• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CheeBye HDB force peasants to Upgrade in these bad times

Fucking cheebye grace fu dun realise that peasants cannot afford any thing right now. Much less forced to do upgrades on flats that were cocked up by HDB to begin with. Why spend $4.6 billion now? Double the amount in the last 5 years when the economy was much better? trying to con peasants out of more money when they need it most. These problems she mentioned like ceiling leaks and spalling concrete is the poor workmanship and quality of the HDB contractors. HDB should pay for them, they are the landlords. If the town concils have to co-pay, that means a WHOPPING $2.3 BILLION has to come out of the peasant's pockets. Hope u arse luck not liivng in one of the chosen precincts. Fucking HDB should place a MORATORIUM in all upgrades until the economy turns around. That also they don't know how to do. Give her million dollar salary to come up with this money conning schemes. She is not worth $5 in Geylang. Bitch.

SINGAPORE : The Singapore government will spend another S$4.6 billion on upgrading works in public housing estates over the next five years — almost double the amount spent in the past five.

ADVERTISEMENT

Elaborating in Parliament on Friday, Senior Minister of State for National Development Grace Fu said over 13,000 flats have been selected for the Home Improvement Programme from 2007 to date.

Another 320,000 are eligible for the programme, which helps lessees deal with common maintenance problems in ageing flats such as spalling concrete and ceiling leaks.

As for the Lift Upgrading Programme (LUP), Ms Fu said 60 precincts were selected in Financial Year 2008, 10 more than initially planned.

The Housing and Development Board (HDB) plans to pick more precincts for this financial year and bring forward selection by six months.

Ms Fu added that the ministry will monitor construction costs as it is mindful of the impact on town councils and residents who both have to co—pay LUP costs. — CNA /ls

lost > 50b woh ... big amt leh ... muz try 2 recover quikly la ...

eziest way 2 recover is 2 squeez fr lesser mortals la ... squeez a lil bit here ... squeez a lil bit there ...

I really just can not understand Singaporean's mentality?!, HDB is the landlord, even after paying off the flat, the title is a leaseholder, and HDB is still the owner.

Why are we paying for HDB design mistakes?, as in the older flats built in the 1980's, where the lifts do not serve ever floor?. Wasn't that a touted feature, way back then?

Do we really need all those cosmetic improvement?, pavilions, covered walkways, BBQ pits etc..???

People are struggling to make ends meet, and they are still gleefully, increasing the cost of living.

All the improvements should be free, at no cost to the people; taken from the profits earned by HDB.

This is a true story.

In one estate in Jurong West, when asked if they are for the LUP (life upgrading program), 80% of the residents voted for "NO"

In the end, the LUP still went ahead as planned. Residents are still being asked to bear the cost.

So even if the town council were to consult with the residents with regards to the LUP program, citing "being mindful of cost", they will still go ahead as their original plan.

Do not resist. It is useless. :mad:

This is a true story.

In one estate in Jurong West, when asked if they are for the LUP (life upgrading program), 80% of the residents voted for "NO"

In the end, the LUP still went ahead as planned. Residents are still being asked to bear the cost.

So even if the town council were to consult with the residents with regards to the LUP program, citing "being mindful of cost", they will still go ahead as their original plan.

Maybe you should start a thread on screwing by the PAP govt, put all those screwing in one thread, then for all to review and see.

This is a true story.

so, 'resistence is futile'...then why go through all the charade of voting?:mad:

Other than the textbook economic theory..micro, macro, whatever...many people these days are staring at their jobs, careers, fading away due to bad economic climate, many are on contracts, without a permanent employement as it is the norm today. Why!, then, are they still so insensitive, doinng the LUP and whatever..even though payment, can be deffered (can they, right?). why bring stresses & emotional pain to the people?

Will there be another incident of 'burning'?, 'punching' or eve shoes throwing?..may, throwing 'used kotex'???:o

No money...how to upgrade?..

Fucking cheebye grace fu dun realise that peasants cannot afford any thing right now.

