• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Civil Servant Elites Out In Full Force To Defend Tan Yong Soon

sgnewsalte

To protect their golden rice bowl and 6-figure monthly salaries, Tan Yong Soon's fellow civil service elites were out in full force to defend him after he was rapped in parliament. Check out the comments from these civil service elites and you tell me what empathy they have for the common people. :mad:

http://www.todayonline.com/articles/297965.asp

Empathy in cyberspace the day after

Zul Othman
[email protected]
MR TAN Yong Soon’s five-week family cooking holiday to Paris continues to attract criticism in cyberspace, but yesterday, voices empathising with the Permanent Secretary of the Environment and Water Resources Ministry also started to surface on various blogs and online forums. .
“Has everyone who hit out at him read his article thoroughly? Did he emphasise what he paid or did he emphasise the high discipline, commitment and pain demanded by the cooking course, including strict 100-per-cent attendance ungodly starting times and long hours?” wrote blogger auntielucia at onsingaporegirl.wordpress.com. .
In his travelogue, published in The Straits Times,Mr Tan did not mention the cost of the course at the famed Le Cordon Bleu culinary school, which his family attended. .
That information appeared to be sourced by the newspaper from Le Cordon Bleu’s website. .
On the newspaper’s own website, one netizen wondered if the newspaper had given him “the rope to hang himself with”. .
“Just because he used his hard-earned money – which happens to be a substantial amount to ordinary citizens – does not make him out to be insensitive. Henceforth, people will think twice before sharing their life with others. Is this what we want?” asked Bartholomew1.
Another netizen Tania wrote on her online diary lostlessness.blogspot.com: “Does this mean that in bad times like this... we all have to pretend to live like paupers just because we don’t want our families and friends to think we are insensitive?” .
On Monday, Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean – who is also the Minister in charge of the Civil Service – said senior civil servants should conduct themselves “appropriately and sensitively”, especially in a time of economic downturn. Mr Peter Ho, head of the Civil Service, also responded to media queries to say that Mr Tan’s actions were a “setback” that could “undermine the confidence and trust essential for us to do a good job”. .
Netizens, who claimed to know Mr Tan personally, had gone to school with him or had worked with him in the civil service, have also voiced support for Mr Tan. .
“I know Yong Soon personally... I can confirm that Yong Soon is not the boastful type. Actually quite humble. But in today’s financial climate, would be better off not talking about his holidays and cooking class.” said one netizen. .
Another posted: “I have worked with Tan Yong Soon whom I think - and I’m not alone - is an exceptional civil servant in that he is open, ready to engage people.. He is also an inspiring boss.. and it was much easier to have an open dialogue with him... I hope this recent storm in a teacup won’t change this.”

sgnewsalte

This is from Lucky Tan's blog

http://singaporemind.blogspot.com/2009/01/empathy-for-tan-yong-soon.html
Empathy for Tan Yong Soon....

I applaud the numerous netizens who have stepped forward to show support for Mr. Tan[Link]. A number have worked with him and described him as affable, professional and humble. I wrote yesterday that Peter Ho and Teo Chee Hean's expectations for top civil servants were unrealistic and unfair. Some people might have felt better if Mr. Tan had kept his trip secret but does that change anything for you?...However, netizens cannot be blamed for the emotional outburst - that too has a logic if we look back in time.....

In the 80s, a whole generation of people was elevated from poverty. They went from being kampung dwellers without clean water, sanitation and electricity to be HDB dwellers. When I was a boy I did my business in a longkang (drain) and let the water wash away the produce. The drain was far better than the stinking jambans (wooden toilets) that had no flushing system. Moving to a HDB flat (bought for $40K) was considered a luxury...and to be able to flush away the stuff by pulling a handle was a miracle. While the wages were lower at that time, medical care, transport and housing were all affordable. ...and people were able retire at age 55. We were told our civil servants were excellent and all of us believe it. they were the architect of the miracle. When you go to the toilet and pulled that handle it reminded you of how much things had improved. When a vigorous young Goh Chok Tong ran for PM, he made a bold promise that we will all be eating Swiss fondue in a few years. It was a promise that cannot be fulfiled but few blamed the likeable Goh as external factors can be seen to be responsible for the broken promise. Things started to change 10-15 yrs ago, when the interests of the govt and the people diverge. Elitism started to take root in govt and combined with their interests in GLCs they pursued policies that did not benefit a large segment of the population. The income gap grew as the PAP govt hike its own pay and that of its top civil servants to a level that people in other countries think is a joke when you tell them. All this while poverty started to spread.....you just have to open your eyes to see it, from the aged cleaner to the old man digging dustbins for aluminium cans. ..and you see it when the economy was supposed to be booming in 2007. The straw that broken camel's back was the pay hikes for the ministers ....The PAP implemented policies that hurt the ordinary Singaporeans - high prices of HDB flats, opening the floodgates to foreign workers just for the extra % points of GDP growth causing structural unemployment, hiking the GST to cut corporate tax when profits as a % of GDP was at an all time high. ...all this while ordinary Singaporeans were hurting badly. They elevated themselves to god-like creatures without which the country will sink to justify those hikes.

There is a reason why people are very angry and it has little to do with Tan Yong Soon learning French cooking...that article was just a spark that lit a fire. There is still plenty of firewood left for many fires to come.

congo9

If he can take a 5 weeks break without being miss , these said a lot abt his need to be in his current position. ?

2lanu

If he can take a 5 weeks break without being miss , these said a lot abt his need to be in his current position. ?

That's rite. Same goes to the President who is redundant as well for the whole year! In fact to have something to represent Singapore, I rather use the orchid flower or even a dog! At least they dun cost 3 million!

ahpong

Now I know why mosquitoes area breeding, rubbish are thrown everywhere and people smoking under the "No Smoking" signs. The big cat is away, so the small cats had switched off, and the mice had a field day.

ahleebabasingaporethief

Defend my Arse lah!

Wrong means wrong .

"People should not fear the government. The government should fear the people."

It's drawing closer each day judging from the actions of some "lesser mortals" in fire-bombing, defacing Parliament, bloody writings or writings in blood".... wah lau eh!

You guys still havent woken up ah?

angie II

2lneok.jpg

"Please don't disturb my Division1 Lucky Tan ok? Being the supreme dog of dogs,
no lumpars in the world can make him switch camp!"

Charlie9

This is from Lucky Tan's blog

http://singaporemind.blogspot.com/2009/01/empathy-for-tan-yong-soon.html
Empathy for Tan Yong Soon....

I applaud the numerous netizens who have stepped forward to show support for Mr. Tan[Link]. A number have worked with him and described him as affable, professional and humble. I wrote yesterday that Peter Ho and Teo Chee Hean's expectations for top civil servants were unrealistic and unfair. Some people might have felt better if Mr. Tan had kept his trip secret but does that change anything for you?...However, netizens cannot be blamed for the emotional outburst - that too has a logic if we look back in time.....

In the 80s, a whole generation of people was elevated from poverty. They went from being kampung dwellers without clean water, sanitation and electricity to be HDB dwellers. When I was a boy I did my business in a longkang (drain) and let the water wash away the produce. The drain was far better than the stinking jambans (wooden toilets) that had no flushing system. Moving to a HDB flat (bought for $40K) was considered a luxury...and to be able to flush away the stuff by pulling a handle was a miracle. While the wages were lower at that time, medical care, transport and housing were all affordable. ...and people were able retire at age 55. We were told our civil servants were excellent and all of us believe it. they were the architect of the miracle. When you go to the toilet and pulled that handle it reminded you of how much things had improved. When a vigorous young Goh Chok Tong ran for PM, he made a bold promise that we will all be eating Swiss fondue in a few years. It was a promise that cannot be fulfiled but few blamed the likeable Goh as external factors can be seen to be responsible for the broken promise. Things started to change 10-15 yrs ago, when the interests of the govt and the people diverge. Elitism started to take root in govt and combined with their interests in GLCs they pursued policies that did not benefit a large segment of the population. The income gap grew as the PAP govt hike its own pay and that of its top civil servants to a level that people in other countries think is a joke when you tell them. All this while poverty started to spread.....you just have to open your eyes to see it, from the aged cleaner to the old man digging dustbins for aluminium cans. ..and you see it when the economy was supposed to be booming in 2007. The straw that broken camel's back was the pay hikes for the ministers ....The PAP implemented policies that hurt the ordinary Singaporeans - high prices of HDB flats, opening the floodgates to foreign workers just for the extra % points of GDP growth causing structural unemployment, hiking the GST to cut corporate tax when profits as a % of GDP was at an all time high. ...all this while ordinary Singaporeans were hurting badly. They elevated themselves to god-like creatures without which the country will sink to justify those hikes.

