• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chee asks about YOG during walkabout, Bala evades

Is SDP the Singapore's versio9n of Lord Ha Ha Party in UK? Always asking the dumbest question or brought up issues that no one really care about?

YOG, despite the overspending and underestimation of the situation, was a success in both organisation as well as display. Its the first time Singapore organise an event of such scale and by itself, its the first event of its kind by IOC. To demand instant success is itself not posible and I dont think anyone would realistically expect that, apart from those who did nothing but make noise.

I would like to see Chee and SDP use YOG as their election topic and watch how many people walk away during the rallies.

he seriously never learnt his lesson.

What kind of dumbfuck comments is this. YOG is indeed a failure. How can you use tax payers money and do an event that no one cares about.

stage performing artists performing in front of empty seats, is that the hungry ghost festival?

If your sinkie lord cannot or unable to organise such an event and pls dun go and how lian want to do it. SUch a waste of taxpayer money and this should be a huge protest after that to demand an answer.

What kind of dumbfuck comments is this. YOG is indeed a failure. How can you use tax payers money and do an event that no one cares about.

stage performing artists performing in front of empty seats, is that the hungry ghost festival?

If your sinkie lord cannot or unable to organise such an event and pls dun go and how lian want to do it. SUch a waste of taxpayer money and this should be a huge protest after that to demand an answer.

That is not a hungry ghost festivals, that is to keep their hungry minions happy, are you a member?:wink:

Ilovelamb

GMS score better in this aspect, when he met a female minister at hawker centre, he guai guai pose picture with her like a little kitten. After that claimed he got devious attack from other oppositions members becos of taking photo with her:rolleyes::biggrin:

Watchman

Its equally useless to debate with the PAP at Hong Lim Green since the PAP don't show up :smile:

Yes and not only does PAP doesn't
show up . They got the full support
of the police at their disposal . All the
useless Chinese, Indians and Malays .
They training new citizens to record
with video recordings of trouble makers .
Ready to give you a bail xx.xx amount .

Forvendet

YOG, despite the overspending and underestimation of the situation, was a success in both organisation as well as display. Its the first time Singapore organise an event of such scale and by itself, its the first event of its kind by IOC. To demand instant success is itself not posible and I dont think anyone would realistically expect that, apart from those who did nothing but make noise.

It was a kiddy-goes-to-wonderland event that nobody wanted for crying out loud. Singapore bidded $100m and won the bid. How the hell did Moscow lose the bid? They wanted to lose it! They were just there to oblige IOC bureaucrats who wanted to stage a bid. The actual expenditure turned out to be near $400m for a non-event and you're calling it a success? I can only guess one reason. You're one of those who "volunteered" for the restaurant-catered buffet meals instead of the canteen meal packets.

However, it's the for the exact reason that YOG failed so miserably that it can't be a vote-winning election issue for opposition. Except for those directly involved, nobody remembers or gives a damn what it was all about.

Windsor

Well said, as the past is the past and nothing can be done and nothing can be gain by confronting Bala because he will not be that stupid to be baited. Chee's approach has always ended up in screwing himself up and making the opposition's cause that much harder. They need more than sympathy votes to win a seat. Chee, in my opinion is pig-headed and itching for a fight to score points and simply lost the plot. He is not level-headed and does not have any political savvy whatsoever and deserved being punished for being tactless. How can a man fight against a tank without employing the right tactics to overcome the odds?

Dear Man

Obviously being rude and confrontfuckingtational does not win votes. If he does not like the voters, if the voters have it wrong then he should just fucking migrate and go taiwan where his antics would be better applauded and where he would be a hero and not a zero.

Its a different world today, avoid the PAP traps, get in, avoid lawsuits and grow ur base and party. Past PAP antics would cut no ice in the present

Locke

Sideswipe

Well said, as the past is the past and nothing can be done and nothing can be gain by confronting Bala because he will not be that stupid to be baited.

what past is past? YOG is last year, less than six months ago event, not some decades old issues from the 1960s.

Balllessme

Why are you still here? never join the Red-shirt Protest Parade in BKK ha?? :biggrin:

BusNo64

Yes and not only does PAP doesn't
show up . They got the full support
of the police at their disposal . All the
useless Chinese, Indians and Malays .
They training new citizens to record
with video recordings of trouble makers .
Ready to give you a bail xx.xx amount .

<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/f-arQJYjX1s" frameborder="0" allowFullScreen></iframe>

Windsor

Please read the whole sentence and understand the context. Bring those responsible to account only when he is in Parliament, but not here and not now. Before Chee can do that, he has to get into Parliament, where his words will carry more weight. If he wants to score points and get votes, talk to the voters, not Bala as it will be a waste of time.

what past is past? YOG is last year, less than six months ago event, not some decades old issues from the 1960s.

The culture is such that voters don't like rude confrontation or unpleasantness. We call it saving face - a distinct oriental feature. Despite his eloquence, clean cut image and his incisive views on governing Singapore, he has repeatedly failed at the polls by being the worst performer by drawing the least number of voters of amongst the opposition candidates.

Why do voters not cast votes in his favour yet other opposition candidates who are less articulate, less capable and less incisive garner more.

His habit of repeatedly doing the same thing and not learning from it.

