• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chiam's GRC Plan Riles WP Member

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
ITS ABOUT CHIAM, AND THEN I TALK ABOUT HOW WP BEHAVE LIKE THEY HAD PLACED A BIG FAT PACKET OF TISSUE PAPER AT BISHAN-TOA PAYOH GRC TO 'CHOP THE PLACE'. BUT U BRING IN THE ISSUE about

LOL! I like the way you have put it, putting a big fat packet of tissue paper at Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC to "CHOP THE PLACE" . LOL!

Goh Meng Seng

cleareyes

Everyone including the SDP can express an interest :_)) Choping only come before a GE whereby the opposition meets and allocates areas of interests in an orgy of horsetrading. I suspect that if Chiam wants to go TP then even the SDP will stand aside.

Will ever SDP step aside?

I do not think yaw had made any indication of WP's intention to contest TP. More of a case of surprise that Chiam wanted TP at such an early stage.

So far only SDP and SDA had really been active in TP. Given SDP's tak bulah tahan program which didnt even kick up any dust.

If anyone had pay any attention, when WP or SDA held any outreach activities in certain wards, the local grassroots and even the MP will make an appearance, but when SDP went to TP, no one even bother to do a thing.

That really says alot abt support for SDP in the ward. Not threatening at all

I do not think yaw had made any indication of WP's intention to contest TP. More of a case of surprise that Chiam wanted TP at such an early stage.

I think that on the contrary, Shin Leong may be surprised at Chiam's interest in BTP at such a late (rather than early) stage, having been incumbent in neigbouring Potong Pasir for past quarter of a century.

If anyone had pay any attention, when WP or SDA held any outreach activities in certain wards, the local grassroots and even the MP will make an appearance, but when SDP went to TP, no one even bother to do a thing.

I think that SDP events do attract more "support" and "presence" from the police. WP and SPP can or not? Even police can't be bothered. :biggrin:

Avantas

Remember what Yaw said about Teo: "Good MP !"

No wonder he dared not say anything after Teo screwed up the town council investments and still ask his residents to be THANKFUL to him !!!

A vote for WP = A vote for PAP.

Spread the message.

WAKE THE FUCK UP! What the fuck does the PAP candidate represent?? IT REPRESENT THE FUCKING RULING PARTY PAP! A VOTE FOR THEM SHOWS THAT YAW SUPPORT THE WHOLE OF PAP! ITS NOT JUST SUPPORTING THE PAP CANDIDATE REPRESENTING THE GRC/ THE AREA. ITS THE WHOLE OF PAP CAMP HE YAW SHIN LEONG IS SUPPORTING.

THATS WHAT IS IT ABOUT. HIS VOTE FOR THE PAP.

Avantas

Frankly speaking, it doesn't matter which party contest Bishan-TP, they will never be able to dislodge WKS. Though WKS is reviled in cyberspace, he still has strong grassroots support on the ground and Bishan-TP has no contests since like 1984 ???

I think that on the contrary, Shin Leong may be surprised at Chiam's interest in BTP at such a late (rather than early) stage, having been incumbent in neigbouring Potong Pasir for past quarter of a century.

I think that SDP events do attract more "support" and "presence" from the police. WP and SPP can or not? Even police can't be bothered. :biggrin:

No worry lah, Singapore has many seats awailable for WP to take. If TPY-Bishan GRC is contested by Chiam, Singapore still got many GRCs to eye for. There are plenty of places to fight and it is also a good sign that oppositions manpowers are going up by the years, which is good to keep PAP on their toe.
Just take note not to allow any walkovers in any of Singapore town. Fully utilise your resource to contest everywhere possible and not targetted in places where other opposition have booked!!! There is no better time than now to take Singapore from corrupted hands. We have thieves in our land for too long.

Perspective

He did no such thing. I thought you conceded that once before. You might one to read it for the 3rd time.

Do you concede that YSL should retire from politics because of his voting choice?

It might be the case that other than some verbal gaffes, no one else in his age group is comparable in ability to him. Everyone else is aging, LTK, SL, CSJ. Would people asking him to go be as good as following his very mistake to vote for the PAP as well?

