• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Changes to OZ skilled migration.

Ash007

Just saw this today. They are tightening the criteria to migrate to Aust.

http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/whats-new.htm

Minister's announcement on GSM visas – 8 February 2010

On 8 February 2010, the Minister for Immigration and Citizenship, Senator Chris Evans, announced the following changes to the General Skilled Migration program:

the outcomes of a review of the Migration Occupations in Demand List (MODL)
the replacement of the current Skilled Occupation List (SOL) in the second half of 2010
offshore GSM visas made before 1 September 2007 would be capped and ceased
priority processing arrangements
skills assessment requirements for GSM applicants nominating a trade occupation.
More information is available on the department's website.

Its going to get harder for people to migrate here. Many Ah-nehs, Ah-Tiongs used the education route before, this change will tighten the quality and numbers that people can migrate now. Overall, I think its a good change. I'm glad I migrated early. :D

I predict more "colleges", that issue diplomas like cooks, hairdresser etc would be closing down soon.

yeah i guess...im somehow glad that they are doing something to it. don't make the same mistake as singapore.

no pt getting pple there and then they cant get job and all. v sad for the migrants and a waste of all the resources.

Yup, all started because the Ah-neh KpKb say kena robbed here, bashed there. A lot of them attended "colleges" like these in the hope to migrate here after graduation. With not much money to begin with, they live in high-risk area like Footscray. With policy like this, they would be packing their bags soon. "Curry-bashing" is going to stop and we would finally stop hearing about news like this. Problem solved. :D

Haha.. I've heard many Aussies are pissed with the indians bcoz they protested heavily causing chaos to the traffic.. the indian taxi drivers and students jammed up parliament house and Swanston streets.. KNN.. they thought they are the locals.. haha.

Unions make contribution to charity (indians collect money from jobs)... Unions supported by labour party (indians supported by curry).. Unlike SG, foreigners have no rights in Australia :o This is the reason why everyone is proud to be Australian :D

Not just that, I know a lot of retail, sales, car agents hated dealing with Indians. They would come into the shop/store and ask you question for hours at ends. In the end they won't buy anything, on the rare occasion they do buy something, they return it after 30min.

Haha.. I've heard many Aussies are pissed with the indians bcoz they protested heavily causing chaos to the traffic.. the indian taxi drivers and students jammed up parliament house and Swanston streets.. KNN.. they thought they are the locals.. haha.

Unions make contribution to charity (indians collect money from jobs)... Unions supported by labour party (indians supported by curry).. Unlike SG, foreigners have no rights in Australia :o This is the reason why everyone is proud to be Australian :D

Not just that, I know a lot of retail, sales, car agents hated dealing with Indians. They would come into the shop/store and ask you question for hours at ends. In the end they won't buy anything, on the rare occasion they do buy something, they return it after 30min.

what's new?

It's about bloody time they clamp down on all this "FT", unlike Singapore.

what's new?

It's about bloody time they clamp down on all this "FT", unlike Singapore.

They are doing the same in the UK.

Suspension of Tier 4 student applications in North India, Nepal and Bangladesh

31 January 2010

The UK Border Agency has announced that, from 1 February 2010, it is not accepting any new applications under the Tier 4 student route of the points-based system at the following visa application centres:

North India - New Delhi, Jalandhar and Chandigarh
Bangladesh - Dhaka, Sylhet and Chittagong
Nepal - Kathmandu
The head of the points-based system at the UK Border Agency, Jeremy Oppenheim, said:

'The points-based system gives us the flexibility to act to maintain the integrity of the visa system, while processing legitimate applications fairly, thoroughly and as quickly as possible.

'We continually check and monitor all student applications and education providers to ensure that they meet the required standards set by the points-based system. As a result of this routine monitoring and an increase in applications, we have temporarily stopped accepting new applications from North India, Nepal and Bangladesh while we carry out an investigation to ensure they are all genuine.

'We will take tough action against those who attempt to abuse the system.'

--------------------------------------

From 22 February 2010, any student who applies by post or at one of our public enquiry offices, to study in the UK under Tier 4 of the points-based system must possess a confirmation of acceptance for studies (CAS) from their prospective sponsor.

You will not be able to apply under Tier 4 using a visa letter from that date, even if the visa letter was issued before 22 February 2010.

this is the kind of thing that is happening in Australia and you wonder why they really dun like those from the sub-continents

http://hornsby-advocate.whereilive.com.au/news/story/principal-a-victim-of-a-vendetta/

Melbourne, the Indian capital of Australia. :-)

SYDNEY: Australia on Monday axed 20,000 migrant applications in a major overhaul aimed at clamping down on foreign students gaining permanent residency through courses such as hairdressing and cookery.

Immigration Minister Chris Evans said the reforms, which follow a sudden rise in Australia's Indian population and an embarrassing rash of attacks on students from the country, would give priority to migrants with higher skills.

Evans said about 20,000 overseas applicants would have their fees refunded at a cost of A$14 million (US$12 million), while new rules would require better English skills and target the "best and brightest".

"The current points test puts an overseas student with a short-term vocational qualification gained in Australia ahead of a Harvard-educated environmental scientist," Evans said in a statement.

The new measures are likely to weigh on Australia's large overseas education sector, which successfully targeted Asian students to become the country's fourth largest earner of foreign money.

The sector has been hit by widespread allegations of shoddy practice and visa scams by migration agents, with several institutions forced to close last year.

Evans said the current Migration Occupations in Demand List (MODL) had prompted a massive influx in foreign students attending courses that put them in line for permanent residency.

"We had tens of thousands of students studying cookery and accounting and hairdressing because that was on the list, those subjects were on the list and that got them through to permanent residency," he told ABC radio.

Australia attracted some 117,000 Indian students in the year to October, about 19 per cent of foreign enrolments. Other major source countries include China, South Korea, Nepal, Thailand and Brazil.

Hundreds of Indians have been robbed and assaulted in Australia over the past 18 months, prompting allegations of racism and media outrage in the South Asian country.

Britain last week said it would slash its number of foreign visa students and raise English requirements to stop people coming to the country to work illegally.

Serves Gautam Gupta right for trying to play the "race" card.

Instead of giving into their demands, the Australians are telling them "we don't need your money". Sweet sweet irony.

Good that the governement is doing something; the colleges and unis won't for fear of losing revenue.

People like these give hardworking migrants a bad name.

These clowns have no idea and no clue. Instead of dealing with the situation properly they resort to strikes, public protest and wild allegations. They should retrospectively withdraw all the approvals previously given to these clowns. As correctly pointed out, it gives the other migrants a bad name.

Serves Gautam Gupta right for trying to play the "race" card.

People like these give hardworking migrants a bad name.

they should revoke his student visa , if he's still one, for trying to incite racial tensions

Unlike Singapore, I don't think there is an equivalent of an ISA in this country. So he is lucky to get away with that. But unlike Singapore, all views are allowed, and at the end of the day, people are more sensible and would ostracized him.

there are all sort of terms & conditions attached to a students & migrant visa, which they can chhose to revoke if they want to.

While there is no ISD equivalent, there are other arms of the law enforcement which can be used.

unfortunately their kind only hang around with themselves, so the rest of the population can ostracise all they want but they will never "hear" it, or be shamed by it

To be fair, they are a very vocal community as well. Hence you would see all this protest going on here and its actually very common for them to protest back home as well. If you have seen Q&A on Monday, where this change in migration was announced, several Indians actually raised this to Kevin Rudd, how they are treated unfairly, etc etc, the usual KpKb story on racism in Australia. The last guy that stood up, an Indian, actually said the opposite, and said Australian has been fair and good to him, he has not met with any racism in this country. They are not all bad, I think this change will bring in the higher quality ones.

there are all sort of terms & conditions attached to a students & migrant visa, which they can chhose to revoke if they want to.

While there is no ISD equivalent, there are other arms of the law enforcement which can be used.

unfortunately their kind only hang around with themselves, so the rest of the population can ostracise all they want but they will never "hear" it, or be shamed by it

To be fair, they are a very vocal community as well. Hence you would see all this protest going on here and its actually very common for them to protest back home as well. If you have seen Q&A on Monday, where this change in migration was announced, several Indians actually raised this to Kevin Rudd, how they are treated unfairly, etc etc, the usual KpKb story on racism in Australia. The last guy that stood up, an Indian, actually said the opposite, and said Australian has been fair and good to him, he has not met with any racism in this country. They are not all bad, I think this change will bring in the higher quality ones.

bottomline is they want higher quality migrants. These jokers have been using the Occupation list loophole & TAFE colleges to stay there. It's also targetting the ah tiongs as well

Mate, the Ah tiongs population in Sydney are 3 times larger then the Ah nehs!
I remember in chinatown you use to hear only Cantonese, nowadays mandarin is the norm.