• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Common S’pore identity has yet to develop: Former president Nathan

Wildfire

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/common-s’pore-identity-has-yet-to-develop--former-president-nathan.html

Do we have a unique Singaporean identity?

Former President of Singapore S.R Nathan does not think so

============================================================================

I begged to defer! We had it ... but we lost it in less than one generation!

1. I remembered very vividly the social cohesion we had in from the 70's to the early 90's. Examples abound but to quote a few:-

• a. The immense sense of proud come every August when we hung the national flag, sang the national songs, donned the colors and congregated to watch the parade.
  • b. The Malaysia Cup and the Kallang Roar! The feeling of "One united people, regardless of race, langauge and religion!"
  • c. The "Kampong" spirit where we never had a problem with integration with New Citizens and via versa!

2. Our first generation leaders consciously created and "built" by policies, directives, and educational campaigns a uniquely Singaporean Identity based on meritocracy.
We will be cosmopolitan but will retain our Asian roots and Confucius values !

Today, meritocracy is just another buzzword.

Take for example many of today's transport woes, the first thing you read on the MSM is that we are not the worst quoting examples from "experts" and "well-travelled" reporters!

It's like when your child failed in a school examination and when reprimanded turns around and tell you that he is not the last in class!

In a world of 7 billion people and over 100 countries negative examples abound!

Today our Asian roots and Confucius values are also under severe threats!

Our national service institution is mudded with the influx of FTs and questions that need clarification on "White Horse" policy, 7x24 Singapore Pools betting and Casino to name a few!

Bigfuck

He is lost. He is from a generation before there was even Singapore. So no point listening to him. He was born not as a Singaporean.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/common-s’pore-identity-has-yet-to-develop--former-president-nathan.html

Do we have a unique Singaporean identity?

Former President of Singapore S.R Nathan does not think so

============================================================================

[*]a. The immense sense of proud come every August when we hung the national flag, sang the national songs, donned the colors and congregated to watch the parade.
[/LIST]
  • b. The Malaysia Cup and the Kallang Roar! The feeling of "One united people, regardless of race, langauge and religion!"

• Agree... Malaysia Cup back then really unified the whole country. You see our Chinese, Malays, Indians and Eurasians packing the old Kallang Stadium to support the Lions. Same thing with the National Day Parades . So much pride reciting the National Pledge. Back then it is a must for the whole family every year on 9th August to turn on the TV to watch the Parade. But sadly its not the same anymore now.

Prata Man is talking cock when he said that Spore has yet to forge a common identity. Where the hell was he all these years???? :confused: He living in Zimbabwe???:rolleyes: He's out of touch with the common man after years of living in the Istana. He should look around him. Its foreigners everywhere in Spore. Too many foreigners of different culture and backgrounds swarming our tiny island. And these Foreigners also fail to integrate with our way of lives thus causing frictions.

We certainly had one. We use to go to each other's homes no matter what race or religion. Couple of factors screwed it up.
1) Racial quotas for HDB
2) Creating self-help group along racial lines
3) establishing SAP schools which are obviously racial and providing clear and superior facilities
4) GRC with minorities that ride on coat-tails that does nothing for their community
5) Islamic fundamentalism rearing its head
6) Increased immigration along racial creating further sub-divisions
7) Continued emphasis of the euphemism "bilingualism"
8) Role of various sub-groups from Malay Community leaders, Chinese Language Teachers union to leverage their clout to seek rewards and special position for their own members at the expense of a national identity.
9) Role of People's association who are more focused on organising transport and lunch for PAP supporters than build a cohesive society.

There has never been an agenda to bring Singaporeans together. Asking TKL and NTUC to create national dress tells how much they value this.

dredd

There is no Sinkee culture, and there never will be. We are a melting pot of different peoples mainly from China, India and indigenous Malays. So although we are Singaporeans, our stock is different. We are not a homogeneous society like Japan, korea or Italy. The Italians, especially, are very protective over their breed. The Italian footballer Bolitelli who currently plays for Man City, although born and raised in Italy, is not considered an Italian by Italians. Chants of : "There are no Black Italians" when he plays in Italy says it all.

kingrant

Raja was the one who tried hard to inculcate a Singaporean identity with mutliracialism as core values. When he was retired, LKY faced no more resistance and moved onto deliberately to sinicise Singapore his way, esp after the 80s when he had stopped the radical and more vocal brand of Chinese groups post Nanyang. Old Man hmself had realised that perhaps he had overkilled the Nantah lobby. LKY sinicisation policy was to embed Chinese characterisitcs to run the place. Obviously this is to keep at bay historical legacy that harks back to malay grandeur, archipelago, islam civilisation. To support Sinicisation, he launched speak mandarin campaigns, etc with the opening up of China. However, Chinese values also bring along materialism and moneytheism, where the electorate leaves politics to the PAP while they make money. This suits the PAP. Today, we dont have a Singapore identity because the PAP plays the chinese card all the way. The grad mum scheme was to benefit Chinese families indirectly, so was SAP etc. The butt to kick is LKY. Nathan is just another parrot.