Do you concede that YSL should retire from politics because of his voting choice?

It might be the case that other than some verbal gaffes, no one else in his age group is comparable in ability to him. Everyone else is aging, LTK, SL, CSJ. Would people asking him to go be as good as following his very mistake to vote for the PAP as well?

This is a grave and fundamental mistake. Its akin to an investment banker asking you to invest in the Malaysian stock market while he invest in the Singapore stock market. It goes down to credibility and integrity.

Firstly he does not need to go but he needs to concede that he committed a grave error and forward a sincere apology. WP CEC should step and express their feelings and make it clear that it treats such matters in the future as reasons for expulsion. At the moment, WP is taking a gamble as people are going to place less value on their words until tyhis is addressed.

Secondly, why do you consider Yaw as more capable than others. He does not strike me as such. He however does strike me as a good admin assistant. In the 1st instance he joined YPAP and he was fully conscious when JBJ was persecuted and the privy council, detention was in the works etc. He is an opportunist who knew that he would never be an MP under PAP.

Look at his article on Ho Juan Thai. Certainly strikes me as one who does not think sufficiently enough and lacks political maturity and common sense. Notice that Low did not comment on the issue. He probably would make a good ward counsellor but nothing more.

WP first had James Gomez who was politically astute but organisationally bad and now the opposite.

Perspective

This is a grave and fundamental mistake. Its akin to an investment banker asking you to invest in the Malaysian stock market while he invest in the Singapore stock market. It goes down to credibility and integrity.

Firstly he does not need to go but he needs to concede that he committed a grave error and forward a sincere apology. WP CEC should step and express their feelings and make it clear that it treats such matters in the future as reasons for expulsion. At the moment, WP is taking a gamble as people are going to place less value on their words until tyhis is addressed.

Secondly, why do you consider Yaw as more capable than others. He does not strike me as such. He however does strike me as a good admin assistant. In the 1st instance he joined YPAP and he was fully conscious when JBJ was persecuted and the privy council, detention was in the works etc. He is an opportunist who knew that he would never be an MP under PAP.

Look at his article on Ho Juan Thai. Certainly strikes me as one who does not think sufficiently enough and lacks political maturity and common sense. Notice that Low did not comment on the issue. He probably would make a good ward counsellor but nothing more.

WP first had James Gomez who was politically astute but organisationally bad and now the opposite.

I think we have gone through the points before and I see where everyone was coming from. Maybe I share a different POV but the question is if having him retire from politics help in the cause because people like Harbans did alot worse other than not voting for PAP (or maybe he did and no one knew). My impression of WP is people needs to be a team player and every who had left it are now in limbo, whether more capable than YSL or not. The end result without team players is the opposition would continue to remain small.

But allow me to express another POV on the analogies you raised.

1. To me YSL seems like an investor who is not eligible for the Malaysian stock market.

2. I don't think he has been the only opposition candidate in the Singapore stock market but the rest were not as foolish to tell others.

3. Think you got one serious factual error. YSL has never been in the YPAP. If he had, an "overly honest" chap like him would have be open to sharing it. He was however a ex-member of the SPP, the party of Chiam and now in the SDA.

I also do not recall that he apologized but several articles revealed that he will never vote PAP again. I am not one who expects opposition candidates to apologize or I would have demanded that from alot more people, like CSJ, FS, SC and TLS etc. From my sense I also do not think the most sincere apology would please everyone commenting on this issue except at most yourself.

char_jig_kar

first of, Sylvia Lim is about 44 years old. she's not that old.

secondly, think adolf hitler. was he good? yeah, he's damn good debator, orator, politician. should we vote a person just based on his political skill? what about one's ideology, and value system? look wat a disaster hitler had brought to germany because of hitler's value system. his world view, his view on the Jew, etc.

YSL whether he's a skilled politician, thats beside the point. the thing is, he voted for the PAP. shows tat he support the PAP. shows his value. now, how would a Opposition supporting the PAP serve the Opposition supporters? there's a conflict of interest.

Perspective, your incessant defence of Shin Leong getting ridiculous for him and yourself. 1. You don't contest for PAP here but vote for PAP there. 2. Even if somehow you did, you don't announce it as if a badge of honour.

Shin Leong has publicly announced that he regretted and awakened. Why are you still defending this already acknowledged miguided action of his?

Shin Leong has not used the word "apologize". That's right, but he did acknowledged that this voting for PAP and Teo Ho Pin was misguided and it was as if he was in a daze. Check his blog for his article on Teo Ho Pin telling Singaporeans to be thankful. Or better still, give him a call and chat him up.

You keep defending Shin Leong on this matter is just like Locke keep defending Monkey on porno and t.o.c. Let it go and forget it. I was very against what Shin Leong did (as stated in my earlier two points). But I let it go and forget it after Shin Leong said he regretted and awakened. No apology required.

You still want to keep this topic grooving on and on whenever someone mentions it? Your call.

secondly, think adolf hitler. was he good? yeah, he's damn good debator, orator, politician. should we vote a person just based on his political skill? what about one's ideology, and value system? look wat a disaster hitler had brought to germany because of hitler's value system. his world view, his view on the Jew, etc.

Yes, what a good mirror Hitler is. Thankfully Char Jig Kar has no political powers like Hitler or LKY. :biggrin:

Perspective

Perspective, your incessant defence of Shin Leong getting ridiculous for him and yourself. 1. You don't contest for PAP here but vote for PAP there. 2. Even if somehow you did, you don't announce it as if a badge of honour.

Shin Leong has publicly announced that he regretted and awakened. Why are you still defending this already acknowledged miguided action of his?

Shin Leong has not used the word "apologize". That's right, but he did acknowledged that this voting for PAP and Teo Ho Pin was misguided and it was as if he was in a daze. Check his blog for his article on Teo Ho Pin telling Singaporeans to be thankful. Or better still, give him a call and chat him up.

You keep defending Shin Leong on this matter is just like Locke keep defending Monkey on porno and t.o.c. Let it go and forget it. I was very against what Shin Leong did (as stated in my earlier two points). But I let it go and forget it after Shin Leong said he regretted and awakened. No apology required.

You still want to keep this topic grooving on and on whenever someone mentions it? Your call.

Not sure why the outburst. As a forummer don't I have the right to express my opinions?

I think you need to read my post again. Months ago when we were discussing this topic, yes if I was perceived to be defending him. Even your points were addressed and I conceded to you, Scro and Port.

The issue we are discussing now is whether YSL should retire from politics. Not sure when I defended TOC and the Monkey history.

Perspective

there's a conflict of interest.

Actually this is the once and the only sentence I agree. As an opposition voter, I should spoil my vote if it comes to an opposition I don't want to vote for. In the past, I was against a spoilt vote.

Surprised that of all people, you were the one who made me come to a decision.

I only found this article where he does not acknowledge that his action was misguided.
http://yawshinleong.blogspot.com/2008/05/vote-for-other-side.html

For the sake of everyone who is interested, could you show the article where he stated that he was misguided.

char_jig_kar

Yes, what a good mirror Hitler is. Thankfully Char Jig Kar has no political powers like Hitler or LKY. :biggrin:

i am no hitler. i didn't advocate chinese supremacy. i advocate sporean chinese should respect their language and culture. thats not supremacist view. i didn't advocate sidelining other languages and culture.

as for LKY, he's a english language supremacist. his language policy is sidelining other languages and culture (because language is the key to culture) in spore.

this is one of the reason, i suggest the whole of Opposition camp should go think about their ideologies, their value system, their outlooks. how much of Lee Kuan Yew is in it? but i guess people such as u or cleareyes would not understand.

i am no hitler. i didn't advocate chinese supremacy. i advocate sporean chinese should respect their language and culture. thats not supremacist view. i didn't advocate sidelining other languages and culture.

You behave like Hitler. Germans should be Germanised and Aryans should be Aryanised, yes? Chinese should be Sinofied, yes?

I'm a Chinese, so are thousands of millions of others. We don't and won't be Chinese in the way you define being Chinese should be. Who are you to define how a Chinese should live and choose to learn?

I learn and revere Confucius. That's my business. I don't go accusing other Chinese of anything if they choose not to learn it.