• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Best of both worlds

185466_204347849618538_181333458586644_532659_1159728_n.jpg

Best is get President scholarship when she can denounce Singapore Citizenship when she turns 22 years old.

This President Scholar has her life set. If she retires at 60, she would have milked taxpayers $50 million in today's dollars, not including the pension she will get on retirement.

Kuailan

It depends if she becomes a Minister x her salary of $3 million x 30 yrs = $90 million!!!

Excluding other perks...bonus...pension...CPF....

dietcoke

of cos she will still say she feel more singaporean. this is what we call in hokkien, kua hong gia zhun. try saying the same sentence while being interviewed by china media

Yingge

China and Singapore recognises dual citizenship?

Yup Singapore do not allow dual citizenship... How come she can have dual citizen??? President scholar tua liap?? Or is a cut and paste job by someone??

Rumpole

The short answer is that Singapore effectively allows dual citizenship. However, by acquiring a foreign citizenship you give SG Government the discretion to revoke your citizenship if it ever finds out.

That is the practical effect of the following:

1) On the one hand, Sections 134 and 135 of the SG Constitution states that the Govt may revoke your citizenship status if you have acquired foreign citizenship or exercised rights of foreign nationals (e.g. voted in elections of a foreign country – some allow PRs to do so). Note – operative word is “may” and not “must”.

http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/aol/sear...ansactionTime:05/06/2013 Status:inforce;rec=0

2) On the other, there is no provision to require a SG citizen to inform the Govt that he has done any of the things mentioned in (1) above. Although I don’t discount the fact that some Govt forms may ask this question and I am not encouraging you to give a false answer, just to consider if you really need whatever it is you are applying for.

So there you are. If you keep quiet and SG Govt does not know that you have another citizenship, then effectively you are not breaching any law. You can continue to come back to Singapore and vote wisely.

However, if you want your CPF, then you have to renounce your citizenship, otherwise they will keep your money at their pleasure. Bottom line is – how desperate are you to lay your hands on your CPF and how effective you have been in keeping your mouth shut about having acquired a foreign citizenship or exercised a right limited to foreign nationals and how much the Sinkie Government hates you to want to revoke your citizenship since it is not compulsory for them to do so.

Mystery solved? No need to go on arguing in circles right?

Hint: Now is a little past 10 am in London. Temperature 10 °C.