We certainly had one. We use to go to each other's homes no matter what race or religion. Couple of factors screwed it up.
1) Racial quotas for HDB
2) Creating self-help group along racial lines
3) establishing SAP schools which are obviously racial and providing clear and superior facilities
4) GRC with minorities that ride on coat-tails that does nothing for their community
5) Islamic fundamentalism rearing its head
6) Increased immigration along racial creating further sub-divisions
7) Continued emphasis of the euphemism "bilingualism"
8) Role of various sub-groups from Malay Community leaders, Chinese Language Teachers union to leverage their clout to seek rewards and special position for their own members at the expense of a national identity.
9) Role of People's association who are more focused on organising transport and lunch for PAP supporters than build a cohesive society.

There has never been an agenda to bring Singaporeans together. Asking TKL and NTUC to create national dress tells how much they value this.

There is no Sinkee culture, and there never will be. We are a melting pot of different peoples mainly from China, India and indigenous Malays.

The trouble is with PAP racially based policies under the euphemistic guises of multiculturalism, bilingualism and globalism etc., Singapore has never been a melting pot. It's a mess of various pots. All PAP wants is more money through boosting economic numbers through whatever means and maintaining the divide-and-rule.

me like 2 hear ah u's hard tooth version ... :eek:

achery hor,
i tink hor, der momen we can see another kaki lang, oledy show we got yew nic idendidi.
like hor, u go oversea hor, u hear far far got peepur say loud loud like bird like that: chip chip chip.
yah, is liddat, u can double confirm, u sure noe si sinkapoorlian. chop and money back gehlantee
yah, liddat lah, who say sinkapoorlian bo idendidi?

dredd

The trouble is with PAP racially based policies under the euphemistic guises of multiculturalism, bilingualism and globalism etc., Singapore has never been a melting pot. It's a mess of various pots. All PAP wants is more money through boosting economic numbers through whatever means and maintaining the divide-and-rule.

The Peranakan is a good example of a sub-culture.

freedalas

This is scientifically known as the "Silent Minority" syndrome! What to expect from 1/3 President?

Actually the true reason why Nathan made those remarks is due to an incident when he was still the President.

Apparently President Nathan accompanied a dignitary and his entourage who were here for a state visit to Changi Airport for their flight home. As Nathan bade the dignitary goodbye with well wishes, the dignitary thanked him profusely for the hospitality and went on to say "I really love India and would want to come visit India again very soon". Nathan was too shell shocked to respond but after the dignitary had left, he asked the MFA officials why he mentioned India. They sheepishly told him that the dignitary in seeing Nathan being an Indian unconsciously thought he was leaving India!!!

So till this day, Nathan feels that others still see as us as Indians, Malays, Chinese or Eurasians but never as S'poreans. Why even the President is being seen as the Indian President and not the S'pore President.

Varuna

Why even the President is being seen as the Indian President and not the S'pore President.

I was in Banglaore airport some 7 over years ago and the staff asked where I came from. I told him I was from Singapore. The next moment he proudly declared Nathan was from his home town. I did not know what to say and just smiled at him, thinking, "So what, you want to come over and become our next PM?" :biggrin:

steffychun

Agree... Malaysia Cup back then really unified the whole country. You see our Chinese, Malays, Indians and Eurasians packing the old Kallang Stadium to support the Lions. Same thing with the National Day Parades . So much pride reciting the National Pledge. Back then it is a must for the whole family every year on 9th August to turn on the TV to watch the Parade. But sadly its not the same anymore now.

Prata Man is talking cock when he said that Spore has yet to forge a common identity. Where the hell was he all these years???? :confused: He living in Zimbabwe???:rolleyes: He's out of touch with the common man after years of living in the Istana. He should look around him. Its foreigners everywhere in Spore. Too many foreigners of different culture and backgrounds swarming our tiny island. And these Foreigners also fail to integrate with our way of lives thus causing frictions.

There is far more national pride in Zimbabwe.