Now's the best time upgrade as raw materials, labour and other overheads are a lot lower during a recession.

HDB should be congratulated for its excellent timing.

This is a true story.

Thats what Singkies get for not having the balls

hundreds of billions sucked out from them

LKY never represented us

LKY IS A SELF SERVING BASTARD OUT TO SCREW US ASSISTED BY ALL HIS BASTARDS IN WHITE

AND NOW YOU ALL SEE THE HUNDREDS OF BILLIONS THAT HE STOLE FROM US LOST BECAUSE LKY IS SUCH A FUCKING IDIOT

IT IS NOT HC OR EVEN HIS SONS

LKY USE THEM LIKE PUPPETS AND HIDE BEHIND THEM ALLOWING BLAME ON THEM

IT IS LKY THAT LOST ALL THAT MONEY

lost > 50b woh ... big amt leh ... muz try 2 recover quikly la ...

eziest way 2 recover is 2 squeez fr lesser mortals la ... squeez a lil bit here ... squeez a lil bit there ...

I understand that, but they should try and recover from people who actually have the money. they should go after and sue Ho Jinx and all the directors of temasek for negligence, than go after their assets.

Now's the best time upgrade as raw materials, labour and other overheads are a lot lower during a recession.

Can you actually back up your statement that raw materials and other overheads are a lot lower? Actual tender results please?

During the recession it is better time to continue driving your Toyota or Subaru. Think about the Mercedes when the time is good.
Maybe it is different for you. u or your father business is in construction.

Can you actually back up your statement that raw materials and other overheads are a lot lower? Actual tender results please?

Just google for "commodities index". All the info is readily available on the net.

I really just can not understand Singaporean's mentality?!, HDB is the landlord, even after paying off the flat, the title is a leaseholder, and HDB is still the owner.

Why are we paying for HDB design mistakes?, as in the older flats built in the 1980's, where the lifts do not serve ever floor?. Wasn't that a touted feature, way back then?

Do we really need all those cosmetic improvement?, pavilions, covered walkways, BBQ pits etc..???

People are struggling to make ends meet, and they are still gleefully, increasing the cost of living.

All the improvements should be free, at no cost to the people; taken from the profits earned by HDB.

BBQ pits are needed by peasants. When u lose your job and got no food, you must catch stray cats and dogs and BBQ them mah. Same for any rats u can find.

U should be congratulated on being an excellent PAP cocksucker.

This is a true story.

People should go to their town council meetings and put the council on the spot. Ask them why the so call improvements went ahead dispite a NO vote. I think if you don't adopt an adversarial tactic with this clowns, they will ride roughshod over you.

It's a no-win situation for people who are already in financial problems. During good times, when HDB told old estates that upgrading costs $200k, but you "only" need to pay $80k, old folks in estates like whampoa already hei hei chuang.

And where do these upgrading happen? IN older estates and likely lower income groups. With cash strapped situation like now, who has the money to co-share?

And HDB is not going to lose money for sure, that's not their style. So in the end, who foots the bill to enable construction companies to make money in these hard times? The poor flat owners :mad:

It's a no-win situation for people who are already in financial problems. During good times, when HDB told old estates that upgrading costs $200k, but you "only" need to pay $80k, old folks in estates like whampoa already hei hei chuang.

And where do these upgrading happen? IN older estates and likely lower income groups. With cash strapped situation like now, who has the money to co-share?

And HDB is not going to lose money for sure, that's not their style. So in the end, who foots the bill to enable construction companies to make money in these hard times? The poor flat owners :mad:

Actually, u raise a very good point. Does the HDB make money from all these upgrades? I am sure they must, that's why they lanlan also must ram these upgrades down the peasant's throats. $200K for an upgrade is ridiculous, considering the original cost of the flat is less than that. After all the Town council is not privy to the HDB bidding process for these upgrades. How can you trust the HDB to hire quality contractors to do the upgrades when in the first place, they hired fucked up contractors to build the original flats. Flats that now have leaking ceilings and spalling concrete.