• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Casino gambling fall in here!!!

streetcry

I dunno why you come in here to say this. I mean, three sentences of yours are not going to change these people. It is like going to a brothel and telling everyone inside that sex outside marriage is sin. It is not like they don't know.

It is either they dun care or they bopian.

You are a really boliao person.

whether i wuliao or boliao. if you think that through gambling you can make a living, make a killing or beat the odds. i wish you good luck!

Dumbell

I dunno why you come in here to say this. I mean, three sentences of yours are not going to change these people. It is like going to a brothel and telling everyone inside that sex outside marriage is sin. It is not like they don't know.

It is either they dun care or they bopian.

You are a really boliao person.

nice analogy & beri well said, we are adult and not 3yr olds, not like we dun know about house advantage ..etc

he is indeed beri boliao :biggrin:

Dumbell

every1 seem to waiting to read fox posting only, posting here is almost like talking to yrself, which make me stop posting here. :(

it's good to see this thread come to life again, following the coming opening of sentosa casino. :wink:

streetcry

Is There a Cure for America's Gambling Addiction?
By Bernard P. Horn

Mr. Horn is political director, National Coalition Against Legalized Gambling, Washington, D.C.

For years, lawmakers forgot why gambling was considered a "vice." In fairness to them, there weren't a lot of objective studies available on the consequences of legalized gambling. The many new gambling outlets sparked opportunities for social and economic research. By 1994, a considerable body of evidence showed that the expansion of legalized gambling destroys individuals, wrecks families, increases crime, and ultimately costs society far more than the government makes.

It is important to understand that gambling addiction is just as real, and its consequences just as tragic, as alcohol or drug abuse. The American Psychiatric Association and the American Medical Association recognize pathological (or "compulsive") gambling as a diagnosable mental disorder.

Experts on pathological gambling have shown that the prevalence of this disorder is linked closely to the accessibility and acceptability of gambling in society. Like alcoholism, just a small percentage of Americans are susceptible. As more people try gambling in its various forms, however, more of those prone to the illness are exposed. So, the more legalized gambling a state makes available, the more pathological behavior is triggered. Fast-paced gambling, which maximizes the number of wagering opportunities (like casinos and video gambling machines), also maximizes gambling addiction. In 1976, a national commission found that 0.77% of the adults in the U.S., about 1,100,000 Americans, were pathological gamblers. Today, the situation is far worse.

In Iowa, the legalization of casinos more than tripled the addiction dilemma. A study released in July, 1995, found that 5.4% of the state's adults (roughly 110, 000 residents) are lifetime pathological or problem gamblers. Before riverboats came to the state, 1.7% of Iowans fell into this category.

In Louisiana, four years after the state legalized casinos and slots, a study found that seven percent of adults had become addicted to gambling. In Minnesota, as 16 Indian casinos opened across the state, the number of Gamblers Anonymous groups shot up for one to 49.

Whether roulette, slots, or lotteries, the odds always favor the house. The more one gambles against these odds, the more certain it becomes that one will lose. When pathological gambling strikes, it rarely affects just one person. Family savings are lost, college education or retirement funds disappear, and home mortgages are foreclosed. Under the stress of losing everything, many problem gamblers commit domestic violence. Since casinos came to the Mississippi Gulf Coast, domestic violence has increased 69% and an estimated 37% of all pathological gamblers have abused their children.

Pathological gamblers lose all the money they have, then run up credit card debt. They sell or pawn possessions and plead for loans from family and friend. More than half end up stealing money, often from their employers. The average Gamblers Anonymous member will have lost all his or her money and accumulated debts ranging from $35,000 to $92,000 before seeking treatment. Thousands file for bankruptcy. Many addicts who can't be helped commit suicide.

Creating a generation of addicts

Researchers call gambling the fastest growing teenage addiction, with the rate of pathological gambling among high school and college-aged youth about twice that of adults. According to Howard J. Shaffer, director of the Harvard Medical School Center for Addiction Studies, "Today, there are more children experiencing adverse symptoms from gambling than from drugs... and the problem is growing."

