• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chiam liao, Singapore on a downturn, Many companies cutting job

tomychua

Article Source: https://goo.gl/L5sxTs

Singapore Downturn? Here's The List Of Companies Cutting Jobs Over The Past Few Months
Written by: Jacky Yap

Raffles-Place.jpg

Over the past few months, Singapore has been hit with news of companies laying off employees. If the signs of global downturn are not clear enough yet, you’re probably still staying inside a very comfortable bubble.

Here’s the list of the companies laying off employees since late last year, along with companies that have announced that they are undergoing cost cutting:

1. Standard Chartered

640x-1.jpg

Image Credit: Bloomberg​

Global bank Standard Chartered had laid off a number of people in Singapore late last year as it axed 15,000 jobs globally. Its previous workforce globally was at 86,000, and currently employs about 7,000 staff in Singapore.

A senior StanChard Singapore staff told Channel News Asia that they are distracted and confused about what they should do next. “We are certainly not in a position to negotiate better salaries with other potential employers. The uncertainty is quite scary. We are neither in a position to pick up nor refuse the not-so-attractive job offers in our hands.”

2. HSBC

35235058.jpg

Image Credit: Business Times​

HSBC has announced that they will be freezing salaries and freezing hiring in 2016 globally in the battle to cut costs.

“As flagged in our Investor Update, we have targeted significant cost reductions by the end of 2017,” a spokeswoman for HSBC told Reuters.

The cost cutting measures will affect the bank’s more than 3,000 employees in Singapore.

However, it has also announced that it will be establishing a larger presence in Singapore as part of the company’s move to incorporate in Singapore.

3. RWS

pixcasino-311014e_2x.jpg

Image Credit: Straits Times​

According to a report on Straits Times, more than 30 employees at Resorts World Sentosa (RWS) have been laid off earlier in February as the gaming sector faces cost pressures around the world.

However, the laid off was due to overstaffing and it is not an isolated case. There are currently about 12,000 people working at Resorts World Sentosa.

4. Rakuten

VIP-tour-at-Rakuten-Singapore-Launch-03.1447043294.jpg

Rakuten, an e-commerce site in Singapore, has also shared that they are shutting down their Rakuten Marketplace in Singapore, as well as laying off 150 staff from the company. Rakuten would no longer process new purchases from March onwards, two years after it began operations in Singapore since January 2014.

5. Maersk

maersk-1.jpg

Image Credit: OSCA​

Maersk Line, one of the world’s top container shipping company, has recently merged its Singapore and Hong Kong regional offices. Last November, Maersk also shared new plans to reduce its network capacity and announced that it will be cutting 4,000 jobs from its land-based staff of 23,000 by 2017.

6. Yahoo Singapore

Yahoo-ShootIMG_8988.jpg

According to a report from Channel News Asia, Yahoo Singapore has been laying off some employees as part of the company’s move to revamp its Internet Business. No details were disclosed on exactly how many employees are being laid off, but what we do know is that the Singapore operations will continue.

7. Barclays

barclays.jpg

Barclays has also announced that it is slashing 1,000 jobs worldwide. Out of the global layoffs, more than 10 employees from the equities and local market rates teams in Singapore will be retrenched, according to Business Times. Barclays Singapore currently employs about 3,200 staff.

8. Royal Bank of Scotland

640x-1-1.jpg

Royal Bank of Scotland has also announced that they could be cutting as many as 80% of the jobs in its investment banking unit over the next four years. A Straits Times report also said that back in July 2015, the Royal Bank of Scotland trimmed its presence here in Singapore, laying off “hundreds” of people.

9. Credit Suisse

credit-suisse.jpg

The same Straits Times report also shared that Credit Suisse announced 4,000 job cuts globally, although no layoffs are expected in the Asia-Pacific region yet.

10. Deutsche Bank AG

640x-1-1.jpg

Deutsche Bank AG, a German global banking and financial services company headquartered in Frankfurt, is considering cutting as many as 8,000 jobs, which is about 25% of its workforce. It employs more than 2,100 staff in Singapore, though there are no news of any layoffs yet.

11. Goldman Sachs

goldman-sachs-1024x512.jpg

Image Credit: Business Times​

Goldman Sachs has been reducing the size of its investment-banking team in Singapore by about 30 percent compared with the start of last year, according to a report from Bloomberg.

Other than layoffs, there are also companies which have closed down some of their physical outlets, such as California Fitness, home-grown comic chain Comics Connection, home-grown fashion label M)phosis, as well as Evernote Singapore.

evernote-leaves-singapore.jpg

What Can And Is Being Done

Undeniably, this is one of the most discussed topics among Singaporeans now – the gloomy economy outlook. To ensure that you won’t be affected by any job cutting measures, perhaps it is a good idea to upgrade your skills to be future ready (yeap that’s the buzzword now), and not risk being made redundant in your company.

