• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Breaking News: Imagine a Singapore without PAP

dunbluffme

I can only imagine one thing: A Singapore without ERP

Imagining a Singapore without the PAP
_ST Forum|Updated Yesterday
LAST month, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew and Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong touched on the next general election, which must be held by early 2012.

A person I discussed the matter with offered a radical idea.

Imagine the People's Action Party (PAP) at this month's Budget successfully enacting a law to distribute most of the country's reserves to all eligible Singaporeans.

Each Singaporean would likely become a millionaire overnight. Imagine the tsunami of joy sweeping each person, who would literally be a first prize Toto winner instantly.

Very funny. Singapore got billions of reserves but it's nothing to do with Singaporeans, not even rich Singaporeans who earned and contributed it or poor Singaporeans who need it. PAP won't give it away. It's for rainy day, they say. Remains me of the song, It Never Rain In California, But Gal Don't They Warn Ya? It Pours, Man It Pours.

The writer obviously thinks that as long as Sinkies are given money, they would be too happy to leave PAP alone. He's a real Pappy poodle who has been bought and sold so many times even he doesnt know it.

ST Forum
Home > ST Forum > Story
Feb 3, 2010
Imagining a Singapore without the PAP

LAST month, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew and Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong touched on the next general election, which must be held by early 2012.

A person I discussed the matter with offered a radical idea.

Imagine the People's Action Party (PAP) at this month's Budget successfully enacting a law to distribute most of the country's reserves to all eligible Singaporeans.

Each Singaporean would likely become a millionaire overnight. Imagine the tsunami of joy sweeping each person, who would literally be a first prize Toto winner instantly.

The only sum set aside would be the same amount of reserves that Singapore had when it separated from Malaysia in 1965.

In fairness to the next political party forming the government, the sum should factor in a reasonable rate of interest to match inflation over the years.

The task before this new party is to build Singapore up in the manner the PAP has done.

Imagine the dissolution of Parliament immediately after this month's Budget to make way for a general election.

The PAP recuses itself from this election after concluding that Singaporeans would prefer a fresh political party at the helm.

The PAP would no longer need to explain the need for Central Provident Fund savings, to delay retirement, import foreign workers to grow the economy, ensure sufficient public housing and public transport, build up a credible and strong defence force, establish quality and value-for-money health care and public education and so on.

I wonder if any Singaporean can still be confident of the worth of having a million dollars without the PAP in power.

The notion may be a figment of the imagination, but it is worth pondering, if only because it helps put matters in perspective for the ordinary Singaporean.

That is, to imagine a Singapore without the PAP.

Ling Tuck Mun
33ottz6.jpg

http://www.btptc.org.sg/E-news/AnnualReport/0708.pdf

Member of the Tenders and Contracts Committee, Bishan-Toa Payoh Town Council

Why imagine? waste time only, WAKE UP!!!! :oIo::oIo::oIo:, LOL :D:D:D

Millionaires? His math looks like more atrocious than mine. But if he's right, let's all pray for some serious rainstorms, cause PAP says the reserves are for rainy days.

Just overheard at coffeeshop that many new servers have been acquired for several new ERPs...can anyone confirm?

Cashcows! The ONE and ONLY big source of income to tap from......so smart they all......

I say remove all the ERP gantries and let motorists choose which route to take every morning and evening....jam or no jam, it is our problem to decide whether which day to drive and which day not to drive.....

Ever since the implementation of ERP, it has been giving many of us unnecessary stress, time and money to routinely top up our cashcards.....

We have to wake up earlier than before and reaching home later than before. We are spending lesser time at home because ERP timed charges are preventing us from going home earlier....

maybe that rainstorm will make sing dollars worthless overnight? :D

The writer obviously thinks that as long as Sinkies are given money, they would be too happy to leave PAP alone. He's a real Pappy poodle who has been bought and sold so many times even he doesnt know it.

These are the poeple,that dont have a mind of their own that can think straight They dont even know what's dignity and will sell their souls to the PAP as slaves, they'll even bow and kneel to collect their dues. Sad but true, we had to many fo these people around that's why it take us so long and yet to see a new dawn,

I can't imagine that because it will never happen. The people are too stupid to make such a change.