Despite laws in Atlantic City restricting casino gambling to people 21 or older, a survey of teenagers at Atlantic City High School revealed that not only had 64% gambled in a local casino, but 40% had done so before the age of 14. Every year, Atlantic City casino security personnel report ejecting about 20,000 minors. Just imagine how many thousands more are never caught.

Numerous studies have focused on the link between gambling establishments and crime. Just as Willie Sutton robbed banks because, as he explained, "that's where the money is," so do contemporary crooks target large casinos.

Less well-known is the extent to which gambling addiction is turning people into criminals. More than half of all pathological gamblers will commit felonies to pay off gambling debts, particularly financial crimes like embezzlement, check kiting, tax evasion, and credit card, loan, and insurance fraud. Moreover, these tend to be people who never before have committed a crime. Pathological gamblers are responsible for an estimated $1,300,000,000 worth of insurance-relate fraud per year.

In 1994, the Florida Office of Planning and Budgeting conducted a study to project the costs of legalizing casino gambling in the state. The biggest potential government expense turned out to be that of incarcerating all the new pathological gamblers who turn to crime. According to the study, "Not counting the cost of prosecution, restitution, or other related costs, incarceration and supervision costs alone for problem gambler criminal incidents could cost Florida residents $6,080,000,000."

Proponents claim that casinos or slot machines will stimulate jobs and economic growth. The reality is that gambling steals customers from existing businesses, cannibalizing their revenues. As Prof. John Warren Kindt testified before the Small Business Committee of the U.S. House of Representatives, "Traditional businesses in communities which initiate legalized gambling activities can anticipate increased personnel costs due to increased job absenteeism and declining productivity. The best blue-collar and white-collar workers, type-A personalities, are most likely to become pathological gamblers. A business with 1,000 workers can anticipate increased personnel costs of $500,000 or more per year-- simply by having various forms of legalized gambling activities accessible to its workers." No wonder that, soon after casinos were legalized in the resort town of Deadwood, S.D., gambling became one of the top reasons for business bankruptcy in the region.

streetcry

Certainly, the managers of gaming establishments, seeing these addicts every day, understand what is going on. In Atlantic City, for instance, after pathological gamblers lose all their cash, empty their ATM accounts from the casino's teller machines, and can borrow no more, they walk outside the casinos to sell their jewelry and other valuables. Selling jewelry is such a big business in Atlantic City that there are about three dozen "Cash for Gold" stores near the entrances to Boardwalk casinos. How many tens of thousands of people must sell their valuables each year in order to keep these three dozen establishments in business? (You can get about $15 for a man's gold wedding ring.) Why don't the Atlantic City casinos try to help these miserable customers?

A simple answer was suggested in testimony before the U.S. House Judiciary Committee. The casinos don't want to stop gambling addiction because they can depend on addicts for a huge percentage of their profits. Prof. Earl Grinols presented evidence that pathological and problem gamblers, representing four percent of the adult population, may account for as much as 52% of an average casino's revenues. "In this respect," he noted, "casino gambling resembles alcohol, for which 6.7% of the population consumes 50% of all alcohol consumed."

When an industry literally is exploiting the mentally ill for profit, one might expect government to intervene. However, governments have become addicted to winning the money that addicted gamblers lose. This irony carves a strange political landscape.

Legalized gambling enriches a small group of entrepreneurs, as well as the government, but does very little for average citizens. So, when there is a proposal to expand gambling, it never is the result of a popular movement. Rather, it is driven by self-interested gambling pitchmen with high-priced lobbyists or by the government itself.

Over the years, individual citizens began to question whether this "free lunch" program rationally could achieve its promise. As the guarantees of economic prosperity evaporated, state and local groups spontaneously sprang up across the nation to oppose the further spread of gambling. In 1994, these varied grassroots citizen groups created the National Coalition Against Legalized Gambling. The members of NCALG span the entire political spectrum from very conservative to very liberal. The coalition encompasses business and labor, religious and secular, with activists in every state.