There is a reason why people are very angry and it has little to do with Tan Yong Soon learning French cooking...that article was just a spark that lit a fire. There is still plenty of firewood left for many fires to come.

Well written.

May I seek an indulgence from all of you who work with Ministers and Permanent Secretaries, to deliver a hard copy to them. Thank you. Merci.

HakkaThaileen

If he can take a 5 weeks break without being missed, these said a lot abt his need to be in his current position. ?

He had anticipated this problem. The Q & A prepared by him reads:

"Taking five weeks' leave from work is not as difficult as one thinks... if you are a good leader who has built up a good team, it is possible to go away for five weeks or even longer."

Good leader? - is this a case of self-appraisal

lancerglxi

“I know Yong Soon personally... I can confirm that Yong Soon is not the boastful type. Actually quite humble. But in today’s financial climate, would be better off not talking about his holidays and cooking class.” said one netizen. .

This must have been written my Chef Tan himself. I know people who in his ministry. He is nothing but a tyrant. So all this comments about him being a nice guy is complete bullshit.

He had anticipated this problem. The Q & A prepared by him reads:

"Taking five weeks' leave from work is not as difficult as one thinks... if you are a good leader who has built up a good team, it is possible to go away for five weeks or even longer."

Good leader? - is this a case of self-appraisal

People seem to forget that when you take a leave for as long as 5 weeks, it must be approved by his boss. Who is his boss? Gay Loong. For sure Gay Loong must know he was going for the cooking course in France. Obviously, Gay Loong, as PM thinks it perfectly ok.

Avantas

Go and read the comments on wayangpart. Apparently the PAP's internet brigade has sent their agents to disrupt the discussion there !

To protect their golden rice bowl and 6-figure monthly salaries, Tan Yong Soon's fellow civil service elites were out in full force to defend him after he was rapped in parliament. Check out the comments from these civil service elites and you tell me what empathy they have for the common people. :mad:

http://www.todayonline.com/articles/297965.asp

Empathy in cyberspace the day after

Zul Othman
[email protected]
MR TAN Yong Soon’s five-week family cooking holiday to Paris continues to attract criticism in cyberspace, but yesterday, voices empathising with the Permanent Secretary of the Environment and Water Resources Ministry also started to surface on various blogs and online forums. .
“Has everyone who hit out at him read his article thoroughly? Did he emphasise what he paid or did he emphasise the high discipline, commitment and pain demanded by the cooking course, including strict 100-per-cent attendance ungodly starting times and long hours?” wrote blogger auntielucia at onsingaporegirl.wordpress.com. .
In his travelogue, published in The Straits Times,Mr Tan did not mention the cost of the course at the famed Le Cordon Bleu culinary school, which his family attended. .
That information appeared to be sourced by the newspaper from Le Cordon Bleu’s website. .
On the newspaper’s own website, one netizen wondered if the newspaper had given him “the rope to hang himself with”. .
“Just because he used his hard-earned money – which happens to be a substantial amount to ordinary citizens – does not make him out to be insensitive. Henceforth, people will think twice before sharing their life with others. Is this what we want?” asked Bartholomew1.
Another netizen Tania wrote on her online diary lostlessness.blogspot.com: “Does this mean that in bad times like this... we all have to pretend to live like paupers just because we don’t want our families and friends to think we are insensitive?” .
On Monday, Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean – who is also the Minister in charge of the Civil Service – said senior civil servants should conduct themselves “appropriately and sensitively”, especially in a time of economic downturn. Mr Peter Ho, head of the Civil Service, also responded to media queries to say that Mr Tan’s actions were a “setback” that could “undermine the confidence and trust essential for us to do a good job”. .
Netizens, who claimed to know Mr Tan personally, had gone to school with him or had worked with him in the civil service, have also voiced support for Mr Tan. .
Another posted: “I have worked with Tan Yong Soon whom I think - and I’m not alone - is an exceptional civil servant in that he is open, ready to engage people.. He is also an inspiring boss.. and it was much easier to have an open dialogue with him... I hope this recent storm in a teacup won’t change this.”