• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Confirm SAF is ROTTON, corroded valves downed Apach & broke tail

matamafia

LIAR TEO fuck spider!

Rotten valves on both engines still insisted no maintenance lapses.:confused::oIo::mad::mad::mad::mad::oIo::oIo:

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_592159.html#

sgapache.jpg

Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Oct 18, 2010
Apache had corroded valves
By Jeremy Au Yong
The emergency landing of the Apache helicopter in Woodlands was caused by corroded valves in the aircraft's engines. -- ST PHOTO: CAROLINE CHIA

THE emergency landing of the Apache helicopter in Woodlands last month was caused by corroded valves in the aircraft's engines.

Defence Minister Teo Chee ____ revealed the outcome of the investigations into the incident in Parliament on Monday.

He explained that a component known as the anti-ice start bleed valve, which is found in both engines of the Apache, had corroded over time. And this ultimately led to both engines shutting down.

This is the first such instance of the defect being discovered and Mr Teo ruled out manufacturing defects or maintenance lapses.

He added that the Ministry of Defence is working with the manufacturer of the helicopter to see if maintenance procedures need to be modified so that a similar corrosion is prevented, or if it can be detected and corrected should it occur.

He also commended the two pilots for doing the right thing in landing the helicopter in an open field.

The pilots had put the helicopter down in an open field in Woodlands. The tail of aircraft broke off when it hit the ground. Fortunately, no one was hurt in the incident.

Yoshitei

THE emergency landing of the Apache helicopter in Woodlands last month was caused by corroded valves in the aircraft's engines.

Defence Minister Teo Chee ____ revealed the outcome of the investigations into the incident in Parliament on Monday.

He explained that a component known as the anti-ice start bleed valve, which is found in both engines of the Apache, had corroded over time. And this ultimately led to both engines shutting down.

This is the first such instance of the defect being discovered and Mr Teo ruled out manufacturing defects or maintenance lapses.

So it was designed to corrode?

If it wasn't designed to corrode, then how did it happen and nobody knew?

Maintenance lapses?

the only reason those people sign on the apache team was to go to USA for training aka holiday for years. They can enjoy USA nature and also go to Las Vegas to gamble.
They was not there to learn about maintenance. They were there to learn about gambling.
Now it is very clear for us to see.

blackmore

I really wonder if the fault is not with the manufacturers or the local maintenance crew; does it means that nobody is liable and move on with life and write off the equipment?:confused:

Does it mean the local maintenance crew being paid handsomely can;t detect problems if it is not stated in procedures/manuals.

matamafia

Why don't have that piece of expensive junk fall straight from sky into the NDP crowd. In Iraq the farmers shot them down with hunting guns.:p

Be surely prepared for these SAF junks to fall from sky into our blocks of HDB flats.:oIo:

Waoh both engine valve fail at the same time. Hit jackpot !
Corrosion take time and the maintenace crew never check.

cooleo

Maybe that explains why there are always so many fucking technicians in overalls resting in air-conditioned lounge and playing pool at Paya Lebar Airbase. Too bochup!

moolightaffairs

alamak! malu lah!!! those who study engineering will know! those apache not design for local fucking humid climate and air here always salty! should have modify it before fully operational. what the fuck happened with all the saf scholars!!!!! study so much but such an easy thing never thought of! knn!!! :oIo: that RA teo still said those copters will be fully operational again in the pariahment!!! more will fall off the sky in the future if they never rectify this engineering issue.

Wah... every year the defence budget is so huge and yet they still screwed up.

Your taxpayer's money, hard at work. :wink:

Yoshitei

alamak! malu lah!!! those who study engineering will know! those apache not design for local fucking humid climate and air here always salty! should have modify it before fully operational. what the fuck happened with all the saf scholars!!!!! study so much but such an

You don't see continental cars rusting?

Given that the engines are GE turboshafts, they're gonna be running so hot it's not easy to corrode.

allanlee

I really wonder if the fault is not with the manufacturers or the local maintenance crew; does it means that nobody is liable and move on with life and write off the equipment?:confused:

Does it mean the local maintenance crew being paid handsomely can;t detect problems if it is not stated in procedures/manuals.

The problem valves lies INSIDE the engine...... which maintenance crew will dismantle the whole engine to do routine maintenance check? The Apache engine is not so simple like your car engine. :rolleyes:

moolightaffairs

You don't see continental cars rusting?

Given that the engines are GE turboshafts, they're gonna be running so hot it's not easy to corrode.

bro, u in engineering? once u kena the humidity and the salt in the air here, the heat will increase the rate of rusting.

Yoshitei

bro, u in engineering? once u kena the humidity and the salt in the air here, the heat will increase the rate of rusting.

Correct me if I'm wrong.

Unless the Apaches are LST based, I don't see how much more humidity and salt would their engines see compared to an F16, UH-1 or 747 for that matter.

If the Apache is parked for long, yes perhaps corrosion may set in. But once the engine heats up and the bird lifts off?

Spore brand is not what it used to be. I wonder if in the past, the cover ups were more successful :confused:

Nowadays got man made floods, poorly maintained aircraft, ... how about the mrt breakdowns :confused: Sure got attempts at covering up, it seems SOP with GLCs :rolleyes:

Blame it all on the Act of god lah

moolightaffairs

Correct me if I'm wrong.

Unless the Apaches are LST based, I don't see how much more humidity and salt would their engines see compared to an F16, UH-1 or 747 for that matter.

If the Apache is parked for long, yes perhaps corrosion may set in. But once the engine heats up and the bird lifts off?

bro, u fly a few round then u land. then u fly again. u see???