• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Britain set to slash tax on goods and services

VeryWise

I think it will help if the Government could revert the GST back to 3% for a year or two to help the citizens tide over this difficult period.

Slash Goods and Services Tax in Britain

LONDON (AFP) - - The British government is on Monday set to announce a cut in value added tax (VAT) to 15 percent from 17.5 percent to stimulate spending on goods and services as Britain faces recession, reports said.

ADVERTISEMENT

The cut in VAT was emerging as a likely centrepiece of the Labour government's upcoming budget report, British newspapers said on Sunday.

"I want every household facing difficulty at this time to know we are ready to help and on their side," Prime Minister Gordon Brown wrote in the popular News of the World weekly tabloid.

"I know how worried many people are about their jobs, making ends meet at the moment and about the security of their homes.

"No politician can promise to stop the difficult times, but I can promise that we will do everything we can to help people get through them fairly," Brown added.

British finance minister Alistair Darling will on Monday unveil a budget report also expected to outline plans to boost government spending.

Darling, whose official title is chancellor of the exchequer, will present his pre-budget -- an outline of his taxation and spending plans ahead of the full 2009/2010 annual budget due early next year.

The opposition Conservatives warned that any cut in VAT would serve as only a short-term boost for the British public.

"Any temporary giveaways now will be more than dwarfed by the tax rises that are coming," the party's finance spokesman George Osborne told Sky News television channel.

British media had on Saturday said Darling would warn that taxes will have to rise in the future to pay for the government's stimulus plan aimed at boosting a faltering local economy.

Britain's public finances worsened in October as the government's surplus narrowed to 4.9 billion pounds (5.8 billion euros, 7.3 billion dollars), official data had revealed last week.

The figure compared with a surplus of 6.0 billion pounds 12 months earlier, the Office for National Statistics (ONS) said.

Recent official data also showed that Britain's economy is on the verge of a recession after shrinking 0.5 percent in the third-quarter -- the first contraction since 1992.

A subsequent and widely expected further contraction in the fourth quarter will put the economy technically into recession.

"Like every other country in the world hit by major economic shocks we are in a difficult position," Darling wrote in the Sunday Mirror newspaper.

"And we, like many advanced economies, are moving into a recession."

Darling added: "I will not play down the economic difficulties but equally I am confident that with sensible and responsible measures they can be overcome.

"In these difficult times the public sector will, like the rest of the country, be tightening its belt. I have asked my colleagues throughout government to make further savings."

The chancellor predicted: "Because we have decided to boost the economy now the looming recession should be shorter and shallower."

I think it will help if the Government could revert the GST back to 3% for a year or two to help the citizens tide over this difficult period. ...
britain can la ... dey hv no million $ gahmen ppl 2 feed wor ...

congo9

britain can la ... dey hv no million $ gahmen ppl 2 feed wor ...
Just don understand.

Western country has high GST is to help cushion the effect of giving out welfare to their own citizen.

Hk on the countary , do not have any GST and no Million dollar salary goverment , but yet managed to have surpluses. All the surpluses is being given back to the people.

Singapore do not have a welfare scheme nor umemployment benefit, yet they still want to charge 7% GST. Now even the Brits is cutting back on their VAT taxes, and yet singapore goverment stillll insisting to charge GST.

What the heck !!!!!!!!!

VeryWise

Just don understand.
Hk on the countary , do not have any GST and no Million dollar salary goverment , but yet managed to have surpluses. All the surpluses is being given back to the people.

Singapore do not have a welfare scheme nor umemployment benefit, yet they still want to charge 7% GST. Now even the Brits is cutting back on their VAT taxes, and yet singapore goverment stillll insisting to charge GST.

What the heck !!!!!!!!!

We can't really compare with HK as HK doesn't need to factor in Defence in their annual budget. If I'm not wrong, our annual allocation to defence alone stands at close to 10 billion SGD. It's a lot of money considering we can operating a pretty small and lean army. Nonetheless, it's still amazing for them to achieve what they have.

For Singapore, it will definitely help if the GST is reduced to 3% for a year or two. The immediate effect will be felt in terms of your bills. The government might have to sacrifice some revenue in this case for greater benefit to the society.

banova888

We can't really compare with HK as HK doesn't need to factor in Defence in their annual budget. If I'm not wrong, our annual allocation to defence alone stands at close to 10 billion SGD. It's a lot of money considering we can operating a pretty small and lean army. Nonetheless, it's still amazing for them to achieve what they have.

For Singapore, it will definitely help if the GST is reduced to 3% for a year or two. The immediate effect will be felt in terms of your bills. The government might have to sacrifice some revenue in this case for greater benefit to the society.

The government is playing see-saw between income tax and GST. They reduce income tax and increase GST. Their argument is that rich also pay GST. If that is the case, why bother to reduce the tax for the rich? Just do away with income tax and increase GST. BUT! exclude necessaties like food, petrol, water, electricity, medical and housing from GST.

pap cut tax? it will take the economic to go real bad to make it possible.

something like Iceland

chupacabra

The government is playing see-saw between income tax and GST. They reduce income tax and increase GST. Their argument is that rich also pay GST. If that is the case, why bother to reduce the tax for the rich? Just do away with income tax and increase GST. BUT! exclude necessaties like food, petrol, water, electricity, medical and housing from GST.

Pappies like to smoke people. They like to make things fuzzy a blur so as to disguise the actual price of living in sinkapore.

Taxing the rich more will only make them look like the 40 thieves, so they spread their money making scheme net wider. This way the cry of high cost will only come from sinkee peasant and not powderful opponents .

Pappies policies have always been made in a way that the blame will be distributed away from themselves if things go wrong.

Pappies always looking for something or someone else to blame but themselves.

Even when they loss our money, they will make sinkees look like the ungrateful fools.

eQuipment

pls la, defense budget? the factual cost is unrealisitic & greatly exploited. our defense force is made up of 90% NSmen, and not on their payroll. the costs to maintain the soldiers are largely bourne by tax payers & employers. while the equipments they purchase r purely for museum display purposes.

if others r smart enough to cut GST, to boost expenditure from the locals, as well as to attract visitors to spend more, y of all things can our system not accommodate such a motion?

newyorker88

Agree, the problems are the gov had such a big hole that if they dont INCREASE GST, they cannot cover their losses.

Also, dun forget, they need to pay so many MILLION DOLLAR MINISTERS.

VeryWise

piang...17.5%....siao....if like that in Sinkapoor...all will die soon

Well, Britain cuts it to 15%. We are not even half of their rate :P
If SG is to emulate the developed country, we still have a long way to increase. *kidding*

In any case, 7% is already a huge burden. UK has a social welfare programme, hence, the taz you paid will eventually benefit you when you are jobless or old. In SG, the citizens are supposed to be able to support themselves in times of good or bad. We shall not stretch our hands to beg for subsidies in any form. Now, would you rather pay higher tax but receive better welfare? Maybe, it isn't a fair comparison. Then again, I would like to stress that a year or two of budget deficits isn't got to hurt the treasury of the Government. Our government's financial should be able to handle this. Or it isn't?

Dan Now

Just don understand.

Western country has high GST is to help cushion the effect of giving out welfare to their own citizen.

What the heck !!!!!!!!!

Very wise observation indeed.

The PAPies will surely respond by saying that they will delay our GST increase to 10 % for 2 years after the next election.

They will remind you to be thankful too :smile:

Dan

Wobble

The PAPies will surely respond by saying that they will delay our GST increase to 10 % for 2 years after the next election.

Dan

actually...I think they will hor....just that they won't thank you for it...:mad:

Dan

What? People already forgetting the many "subsidies" they are already getting for their HDB.....

Someone must pay for the million dollar salaries. Don't expect any cut on "subsidies" unless things get worse & BEFORE an election.

After the election, they will have a mandate to increae "subsidies" :rolleyes: