• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

changing money at destination airport

If you change at the bank, you have a receipt for your claims, not unless the money changer also give receipt which the company recognized.

Frank advice. Change some, like a thousand baht pocket money for on-the-road food and transport convenience. Reach Survanabhumi Airport, don't bother with the money changing counters there (all owned by banks but offer lower rates). Reach Bangkok downtown, then change somemore as much as you need. In downtown, try the money changing counters of travel agencies instead of banks. You'll be offered better rates.

i already have a few thousand bhat on hand. my fren will be showing me around.

When changing into foreign currency at money changers, there is the additional danger of getting fake money in return. Sometimes, the money changers themselves don't know they have been fooled. I only use money changers for Ringgit and when changing into SG dollars. The difference in exchange rates is not worth the risk and hassle of getting dud notes for me.

If you change at the bank, you have a receipt for your claims, not unless the money changer also give receipt which the company recognized.

Unless one carry large wads of money for transactions that can not see the light of day, we go Bangkok, the average we will be changing into would be THB23,000, how much loss can we incurr??

The person asking the question, must be changing more than that amount.

You change from the banks you leave a legal paperwork trail, the rate is official trading rates & is usually lower than the money chaner gives & you are guaranteed genuine currency notes.

Of course money changers give better rates, but there are risks, as mentioned, forged notes.

Airport rates or any International transit stations in anywhere in the world, have the worst rates, as any travellers will know. They are for desperate people, who need to change whatever currency notes they have to pay for taxes, extra bagage fees and so on.

In short, Banks offer the average rate & is the safest....the rest, you have to take risks.

Unless one carry large wads of money for transactions that can not see the light of day, we go Bangkok, the average we will be changing into would be THB23,000, how much loss can we incurr??

Well said. It is not worth the trouble to shop high and low just for a small savings.

Just change it at bank and enjoy the trip.

When changing into foreign currency at money changers, there is the additional danger of getting fake money in return. Sometimes, the money changers themselves don't know they have been fooled. I only use money changers for Ringgit and when changing into SG dollars. The difference in exchange rates is not worth the risk and hassle of getting dud notes for me.

stay away from usd 100 notes. north korea is printing tons of them.

when i arrive in sg, i usually go to lucky plaza basement or any money changer in the new towns. these places rely on lowly paid foreign workers who don't open bank accounts for their business, so they naturally offer better deals and have much more smaller denominations and types of currencies than banks. avoid ang moh and jap tourist traps. money changers there are crooks.

Golden mile opposite beach road hawker center also offer good rates.

But beware of fake currencies whenever you change currencies regardless of locality. It happened to me in sinkieland. Go to a more reputable source to reduce the risk. Dont end up penny wise pound foolish.

Except for Vietnam, Ho Chih Minh City. The money changers at the airport are the cheapest!

The money changers at Raffles Place are not bad too.

So i'll be travelling to thailand. I was told that if i change my sing currency at bkk aiport i can get better rates than changing it in sg's money changers.

Is this correct?
i'f u're comparing the rates between airports (changi vs suvarnabhumi), there's some truth in the rates being a little better, but the difference is quite insignificant, unless u're changing few thousand SGD at a go.

but if u expect better rates, any money changer down at change alley, chinatown or golden mile should offer quite decent rates compared to what u get at the airport.

money changers in BKK sometimes offer better rates for bigger notes ie; 100 bill or 500 bill.

I notice that many countries now have anti-money laundrying regulations even Spore :)

You have to declare if you are carrying US$10,000 or more. How many of us would do that :D

public service message:

if you have travel insurance, and if you are robbed, you can claim for loss of cash (amount depending on your travel policy) provided you have a police report and receipt from bank/money changer.

The exchanges at changi airport are quite competitive. Sometimes they are even better than the indian exchanges in town.

how many million dollars exchange is involved here?? the difference from 1 ah-neh money changer to the next ah-neh changer is only few cts difference. go all the way to airport to change, even if the rates aint good, also lppl have to change.

if really no time to change, go all the way to the other country liao, u dont wanna change at airport, then go to local bank to change lor. by the time u're on their streets, u dont have a choice even if the rates aint favorable at all.