Earlier this week, at an event organized by Young NTUC in line with the government-initiated SGfuture citizen engagement series, Mr Roger Pua of LinkedIn shed some insights into how he managed to rise to oversee corporate communications of the multi-billion dollar company in Asia Pacific.

Screen-Shot-2016-02-20-at-11.23.56-am-1024x685.png

Image Credit: Young NTUC​

He shared that one should always think of job from a demand versus supply point of view. Currently, some of the skill sets in high demand from Singapore employees, as noticed by LinkedIn includes cloud computing, SEO / SEM Marketing, marketing campaign management, algorithm design, user interface design, among others. If you are an expert in any of these skills, you are in luck.

If you don’t, it is therefore critical for you to have a change in mindset and actively acquire new skill sets in order to stay relevant in this ever competitive society.

Of course, the government is already actively helping Singaporeans tide through this, most noticeably, through the S$500 in free SkillFuture credits as well as the UTAP (Union Training Assistance Programme) which further funds your course fee up to S$250 per year.

While all of these are in place for you to leverage on, the most important thing is perhaps that we should be active in acquiring new skillsets – be it via freelancing, taking up new courses or actively finding a mentor. As Minister Chan Chun Sing recently puts it, workers who survive the disruption are those with the skills to take on new jobs.

Bankers.....who gives a fuck.

singapore's economy is mainly centered around banking,besides banking all u have is the breadtalks,the toast boxs,the ramen and korean bbq restaurants,the ding tai fengs,the suki yas,the vietnam po,the manhattan fish market and the tim ho wans.that and the construction sector where they build endless condos and shopping malls.

I am glad that more Sinkies are losing their jobs. They truly deserve this for always complaining that foreigners are taking away their jobs. Now that the flow of FTs are curtailed, more companies will relocate because they cannot operate economically with just employing a Sinkies only workforce.

Quote from Woody Goh: "Retrenchment is good for singapore. If there is no retrenchments, then I worry."

I am glad that more Sinkies are losing their jobs. They truly deserve this for always complaining that foreigners are taking away their jobs. Now that the flow of FTs are curtailed, more companies will relocate because they cannot operate economically with just employing a Sinkies only workforce.

Quote from Woody Goh: "Retrenchment is good for singapore. If there is no retrenchments, then I worry."

Why blame the "lesser mortals" of Spore:confused:
They are just the by products of the system that the PAP has put in place.

If you want to blame someone, blame those who are getting filthy rich from exploiting the foreigners & lesser mortals, i.e. our dear leaders.

seems like you are taking papa jokes seriously? the real reasons why companies are moving is due to rental and high cost. what come singapore pay high rental to hire pinoys? i might as well open office in manila and hire pinoys in pesos. :*:

so u saying sinkies should be grateful they are screwed either way?when times are good sinkies should expect the good jobs to be taken away by foreigners?when times are bad,the companies just packs up and leaves anyway.this country is meant to serve singaporeans after all,not for the benefit of foreigners,or foreign MNCs or the benefit of Pay And Pay Party,if not why even call it Singapore??this is why i say singaporeans are cowards for refusing to fight for their rights and dignity in this country and daft for being unable to figure out how to be on top or masters of their own country.prosp

Heard stories about how the Ah Neh and Ang Mo securing their jobs by cutting Singaporeans from the workforce first then their own kind.

Many Sinkies will suffer in this coming downturn.

heard stories about how the ah neh and ang mo securing their jobs by cutting singaporeans from the workforce first then their own kind.

Many sinkies will suffer in this coming downturn.

hahaha ha . You just made my day. Sibe song !

Heard stories about how the Ah Neh and Ang Mo securing their jobs by cutting Singaporeans from the workforce first then their own kind.

Many Sinkies will suffer in this coming downturn.

dont worry every sinkie has already recieved a jobskills future package to help them retool and reskill for their future careers as taxi drivers and security guards.

anyway if im remember correctly,the foreigner workforce is already bigger than the local workforce in this country,only 1.9 million locals are participating in the workforce,while more than 2 million fts are in the workforce,most of the manpower growth in the last 10 years has been to accomodate fts.....there is no more room to cut,the foreigners will be sent home first if there nothing for them to do on this island.

if coys dun cut jobs, den ah woodrow wud worry ...

The article also did not list the O&G companies that have closed their Singapore offices and relocated to Malaysia.

Another O&G company Subsea 7 closed it's Singapore office a few weeks ago and moved to KL, retrenching 60 Sinkie staff.

