• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Big Retrenchments in Big Firms in S'pore Coming

2lanu

Just read the paper today. Manpower minister sounding out that company should retrench FT rather than local. Though it may sound good to local but I think he got wind that huge retrenchment is on the way.

angie II

[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular]http://www.escapefromparadise.com/NewFiles/bc.html

"Today, I think I will tell my grandson I think you better go to America." Lee Kuan Yew
[/FONT][FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular]
[/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Georgia,Times] Goh Chok Tong's daughter a "quitter" [/FONT][FONT=Times New Roman,Georgia,Times] Just like Yeo Cheow Tong's kids

[/FONT]
bcgohchoktong2.jpg

[FONT=Times New Roman,Georgia,Times]Two-Faced ex-PM Goh (吳作棟) criticizes "quitters's" who leave Singapore, but The Straits Times reveals that his own daughter is a "quitter," living in England! (Just like Helen Yeo & Yeo Cheow Tong's daughters in the USA)

[/FONT]​
[FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular]"Fair-weather Singaporeans will run away whenever the country runs into stormy weather. I call them 'quitters'. Fortunately, 'quitters' are in the minority. The majority of Singaporeans are 'stayers'. 'Stayers' are committed to Singapore. Rain or shine, they will be with Singapore. As we say in Hokkien, 'pah see buay zao'."

[/FONT][FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular]PM Goh, National Day Rally 2002 Click![/FONT][FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular]
"My speech on 'stayers' and 'quitters' has aroused a strong response from Singaporeans, as it was meant to be."

[/FONT][FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular]More crap from Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong[/FONT][FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular].

[/FONT] [FONT=Times New Roman,Georgia,Times]
LeeCraven.jpg

[/FONT][FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular]PM Goh in London visiting his "[/FONT][FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular]quitter[/FONT][FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular]" daughter, Jin Theng.
She lives in England with her
[/FONT][FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular]English husband, Lee Craven.
[/FONT][FONT=Arial,Helvetica,Geneva,Swiss,SunSans-Regular]One rule for Singapore's elite two-faced rulers, another for Singaporeans.

http://www.escapefromparadise.com/NewFiles/bc.html
[/FONT]

Hope

Retrenchments are not all bad.

Recenthly DBS choped 900 people, many of whom have worked more than 10 years and were holding senior positions e.g. Vice President, Managing Director, etc.

Imagine collecting 2 years of pay. For someone earning $20,000, he'll be pocketing $480,000 for getting "chopped". Is that good news or bad?

After collecting the big retrenchment payout, they'll soon be securing another job, for perhaps lower pay. And they'll still be making more money than if they were still at DBS. Meanwhile, the others who are left in the organisation will be taking on the extra workload while drawing a reduced paycheck.

So you guys who grumble about retrenchment. It's more like striking the lottery. S'pore's retrenchment benefits are among the best in the world, so much so that some people actually look forward to being retrenched.
Not any more mate

Now most copmpanies ,yes including MNCs are making dio with termination notice pay.

Oh,youn talk about GLCs,yes that is a different story,PAP sure give our money away freely.!Sigh

Refer this:

http://www.singsupplies.com/showthread.php?t=11197

Confirmed they are in deep shit. And the foreigners are planning to sack Sinkies. It has gotten the garbras so deep in shit, they have to say this publicly. That's for believing in foreign shit in good times. In good times, no matter what you do, it will continue to be good. It's the shit times that tells who is good and who is not. Obviously our scholars screwed up the FT policy AGAIN.

Thumbs up for the foreigners. The foreigners are teaching those sinkies what is the real meaning of self-reliance. Please wake up sinkies.

Can we asked for prata man to be retrenched? He has done nothing for decade and still sucking our hard earned money.

For next 3 month total will be out of jobs the figure is more than 200K and more than half is FT working in manufacturing/production.

Retrenchments are not all bad.

Recenthly DBS choped 900 people, many of whom have worked more than 10 years and were holding senior positions e.g. Vice President, Managing Director, etc.

Imagine collecting 2 years of pay. For someone earning $20,000, he'll be pocketing $480,000 for getting "chopped". Is that good news or bad?

Not everyone will get a golden handshake lah. Just as not everyone has got an uncle like LKY to help with rice bowl.

For majority of Spore worker bees they're going to be in deep, deep trouble. They will have to dig into their savings if they have any for 1, 2, 3... years. They will have to keep on paying those water, electicity, mortgage, food,.., which the PAP is happy to keep increasing.

The only silver lining I can see is the awakening of the masses to the excesses of the PAP. Unfortunatley its going to be a painful process :rolleyes:

Neh_Neh_Pok

Most probably those banks, financial firms retail and manufacture industries will start the ball rolling for the retrenchment

batman1

If we have many unemployed Sinkies around, they will post social stability problem, like not able to pay bills, got kick out of HDB, crime and eventually if the numbers are large enough, become a political thread.

Imagine a family that can't feed his children but we have Politicians that say he need Millions in salary or they will quit.

When the people are jobless,the MIW must resign !MIW NOT doing their job !

DOM the Clown

Heard from friends retrenchments are coming in some major companies. Even from industries which our 154th always say are best in the world.

There is pressure from Garment to these firms not to retrench but ang mo owners or ang mo running the companies cant be bothered with such pressure from garment.

Stay tuned!

Uh uh!! BIG RETRENCHMENTs are already in the process since the beginning of 2008!!! The CDC used to have 5 guys fighting for one job vacancy in early 2008. Now they have ................TWENTY GUYS fighting for one job vacancy!!!!!! ..................hehehehehehehehe.....if you have some people working in the CDC you'll be able to fish this type of info.......

Can we asked for prata man to be retrenched? He has done nothing for decade and still sucking our hard earned money.

Think of him as just someone who is the "jaga" of the Istana. LKY needs someone to look after the Istana & good help is difficult to find nowdays. Must of course pay him his worth, not many "yes" man & butt kisser around since they are already in the cabinet. :rolleyes: