• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Big Retrenchments in Big Firms in S'pore Coming

ahleebabasingaporethief

Heard from friends retrenchments are coming in some major companies. Even from industries which our 154th always say are best in the world.

There is pressure from Garment to these firms not to retrench but ang mo owners or ang mo running the companies cant be bothered with such pressure from garment.

Stay tuned!

Einfield

MOM already know the numbers, all big firm here need to inform them before hand before they go for massive retrenchment.

So gov now trying to phyco everyone first before the axe come down.

VeryWise

Oh dear. That's indeed bad news, especially for me. I was retrenched recently by my company when the management decided that the organisation has 5% too much "fat". It was a year or so ago, that the same management said we are 50 to 100 people short. In any case, it's always the top echelon that will remain as long as they could. Even if they are let go, it's with Golden Handshake.

But do we have jobless benefits in SG like the US?
Jobless benefits are behind the times

ahleebabasingaporethief

MOM already know the numbers, all big firm here need to inform them before hand before they go for massive retrenchment.

So gov now trying to phyco everyone first before the axe come down.

Not true they always know before hand. On same day yes. But after retrenchments are done.

You think the ang mos give a fuck? Only S'poreans bosses got no balls.

annexa

Refer this:

http://www.singsupplies.com/showthread.php?t=11197

Confirmed they are in deep shit. And the foreigners are planning to sack Sinkies. It has gotten the garbras so deep in shit, they have to say this publicly. That's for believing in foreign shit in good times. In good times, no matter what you do, it will continue to be good. It's the shit times that tells who is good and who is not. Obviously our scholars screwed up the FT policy AGAIN.

Einfield

Oh dear. That's indeed bad news, especially for me. I was retrenched recently by my company when the management decided that the organisation has 5% too much "fat". It was a year or so ago, that the same management said we are 50 to 100 people short. In any case, it's always the top echelon that will remain as long as they could. Even if they are let go, it's with Golden Handshake.

Singapore do not really have strong unions that protect the average workers benefit.

NTUC is set up to replace confrontational Unions, that can call for strikes and sit in like the Korean Unions.

It works for the economy as investor like a tame work force but on the other side of the coin, workers have no rights and no protection, only Wayang and cry babies union leaders putting up a show, escorting retrench workers out of the work place, this is the scene I saw when PSA retrench people.

ahleebabasingaporethief

Singapore do not really have strong unions that protect the average workers benefit.

NTUC is set up to replace confrontational Unions, that can call for strikes and sit in like the Korean Unions.

It works for the economy as investor like a tame work force but on the other side of the coin, workers have no rights and no protection, only Wayang and cry babies union leaders putting up a show, escorting retrench workers out of the work place, this is the scene I saw when PSA retrench people.

S'pore has NO unions. Fullstop!

People joining AnTeeUsee do so for discounts and nothing else.

Einfield

Maybe not for every SME but big MNC have to give advance notice because of the sheer number involve.

Heard from friends retrenchments are coming in some major companies. ...

This is the big one, this recession will cause gov'ts to fall.

I don't think Spore can afford the extravagant PAP lah. Must economise & retrench some of these millionaires. By next election I expect even many of the 66% to share this feeling.

It is going to be ugly :(

Leegimeremover

Heard from friends retrenchments are coming in some major companies. Even from industries which our 154th always say are best in the world.

There is pressure from Garment to these firms not to retrench but ang mo owners or ang mo running the companies cant be bothered with such pressure from garment.

Stay tuned!

Lee Kuan Yew is eating sushi and smiling like an idiot

Einfield

This is the big one, this recession will cause gov'ts to fall.

I don't think Spore can afford the extravagant PAP lah. Must economise & retrench some of these millionaires. By next election I expect even many of the 66% to share this feeling.

It is going to be ugly :(

If we have many unemployed Sinkies around, they will post social stability problem, like not able to pay bills, got kick out of HDB, crime and eventually if the numbers are large enough, become a political thread.

Imagine a family that can't feed his children but we have Politicians that say he need Millions in salary or they will quit.

popdod

Everybody stop working for 5 days....companies cannot function, gov. cannot function.

Everyone wait to die.
Let the whole ship sink.

:o :( :o

“Layoffs not all bad. If there are no retrenchments at all, then I worry for Singapore.”
- PM Goh Chok Tong, Mar 22, 2003

peasantJUDGE

Retrenchments are not all bad.

Recenthly DBS choped 900 people, many of whom have worked more than 10 years and were holding senior positions e.g. Vice President, Managing Director, etc.

Imagine collecting 2 years of pay. For someone earning $20,000, he'll be pocketing $480,000 for getting "chopped". Is that good news or bad?

After collecting the big retrenchment payout, they'll soon be securing another job, for perhaps lower pay. And they'll still be making more money than if they were still at DBS. Meanwhile, the others who are left in the organisation will be taking on the extra workload while drawing a reduced paycheck.

So you guys who grumble about retrenchment. It's more like striking the lottery. S'pore's retrenchment benefits are among the best in the world, so much so that some people actually look forward to being retrenched.

KKC007

Imagine collecting 2 years of pay. For someone earning $20,000, he'll be pocketing $480,000 for getting "chopped". Is that good news or bad?

How many of the 900 people earn $20,000 a month? Assuming they collect x months of pay as retrenchment benefit? In today's economic outlook, can they find a similar paying job within these x months?

Any real life examples? There are 900 of them out there, none in this forum?

S'pore has NO unions. Fullstop!

People joining AnTeeUsee do so for discounts and nothing else.

Yu just hit the mail on the head! ouch!:biggrin: painful but true!. The unions are just social clubs, tombolas night, karaoke night, jackpot machines, supermarket, entertainment centres, what worker's rights?

If you are talking about the unions up to 1984, then they are really have the rights of the workers at heart. Those unionists are all gone...or told to meet at the bend at the levee, for a meeting..:biggrin:

66%: Hey! FTs created jobs for us, so what's wrong with Sporns being sacrificed to keep FTs employed? What's your ulterior motive?

Lee Kuan Yew is eating sushi and smiling like an idiot

TV2007081500292800.jpg