• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Behaviour of cyclists

Notice the vast majority of these rude and aggressive cyclists are chow ang mos.

1. They should just fuck back to their trailers back in their hick countries. Western colonialism is long dead.

2. It's high time Singapore had cycling lanes, something I've been saying for the longest time.

Notice the vast majority of these rude and aggressive cyclists are chow ang mos.

1. They should just fuck back to their trailers back in their hick countries. Western colonialism is long dead.

2. It's high time Singapore had cycling lanes, something I've been saying for the longest time.

you are right... there are bad cyclists all over, but in Singapore the ang mo cyclist is most likely to give you the finger

most of them seem to think that all cars are out to get them, but they can break almost every traffic rule in the book and its ok

Certainly not helped by the fact that many people on sg have Pinkerton syndrome

The car driver was asking him to move aside so she could overtake. What's wrong with that? Instead he flipped her the bird. Disgusting behaviour regardless of the nationality!

The woman driver was a dumb fuck driver, she can easily over take the cyclist
why honk him, is she asking him to get off the road! if she honk me I would do the same,
show her centre finger and tell her to FUCK off!!

The cyclist was not wrong to cycle a metre away from the road side Kerb! only dumb
fuck motorist who doesn't know the highway code, should go back and take up Provisional
Licence again at the Testing Centre!!!

Cyclist is right nothing wrong as long cyclist not swing left or right(keeping to one lane).
Driver should just follow patiently behind and not horn (because sudden horn will make cyclist nerves and cause accident). Eg if I drive car slowly in left most lane and car behind keep horn. I will show my middle finger also. Why driver cannot overtake on the right lane(fast lane).

In Brunei motorists there are very patience, they don't honk at other cars, pedestrian, to them
its rude to honk at others!!

If that dumb Fuck lady motorist were to honk cyclist in Brunei like what she did
I guess she'll get 2 blue black eyes!!

When I got my first bike in Singapore, it was licensed and the plate was prominently displayed.

It didn't stop us from riding like lunatics and assaulting taxi drivers who cut us off.

It made no difference then and it sure as hell wouldn't make any difference now.

Cars are all licensed but that has not solved the problem of idiot drivers breaking the road rules either. If licensing fixed all the ills of society, Utopia would have arrived a long time ago.

Really Spore bicycles were licensed last time? Why did they stop then? Now with so many bicycles everywhere, they should re-start to register bicycles and license the cyclists. MAYBE due to no COE, no motivation lah..

They stopped it because it didn't make a difference at all. All it did was to create paperwork.

so should we remove car/bike licence plates, car insurance, rd tax to make it fair for all rd users?

Bicycles don't pollute the air, create lots of noise, are able to go 250km/h, cause damage to roads, doesn't have passengers and many many other things.

It is very fair to make motorists pay.

Singapore though supposedly to be a First world nation has still to catch up with the rest of the other advanced countries where they are more bike-friendly. To Singaporeans, the cyclist is road-hogging and the Singaporean motorist thinks that her car is supremo on the road and cyclists should keep to the kerb. To the angmoh cyclist, he is riding perfectly legitimately in the middle of the lane. This is practised in countries like Canada, Europe, and UK. Obviously our locals have not gotten use to this fact, or are ignorant. Therefore, to honk at him is rude, so he gives you the middle finger and rightfully.

I think it is a matter of coming to a reconciliation. Angmohs on bicycles have to be aware that they are no longer at home; on the other hand, locals have to grow up and accept that if we want cycling to be part of our transport system and lifestyle, they have to accommodate cyclists as equals on the lanes, i.e. centre of the lane, albeit on the slower one. Motorbikes by the way, already have every right to be in the centre of the lane, in case this is not known here, so other vehicles just have to fall back behind and take their queue.

If this is not told or taught to angmohs during integration, it is time they be told, for their own safety. They just have to be patient whilst singaporeans are growing up to be first world citizens, after decades of backwater living.

Caveat: I am talking about serious cyclists, not those weekenders with their little wheels, and wobbly balance. The latter better stay on cycle paths.

Bicycles don't pollute the air, create lots of noise, are able to go 250km/h, cause damage to roads, doesn't have passengers and many many other things.

It is very fair to make motorists pay.