The PAP does not cast votes, its the voters who. He should appeal to them and ignore the PAP. Take the PAP on forums, parliament and appropriate places. Even if we do not like our neighbours, we smile at them and extend certain courtesies but we address at the proper forum or opportunity.

I am fully aware that the PAP regime is oppressive, morally corrupt and hypocritical. Nepotism and elitism are it current traits. I have no time for it and wish it disappears soon. But one must have guile and common sense when skinning a cat and there are many of doing it. Chee seems to pick the wrong one.

Why do Chiam, Low, GMS and CTL etc get more votes than Chee? Have you ever wondered why.

Just want to be clear about where you are coming from. How do you suggest he does this? By showing the voters what benefits he can bring to them?

You got to be kidding. YOG is hot button issue but the manner he brought it up is wrong.

YOG has so many issues - poor planning, bad food, volunteers treated like dirt, stadiums empty but spectators not let in as the tickets were given away and thus no tickets, school children forced to attend, school children threathened with financial penalties for not attending, contracts not done properly, false publicity, withdrawn advert because of public backlash, etc

Is SDP the Singapore's versio9n of Lord Ha Ha Party in UK? Always asking the dumbest question or brought up issues that no one really care about?

I would like to see Chee and SDP use YOG as their election topic and watch how many people walk away during the rallies.

he seriously never learnt his lesson.

Excellent points.

Please read the whole sentence and understand the context. Bring those responsible to account only when he is in Parliament, but not here and not now. Before Chee can do that, he has to get into Parliament, where his words will carry more weight. If he wants to score points and get votes, talk to the voters, not Bala as it will be a waste of time.

Perspective

The purpose is to tell observers that they have slammed a PAP minister. If the issue was about holding PAP accountability, it would be a press release to address voters (which they already did) or get into Parliament to address PAP directly.

The target audience is also foreign, as some already long surmised.

CSJ is an intelligent man. He gets confused sometimes. He has many roles and tasks to perform. Ever wondered if all his acts were orchestrated and intented? He has come a long way and there is no turning back. He will be the same old CSJ till he leaves the political arena. And believe me, he is not poor. Domestically, he is almost useless. Internationally, he remains useful.

GMS score better in this aspect, when he met a female minister at hawker centre, he guai guai pose picture with her like a little kitten. After that claimed he got devious attack from other oppositions members becos of taking photo with her:rolleyes::biggrin:

MBT has better taste than GMS. MBT posed with a quite chio bu recently.

steffychun

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/4531-chee-asks-about-yog-during-walkabout-bala-evades-

Chee asks about YOG during walkabout, Bala evades
Sunday, 23 January 2011
Singapore Democrats

vb_bukittimah1.jpg

During our weekend walkabout this morning at the Bukit Timah Food and Market Centre, the Singapore Democrats chanced upon a bunch of PAP ministers and members who were also out for their campaign.

Billed as a 'ministerial visit', no less than four ministers descended upon the Holland-Bukit Timah GRC to meet with the morning crowd. Joining Dr Vivian Balakrishnan and Mr Lim Swee Say (who are MPs at the GRC) were Mr Ng Eng Hen (Education Minister) and Ms Yu-Foo Yee Shoon (Minister of State for Community, Youth and Sports).

Coursing through the tables at the hawker centre, the Ministers did their utmost to avoid a face-to-face encounter with the Democrats who were out selling our newspaper The New Democrat.

At one point, however, Minister for MCYS Dr Vivian Balakrishnan came in front of Dr Chee Soon Juan and the two men exchanged pleasantries. Dr Balakrishnan then asked if the SDP was going to contest in the GRC.

"It looks like it," Dr Chee replied. "I think there are some issues that the voters here would be concerned about, don't you think?"

The PAP man did know what Dr Chee was referring to.

"I'm talking about the YOG and how you mishandled it so badly," Dr Chee clarified.

"We'll talk about it at the appropriate time," Dr Balakrishnan evaded.

"I'm sure we will," Dr Chee assured before resuming his rounds.

Also present were SPH reporters who were, of course, on hand to report on the ministers' rounds. Several asked if the SDP was going to contest Holland-Bukit Timah.

They also repeatedly asked if we knew that the ministers were visitng the area this morning. It may come as a surprise, but the SDP has its own programme which doesn't quite revolve around where the ministers go. The Singapore Democrats have been visiting the various areas in the Holland-Bukit Timah and Bishan-Toa Payoh GRCs for the last couple of years in preparation for the coming general elections.

We continue to work hard on the ground to get our message across to the electorate. Singaporeans need a party in Parliament that is not afraid to ask the hard and necessary questions about policies that harm the people and this nation. These include the continuing escalation of the cost of living in Singapore and the immigration policy that encourages the displacement of Singaporean workers by foreigners.

Dear SD no hope P

In the British Parliamentary system there is not similar example or statute that a Minister must reply to a nobdoy and and non-constituent about government matters during ad walk about. Please show me an example in the West where a politician has to answer questions during a walkabout.

Dear SD no hope P

In the British Parliamentary system there is not similar example or statute that a Minister must reply to a nobdoy and and non-constituent about government matters during ad walk about. Please show me an example in the West where a politician has to answer questions during a walkabout.

If the YOG fiasco happened in Britain I guarantee that it would force MPs to resign:eek:

The British the press would be all over the gov't & a "nobody" like Dr. Chee wouldn't have to press the gov't for answers about public money :rolleyes: