• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Boycott La Fondue at 25 Demsey Road!

this is what happens when ball-less sinkies wait for 2016.

Food & Beverage is one of pinoy's specialities.. good at singing too.

Will you be protesting outside La Fondue at 25 Demsey Road today?

No, he will just KPKB behind his PC.

Today is Sunday and he has to use force on his ladyboy wife to solicit for customers at OT.

this is what happens when ball-less sinkies wait for 2016.

2016? What 2016? Isn't it supposed to be 2018?? Whereby you and your family at home in Malaysia give endorsement to your 46.75% UNMO Government to screw you all once again again for the next 5 years?

After all, you and your family had enjoyed behind screwed since 1951.

No, he will just KPKB behind his PC.

Today is Sunday and he has to use force on his ladyboy wife to solicit for customers at OT.

I have full faith in Tonychat the SBF Freedom Fighter..

In fact he did went to a protest before and that is the Pink Dot event at Hong Lim Park..

Jamie Lee: We don’t believe your fairy tale… Tell us your employment statistics !! Please have the category of Singaporeans and PR separated…

Andy Wong: Can you give any insight into the actual demographic breakdown of your “service and kitchen department”. Are any members of your “service and kitchen department” Singapore citizens? You state, and it may or may not be correct, that the posted advertisement under the name of your company would “fall foul of the law”. Are you satisfied that “stern action” in “reprimanding” the staff member involved is action enough? Should not discriminatory and unlawful behaviour be met with stronger sanctions?

Chan Anna: Just answer straight, beating around the bush doesn’t help your business or salvage your potentially damaged reputation. Do you or do you not have a “all filipino team in service & kitchen depts”? .. or a majority filipino team .. what is your foreign worker ratio really? THIS is the key issue here. Cos we are all concerned about that statement in d advert (kitchen & service being d biggest part of a restaurant’s operation) & wonder .. Have you somehow managed to get round d MOM’s FW quota regulation?

Singapore Singaporeans: La Fondue have INSULTED SINGAPOREANS! Your sincerity is cheap and has cheapen the brand name of your company. The intent to take stern action and reprimand the staff member involved means nothing to Singaporeans. The culture of your company has proven anti-Singaporean and that will take time to truly correct, even with a reprimand. Make a full page apology in the Straits Times and make a sincere apology to Singaporeans. Till then, this apology has done its damage and not accepted.

Vince Goh: Which employee will be so free to post advertisements for his/her company out of his/her own will?

Natasha Yeo: suddenly looking for singaporean Sou Chef ehehhee..dont think any singaporean want to work in an environment whereby they are out numbered and getting bullied by cowards who are only bold when they are in large numbers but coward when standing alone.

Andy Chong: dear mr ceo, are u a singaporean?

Teo Boon-Pin: you operate in my country, you had better show some respect for all Singaporeans. your cavalier attitude shown in the recent advertisement is disgusting, made only worse by your nonchalant response after you have been criticized… i expect you to put out a full page unreserved apology on the Straits Times for your wrong doing. i will personally see to it that all of my friends and their friends are aware of your discriminatory hiring practice and to boycott your restaurant. i do not welcome any uncivilized foreign business in Singapore and that means you La Fondue.

Predeesh Emeritus Omerta: Pls also state ur Employment methods and wats the Ratio of Singaporeans currently wrking in the above mentioned Rest. Wat is ur counter measure on the Act tat was done by ur Staff? And also trying to gain Sympathy by letting us knw tat U need Singaporeans for ur establishment is like buying a candy for a kid after scolding him for no apparent reason. We dun Buy ur Story.

Mohd Hafiz A F: Mr Ravinder Pal, after reading and rereading your post, I still do not see where you sought to clarify and confirm the existence of a service and kitchen deparment made up entirely of a particular demographic, and why the management let it come to that stage.

Henry Tan: The job advertisement stated that “We are currently an ALL Filipino team at the service and kitchen department.” Can you please explain this? Disclose the percentage of SINGAPOREAN workers at this particular restaurant.

