• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

china shooter win 3 gold for s'pore...veri proud hor!

BusNo64

cheebye tiongkok kia got do NS or not? KNNBPCB!! :oIo:

COMMONWEALTH GAMES 2010
S'pore wins 8th gold

GAI Bin�this morning dominated the men's 25m standard pistol event, winning gold after a score of 570.

Roger Daniel (Trinidad and Tobago) took silver with 563, while bronze went to India's Samaresh Jung after his 559.

The 44-year-old Singaporean has now set the local standard for the Commonwealth Games, returning with three golds, two silvers and �and two bronzes.

No Singapore athlete had�won more than four medals from any single Games before this. 'I have trained very hard,' Gai said.

In the stands this morning at the Dr K Singh Shooting Range was Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Community Development, Youth and Sports Teo Ser Luck.

Singapore shooters, who have produced five golds from these Games, have been pushing for a new integrated range to be built. And Teo said: 'Shooting is a sport we can excel in. We need the range, and we will be looking at the issue seriously. Time is of the essence.'

China-born Gai, who became a Singapore citizen three years ago: 'I am very happy, especially since this is my first Commonwealth Games and this is the first day of the shooting competition.

'I only took up this discipline about two and a half years ago. I am glad that we were able to pull through and win the gold even though I feel that I'm not near my best yet.'

Of course. This is testament to our successful FT policy, after the wonderful performance of the table tennis team

Of course there are always small minded people around

The momentum is strong, we will get enough PRC FT to bolster our economy.

WTF, we are in a fucking country with 500,000 plus trained shooters, thousands walking around with marksmanship badges, and we need to import from China? Whata fucking joke. Is there no sniper, commando, Guardsmen, or tactical squad, SOF, etc, personnel that can shoot? Kanena

Of course. This is testament to our successful FT policy, after the wonderful performance of the table tennis team

NBCCB, you stand 500M among the trees, you see lim beh PSG1 can shoot you or not :oIo:

Dun pray play ..... the male and female PRC teams will win a total of $1.5 million !!!:eek:

..... some more don't even know a word of Majulah S'pura ..... Good Grief ....:mad:

i have no stats, but are there any men who won medal have done NS before? either none or very few.
anyone find a website on the medals winner of singapore?

WTF, we are in a fucking country with 500,000 plus trained shooters, thousands walking around with marksmanship badges, and we need to import from China? Whata fucking joke. Is there no sniper, commando, Guardsmen, or tactical squad, SOF, etc, personnel that can shoot? Kanena

The markmanship badge is a joke my friend...all WOWO KING!:D many young SINgaporeans are myopic & the older ones myopic in the mind as well....what to do??

China 1 , commowealth game 0

I agreed with u.Better than import Ah neh,pinoy or mat.Big minded people can easily understand that our standard must be nearer to Tokyo,Shanghai,Seoul,HK than like Mumbai,Manila,or Colombo

The markmanship badge is a joke my friend...all WOWO KING!:D many young SINgaporeans are myopic & the older ones myopic in the mind as well....what to do??

China 1 , commowealth game 0

China has always been represented in the Commonwealth Games, by HK before 1997, and by Singapore thereafter. :D

i have no stats, but are there any men who won medal have done NS before? either none or very few.
anyone find a website on the medals winner of singapore?

Have, for true blue Sinkie medal winners for shooting in SEA/Commonwealth/Asian Games level whom had served or still serving

Lee Wung Yew
On Shaw Ming
Poh Lip Meng
Chng Seng Mok
Peter Lee
Tan Chee Keong
Choo Choon Seng
Mohammad Zain

and the lists goes on......

Shooting was one of the last domain which consisted primarily Singaporean till of late. There are only 3 FT and 1 Mudlander so far.

The argument that NS produces so many trained shooters but none are suitable for sports is completely true. Military training and sports shooting are completley different , get a NSmen to shoot for sports and many WILL fail miserably; proven.:cool:

This is something that I always wondered as we have the critical mass and a ready pool because of NS. It tells you that we are prepared to take shortcuts and not ready to work with what we got.

This must be the most bizarre statement that I heard. Don't they the aim at the same target as in tiny part for gauging accuracy. Obviously the equipment will differ. Aren't the biomechanics the same. What is different?

