• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Class C wards are highly affordable

• Thread starter Thread starter suicidalpap
  • Start date Start date
This lady works for a kind of Singapore public medical admission dept and she even say, those who are paying FULL fees...like foreigners and richer patients...get their appointments slot into the full schedules bec. the specialists earn more from them.

I personally had that experience some 20 years ago. My daughter was admitted to a Singapore govt. hospital and we could afford the A class with enhanced facilities and so she was scheduled as the first patient to be operated on.

Those in the so-call class C subsidized category were scheduled in the late afternoon and their operations were postphoned 3 to 4 times because the excuse was they needed more test or the surgents operations took too much of their time and overlap into the late afternoon operation.

Any reader can always check those in the class C ward and see when their oeprations are sheduled and also check with the class A ward.

True, Class A can get appointment easily while Class C will need to wait for months. Class C can't choose the doctor while Class A can choose the doctor and to pay more for senior doctor. But when it comes to the actual operation, all wait outside the operating room, Class A, B or C. Well that was my personal experience at SGH several years ago, I remember there was this big waiting area where they put all the movable op tables with patients lying on them, waiting outside the ops rooms and I was one of them.

You paid for A, B, C or in Cowbunga class ( health minister) class? ;)

Very soon many will not able to pay for the medical fee. Because more and more unemploy/self employ with no medisave also not buying any insurance.

I'm only experienced with TTSH wards, not SGH or other hospitals. But I know that SGH Class C is 9-bedded whereas that of TTSH is 6-bedded, but TTSH is correspondingly more expensive, about S$50+ to S$30+ at SGH.

At those rates, basic warding charges per night is the last of the patient's worry. It's the medical, surgical and nursing costs that rake up the bill. I estimate Class C bills to be subsidised at 60+% and B2 at 40+%. I don't think Class B1 is subsidised at all and I'm sure A isn't subsidised at all.

The implication of your class of ward on your subsidies is beyong just the bed charges per day. It applies across to all costs incurred on your bill. Nothing is free and every item is charged from X-rays, scans, tests, drip packs, operation, injection and medication right down to meals and even napkins. These can be very expensive even after subsidies.

One thing I find objectionable is charge for blood packs in case of blood transfusion not by direct donation. All the blood in the blood bank are procured through public donation. Why are they charging for it? I was a blood donor in my healthier days. It irks me that they're selling it.

wahlaneh...
ramseth, dun forget got such thing as mean testing ok?
if u live in prime area eg bukit timah and u drive saloon car to work n u opt for C class bed chances are ur bill will be tagged as A class rated.
u r right bro, every consumable item and even non-consumable item is charged eg adult diapers, cotton ball swabs, blood pressure machine, i/v drips, ur daily meals, toilet papers, etc...

You paid for A, B, C or in Cowbunga class ( health minister) class? ;)

I paid for A under insurance but no such luck to pay $8 :) My insurance then didn't cover GST and consumables and this two items already a few hundred.

After this experience, I decided to upgrade my shield plan to private hospital but too bad already got one exclusion due to this op. So for those who are hale and hearty with no medical condition, better to get the highest grade insurance possible, easier to downgrade then upgrade next time.

ramseth, dun forget got such thing as mean testing ok?
if u live in prime area eg bukit timah and u drive saloon car to work n u opt for C class bed chances are ur bill will be tagged as A class rated.
u r right bro, every consumable item and even non-consumable item is charged eg adult diapers, cotton ball swabs, blood pressure machine, i/v drips, ur daily meals, toilet papers, etc...

Yeah, I think if your IC shows private property and you ask for Class C or B1, they'd subject you to means testing.

I paid for A under insurance but no such luck to pay $8 :) My insurance then didn't cover GST and consumables and this two items already a few hundred.

After this experience, I decided to upgrade my shield plan to private hospital but too bad already got one exclusion due to this op. So for those who are hale and hearty with no medical condition, better to get the highest grade insurance possible, easier to downgrade then upgrade next time.

Uniquely Singapore, tax you for hospitalisation and taxes not covered by insurance. I think it's not a good idea to switch insurance plans after hospitalisation and exclusion sets in, since the ailment you're most vulnerable to is excluded, regardless of the Class, and including ailments developed later attributable to the original and excluded ailment. Anyway, what's done is done. Eat well, live well and wish you all the best.

Thank you for your well wishes. Health is indeed the most important..

Oh I didn't switch plan, only dropped one plan and upgrade the remaining plan...but don't ask me why I had two health insurance plans in the first place, on hindsight very silly since can only claim from one :p

Thank you for your well wishes. Health is indeed the most important..

Oh I didn't switch plan, only dropped one plan and upgrade the remaining plan...but don't ask me why I had two health insurance plans in the first place, on hindsight very silly since can only claim from one :p

According to the Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan, you can claim from two plans, one "shield" plan and one "private" plan. That's how he ended up paying S$8 only.

hahaha...so how can Cow pay only $8?
Is he lying?

According to the Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan, you can claim from two plans, one "shield" plan and one "private" plan. That's how he ended up paying S$8 only.

hahaha....My question to our learned FP is that is this possible when Insurance do not cover GST as you pointed out earlier?