Predictably, the pro-gambling lobby attempts to marginalize the coalition by painting it as a religious, moralist group. If NCALG's opposition to gambling were based on personal morality, it would lose in the political arena. After all, a large majority of Americans gamble.

NCALG does not preach the immorality of gambling. Rather, it seeks to stop the expansion of legalized gambling on public policy grounds that it harms individuals, families, businesses, and society in general. Since 1994, these arguments have been enormously successful in the political arena.

Despite furious efforts by the gambling promoters, not one state legislature legalized casinos or slot machines in 1994, 1995, or 1996. Virginia provides a good illustration. In Richmond, over a dozen casino companies pushed to legalize riverboat gambling. They hired more than 50 lobbyists, bought newspaper ads, and even aired television commercials. While the casinos spent more than $800,000 on direct lobbying in Richmond and millions more on indirect lobbying across the state, thousands of citizens, armed with the facts, mobilized at the grassroots level against the casinos. When the smoke cleared, the gambling bill was crushed in the committee.

Similarly, efforts to legalize new gambling establishments by referendum have been beaten back. As the industry's weekly newsletter complained in November, 1995, "It was a tough election day once again for the gaming industry last Tuesday, as virtually every major gaming issue went down to defeat. The results mirrored the 1994 November elections..."

Solutions on the Horizon

On Aug. 3, 1996, Pres. Clinton signed H.R. 497, the National Gambling Impact and Policy Commission Act, which set up a nine-member Federal panel to investigate all facets of gambling in America. This law, sponsored by Rep. Frank Wolf (R.-Va.) and Senators Paul Simon (D.-III.) and Dick Lugar (R.-Ind.), gives the commission a two-year mandate and sweeping subpoena powers.

The National Coalition Against Legalized Gambling worked hard to win enactment of this law, while the casino industry, represented by their Washington-based lobbying organization, the American Gaming Association, fought the gambling commission tooth-and-nail. First, the AGA tried to kill the bill outright. When that proved impossible, they tried to strip the commission of subpoena powers. Although AGA president Frank Fahrenkopf, called the subpoena power "unwarranted," "an intrusion," and "unprecedented," anti-gambling forces prevailed. The commission was granted an unrestricted power to subpoena documents, research, and computer data from the industry.

A national study will not solve the gambling problem, but it could be a turning point for the public, much like the 1964 Surgeon General's report on the hazards of smoking. In the meantime, Federal, state, or local governments should:

- Stop authorizing new gambling establishments and the expansion of existing ones.

- Re-impose a complete ban on television and radio advertisements for gambling.

- Require warning labels on all print advertisements for gambling (like cigarette ads).

- Crack down on illegal casino gambling and sports betting available through the Internet.

- Limit the amounts that can be bet or lost by individuals within a reasonable time period.

- Ban loans by gambling establishments, prevent borrowing on credit cards for gambling stakes, and prohibit ATM machines near gambling sites.

Some of this may seem like strong medicine, but we are facing a very serious societal illness. In 1996, for the first time in decades, there was a real battle over gambling policy in Congress. Pro-gambling forces are trying to recapture momentum by arguing that gambling revenues are imperative to replace massive cuts in Federal aid to states.

In 1997, gambling proponents will focus on referenda and persuading legislatures to legalize or expand casino games in many states, including Alabama, California, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia.

This year will be a major test. Will America continue to ignore all the warning signs and continue to plunge down into the hole of legalized gambling, or will our nation see that it is time to start climbing out? Will we continue to belittle the epidemic of gambling addiction, or will we finally acknowledge that it has become a public health crisis that requires immediate attention? The stakes have grown alarmingly high.

rofthelper

every1 seem to waiting to read fox posting only, posting here is almost like talking to yrself, which make me stop posting here. :(

it's good to see this thread come to life again, following the coming opening of sentosa casino. :wink:

Bro Dumbell, the chio bu in your avatar is who?

sohbuckkong

I heard that the spore government have enacted laws to prevent casinos from paying the $100 entrance fees, indirectly or directly, on behalf of spore clients, is this true?

