Unless you tell me these 2 fundies are low IQ (aka retarded) or they are 7 years old. Then I say we can just give them achance and guide them onto the right path.

In short, in Singapore, racial and religious harmony must be maintained at all cost!

bella

Teekee - this is a clear cut case. Use common sense and dont use your emotions.
What if it is the other way round - the non-christians giving publications / brochures on anti-christ and anti-christians ?
and then you allow the hindus to circulate anti-muslims and anti-christians and so on .. can you imagine wat will happen in the end ?
punitive punishment must be metted out so that others will know that this is serious and should not be done !

TeeKee

Teekee - this is a clear cut case. Use common sense and dont use your emotions.
What if it is the other way round - the non-christians giving publications / brochures on anti-christ and anti-christians ?
and then you allow the hindus to circulate anti-muslims and anti-christians and so on .. can you imagine wat will happen in the end ?
punitive punishment must be metted out so that others will know that this is serious and should not be done !

i think christians are more tolerant about this...

see how many times christians kena bashed recently?

did they fight back? :biggrin:

who knows, only when you have more information, you finally can get to your only true God?

sometimes i find that there aren't enough discussions to understand more about one faith, for the fear of offending others...the depth is not there....

mercbenz

I say Yay to that! Fundamentalist retards. Does strong faith means a reduction of the IQ? Seems like so. Both high flyers and yet because of their faith, went and commit a stupid act, just like the other one, that Feminist Mentor.

TeeKee

I say Yay to that! Fundamentalist retards. Does strong faith means a reduction of the IQ? Seems like so. Both high flyers and yet because of their faith, went and commit a stupid act, just like the other one, that Feminist Mentor.

i wonder if that UBS lady will spill the beans on Ofart's networth...:biggrin:

or they are there to simply put on a good show?

TeeKee

Eh, if you are so perturbed by this case, write to the press to express your solidarity with the charged couple. You seem to think that what they did was not wrong.

how can doing God's work be wrong? :biggrin:

we are talking about God man....not some kuching kurat fallible mortals...

apogee

how can doing God's work be wrong? :biggrin:

we are talking about God man....not some kuching kurat fallible mortals...

How can passing on tracts they do not themselves read be doing God's work. They are just like passing on trash. If they do not read it - why ask others to read?

mscitw

these fanatics must be smashed as soon as possible.

these fools actually believe they have a place in paradise and infidels are bound for the hell fire! cheap logic, they ought to ask the jews to give them a better translation of the Old Testament.

despite their setback, these fanatics actually think they are martyrs and are undergoing trials and tribulations to test their faith?!

Despite their relative pious holier than thou logic, hong and yang were silent, contented with bashing bapoks and not lending a hand to these two misguided idiots.

those converted baboons did not realize the main aim of the missionaries is to supplant local idols after their near total defeat in modern Europe and America.