I have an Incomeshield Plan B under NTUC Income, not under CPF. Is that considered "shield" or "private" plan. What's the difference?

hahaha....My question to our learned FP is that is this possible when Insurance do not cover GST as you pointed out earlier?

I went through the policy document. No mention of excluding GST on claims. In fact GST is charged on the premiums. As GST is charged on the premiums, should the claims include GST on the bills as well?

It was Ginfreely who's insurance didn't cover GST. I don't know what's that policy. My experience is that claim is assessed on the whole bill, including GST. I can't be knowing well every policy in the market.

I have an Incomeshield Plan B under NTUC Income, not under CPF. Is that considered "shield" or "private" plan. What's the difference?

I went through the policy document. No mention of excluding GST on claims. In fact GST is charged on the premiums. As GST is charged on the premiums, should the claims include GST on the bills as well?

A "shield" plan is one that you can pay premium from your CPF even if the insurer is a private company like Pru, AIA or GE. NTUC Incomeshield is of course a "shield" plan. A "private" plan is any other plan paid in cash.

"Shield" plans are generally cheaper but comes with lots of conditions, e.g. higher co-insurance and deductibles to qualify as a CPF "shield" plan. Claims usually range between 30 to 60% of bills. "Private" plans are generally more expensive but covers more of course, 100% coverage is also available if you're able and willing to pay the higer premium in cash.

Serious?! Yeah that's what I had previously, one shield plan and one "private" plan. Was told I can only claim from one plan, so claimed from the "private" plan since it has no deductible and no co-insurance. But after claiming, found that GST and consumables not reimbursed, was told that as the plan was under "general insurance", they don't reimburse GST for general insurance. Accepted the explanation but didn't understand why though. :confused:

It was Ginfreely who's insurance didn't cover GST. I don't know what's that policy. My experience is that claim is assessed on the whole bill, including GST. I can't be knowing well every policy in the market.

Yeah it is a general insurance health plan, not under shield plan. :)

Serious?! Yeah that's what I had previously, one shield plan and one "private" plan. Was told I can only claim from one plan, so claimed from the "private" plan since it has no deductible and no co-insurance. But after claiming, found that GST and consumables not reimbursed, was told that as the plan was under "general insurance", they don't reimburse GST for general insurance. Accepted the explanation but didn't understand why though. :confused:

Who advised you that claim procedure?

The first claim should be from the shield plan. After the limits are reached, your Medisave would be deducted in cash (not the same as claim). If even after deducting Medisave, still insufficient to cover the bill, you have to pay more cash. Then you take the Medisave bill and the cash bill to your private plan insurer to claim the balance up to your policy limits. On admissible claims, your Medisave would be reimbursed first. If your cash claims exceed Medisave disbursements, the rest would be paid to you in cash. All in all, the indemnity principle of health (and general) insurance applies - you cannot profit from being hospitalised, i.e. claim more than your bill. However, I'm still clueless about the GST exclusion.

Who advised you that claim procedure?

The first claim should be from the shield plan. After the limits are reached, your Medisave would be deducted in cash (not the same as claim). If even after deducting Medisave, still insufficient to cover the bill, you have to pay more cash. Then you take the Medisave bill and the cash bill to your private plan insurer to claim the balance up to your policy limits. On admissible claims, your Medisave would be reimbursed first. If your cash claims exceed Medisave disbursements, the rest would be paid to you in cash. All in all, the indemnity principle of health (and general) insurance applies - you cannot profit from being hospitalised, i.e. claim more than your bill. However, I'm still clueless about the GST exclusion.

The general insurance company lor. Never heard from them the first claim should be from the shield plan. I paid by cash, didn't use Medisave, so my claim procedure was basically just payment and then claimed the entire bill from the insurance company and then they reimbursed me in cash after deducting whatever they said non-claimable like the GST.

I see. That means you didn't sign any Medisave/Medishield authorisation to begin with during your hospitalisation. The hospital just billed you in cash, you paid up in cash, then go claim for insurance reimbursements.

A "shield" plan is one that you can pay premium from your CPF even if the insurer is a private company like Pru, AIA or GE. NTUC Incomeshield is of course a "shield" plan. A "private" plan is any other plan paid in cash.

"Shield" plans are generally cheaper but comes with lots of conditions, e.g. higher co-insurance and deductibles to qualify as a CPF "shield" plan. Claims usually range between 30 to 60% of bills. "Private" plans are generally more expensive but covers more of course, 100% coverage is also available if you're able and willing to pay the higer premium in cash.

Thanks. That means if I don't have a private plan on top of my shield plan, 40 to 70% has to come from my Medisave and/or cash. :(

Usually, up to the first S$2,000 to 3,000 would have to have come from your Medisave or cash before Medishield starts to be claimable if you don't have a private plan to cover the deductible and co-insurance.

However, don't be mistaken. I'm neither selling nor advocating private healthcare plan. It can be expensive and depends on personal circumstance.

I see. That means you didn't sign any Medisave/Medishield authorisation to begin with during your hospitalisation. The hospital just billed you in cash, you paid up in cash, then go claim for insurance reimbursements.

yeah thought i'll save trouble to pay first and then claim from insurance rather than use medisave..