Y

Yip Hon

For SBK :

http://www.questnet.sg/index.asp

my analysis is that S$100/- will not last long ...

when the chips are down ; they wil twiwt the S$100/- ...:(

Y

Yip Hon

Or another reason is alot LOSE till Pok liao , so thread almost dread :mad:
Myself have stop going to cruise for the past 1 yr liao , lose till scare :mad:

Dear Bro inhaler , fyi :

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_487949.html

Feb 8, 2010
Illegal loans up sharply

Illegal moneylenders lend at exorbitant interest rates and use threats and intimidation to pressure debtors to pay up if they renege on payments. -- ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN

ILLEGAL loans rose almost 60 per cent last year as Singaporeans reeling from the economic crisis turned to loan sharks to tide them over the tough times, a senior police official said on Monday.

There were 18,600 cases of illegal loans made by loan sharks last year, a 58 per cent increase from 11,800 cases in 2008, said Ng Boon Gay, director with the Criminal Investigation Department.

Illegal moneylenders lend at exorbitant interest rates and use threats and intimidation to pressure debtors to pay up if they renege on payments. 'We expect loan shark cases to continue to be a concern. We'll try to take it down, but we'll see how it will turn out,' said Mr Ng. 'We are watching it very carefully.'

Mr Ng said the police arrested 958 illegal moneylenders last year, a 90 per cent jump from 2008 as the economic slump pushed cash-strapped locals to turn to loan sharks.

Singapore's economy shrank 2.1 per cent last year after slipping into a severe recession in the third quarter of 2008 due to the impact of the global economic crisis.

Although Singapore has pulled out of the slump, the loan shark situation is not expected to improve as 'the percentage of bad debt has actually increased' following the crisis, Mr Ng said. 'Even though there is some upturn in the economy, based on the data that we get... we expect it to increase,' he said. -- AFP

kelvin

My Advice : bet Responsibly.
Never borrow to gamble.
Bet within yr means.
GOOD LUCK.
Enjoy the game, Bet Responsibly.

streetcry

This will happen to you if you gamble..

<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/m1Afcu-3Er0&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/m1Afcu-3Er0&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

fifty50

Hello Bro Dumbell; I appreciate your postings too; great sense of humour when you share on your reviews of the different ships, share your strategy, update of your results.
Just an update, I stopped gambling for a while when i grew abit tired of the routine of checking into ferry terminal, wait, take ferry, wait, boarch LW, wait, change chips, gamble, wait return ferry, wait, wait, wait etc.. + i had a few loses.
Hence a few mths ago, I decided to stop and save some capital... and just wait for IR to open.
The wait has not been easy, MBS kept on delaying their opening (latest I heard probably only in May) . RWS recently got their casino licence, however, still no official announcement on opening date as yet (i drop by to see if any update on firm opening date). Just wondering, once IR opens, u still be visiting LJ/LW? or will u shift to IR too?

streetcry

Gambler loses case against Australian casino
Tue, Dec 08, 2009
AFP

MELBOURNE - A compulsive gambler who wagered close to 1.4 billion US dollars (S$1.946 billion) during a 16-month betting spree lost his lawsuit against Australia's largest casino Tuesday when a judge ruled he was not exploited.

High-flying property developer Harry Kakavas claimed Melbourne's Crown Casino facilitated his pathological betting, despite knowing he had a problem that was so severe he had already been banned from one establishment.

Kakavas, 42, who police had barred from entering Sydney's Star City casino, had sued Crown, claiming it "lured" him with gifts and free flights on a private jet to bring him to Melbourne.

Click here to find out more!
But judge David Harper ruled the casino had not preyed on the baccarat-loving Kakavas and ordered him to repay one million dollars (S$1.269 million) in debts.