Bob Koh: We should expect La Fondue to publish a list of employees plus their nationalities to verify that they are complying with MOM directives. MOM will hopefully look into it to verify details. There’s very real chance that this restaurant has been breaking rules by falsifying details.

Fred Oniel: The advertisement for cook was not just an isolated incident…they also advertised for pinoy waitress only. Certainly, this could not be the work of the cook as alleged by Ravinder Pal, but more of the discriminating culture of La Fondue and it parent company.

http://www.tremeritus.com/2013/10/13/govt-must-impose-tough-penalties-against-la-fondue/

[h=2]Govt must impose tough penalties against La Fondue[/h]

dmca_protected_sml_120n.png

PostDateIcon.png
October 13th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

431773_268436493231675_632293485_n.jpg
On Friday, 11 October 2013, unemployment support group
Transitionings.Org leader Gilbert Goh announced that he had called for a
nationwide boycott of Swiss restaurant La Fondue located at Dempsey Hill, due to
its discriminatory recruitment practices. The reason stated for the boycott was
because the restaurant had placed an ad for a chef where it was stated that the
restaurant was “currently an all-Filipino working environment” and that the job
vacancy was “only for Filipinos”.

The saga began when a sharp-eyed netizen had spotted the ad and linked it to
Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan Jin’s Facebook wall. While the ad did not
name the restaurant, it did give its address as “25 Dempsey Road”. Another
netizen checked out the address and found that the only restaurant that fit the
description was La Fondue. A third netizen then delivered a warning to the
restaurant via its Facebook page that he would be calling for a boycott of the
establishment for its discriminatory hiring practices. While the company’s
Facebook administrator deleted his warning soon after, by then it had already
caught the attention of Mr. Goh who announced that Transitionings.Org would be
organizing an indefinite nation-wide boycott against the restaurant in protest
against the ad. He also sent an email to TAFEP and Mr Tan notifying them of the
restaurant’s discriminatory recruitment ad.

On the morning of Saturday, 12 October 2013, Mr. Ravinder Pal, the CEO of the
restaurant issued an apology for the ad. In his statement, he said that a staff
member who “was not authorized to issue recruitment ads” and who was “acting on
his own” issued the ad “without the knowledge or consent of the company”. He
added that the company’s recruitment policies were carried out “in accordance
with the country’s laws” and said that the particular staff member “would be
severely dealt with”.

However, the same sharp-eyed netizen who originally spotted and reported the
offending ad had done some digging around and discovered that the restaurant had
previously issued an ad for a restaurant manager that stated that the post was
“only for female Filipinos”. The same person, a Mr. Roginald Santos Oloresisimo,
who was originally from the Filipino province of Taguig, had issued both ads.
Because of Mr Pal’s highly unconvincing explanation, Mr. Goh announced that he
had written in for further clarification and that the boycott would continue
until further notice.

A closer look at Mr. Pal’s apology and explanation would immediately raise
several questions. While the announcement did not name Mr. Oloresisimo, it did
confirm that he was a member of their staff, which raises the question: what is
his position there then? If he was “was not authorized to issue recruitment ads”
and was “acting on his own” as declared, then why did he issued at least two
separate recruitment ads, one for the chef and one for the restaurant manager?
If he had really issued the ads “without the knowledge or consent of the
company” as declared, then who is paying the salaries of the staff he recruited?
Surely at least both the company’s HR and General Managers must be aware of this
since both their signatures will be required to issue the new staffs’ paychecks.
And if the Payroll Department is separate from the HR Department as practiced by
some companies, then at least 3 separate managers must be aware of this wouldn’t
it? Whatever the case may be, it also raises serious questions over how Mr Pal
himself is managing the company since the obvious inference that one would draw
from it is that he is entirely clueless about what his management team has been
doing all this while. So one is forced to conclude that he is either incompetent
whose management team had been jerking him around without his knowledge or that
his explanation is untrue.

Whatever the truth about the management of La Fondue really is, there is no
denying that this case is a true test for MoM and its agency TAFEP, the
government’s much vaunted tripartism policy is dealing with labor relations and
even its immigration and social integration policies. If La Fondue truly has
been recruiting only Filipinos as the two ads in question proudly declare, then
it is very clear that the management has been practicing xenophobic racial
discrimination against non-Filipinos. Obviously this also means that they seek
only to commune with their own kind and have absolutely no desire to integrate
with locals.

In view of the government’s continuous exhortation for locals to integrate
with the immigrants, itself a farcical idea since it is the foreigners who
should integrate with the locals and their continuous criticisms of anybody who
objects to the perceived favorable treatment for them as xenophobic, failure to
come down hard on La Fondue would be seen as the government caving in to
xenophobic racist foreigners. It would also demonstrate to the people that TAFEP
and MoM are entirely toothless and that the government itself is not serious or
may even be entirely helpless about dealing with errant employers who
discriminate against locals, which would be a clear-cut failure of tripartism.
If the government fails to impose tough penalties against La Fondue, then the
people’s fast crumbling trust in the government will only be further eroded.

Maybe eroded badly enough for PM Lee to have his wish to retire from public
office before the age of 70 come true in 2016…

Darth Vader

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]

http://www.tremeritus.com/2013/10/12/netizens-not-buying-la-fondues-explanation/

[h=2]Netizens not buying La Fondue’s explanation[/h]

dmca_protected_sml_120n.png

PostDateIcon.png
October 12th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

431773_268436493231675_632293485_n.jpg
Ravinder Pal, CEO of “La Fondue”, a Swiss restaurant at 25
Dempsey Road, posted an apology on its Facebook page yesterday (‘La
Fondue: We strictly hire in accordance with MOM regulations
‘, 11 Oct) for a
job advertisement which discriminated against Singaporeans.

“On behalf of La Fondue, I would like to extend our sincerest apologies to
everyone,” he said.

“I represent the management and majority shareholders of the entity known as
‘La Fondue’. Apart from F&B, we have interests in other businesses,
including IT, where we have established offices in numerous countries and employ
staff from a variety of backgrounds.’

Mr Pal said that their hiring practices are strictly in accordance with
Ministry of Manpower (MOM) regulations. Due to “MOM restrictions on the hiring
of foreign labour and all associated difficulties”, no company has the luxury of
hiring foreigners from a single demographic, he pointed out.

He claimed that the discriminatory job advertisement, which was reported on
TRE (‘High
salary for Filipino chefs only
‘), was the work of a staff “without the
management’s knowledge and approval”. The advertisement asked only Filipinos to
apply.

“This person did not have any authority whatsoever to post an ad, let alone
interview and recruit staff. We will certainly be taking stern action and
reprimanding the staff member involved,” he said.

A reader had earlier alerted TRE to the discriminatory job advertisement
posted multiple times across various job sites. It even stated, “We are
currently an all Filipino team at the service and kitchen department.”

The reader asked, “Since when has Singapore become a Filipino
environment?”

The discriminatory advertisement infuriated many Singaporeans. Civil
activists transitioning.org called for a boycott of the restaurant (‘Transitioning.org
calls for boycott of Swiss restaurant
‘).

Some enterprising netizens even managed to find out the Facebook page of the
staff who posted the discriminatory advertisement, through the email address
listed in the advertisement – “[email protected]

”:

Roginald Santos
Oloresisimo

Roginald-Santos-Oloresisimo.jpg

Given that the staff has said they are an all-Filipino team working in the
service and kitchen department of the restaurant, netizens continue to have
doubts on the restaurant’s hiring policy. On the Facebook page of La Fondue
Swiss Cuisine [Link], Singaporeans are
peppering the restaurant with more questions, asking it to give statistics of
their hires:

Jamie Lee: We don’t believe your fairy tale… Tell us
your employment statistics !! Please have the category of Singaporeans and PR
separated…

Andy Wong: Can you give any insight into the actual
demographic breakdown of your “service and kitchen department”. Are any members
of your “service and kitchen department” Singapore citizens? You state, and it
may or may not be correct, that the posted advertisement under the name of your
company would “fall foul of the law”. Are you satisfied that “stern action” in
“reprimanding” the staff member involved is action enough? Should not
discriminatory and unlawful behaviour be met with stronger sanctions?

Chan Anna: Just answer straight, beating around the bush
doesn’t help your business or salvage your potentially damaged reputation. Do
you or do you not have a “all filipino team in service & kitchen depts”? ..
or a majority filipino team .. what is your foreign worker ratio really? THIS is
the key issue here. Cos we are all concerned about that statement in d advert
(kitchen & service being d biggest part of a restaurant’s operation) &
wonder .. Have you somehow managed to get round d MOM’s FW quota
regulation?

Singapore Singaporeans: La Fondue have INSULTED
SINGAPOREANS! Your sincerity is cheap and has cheapen the brand name of your
company. The intent to take stern action and reprimand the staff member involved
means nothing to Singaporeans. The culture of your company has proven
anti-Singaporean and that will take time to truly correct, even with a
reprimand. Make a full page apology in the Straits Times and make a sincere
apology to Singaporeans. Till then, this apology has done its damage and not
accepted.

Vince Goh: Which employee will be so free to post
advertisements for his/her company out of his/her own will?

Natasha Yeo: suddenly looking for singaporean Sou Chef
ehehhee..dont think any singaporean want to work in an environment whereby they
are out numbered and getting bullied by cowards who are only bold when they are
in large numbers but coward when standing alone.

Andy Chong: dear mr ceo, are u a singaporean?

Teo Boon-Pin: you operate in my country, you had better
show some respect for all Singaporeans. your cavalier attitude shown in the
recent advertisement is disgusting, made only worse by your nonchalant response
after you have been criticized… i expect you to put out a full page unreserved
apology on the Straits Times for your wrong doing. i will personally see to it
that all of my friends and their friends are aware of your discriminatory hiring
practice and to boycott your restaurant. i do not welcome any uncivilized
foreign business in Singapore and that means you La Fondue.

Predeesh Emeritus Omerta: Pls also state ur Employment
methods and wats the Ratio of Singaporeans currently wrking in the above
mentioned Rest. Wat is ur counter measure on the Act tat was done by ur Staff?
And also trying to gain Sympathy by letting us knw tat U need Singaporeans for
ur establishment is like buying a candy for a kid after scolding him for no
apparent reason. We dun Buy ur Story.

Mohd Hafiz A F: Mr Ravinder Pal, after reading and
rereading your post, I still do not see where you sought to clarify and confirm
the existence of a service and kitchen deparment made up entirely of a
particular demographic, and why the management let it come to that
stage.

Henry Tan: The job advertisement stated that “We are
currently an ALL Filipino team at the service and kitchen department.” Can you
please explain this? Disclose the percentage of SINGAPOREAN workers at this
particular restaurant.

Bob Koh: We should expect La Fondue to publish a list of
employees plus their nationalities to verify that they are complying with MOM
directives. MOM will hopefully look into it to verify details. There’s very real
chance that this restaurant has been breaking rules by falsifying
details.

Fred Oniel: The advertisement for cook was not just an
isolated incident…they also advertised for pinoy waitress only. Certainly, this
could not be the work of the cook as alleged by Ravinder Pal, but more of the
discriminating culture of La Fondue and it parent company.

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]

Rating:
0 (from 0 votes)

[video=youtube;nMxTcRs3KDU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nMxTcRs3KDU[/video]

lanjiao CEO name does not sound pinoy at all, must be an indian import by Poo And Poo.

I represent the management and majority shareholders of the entity known as
‘La Fondue’. Apart from F&B, we have interests in other businesses,
including IT, where we have established offices in numerous countries and employ
staff from a variety of backgrounds.’

Can someone provide a list of these companies so that we can check to see if their claim is true. If this is just an "honest mistake" or part of their corporate culture.

Vote wisely in 2016 to show that Singapore belongs to native Singaporeans, not the PAP Govt or the Pinoys.

lanjiao CEO name does not sound pinoy at all, must be an indian import by Poo And Poo.

the other thread has krish krishnan and this one has ravinder pal....is there a link between ahnehs and pinoys :confused:

You have mistaken Miss World's entourage as a bunch of baboons. Please apologize immediately and publicly. :rolleyes: