• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Buying Car Parks Instead of COEs

TracyTan866

Read my posting above

Self explanatory

For the carpark proposal to replace the COE? Dream on

is the carpark proposal able to control car population? the COE is a money making machine for the pap and is causing a lot of other social problem

if the pap rejects it without good reasons, then it cant defend the COE system without confessing that it is money making rather than car po[ulation control.

my proposal is to corner the pap if it rejects without valid reasons

Agoraphobic

With the COE system an obvious failure, the pap will be forced to review its usefulness.

can the pap consider doing away with COE but instead introduce a policy that require a car buyer to have a car park to buy a car..that serves to control car population as well

is it worth a study?

With her cash citizens out biddig each other, how can you say its a failure?

You can,t possibly control the car population of any progressing society. Not only is it a necessity, it is also desired and much sought after. Every boy (and many glas) who is working (or not working) dreams of car ownership. Every advertisement makes their model one to drool for. With the advent of F1, which glamorizes the wheels, it becomes more desirable. For a small country, look at the ratio of high performance cars on the road. It is a sign of what the people want.

TracyTan866

With her cash citizens out biddig each other, how can you say its a failure?

You can,t possibly control the car population of any progressing society. Not only is it a necessity, it is also desired and much sought after. Every boy (and many glas) who is working (or not working) dreams of car ownership. Every advertisement makes their model one to drool for. With the advent of F1, which glamorizes the wheels, it becomes more desirable. For a small country, look at the ratio of high performance cars on the road. It is a sign of what the people want.

if the pap is chasing after money, why doesnt it have COEs for hawker stalls and allow foreigners to bid for hawker stalls? prices will go up but so will the prices of food...

do you see the bad effects of COEs and allowing the whole world to come and bid for COEs for cars. every foreigner can come and bid for COEs...that drives up COEs and cost of doing business and cost of living

Agoraphobic

if the pap is chasing after money, why doesnt it have COEs for hawker stalls and allow foreigners to bid for hawker stalls? prices will go up but so will the prices of food...

do you see the bad effects of COEs and allowing the whole world to come and bid for COEs for cars. every foreigner can come and bid for COEs...that drives up COEs and cost of doing business and cost of living

Tracy, I for one am not for COE. Singaporeans are the ones driving the expensive cars, most expats here in Singapore drive regular sedan commuter type models. The Lambos, Ferraris and Maseratis are driven by locals (plus maybe one or two odd PRC runroads). Given a choice, they'd rather not buy a car in Singapore, they get higher end models in their homelands for a lot less. The original idea behind the COE was meant to curb car population - but it din't turn out that way, something else did - the money tree part of it. BTW, I know a handful of expat workers in Singapore who are at executive/managerial level who are priced out of the means to purchase a car. Everytime we speak, they kpkb about the policies and how they'd be better off if posted to HK or Shanghai - so they are suffering too. The only way for lower COE prices is the bidder cooperate, like the motorcycle dealers did when the COE thing started many years ago. But I am very doubtful that is going to happen again.

moolightaffairs

With the COE system an obvious failure, the pap will be forced to review its usefulness.

can the pap consider doing away with COE but instead introduce a policy that require a car buyer to have a car park to buy a car..that serves to control car population as well

is it worth a study?

this is how u get a boat in sg. u gotta show to mpa proof of you got your mooring space before they issue your boat with local boat licence.

lifeafter41

My thought is that it is a failure, as time goes on, it becomes obvious, only the rich and very rich (Upper middle and the 1 percenter) can afford to drive. If one notice the correcponding increase in property prices, the higher COE goes. Buy and flip, with with profits to 100k or more, what's 100k COE, just flip once will cover it. One thing for sure, salary increase will never keep pace with this trend

The middle class is on the losing end. Those those that bought cars, between 5 to 7 years ago are, whether for use as required by their job or because of family requirement are very concerns whether if they will be able to afford one, when existing car expire. Unless COE trend down soon, which in my view if very unlikely, unless you have a big property bubble burst in Singapore or world recession scenario, in US, Europe, BRICs. In which, coincidentally, 3 or4 more years, will be the 2016 GE. I am sure will be one of the contentious issue.

moolightaffairs

COEs are available to the highest bidders. COE is controlled. So the cheap foreigners who have illegal monies or easy monies can easily outbid a working singaporean. COE monies is lost and gone after 10years and the working Singaporean has to rebid against rich foreigners come to SG..for some of these foreigners, money comes easy..so they are willing to pay $100k for a 10year COE. Can a working Singaporeans do that?

If the pap controls car buying to having a car park..the issue takes on a new perspective. A working Singaporean may pay $100k for his car park..but the carparl doesnt expire after 10years. The car park is his. so as long as he has the car park, he doesnt have to rebid to buy a car. so the $100k is not go to the pap and is not lost after 10years. That way, it helps to mitigate the cost of car ownership in SG and completely controls the car population

u r looking in a very simple way without other consideration. parking space is land, gov will not sell land! if really parking space for sale, that will be similar to season parking and its leasing. what u saying is secure a parking space before u allow to buy a car. then if u drive to ang mo kio estate to visit your friend, the parking lots all own by car owners. then where u park? or the car owner can let other people park at his parking space at a fee? u think gov will allow this? there is not flexibilities at all. if u decided to stop owning a car? can u sell it on open market? or give back to gov? or u keep the land and pass down to your children even without a car? if give back then u decided to own a car again and gotta bid again? what if u in bedok but parking space available only at tampines? or u buy a space and park your car there and don't drive, then why u buy a car?

i know u stay in landed and u can park your car in your compound or along the road side near your house. of cos those in condo with ample parking space also not a problem. but spare a thought for those who need to drive around and stay in hdb. overseas buying parking space is due to really limited car park in the urbanise area. in sg a lot of open air car park are building multi storey car park for car owners. your idea is only suitable for those area without sufficient car parks like those big cities in Europe.

moolightaffairs

is the carpark proposal able to control car population? the COE is a money making machine for the pap and is causing a lot of other social problem

if the pap rejects it without good reasons, then it cant defend the COE system without confessing that it is money making rather than car po[ulation control.

my proposal is to corner the pap if it rejects without valid reasons

your one is a bad idea, no need pap. i already reject. there is other ways to cut down the car population, but not own a car park first before u buy a car. creating a problem on top of another problem trying to solve a problem. no different from ERP and COE. pls don't say people don't think out of the box, u r running away from the box and not solving the problem in the box. one word, irrelevant.

Your alternative does not make money and logical sense at all but more headaches for everyone lah.

neddy

is it worth a study?

Draw lots. Priority starting with people who need a car to make a living to people who have elderly/kids/disabled and need a car. People who has more than 1 car no priority.
The winners of the ballot pay a fee of 20% of the car total purchase price.

For people who wants to buy show cars and sports cars, they can retain the existing bidding system.