"He was not a person so helplessly entrapped by his love of cards that he found it impossible to resist Crown's attentions," Harper told the Victorian Supreme Court.

"He was the highest of this country's high rollers," added the judge.

"He enjoyed some spectacular wins. In the end, however, he lost all he won, and more."

Harper said Kakavas never suggested he was incapable of maintaining his high-roller status and had been unable to produce evidence that the casino had conspired to exploit him.

"Crown had no conception of Mr Kakavas as suffering from any kind of relevant disadvantage," the judge said.

Kakavas was a prolific gambler who had tried his luck in Las Vegas, Hong Kong, Macau and the Bahamas, the judge said.

His lawyers had argued the Sydney exclusion order should have been enforced Australia-wide by casino authorities, including Crown.

Instead, his defence said, the Melbourne casino knowingly offered to fly him to the city on at least 14 occasions and left him gift boxes of 50,000 (S$63,520) dollars in "lucky money" on the private jet to help him gamble.

During a period of 16 months in 2005 and 2006 Kakavas allegedly turned over 1.5 billion dollars (1.37 billion US), and was allowed to bet single hands of 300,000 dollars (S$381,120).

He was eventually banned from Crown after blowing more than two million dollars (S$2.54 million) on the card tables in just 43 minutes in August 2006.

Kakavas lost a total of 30 million dollars (S$38.11 million), and sued Crown and its executives for about 20.5 million (S$26.04 million).

Dumbell

Hello Bro Dumbell; I appreciate your postings too; great sense of humour when you share on your reviews of the different ships, share your strategy, update of your results.
Just an update, I stopped gambling for a while when i grew abit tired of the routine of checking into ferry terminal, wait, take ferry, wait, boarch LW, wait, change chips, gamble, wait return ferry, wait, wait, wait etc.. + i had a few loses.
Hence a few mths ago, I decided to stop and save some capital... and just wait for IR to open.
The wait has not been easy, MBS kept on delaying their opening (latest I heard probably only in May) . RWS recently got their casino licence, however, still no official announcement on opening date as yet (i drop by to see if any update on firm opening date). Just wondering, once IR opens, u still be visiting LJ/LW? or will u shift to IR too?

thanks for appreciating my posting :biggrin:

actually me also, at first taking the ferry can see the scenary, like quite shiok, after a while also sian liao. the 2-way 3hr+ journey is also become unbearable for me too.

also the % of winning trip also drop from70-80% to now 50% also make me even more sian:biggrin:

but IR just open will be beri packed, i scare of crowd, have to keep pushing to place bet will make me piss off & anyhow bet. So in meantime i still go casino cruise, maybe in 2-3 month's time then i will start going to IR. then say goodbye to cruise ship & 3hr trip :mad:

inhaler

Just wondering how many ppl here willing to pay $2000 for the RWS annual membership fee?
For those who frequent daily , of course paying $2000 a year better off than paying $100 daily but are you willing to just pay off 1 time $2000 non refundable fees ?:rolleyes:

bryanking

For $2k/yr in RWS, which is roughly $167/mth. if you go 4 times weekly would mean you pay about $10 per day. Not too expensive, considering the fact that you still need to pay $2 per trip if you go cruise.

And considering the 3 hours travelling times to and fro from cruise ship, I think RWS look more attractive at the moment.

However, the 2K yearly only admit you to RWS, and for Sands, you need to pay another 2K which look ridiculous.

Interested to see if the cruise will make changes to retain gamblers. 8 years ago, the ferry can depart Tanah merah and go directly to LW without going to indonesia port, maybe they will do that again?

For me, 3 hrs traveling is too tiring, if not for the money, I probably quit 8 years back.

Ah Hai

Singapore Sentosa Resorts World Universal Studios Theme Park
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/ArzNyVeJTgA&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ArzNyVeJTgA&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Ah Hai

<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/pUi7S1dzQ3Y&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/pUi7S1dzQ3Y&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>