There s nothing wrong if a patient is questioning a GP's or even specialist's decision. Doctors are just normal human beings..the only difference especially for GPs is that they are better at memorizing chunks of material than say an engineer..sometimes by googling you may be able to do a better research on certain illness that you are concerned about or interested in than the GP..
If you have a serious illness in Singapore and you don't do your own research , God help you. No good doctor should be afraid of answering a patient's questions. That is part of the job. If they are troubled by that they really need to work elsewhere.
It is one thing to ask questions. It is another to try to educate your doctor with some pseudoscience and refuse to accept the answers your doctor gives.
I know Singaporeans. I worked and served you guys for so many years. Bunch of arrogant know it alls. Ya ya papaya.
So many say that PAP is arrogant act like gods know it all cannot do any wrong have all the answers. They are merely reflection of sinkies. As you can see from how people post here about what they THINK is the answer to preventing cancer they are the same like PAP.
In Singapore doctors have learned to go with the flow. I for example studied acupuncture to learn some TCM so I could better understand what patients meant when they talked about TCM principles like heaty cooling kidney deficiency liver worries etc. I also did a fellowship in clinical applied nutrition so I could talk about all those alternative therapies also. End of the day I realized sinkies don't want answers. They want FEEL that they know more than the doctor that they are SMARTER and more knowledgeable than the doctor. That's what they like. So after a while I learned that there is no point in giving true answers. Just give answers they want. Even easier just agree with the patient.
Just 1 rule. Don't agree and recommend something that will harm them. You wanna eat fresh organic whatever yeah good you are so smart you got the answer I didn't know that.
You got liver cancer but want to go for Gerson Therapy? Errr better go see gastroenterologist. I cannot recommend Gerson in isolation. It has been shown to work but don't rely on it alone.
Sometimes patients want the educate you. So just nod and smile and say wah al this I really never knew (even if I already know) it makes the patient feel good. Happy. Elated.
No harm right?
You will be surprised how many patients love the doctor that they feel knows less than them and often go in to educate the doctor.
I guess it is a form of therapy when in real life one is a loser and they can go into a consult room and feel they are better than the doctor. So shiok.
There is little respect for GPs in Singapore because honestly they have no real power in Singapore health care system.
In Canada it is a different story. A good GP can get you in for prompt relevant treatment fast or he can dilly dally and delay. And the only way to see a specialist in Canada is if you get a referral from the GP.
Patients in Canada are more respectful of doctors than in Singapore because I believe they don't have to pay out of pocket directly.
In singapore because of the payment system they view GPs along with the masseuse.
Sounds like the symptoms for gluten sensitivity. It affects 1 in a hundred people and you could be lucky (like me)
Actually I suffer from type 2 diabetes :(
The diabetes also caused my heart attack.
Was talking to someone who had 2 heart attacks. This person has faith in his medical doctor & refuse to take anything not approved by his doctor. He's fortunate that he is now an Australian citizen & is covered by medical insurance. When he was in Spore & ran low on his medications he rushed back to Australia to get his medications because he didn't trust the pharmacies here
I am a Sporean & have an incentive to avoid doctors here because they are very, very,.. expensive. I've been doing fine relying on changing my diet & lifestyle and taking supplements. It's been 10 years since the cardiologist told me I had 80% blockage. Back then he suggested I have open heart surgery
I think people who put too much trust in their doctors are dumb. They don't realise that many of these doctors are in the business to make $.
The charges for regular diagnostic services is outrageous. It is common for subsidised patients to have a 2 month wait to see specialists in public hospitals. For those with serious conditions, private health insurance is a must in order to get immediate treatment from private specialists.
You dumb nuts! Whether you get cancer is mostly random. Very little to do with food exercise etc.
It is exactly these know it alls who are so confident that they live and eat so healthy when they kena cancer they get so depressed they end up commit suicide.
The bigger you are the harder you fall.
I wish those guys a painful death no matter what the cause is. Arrogant Assholes.
We all gotta die lah. The success stories and patients saved from cancer etc nobody reports or talks about. All the bad stories make the news. Singapore is full of shit: sinkies believe and swear by shit times.
Salma Khalik love to sensationalize and whack the medical profession and the sinkies lap it up.
hey doc, nothing is purely random. there's cause and effect - a scientific premise that has remained reliable and unshakable. "mostly" random is not proof as there's no current data to support that. what's "mostly"? 69% of cancer population? cells mutate due to various reasons. some mutate malignantly and some have time or critical mass triggers. the environment (air you breathe), water you drink, and food you ingest all play a role. heck, even messing of the dna plays a role. every case can be traced back to a root cause, just that we don't have the knowledge and data yet to pinpoint root causes as they can be any of the above or combo of it. right now we have labs quietly doing research to "repair" dna in order to allow pristine dna material from stem cells to replace "damaged" or mutated dna. in future, the person can be made "whole" again, just like the bible says. it's successful with lab mice but human experiments have not begun yet, although the list of ready volunteers are already lining up. in about 6.9 years you'll hear sexciting and earth shattering news about the breakthroughs. those in the labs are thinking more like 6.9 months. so far the greatest contributor to cancer cases is still smoking. that's not random, that's self-induced destruction. the one modern factor that remains elusive and inconclusive is powerful radio emission. i personally know of several patients who have to have their tumors removed from their heads because they talk too much with phone to ear over 6.9 years.
It is a whole different thing talking about healthy diets for cardiovascular health and healthy diets for reducing the risk for cancer......
Scroobal, in Canada teachers are treated with much much more respect than in Singapore. Private Tuition is practically unheard of.
there are private schools that cater to the rich and problem kids.
Same with doctors, they are respected a lot more.
It has little to do with the quality of doctors (Singapore trained vs Canada trained). it is purely because of the payment systems.
Don't you think it is ridiculous? In the end, it does cost a lot to study medicine both money wise and effort and time. There should be fair compensation for that investment.
In Canada, doctors are paid fairly and paid well. Hence there is no need to resort to funny self advertising and niche market segregation etc to make a good living. Just be a good doctor.
In Singapore doctors have to compete like crazy for the patient's out of pocket dollar. All kinds of shenanigans.
And you have sinkies say that they do not respect doctors in Singapore because they are too expensive and are in it to make money.
What you want? Doctors study medicine and work for free? You go see what quality of doctors you will get.
Or doctors who study medicine and don't need the money because they are so rich and all they want is the title of "Dr"? Yeah meet the doctors from India. Come from rich families sent to med school, never study pass and get title of Dr but are really crappy Drs. My preceptor in Canada said she spent time working in India as a student in a reputable Med School and was shocked what she saw. The med students just partied all the time, drove flashy cars, rich as hell, never study and know nothing. So she agreed with the rigorous process of screening foreign graduates before they enter the Canadian system. If you just go by degree from reputable university you are going to get crap doctors from India.
But sinkies will never respect doctors in Singapore because they have to pay them out of pocket. Nothing to do with quality or anything. Just money.
Sinkieland is ruled by money. Some will be jealous because others have more money than them. On the other hand the same sinkie will say he should have more respect because he has more money than the one who has less money.
Rubbish shit society. I am so glad I left that shit place and shit people behind. I am sure sinkies are also damn happy that I left.
I don't agree that the diet is different for heart & cancer problems. A healthy body is essential no matter what medical problems you have.
actually I haven't seen you tell sinkies here to migrate for a while now.Why you think I have asked Singaporeans not to aim for short term gains but to invest in the future of their kids by migrating.
actually I haven't seen you tell sinkies here to migrate for a while now.
it is all about trying to bring down the PAP regime and what not. When I suggest the migration bit, I get all these excuses about WHY they have to leave their OWN country and what not. Oh well.
It is also hard to sell something that you don't subscribe to.
Rule number one for any salesman is that he must use the product he sells. Otherwise there is no conviction in his/her pitch.