The argument that NS produces so many trained shooters but none are suitable for sports is completely true. Military training and sports shooting are completley different , get a NSmen to shoot for sports and many WILL fail miserably; proven.:cool:

Army shooting : Hit anywhere on the target board, it counts the same.

Police shooting : Hit anywhere on the figure on target board counts as one point, hit head or chest counts double, two points.

Sports shooting : Hit anywhere on the target board, points depend on how close it is to bullseye or at bullseye. Then there's aerial moving target trap shooting which is never trained in army or police as far as I know.

Cpt. Goh M.S. : What the hell? Just point the howitzer at it and fire! If miss then fire again!

i find it a little ironic when all Singapore men knows how to handle a weapon and handle it well, and we have thousands of sharp shooters let alone snipers whom are also more than capable in doing the job - So how come none of the sharp shooters took to up the sports?

Very simple, in reservist if hit marksmen got money take, go holympic go Commonwealth game take the medal for fuck? Go pawn shop also no value muahahaaa:D

This must be the most bizarre statement that I heard. Don't they the aim at the same target as in tiny part for gauging accuracy. Obviously the equipment will differ. Aren't the biomechanics the same. What is different?

Shooting is 30% technical while 70% mental . Most failed in the mental aspects one way or another. Its about control and its considered an individual sport. The Biomechanics are not the same compare to holding a service firearm.

For pistol and rifle events as an example, would you able to take 2 minutes just to shoot 1 target as a norm? Each event has its own list of support equipment to boost. A normal servicemen would not be able to appreciate the finer part of shooting sports given the stigma of going to ranges in NS time. Given the undesirable treatment of a military range and the ego of NSmen; most cannot come to terms that shooting is not that simple as it seems.

An example from an associate who related a true story; a regular commando officer was sent by SAF to learn air weapons from my associate. As usual with the cockiness and "know it all" attitude of commando, he fared the worst in the course.

There are 3 category namely pistol, rifle and shotgun sanctioned under ISSF (international governing body for shooting) Each category have at least 3 events under it. Each event has a certain costs to it.

I have seen many who attempted with vigor; most gave up after a year of trying. Many can't cope with the associated costs; many also lost hope trying.

i find it a little ironic when all Singapore men knows how to handle a weapon and handle it well, and we have thousands of sharp shooters let alone snipers whom are also more than capable in doing the job - So how come none of the sharp shooters took to up the sports?

Very simple, in reservist if hit marksmen got money take, go holympic go Commonwealth game take the medal for fuck? Go pawn shop also no value muahahaaa:D

You must be kidding, 1 Sea Game Gold $25K, 1 Commonwealth Gold is $50K, Olympic is $1,000,000

You do your sums and see this FT how much he stand to gain financially.

Who say the medal have no value.:D

KNN than SAF doing us a big fucking favor balls...where are all the sharp shooters and snipers, knn dont wait leow woo hooo

Shooting is 30% technical while 70% mental . Most failed in the mental aspects one way or another. Its about control and its considered an individual sport. The Biomechanics are not the same compare to holding a service firearm.

For pistol and rifle events as an example, would you able to take 2 minutes just to shoot 1 target as a norm? Each event has its own list of support equipment to boost. A normal servicemen would not be able to appreciate the finer part of shooting sports given the stigma of going to ranges in NS time. Given the undesirable treatment of a military range and the ego of NSmen; most cannot come to terms that shooting is not that simple as it seems.

An example from an associate who related a true story; a regular commando officer was sent by SAF to learn air weapons from my associate. As usual with the cockiness and "know it all" attitude of commando, he fared the worst in the course.

There are 3 category namely pistol, rifle and shotgun sanctioned under ISSF (international governing body for shooting) Each category have at least 3 events under it. Each event has a certain costs to it.

I have seen many who attempted with vigor; most gave up after a year of trying. Many can't cope with the associated costs; many also lost hope trying.

U are missing the point. Yes, combat shooting and sports shooting is 2 different thing. However, when u have a pool of 500,000 plus trained people who have been trained to combat shoot, surely, there are some natural bprn talent in this group that can make the successful transition from combat to sports shooting. Certain SAF Vocation lke sniper is also very much mental. The SAF/SPorts councils etc have made NO EFFORT to identify these talents and nurture them in what u say is an expensive sport. If they did, coule we field an all singaporean team? I say yes. DO we need to import FTs? I say no.