• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Can the Opposition bring the utility price down?

khunking

Measures to help offset rising power charges

Wed, Jan 13, 2010
my paper

THE Government cannot insulate Singaporeans from volatile electricity-market prices, but it will continue to mitigate the impact of rising prices on household costs, Senior Minister of State for Trade and Industry S. Iswaran said.

In Parliament yesterday, he said: "Volatility is something we must get used to. The long term trend is probably upwards, because of the various fundamental pressures like more demand for energy from the developing market."

Measures that the Government are already taking include the Utilities Save rebate scheme, which can be used to offset utility charges.

Mr Iswaran also defended the liberalisation and privatisation of Singapore's energy market since 2001, which he said has promoted diversity, newer and more efficient technologies and helped fight price hikes.

For example, while fuel-oil prices have increased by 160 per cent in the past eight years, electricity prices for households - which are pegged to the former - have risen by only 15 per cent.

niigata

at least it is a fact that PAP cannot bring down the prices...
we should give our opposition a chance to try?

S

sammydaddy

i think can.

call for SP services to close down.

save the agent fees.

Yes, the operational aspect (dirty work) of it have already been contracted out. Shutting down SP services will certain reduce cost.

Man in the streets

it is a gospel fact that shutting down SP services will help to save at least 30% of cost.

The three power stations are sold to foreigners , therefore bills should come from them instead.
PUB should send invoices either.

SP services acts as a bill -collecting agent as it argues it has the database, but manpower needs to monitor meters also come from SP services, thus the high cost.

If Oppo parties suggest SP services to close, then employees at SP will vote for PAP.

Oppo parties should suggest the system and employees transfer wholely to the owners of power stations and cost will cut down for all consumers.

it is true, SP services is eating up all the profits , and further, on what ground they decide the price should go up and down.....how do they do it without the owners' formula.

Kid278

at least it is a fact that PAP cannot bring down the prices...
we should give our opposition a chance to try?

It's not a fact the PAP cannnot bring down the price, it's just that they refused to bring down the price. The opposition had their chances, the fact is they toe the line, they dont confront and oppose enough.

Char_Azn

Please lah the government also cannot bring down utility prices. Worse still, some bloody moron sign the thing so that gas prices is tag to oil prices. KNN when oil prices goes up Indon laugh at us like no tomorrow

opposition NO.
utility price depend on world wide factors. like global cruel and gas price.

funglung

HA HA HA

THAT FUCKHEAD LKY AND HIS KANGAROOS AND DOGS
SCREW AND SCREW YOU ALL THE TIME

HOI

HOW ELSE DID BASTARD LEE KUAN YEW GOT FROM YOU ALL THAT 400-500++ BILLIONS INTO HIS TEMASICK AND GIC?

EVEN MORE HUNDREDS OF BILLIONS INTO HIS RESERVES

Sinkies got no balls
You all dare not stand with those that tried to speak for you.
SO HOW MANY TRIED TO SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?

You all dare not give money to them so that they can work for you.
SO HOW MANY CAN WORK FOR YOU NOW?

You all dare not support them publicly so that they can speak for you.
SO HOW MANY PUBLICLY SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?

You all turn your backs on those that spoke out bravely against LKY
LKY hit out at those who tried to speak for you with his kangaroo courts
You turn your backs and not support them with money and courage.

SO HOW MANY TRIED TO SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?
SO HOW MANY CAN WORK FOR YOU NOW?
SO HOW MANY PUBLICLY SPEAK FOR YOU NOW?

You let them be beaten and bankrupted because you all have no balls
NOW YOU GETTING YOUR BALLS CUT OFF FROM YOU AND YOU AND YOUR FAMILY RAPED AND FUCKED BY LEE KUAN YEW AND HIS COCKROACHES IN WHITE

Why complain now?

Your 400-500++ billions sucked and bled into LKY Temasick and GIC

And even more billions are currently sucked and bled so that LKY can use those money to bastardised and pay his kangaroo courts and running dogs to bleed even more billions from you in future

You got what you all deserved
for your lack of balls

FIND YOUR BALLS TO PUT AN END TO LKY
SUPPORT ALL WHO SPEAK AND ACT AGAINST THOSE PAPAYA BLOODSUCKER COCKROACHES
SUPPORT OPPOSITION WITH YOUR $$$ AND TIME
STAND UP TOGETHER WITH THEM

or open your legs to be further screwed by him

VIBGYOR

Hakka Lee Regime is social darwinists..everything must go up...greed is good!

Jesus is egalitarian....enough is enough...dun be greedy..

I vote for Jesus if he runs for election!

public utilities should not be profit oriented...

Kid278

opposition NO.
utility price depend on world wide factors. like global cruel and gas price.

Not too long ago when oil prices dropped, Hong Kong reduced its electrical tariffs by 3%. If they can do it, there is no reason why we cant. PAP will only give loads of rubbish about saving rebates but never any transparency in justifying not reducing utility prices.

ChaoPappyPoodle

We can reduce or remove the taxes we pay for water.

We can reduce or remove the taxes we pay for gas/oil that is used for utility purposes.

We can revise the method used to calculate the actual prices paid.

We can and should renegotiate the price of gas which is a lot cheaper than oil and which runs a majority of our power plants here.

The garment makes a lot of money. Even land sales are not stated in the budget here. Even when the PAppies say that we have a budget deficit the so-called deficit doesnt take ito account of land sales which goes into billions of dollars.

Almost everything that the PAPy touches is ound to lead to an increase in costs to Singaporeans. Therefore, it follows logically that costs can be reduced if the PAPies are elected out of garment.

What's even better is that some deserving people may end up in prison for their shenanigans.