• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

boss leong fave herd immunity cuntry sweden gave up. impose lockdowns! haaaa

I am not embarrassed but I have to say I am very frustrated with the the media's approach to what is a pretty harmless virus. There is already sufficient data to show that the fatality rate for the under 70s is only half that of influenza.

All that is needed it to keep the elderly safe and the rest of any country should simply go about their lives without undue worry.

The sensationalist media reports evoke an emotional response instead of a scientific response.

All the data for Europe is available at https://www.euromomo.eu/graphs-and-maps/#z-scores-by-country

View attachment 98369

While the media conjures up horror stories the scientific response has to be based up data and not an emotional reaction to images of coffins in the street.

The Covid virus will not be eliminated with a vaccine. There have been vaccines for flu for half a century but hundreds of thousands of people still die from flu every year.

Lockdowns were never about eliminating Covid. It was about flattening the curve so that ICUs were not overloaded.

Sweden's ICU capacity is doing fine. https://www.covid19insweden.com/en/healthcare.html and the number of deaths are normal for this time of the year. We all have to die and when you're in your 80s and 90s it is pretty much expected.

We don't lock down because of the flu so why lock down for Covid?

It is not so much about the absolute numbers of death per annum.
Rather, it is the intensity of the number of deaths which is worrisome.

U seems to assume the wrong thing.

Sweden was good example to go going raw.

Then 2nd wave hit them this time and neighbour country close border from them.

Proven everyone has kiasu and kiasi mentality better get onto the mainstream or else left behind.

Even expert doctors ignore the medical reason but go for economy reason.

Not many people seem to understand where I am coming from.

I'm not saying that Covid does not kill. All I'm saying is that we have to put things in perspective relative to overall mortality rates.

like the way we all respect @glockman as the forum great grand father :biggrin:
that one is my sifu
my great grand ah kong
haaaa
knn, I am not so old. Besides .......
1607664814615.jpeg

If this is just the ordinary flu ... why the big rush to come up with vaccines?

The fact that there is no cure to the common cold is practically an idiom known to all and sundry.

The fact that most people don't bother with common flu vaccines is almost a medical cliche.

Why then the mad scramble to cure what you claim is just another strain of flu?
The big rush to come.up with vaccine is all about economic. The virus itself is quite harmless and the economy needs to open up for people to go on. For business to thrive and to keep people employed. The tap got to start flowing at a point of the time.

All I know, many undergdound pubs and clubs operating . Just look at Instagram and you will notice people partying still.

Death is not just data! :FU:

Unfortunately it is. Every industry, every service, every human endeavor operates within the boundaries of a tolerable risk profile which is established based upon the data gathered.

For example in Singapore the current deaths per year from traffic accidents is hovering around 120 per year. Nobody has suggested that the roads be closed down to prevent these deaths. Life goes on while the authorities concentrate on efforts to reduce the road toll.

This is how Covid should be handled.

Better safe than sorry. See lah, now say sorry also too late the coronees all mati liao! :cry:

swedish meatball is the cure for covid lah, btw the virus also look like a meatball