<table id="msgUN" width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="3"><tbody><tr><td id="msgUNsubj" valign="top">New US Ambassador to promote freedom</td><td id="msgunetc" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">
icon.aspx
Subscribe </td></tr></tbody></table><table class="msgtable" width="96%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td class="msg" valign="top"> <table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr class="msghead"><td class="msgbfr1" width="1%"> </td><td> <table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr class="msghead" valign="top"> <td class="msgF" width="1%" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">From: </td><td class="msgFname" width="68%" nowrap="nowrap">kojakbt89 <nobr></nobr> </td><td class="msgDate" width="30%" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">Feb-3 11:00 pm </td></tr> <tr class="msghead"><td class="msgT" width="1%" align="right" height="20" nowrap="nowrap">To: </td><td class="msgTname" width="68%" nowrap="nowrap">ALL <nobr></nobr></td> <td class="msgNum" align="right" nowrap="nowrap"> (1 of 16) </td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr><tr><td rowspan="4" class="msgleft" width="1%"> </td><td class="wintiny" align="right" nowrap="nowrap">28152.1 </td></tr><tr><td height="8">
</td></tr> <tr><td class="msgtxt">US Ambassador-designate to Singapore to promote political and press freedom in Singapore

February 4, 2010 by admin
Filed under Headlines

Leave a comment
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/0...ote-political-and-press-freedom-in-singapore/

Written by Our Correspondent
U.S. Ambassador-designate to Singapore Mr David Adelman had promised to use “public diplomacy” to promote political and press freedom in Singapore at a nomination hearing in Washington D.C.
Mr Adelman’s nomination to be the next US Ambassador to Singapore was announced by the White House in November after the previous ambassador, Ms Patricia Herbold, relinquished her post in January last year at the end of the Bush administration’s tenure.
He was asked by Virginia Senator Jim Webb on his views on the United States’ engagement with Singapore on its repressive political system:
“The Economist Democracy Index ranks Singapore as 82nd in the world in terms of democratic development, below neighbours such as Malaysia, Indonesia and the Philippines. Reporters Without Borders ranks the country 133rd out of 175 for press freedoms. What is your view in terms of whether and how the United States should engage Singapore on these other issues?”
Mr Adelman admitted that Singapore is not a democracy and replied that the United States must engage Singapore on these issues:
“My view is the United States must engage Singapore on these issues. You identified the area where, quite candidly, Singapore needs the most improvement if it were to live up to the ambitions Americans have for democracy. Make no mistake, currently Singapore is not a multi-party democracy, and I intend, if confirmed, to use public diplomacy to work towards greater press freedoms, greater freedom of assembly and ultimately, more political space for opposition parties in Singapore to strengthen Singapore into a multi-party democracy.”
He did not elaborate more on how he will achieve his aims except tht he will bring some of his experiences in government and in the private sector to the United States’ public diplomacy efforts run out of the Embassy in Singapore.
Singapore’s ruling party has received much flak from the international community lately over its atrocious human rights record.
Respected international NGO Human Rights Watch described Singapore as a “textbook example of a politically repressive state” in its annual report released recently.
U.S.-based Freedom House reported that Singapore is not a “democracy” as proclaimed by its leaders and though Singapore conducts elections on a regular basis, Singaporeans cannot expect to vote out the incumbents.
Singapore has been ruled by the PAP for 50 continuous years since 1959. All institutions of the state including the police, media, grassroots organizations, civil societies and trade unions are under its firm control in one way or another.
Repressive laws are put in place to curtail the political and civil rights of ordinary Singaporeans. There is no opposition in Parliament to check on it resulting in a gross lack of accountability and transparency in Singapore’s political system.
While we welcome Mr Adelman’s committment to promote political and press freedom in Singapore, it is unlikely he is able to do anything without incurring the wrath of the vindictive PAP.
In 1988, Hank Hendrickson, the First Secretary of the U.S. Embassy in Singapore was expelled from the island for “meddling in Singapore politics.” Hendrickson was a confidant of the then President of Singapore Law Society, former Solicitor-General Francis Seow who was later detained under the ISA for being a “willing partner to acts in interference in Singapore’s internal affairs by representatives of a foreign power.”
Hendrickson was alleged to have “encouraged” Francis Seow to stand in the elections as an opposition candidate to challenge the PAP so as to have an opposition in the Singapore parliament which is “amenable” to U.S. interests. The United States said that Mr Hendrickson had done nothing out of line with normal diplomatic practice. Tit-for-tat, it expelled a Singapore diplomat Robert Chua.
Mr Adelman is an attorney who holds degrees from the University of Georgia, Georgia State University and the Emory Law School. He is a strong advocate of open government. In 2006, he authored and passed legislationi which provides public access to campus police department records.
Perhaps he can use his experience to “persuade” the ruling party to increase the level of transparency in its governance of the nation which is sorely lacking at the moment.
</td></tr> <tr><td> </td></tr> </tbody></table><table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td class="msgleft" width="1%"> </td><td class="msgopt" width="24%" nowrap="nowrap"> Options</td><td class="msgrde" width="50%" align="center" nowrap="nowrap"> Reply</td></tr></tbody></table></td></tr></tbody></table>

Lol. Is there some kind of programme in these government agencies whereby someone gets arrowed to write some article supportive of the PAP on a regular basis?

I know that SGreans are very risk-averse so I am posting the poem below for all to chew on. There is no joy in following in others' footsteps, true happiness lies in accomplishing what others have not achieved or few have attempted and succeeded. It always amuses me when someone tells me he would rather stick with something that is known (even though it is getting uncomfortable) than to try something new with no certainty of success. If everyone thinks like that, the human race would have died out ages ago. I am guilty of this fault myself but I use this poem to help me overcome any irrational fear.

The Road Less Travelled

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveller, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I--
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference

by Robert Frost

The poem you wrote surely kena ISD surveillance one.....

Since u r going to kena might as well write us a ERP song...

LOLx

Lol. Is there some kind of programme in these government agencies whereby someone gets arrowed to write some article supportive of the PAP on a regular basis?

I know that SGreans are very risk-averse so I am posting the poem below for all to chew on. There is no joy in following in others' footsteps, true happiness lies in accomplishing what others have not achieved or few have attempted and succeeded. It always amuses me when someone tells me he would rather stick with something that is known (even though it is getting uncomfortable) than to try something new with no certainty of success. If everyone thinks like that, the human race would have died out ages ago. I am guilty of this fault myself but I use this poem to help me overcome any irrational fear.

The Road Less Travelled

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveller, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I--
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference

by Robert Frost

The poem you wrote surely kena ISD surveillance one.....

Since u r going to kena might as well write us a ERP song...

LOLx

why? try to frighten people har... who are you? That seems like a coward thinking.

Rest assured guy, keep the poems coming in. All are welcome.

I strongly think that the Opp parties should distance themselves from the U.S. action because it will only give the PAP the excuse to link them with foreigners and damage the credibility of the Opp. The Opp parties should tell the US rep that they are quite capable of speaking up and taking on the PAP by themselves and do not need any foreigner to help them. In that way, PAP cannot accuse the opp of disloyalty and Singaporeans will have higher respect for the Opp.

imagine ...

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/9Q0Eyw3l3XM&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Life without Pay and Pay:

Without Pay And pay, GST wouldn't exist things would be cheaper!
Life would be easier.

There no need for COE, Pay and Pay create Panic in ppl's mind
phsycology. Look at the early days when cars were cheap
ppl don't be bother with it. But with the stupid COE ppl panic,
once it drop to $5k ppl rush to show with their grandpa/grandma
and father, mother and their children!! cheap chip chip bird call!!!

Without Pay and Pay 7% GST our stupid necessities like hawker
centre won't be so expensive. Remember when GST went up from 5%
to 7% most of the things in Sickapoor started to rise!!!

In the early days of Pay And Pay, HDB were really subsidise by our
gahmen, now look at the price of HDB??? u are better off if
u purchase a condo, but condo also have increased!!

Look at the tender of food court the highest tender will get but consumer
got to pay the price!!

Look at contractor, tender for Gahmen jobs lowest will get, contractor
don't make money out of the tender, what happened? He "run road"
abandoned his project declare bankrupt!

cheers