• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Causeway Pt 'Economical Rice' Cost $7!

I was at Causeway Point just now. I wanted to have lunch but I thought the Mega Food Mall to ex, so I went off to another neighbourhood kopi shop to have lunch.

Next time dun buy!

Causeway Pt is in the heartlands & you have these kind of prices :eek:

Just go to JB :D

1 meat, 1 vegetable, 1 fish and 1 sotong for $7? Ridiculous!
No, it's not by market rate

1 Meat, 2 vegetable meal costs $2.50 nowadays
Fish cost at least $3 alone
Sotong cost $2 alone

He eat at foodcourt. IMO, that's the market rate.

If he eat at hawker center, that meal will probably cost $6.

Sotong and fish are always sold at a premium be it food court or Teochew porridge.
So S$7 is ok if these are included.

The point is about rising costs of living from the perspective of a normal thinking human being.

The question is why are prices going up so quickly year on year? Not is $7 justified? If business costs like rentals, utilities and GST go up, Sinkies will tell me $10 is justified. But the point is: it has hurt my pocket by $3.

We have seen before our eyes foodcourts that employ many foreigners have not been able to bring down prices. We have seen how operators which are very aggressive in bidding for foodcourts factoring in the larger population and demand have to raise prices rapidly.

Therefore, warpconomics like without foreigners, food prices will go up should be sent to the trash bin.

Their huge presence has led to higher costs of housing and living, competition for healthcare/transport/water and depressed wages.

So please do yourself a favour, not do yourself in by talking cock.

The government allow foreign workers influx to reduce labour cost. Hawkers get cheaper labour so they can keep more profits. Government can increase rentals too without hawkers grumbling to much.
This is the grand plan.

This year I've seen 3 of the places I regularly eat at, close down. These were hawker type foods. What is going on:confused:

PAP has alot to answer for :mad:

For the past 50 years LKY gahmen has never admit mistakes. If a campaign fails it is Singaporeans' fault because they do not support it. If the economy fails it is because Singaporeans are not productivity and working hard enough........etc.

So PAP will not answer for anything. Singaporeans answer is to vote them out. Go tell and explain to as many voters as you can begining like......now.

Stomper Raymond is not in touch with reality.

Typical market price at food courts for 1 meat and 1 vege is about SGD 2.60 to SGD 3.00

He wants 2 more so-called 'meat' dishes - extra 1 fish and 1 sotong and he complains about it being SGD 7.00 ?

I agree and commiserate with lots of pathetically poor people in Singapore but this Stomper Raymond is simply ridiculous. He expects to pay SGD 3.50 for all that he ordered ?

If he wants SGD 2 for 3 dishes he can visit a Bedok hawker centre (long queue and endorsed by MP Li Yi Shyan) or he can go to Golden Shoe hawker centre (Raffles Place) but you cannot get sotong or 1 whole fish.

Sometimes I just cannot stand some Sinkee value system and attitude.

5 cents bigger than bullock cart wheel !

Meat does more harm to the body and yet it is priced higher over vegetables. Pathetic.

Consider cheap because he ordered seafood dinner.
2 dishes from the sea.
If he did not order sotong then will be only $3.50
Sotong costs $3.50.
He is one big SOTONG.

Someone should ask that clown whether he voted for pap.
My guess is that he did and he is now reaping what he sowed.

Chinatown hawker still the best. A decent fulfilling porridge for a dollar only:D

The food court hawkers bid the absurd rents up, then blame the landlords when they charge an arm and a leg for their "economical rice" - some of these people charge almost 70% of the bottom tier Chinese restaurants!

Why do citizens of Singapore always fault the hawkers who pay absurd rents .

No one pitied them .

Yet Singaporeans do not admit to public or
complained to government of low income .

Because rent is still cheap.

Enjoy while you can, soon PAP will "Upgrade it" and the porridge will have sell at $4 to pay for high rent.

Chinatown hawker still the best. A decent fulfilling porridge for a dollar only:D

The government allow foreign workers influx to reduce labour cost. Hawkers get cheaper labour so they can keep more profits. Government can increase rentals too without hawkers grumbling to much.
This is the grand plan.

Doesn't mean when you secure cheap labour, your survival is ensured !

Eating too much of $1.00/- porridge .

You end up looking like this .

timmy-retard.jpg

the underlying problem is RENT

many businesses are killed by RENT

even before earning a cent they are out of pocket by huge amounts

in singapore landlord is KING

landlord is rich, RENT makes everyone poor inclucing the hawker selling $7 economical rice

According to Mah Bow Tan, if prices increase, that's good, that means economy is doing well.

Mah Bow Tan makes million dollar, oh I forgot he lives in KiM keat Avenue before... $7 is fish feed to him...

Wasn't Causeway Pt food court recently taken over by BANQUET?..who owns Banquet?...:p

Today went to eat ban mian at my neighbourhood stall which i have patronized for the last two years. The auntie told me next month onwards not doing liao. The coffeeshop owner going to renovate the coffeeshop and install aircon and for that, he will raise the rent by 50%, increase the conservancy charge by 150, to 250 per month and also stall owners have to give 15% of gross income to the coffeeshop owner.

Everyday, the owner will collect all the money from the stall holders and only at the end of the month, the owner will give the stall holders their share after deducting his 15%.

My goodness!!! No wonder she cant do liao... After the stupid renovation, the food will definitely cost more.. one less place for me to makan.

Today went to eat ban mian at my neighbourhood stall which i have patronized for the last two years. The auntie told me next month onwards not doing liao. The coffeeshop owner going to renovate the coffeeshop and install aircon and for that, he will raise the rent by 50%, increase the conservancy charge by 150, to 250 per month and also stall owners have to give 15% of gross income to the coffeeshop owner.

Everyday, the owner will collect all the money from the stall holders and only at the end of the month, the owner will give the stall holders their share after deducting his 15%.

My goodness!!! No wonder she cant do liao... After the stupid renovation, the food will definitely cost more.. one less place for me to makan.
Who is your MP?
Remember that when you cast your vote.