Another O&M player exits Singapore for Kuala Lumpur

Feb 03, 2016

It used to be a tale of two cities with Singapore and Kuala Lumpur each competing to host regional headquarters for offshore and marine (O&M) players. But against a backdrop of persistently low oil prices, fresh concerns have emerged over Singapore's competitiveness as an O&M hub, following a decision made by a fourth top-tier international subsea contractor to ship out most of its operations to Kuala Lumpur.

A fortnight ago, Oslo and Nasdaq-listed Subsea 7 reached a decision to move its regional headquarters to Kuala Lumpur from Singapore.

The Business Times understands the move, to be completed by the third quarter of 2016, will see about two thirds of the 90-strong staff in Singapore made redundant. An informed source told BT Subsea 7 will offer only a handful of its staff in Singapore relocation options to Kuala Lumpur. The offshore crewing and logistics supply chain management will remain in Singapore, which would mean its Loyang supply base will stay, while its business address in PSA Building would likely have to be relinquished.

- See more at: http://business.asiaone.com/news/ano....j7DdjBy4.dpuf

so u saying sinkies should be grateful they are screwed either way?when times are good sinkies should expect the good jobs to be taken away by foreigners?when times are bad,the companies just packs up and leaves anyway.this country is meant to serve singaporeans after all,not for the benefit of foreigners,or foreign MNCs or the benefit of Pay And Pay Party,if not why even call it Singapore??this is why i say singaporeans are cowards for refusing to fight for their rights and dignity in this country and daft for being unable to figure out how to be on top or masters of their own country.prosp

I do not have any sympathies for all bankers esp sinkie bankers who get fired or retrenched. they asked for it. in fact almost ALL sinkies asked for it. if you read my posts 6-7 months ago I warned alot of people of this coming perfect storm and alot of useless craps flamed me for it esp the 3 stooges. Now they are all suddenly so quiet and like little rats hiding away all their stupid prophecies about STI hitting 4000 and property markets booming. This time the downturn would be the worst ever . Mark my words. i have never been wrong. the main problem is sinkie economy is actually dependent of 2 useless things . money laundering(hence the useless lazy fat bankers parasiting on dirty money ) and the casinos (also money laundering). all the excess cash is used to prop up the property market which is over valued and over rated. all it takes is a crack down on corruption in China and Indonesia and teh gravy train would dry up. There is no real value or talent here. we do not have a bill gates or zuckenberg or steve jobs or larry page. we do not have our world renown brand like samsung or apple or toyota or even xaiomi. all the crap in past few decades about restructuring the economy is just hot air. over investing in China and India is a terriible mistake which would shows it effects in the next 3 years. india esp is full of cheats. likewise china. projects like suzhou and tianjin are already massive flops and billions lost. that's why china noveau riche got almost all their wealth by stupid suckers who taught tehy are easy meat and a guaranteed investment. Now they are in for a massive shock as 90% of all banks in China are insolvent. as for india, I would ratherburn my money than trusts these ah nehs.
when casinoes is retrenching staff , you know the time is up. the 70% asked for it and all the crap about asset enhancement is just bullsh!t to con simple minded hoi polloi taht they are rich and their hdb pigeon holes are worth alot (all a poilitical game) so as continue to vote the status quo. Now the trouble starts when companies fold up, staff retrenched and the FT woudl fight by taking jobs with low pay without qualm as they have no choice. sinkies would be kicked out as all companies fight for survival and the bottom line is all that matters. for sinkies once your pay is insufficient to pay for your world most expensive cars and pigeion hole, they are screwed . that's why the property market is due for a huge crash.

I do not have any sympathies for all bankers esp sinkie bankers who get fired or retrenched. they asked for it. in fact almost ALL sinkies asked for it. if you read my posts 6-7 months ago I warned alot of people of this coming perfect storm and alot of useless craps flamed me for it esp the 3 stooges. Now they are all suddenly so quiet and like little rats hiding away all their stupid prophecies about STI hitting 4000 and property markets booming. This time the downturn would be the worst ever . Mark my words. i have never been wrong. the main problem is sinkie economy is actually dependent of 2 useless things . money laundering(hence the useless lazy fat bankers parasiting on dirty money ) and the casinos (also money laundering). all the excess cash is used to prop up the property market which is over valued and over rated. all it takes is a crack down on corruption in China and Indonesia and teh gravy train would dry up. There is no real value or talent here. we do not have a bill gates or zuckenberg or steve jobs or larry page. we do not have our world renown brand like samsung or apple or toyota or even xaiomi. all the crap in past few decades about restructuring the economy is just hot air. over investing in China and India is a terriible mistake which would shows it effects in the next 3 years. india esp is full of cheats. likewise china. projects like suzhou and tianjin are already massive flops and billions lost. that's why china noveau riche got almost all their wealth by stupid suckers who taught tehy are easy meat and a guaranteed investment. Now they are in for a massive shock as 90% of all banks in China are insolvent. as for india, I would ratherburn my money than trusts these ah nehs.
when casinoes is retrenching staff , you know the time is up. the 70% asked for it and all the crap about asset enhancement is just bullsh!t to con simple minded hoi polloi taht they are rich and their hdb pigeon holes are worth alot (all a poilitical game) so as continue to vote the status quo. Now the trouble starts when companies fold up, staff retrenched and the FT woudl fight by taking jobs with low pay without qualm as they have no choice. sinkies would be kicked out as all companies fight for survival and the bottom line is all that matters. for sinkies once your pay is insufficient to pay for your world most expensive cars and pigeion hole, they are screwed . that's why the property market is due for a huge crash.