Bicyclists want to use the road but dont want to pay and dont want to obey traffic laws. Then shut the fuck up when being bullied by other road users ok. Fucktard.

Singapore though supposedly to be a First world nation has still to catch up with the rest of the other advanced countries where they are more bike-friendly. To Singaporeans, the cyclist is road-hogging and the Singaporean motorist thinks that her car is supremo on the road and cyclists should keep to the kerb. To the angmoh cyclist, he is riding perfectly legitimately in the middle of the lane. This is practised in countries like Canada, Europe, and UK. Obviously our locals have not gotten use to this fact, or are ignorant. Therefore, to honk at him is rude, so he gives you the middle finger and rightfully.

I think it is a matter of coming to a reconciliation. Angmohs on bicycles have to be aware that they are no longer at home; on the other hand, locals have to grow up and accept that if we want cycling to be part of our transport system and lifestyle, they have to accommodate cyclists as equals on the lanes, i.e. centre of the lane, albeit on the slower one. Motorbikes by the way, already have every right to be in the centre of the lane, in case this is not known here, so other vehicles just have to fall back behind and take their queue.

If this is not told or taught to angmohs during integration, it is time they be told, for their own safety. They just have to be patient whilst singaporeans are growing up to be first world citizens, after decades of backwater living.

Caveat: I am talking about serious cyclists, not those weekenders with their little wheels, and wobbly balance. The latter better stay on cycle paths.

When you cycle or drive in places like Vietnam or India, do you adapt to their road conditions or do you expect the drivers and motorcyclists to 'reconcile' with you?

When in Rome, live like the Romans. Period.

Singapore roads are not designed for cyclists and the anus is not designed for sex. Period.

The laws have always been there, there were just much less cyclists in the past . It's more a matter of motorists not being used to share the roads with others. Times change, it's not hard to adopt.

You have obviously been fucked in the arse and found that out the hard way. :p

Then both sides deserve to live in the dark Ages.

However, if we want to plug into the world grid, then Sinkies shld learn to cultivate higher social norms and behaviour. Singapore needs the world, but the world can tell Sinkies to fuck off if it doesnt conform.

If Sinkies want to be like the Viets and the Indians, God save our souls.

When you cycle or drive in places like Vietnam or India, do you adapt to their road conditions or do you expect the drivers and motorcyclists to 'reconcile' with you?

When in Rome, live like the Romans. Period.

That's not road hogging. All experienced cyclists ride 1 to 1.5 metres from the gutter. This is to prevent cars from shaving past.
In fact, this guideline is given in many city cycling tips :
http://www.toronto.ca/bug/commutertips.htm
  • Be Predictable
    Cyclists are predictable when they ride in a straight line and when they communicate (signal) their intentions about changing position or direction. By riding in a straight line it is easier for traffic around you to predict your actions. Know how to position yourself in traffic. Ride 1 meter away from the curb, never in the gutter, and out of the way of opening doors along parked cars.
Agree that its the car driver who is in the wrong even if the cyclist could have kept left a little bit more to facilitate cars overtaking. According to http://ride.asiaone.com/news/genera...-finger-after-hogging-lane-near-raffles-place all 8 still photos show the cyclist to be on the right most lane of the road. The road was also approaching a left turn (road direction marking shows lane was for BOTH left turn and going straight. The cyclist could have wanted to go straight, as such, the cyclist position towards the centre of the lane would have been appropriate so as to facilitate him going straight as well as to increase his visibility and to prevent cars from overtaking dangerously to turn left as he was probably cycling fast and such actions by careless car drivers would needlessly endanger his safety.

If Ms Pan wanted to turn left, then she should have waited her turn, knocking down the cyclist from behind would surely have her banned for reckless driving if not causing a massive traffic jam as the police and ambulance are all summoned to assist at the scene.

If Ms Pan finds cyclist bothersome, she has 2 immediate alternarives- public transport (which the SG govt claims is world class) or to join in and cycle as well- she might well find her health improving with the daily exercise and sunshine she gets. Singaporeans will also be thankful to her for reducing greenhouse gas emissions and thus a small but necessary contribution to the alleviation of flooding on Singapore.

maybe this driver dunno how to overtake the cyclist. so he follow slowly and make cyclist think a pervert is hooked on to his bum.

Time for Critical Mass / naked bike rides to start in Singapore. Cyclists should reclaim the streets.

http://www.urban75.org/photos/critical/

london-naked-bike-ride-2011-23.jpg

london-naked-bike-ride-2011-24.jpg

london-naked-bike-ride-2011-33.jpg

london-naked-bike-ride-2011-35.jpg

Why cyclistS? I only see one in the picture. Anyway, here are the rules:
http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/aol/sear...643f6561" Status:inforce Depth:0;rec=0#pr7-he
Citation
... ...
7.—(1) No bicycle shall be ridden on the right of another vehicle proceeding in the same direction except when overtaking such other vehicle.
[S 773/2004 wef 01/01/2005]
(2) No bicycle shall be ridden on the right of any two other bicycles proceeding abreast in the same direction except when overtaking such other bicycles or on parts of roads or paths set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles.
[S 773/2004 wef 01/01/2005]
Bicycle to be ridden on left side of road
8. Every bicycle shall be ridden close to the left hand edge of the roadway and in such a manner as not to obstruct vehicles moving at a faster speed.
Load on bicycle not to exceed 18 kg
(3) Every person who rides a power-assisted bicycle on a road or who is carried as a pillion passenger on a power-assisted bicycle on a road shall wear securely on his head a suitable protective bicycle helmet.
So i this case i would say the cyclist broke the rules by riding in the center of the lane:
8. Every bicycle shall be ridden close to the left hand edge of the roadway and in such a manner as not to obstruct vehicles moving at a faster speed.
When it comes to manners however they both suck. The cyclist could have simply made way for the car after it honked at him and the car could have just been patient and overtake the cyclist a few seconds later.
2 losers in 1 spot...
Actually, most of the pictures show the cyclist to be cycling on the left most side of the left lane. In any case, the part of the road where Miss Pan tried to overtake the cyclist had a zig zag white line on the left. The zig zag white line means that there is a zebra crossing straight ahead as such, all vehicles have to slow down and stop for pesedsrians who might want to cross the road- Ms Pan is this extremely careless/ reckless to have attempted to overtake instead of being more observant for pedestrians the cyclist however, was more cautious and must have positioned himself in a way protecting the safety of pedestrians and also ready to stop if the need be.

In any case, I always believe in perceedence/ hirechy of rules- e.g. rule 1 is more important than rule 2 so on and so fourth. Rule 7 states that a bicycle should not travel to the right of a moving car unless it is overtaking (or if the car is turning left but the cyclist straight) - this I think is more important than being too rigid about the leftmost part of left lane rule- sometimes there are obstructions on the left of road, road uneveness or rubbish littering the lane- thus cyclist might keep right a bit. If traffic is too slow, it is because there are too many cars on the road- so long as the cyclist takes the left most lane, cars should be able to overtake on the right and most cyclist would not veer too much to the right since it would be rather scary for them if someone were to overtake the cyclist on the left.

If there is no other lane for cars to overtake, then the road throughput is TOO HIGH and so it is high time to create either one or more bus lanes since the busses are able to transport more passengers than motor cars, an ERP gantry or 2 might also be helpful to regulate motorcar traffic during peak periods aka Singapore style.

Roads in sinking land was never designed for cycling. So leongsam should go amd fuck pappies. fucking chow ang moh, simple courtesy also don't have. Driver should just tun the chow ang moh down. at most get a fine nia.
Once upon a time, all roads in Singapore were suitable for the thoroughfare of BULLOCK CARTS. Then the PAP government confiscated land and build up the new towns to fit as many people as possible since generally, more people per sq km means a higher GDP for a small state (the leaders salaries are linked to national GDP). More workers also means more salary for CEOs in banking and manufacturing (political salaries are linked to CEO salaries)... So whilst it is true that Singapore roads were not designed for cyclist used, the PAP now finds that neither were they built anticipating floods/ massive 'ponding'... Ultimately, if we continue our carbon pollution intensive and GDP at all cost lifestyles, our our roads will submerged and thus NEITHER be suitable for cyclist NOR motor vehicles (tractors and 4WD with above bonnet air inlets maybe) only rubber dingies would be able to traverse waterways when rising sea levels make Singapore another Venice of the east.
ST23Mar2007-+Why+pay+must+go+up.JPG