• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Civil War is brewing in SGP soon??

TeeKee

Civil war is brewing in SGP....40% Sinkies married FTs.

wait and see...

Fewer PRC nationals than reported

THE Special Report, 'Young dragons' (Nov 22) gave some gross overestimates of the number of PRC nationals in Singapore.

Our records show that the total number of persons from all Asian countries (excluding South-east Asia) who are in Singapore is 852,000. This includes China, India, Bangladesh and 30 other countries. Hence the number of PRC nationals is obviously only a fraction of that, and not 'close to one million' as cited in the report.

Likewise, the number of nationals from these same countries who have acquired permanent residence or Singapore citizenship over the past 20 years is 239,000. Again, only a fraction would have been PRC nationals, and not 'between 300,000 and 400,000', as estimated by the Tian Fu Club.

Ong-Kong Yong Sin (Mrs)
Senior Public & Internal Communications Executive
Immigration & Checkpoints Authority

Latest comments
The question is not how many PRC nationals are here, but how many foreigners, from PRC or not, who are causing problems to Singaporeans here. I know. Some of you will go on and on with the same usual argument that Singaporeans commit crimes or are into other vices too. But if this is so, do we need foreigners to add to the dirt here?

One issue I need to mention is our 'Study mama' policy. This policy was implemented with the kind goal of allowing PRC mothers to accompany their children studying here. Instead, we have seen some study mamas abusing this policy, by working as 'dirty masseuse' in Chinatown, seducing young and old men alike. If our SG authorities want to have the 'study mama' policy, that's fine, but then, can the authorities please make sure that these study mamas are here for 'decent' reasons?
Posted by: HelenaYeo at Sat Dec 06 18:00:01 SGT 2008

>>"ONLY A FRACTION" = ???

YES Mrs Ong-Kong Yong Sin...we want to know the real nos. in term of "PEANUTS"
Posted by: dzi_bead at Sat Dec 06 16:05:35 SGT 2008

It's obvious from the letter that ICA is uncomfortable revealing the exact figures. A fraction refers to 99%, 50% or 1%?
Posted by: reiken08 at Sat Dec 06 13:42:54 SGT 2008

" Our records show that the total number of persons from all Asian countries (excluding South-east Asia) who are in Singapore is 852,000. This includes China, India, Bangladesh and 30 other countries. Hence the number of PRC nationals is obviously only a fraction of that, and not 'close to one million' as cited in the report.

Likewise, the number of nationals from these same countries who have acquired permanent residence or Singapore citizenship over the past 20 years is 239,000. Again, only a fraction would have been PRC nationals, and not 'between 300,000 and 400,000', as estimated by the Tian Fu Club."
Extremely suspicious that an authority from the ICA, Mrs Ong-Kong Yong Sin, should have couched her reply in such a vague manner.

Come come Mrs Ong-Kong, clearly you have the numbers. Why are you treating it like some highly confidential state secrets? Can Singaporeans not even expect such basic transparency from the govt?

Who are you hiding it from? Us, Singaporeans of many ethnic groups, China or our neighbours, north and south of the border?
Posted by: commentator_sc at Sat Dec 06 13:26:07 SGT 2008

Twice in her short letter, she used "ONLY A FRACTION"!!!

"ONLY A FRACTION" = ???
Posted by: kampongkid at Sat Dec 06 12:23:08 SGT 2008

allanlee

The article is partially correct...... the number of PRCs in singkeeland are down...... but the article never reveal that 7 in 10 PRCs who obtained PR here have moved on to other countries :( thus the number of their remaining countrymen has been reduced to only a fraction of the foreigners here.

pfingo

if singaporeans dun produce babies then no choice but to invite foreigners to b one of us

angie II

So why are Sporns not having families? Whose power would be perpetuated when Sporns go into extinction?

lky-31c78c038b.jpg

"Don't worry... we still have support from PRs & FTs hehe.."

twinseeker

Reported marriage with FTs so little? Unbelievable! Maybe the remaining all had their marriages registered abroad, to protect themselves from the woman's charter.

theblackhole

don't anyhow talk nonsense mr teekee. what civil war? civil war your head lah!!! singaporeans are among the happiest and richest people in the world. they feel so rich every month! so contented and so satisfied with our world best governance.

there is no need for any civil unrest. everyone is so happy and so satisfied with our garment.

you want a civil war? go and have your own crusade elsewhere. people like you will create civil wars and social chaos and anarchy with your persistent crusades. chay!!!

VIBGYOR

don't anyhow talk nonsense mr teekee. what civil war? civil war your head lah!!! singaporeans are among the happiest and richest people in the world. they feel so rich every month! so contented and so satisfied with our world best governance.

wah people are so happy that they complain so much about FTs here...:biggrin:

xdecepticon

there is no need for any civil unrest. everyone is so happy and so satisfied with our garment.

you want a civil war? go and have your own crusade elsewhere. people like you will create civil wars and social chaos and anarchy with your persistent crusades. chay!!!

Tats y he was banned fm tis forum? :confused::confused:

VIBGYOR

Bo lah, he kena banned because he's trying to post this letter written by somebody...and they keep deleting it for no apparent reasons..maybe this letter is directed at them perhaps that they took it so personally?

I READ with interest two seemingly unrelated reports last Friday, 'Couple go on trial for sedition' and 'DBS' charity tie-up draws flak'.
In the case of the sedition trial, while the authorities have rightly taken action to robustly maintain the fragile balance in the areas of race, language and religion, it is disheartening that this action is not applied universally to all. There seems to be a greater tolerance of 'attacks' on Christianity than other major religions.

We have these attacks in cinemas in The Da Vinci Code movie, where insinuations regarding the 'authority' of the Bible abounded and the central tenet of who Jesus is was questioned repeatedly. We have them in bookshops and community libraries as well. Richard Dawkins' book, The God Delusion, labelled the God of the Bible 'a vindictive, bloodthirsty ethnic cleanser; a misogynistic, homophobic, racist, infanticidal, genocidal, filicidal, pestilential, megalomaniacal, sadomasochistic, capriciously malevolent bully'.

As a Christian, I am not threatened by such 'attacks' and even welcome such opportunities it gives the Christian community to reflect on what and why we believe, thereby strengthening our faith. I do, however, wonder how the authorities would have responded if these 'attacks' were aimed at other religious groups.

In the case of the DBS charity tie-up case, a group of concerned activists has successfully forced DBS Bank to draw down its support of a local charitable organisation for fear of further negative publicity over a tenuous link the organisation may have had with its American parent, with its strong family-centric and corresponding pro-life and traditional family values.

It will not be long before these activists, bolstered by their success, start to target 'bigger' fish. Religion-based beneficiaries of other charity initiatives (for example, the President's Challenge), which do not conform to the activists' values, will be targeted. Mission schools will also be targeted since, in the views of these activists, public money should not be used to promote any religious viewpoint, subtle or otherwise.

The first incident intimated the seemingly differing treatment in Singapore towards religion in general, and Christianity in particular. The second incident demonstrated an increasingly disturbing trend by some in Singapore to forcibly remove all religious influences from society.

The potential ramifications of these two incidents, if left unchecked, will bode for an increasingly factious and polarised Singapore society.

Alex Tan

So how? Will your god help? Or your god will ask you all chrikukustians to take part in the war instead?

aiya those chrikukustains will act like saint once again ...

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/q3L29U_8c9U&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/q3L29U_8c9U&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

theblackhole

people like teekee gang will wreck havoc and cause untold misery to singapore if they are allowed to crusade. they must be stopped and jailed, fined and even banished to the siberia.