Many won't believe me when I tell them many Sinkies are still living in their dream land.
Early this morning my bitchy female colleague "cry father cry mother" saying .... "Bloody hell, next time won't vote for PAP already, my BTO application for flats got rejected".
Each time when my younger colleagues talk about how wonderful their bf/gf is and planning to get married, buy their dream HDB flats to settle down, I can't help but wondering if these young chaps really knew what's going on with the society of Sillypore. They are either ignorant or didn't see far enough that whatever HDB flats and cars they bought does not belongs and own by them even after fully service the loan for 30 years for the house and 10 years for the car. They are simply renting a HDB flat and car from the PAP and the irony is their don't own anything at all after spending their life savings on that pigeon hole and a piece of paper to drive around.

They don't even bother to think far enough what's going to happen if one day they lost their job and with such a huge debt and expenses as burden living in Sillypore, can they still take it easy and live life as normal? They still think that jobs are easily available for them and they have no worries about paying for their house and car for the rest of their lives and live happily ever after in Sillypore.

I suggest that with a bit of brain left just live a simply low key life and focus on your personal improvement. Think yourself as a global citizen instead of a shittyzen to survive for the next phase (meaning if you need to move to another country, go for it).

"numero uno", you forgot to add one more passe strategy this government is still chasing. The strategy of given perks and tax breaks (typically directed by EDB) to Multinationals so as to "create jobs".

Unfortunately Singapore is a very expensive place now with mid to senior executives salaries on par with people in US and Europe (which suffering economic contractions since the financial crisis in 2008). Thus this MNC just parachute lots of angmos into Singapore (partly to save their jobs in the west). Worst is because the economic downturn, the angmos who came here now behave even in a more racist manner (tribal mindset which will typically increase when people are fighting for resources), either prefer to hire their own or some bootlickers (Ah-Neh, Pinoys). I will advise you to walk into any Angmo MNC (which is part of my job, and also info from friends), you will find Singaporeans a minority (20-30%), with even junior HR/Finance executives also foreigners. Mind you, these are not lousy blue collar or service industry jobs but actual white collar corporate roles. Singaporeans too fussy to choose them?

You can ask around and will find alot of these angmo (not all) playing politics, relax relax lifestyle, fly around to exotic holidays (Bali, Phuket), party all the time and rarely work (other than management by Excel Sheet and Powerpoint Presentations). The lower ranking Pinoys and Foreign Indians (again not everyone) are so ineffective in their work which is the culture brought in from their homeland ("yes yes" but then never actually complete the work when timeline is due).

The whole strategy has broken down so much (compared to back to 80s/90s when only senior management is angmo), that government agencies like IDA and stat-boards are creating lots of bullshit "program manager/project manager" etc jobs to save some PMETS who are laid off or politically pushed out from the MNCs.

To be fair most Singaporeans basically lack vision or guts. The local management mindset is still stuck in the 80s and all the "innovation" or "entreprenuership" talk are just lip-service. Plus I personally think many locals are frog-in-the-well, lack sense of artistry or quality. Just look at our local food brand companies like Super Group and BreadTalk. The branding and quality is like shit. SuperGroup products are so bad tasting that the Malaysian brands are killing them (just look at their share price and mumbo jumbo talk about building markets in South East Asia when even "third world countries" like Malaysia and Thailand produced far better packaging and tasting brands). Ding Tai Fung branding and business processes were created by the Taiwanese and only franchised by the local BreadTalk owner. You can walk into the Thai luxury malls which has the wow factor way way ahead of Singapore. The local mediacorpse content has the ugliest actors and worst acting capability in the region (compare to the actors in Thailand and Philippines). So there really nothing about quality or innovation. I laughed so hard when LHL went to Silicon Valley and ask those Singaporeans to come back. PLEASE!

Just look after yourself, your mind and your body. Be ready for the next massive tremor to come.