• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Australia wants to raise retirement age to 70.

Winner

Life is Hard, to retire at 70, and if you are a labourer, saying is easy. If I were to sit and get paid, I can work until 90 years old and beyond. Why chose a shit country to follow the retirement age of 65 years old and above. The Australian are digging their own grave.
These are challenges with the 40 years old young man who had retrenched and turn into taxi driver and security jobs. They are
degree holders.
A good country like Australia is getting rotten.

YanDao

Australia plan to raise retirement age to 70

AUSTRALIANS would be forced to work until they turn 70, under a radical late-retirement plan from the government's top policy agency.
Pensioners would also have to hand the taxman a slice of the family home to help pay for aged care.

The Productivity Commission will today propose lifting the pension age from 65 to 70, to save taxpayers $150 billion in welfare and health spending as the baby boom generation hits retirement.

It warns that many Australians cannot afford to spend 35 years in retirement, and argues that elderly people are "neither infirm nor inept'' to keep working.
The PC calculates that taxes would need to rise 21 per cent to pay for the extra health and aged care costs of a population that will have more 100-year-olds than babies by the turn of the century.

Children born today will live well into their 90s, it says, and the number of Australians older than 75 will increase by 4 million - roughly the population of Sydney or Melbourne - over the next 50 years.

However the most provocative suggestion contained in the report is to raise the retirement age to 70 - saving taxpayers $78,000 in pension payments to every retiree.

The pension age is already on track to increase to 67 years by 2023, while the "preservation age'' for accessing superannuation will jump from 55 to 60 years by 2024.

Taxpayers spent $36 billion last financial year on pensions for the nation's 2.4 million retirees, who receive $376 a week for singles or $567 a week for couples.

Two out of three Australians aged 65 or older rely on the aged pension.
The report says the GFC wiped out a third of Australians' superannuation savings - pushing more people onto the old age pension.

It also reveals that generation Y stands to inherit a massive $400 billion worth of housing over the next 15 years - even though one in three baby boomers will leave nothing to the kids.

A third of baby boomers expect to spend all their money and assets before they die.

The report also proposes tapping into pensioners' greatest asset - the family home - by making them hand the government half the yearly increase in their home's value.

A pensioner with a home worth $500,000, for example, could expect to see its value rise by $10,000 a year.

Once a pensioner needed assistance at home - or if their partner had to enter an aged care home - then half that capital gain, or $5000 a year, would be earmarked for the government.

The money would be paid to the government once the house was sold.
"Having individuals contribute even half the annual real increase in their home values towards aged care services could reduce government expenditures by around 30 per cent,'' the report says.

"An equity release scheme of this kind would still leave older households with an appreciating asset base and provide a means to increase the quality of services provided over the long term.''

The report says Australia will have to spend an extra 6 per cent of national income to support an ageing population over the next 50 years.
It warns that governments will need to raise taxes or cut other spending to pay the bills.

Re: Australia plan to raise retirement age to 70

it's a total different thing to work till 70 in down under compared to sinkie land. first, you won't find an aged 70 aussie working as a table cleaner...in sinkieland, age 70 still working in McD and Kopitiam, and the gahment still think that is active aging and good for the seniors.:oIo:

304856-mcdonalds.jpg

u wont find many elderly working in australia because they still have the government pensions....1400 a month..2/3 aussies living on pensions....but unfortunately money is running out.

they can choose not to work and receive welfare, and still live comfortably. besides, i am sure she is behind the counter rather than clearing thrash. you should visit the sinkie koiptiam and see for yourself the pitiful sight of these old aged aunties clearing the tables...if they stopped working and no welfare, they'd starve...

its all thanks to sinkies isnt it?u dont want the sight of old aged aunties clearing tables and emptying trays,are u willing to pay higher taxes to feed their old asses?are u willing to pay 32.5% tax on any income earned above 37,500 like the aussies do?

elderly sinkies are a liability,daft and stupid sinkies are already a liability....i say we sent all elderly sinkies to the soylent green clinic for recycling purposes.

i am willing to pay higher taxes, sinkieland is not cheap anyway...:rolleyes:

its all thanks to sinkies isnt it?u dont want the sight of old aged aunties clearing tables and emptying trays,are u willing to pay higher taxes to feed their old asses?are u willing to pay 32.5% tax on any income earned above 37,500 like the aussies do?

elderly sinkies are a liability,daft and stupid sinkies are already a liability....i say we sent all elderly sinkies to the soylent green clinic for recycling purposes.

rushifa666

Doesn't matter if your welfare is covered. The old fools here are working WITHOUT a net. Fall and you will break your head

longdongsilver

lets rephrase the question a little:
are u willing to pay 32.5% tax on any income earned above 37,500 like the aussies do?knowing that you will be well taken care of by the government when you are old,sick and jobless?

agree with you completely...

are u willing to pay 32.5% tax on any income earned above 37,500 like the aussies do?knowing that you will be well taken care of by the government when you are old,sick and jobless?

neddy

Life is Hard, to retire at 70, and if you are a labourer, saying is easy. If I were to sit and get paid, I can work until 90 years old and beyond. Why chose a shit country to follow the retirement age of 65 years old and above. The Australian are digging their own grave.
These are challenges with the 40 years old young man who had retrenched and turn into taxi driver and security jobs. They are
degree holders.
A good country like Australia is getting rotten.

Australia life hard ????

You cannot create stress for OZ workers or they will go on paid stress leave indefinitely. And you cannot sack them.

Those outraged by pensions at 70 should think again.
It is not fair or sustainable to ask these generations to fund their larger parent generations through an endless retirement.
Age pensions originated a century ago, when most people died before reaching pensionable age. Today the pension age remains virtually the same while life expectancy is 20 years greater and work is far less strenuous and dangerous.

longdongsilver

it may be hard for aussie employer to build up a case to sack a permanent staff..but then again alot of people in Oz land are employed as contract staff,temp staff and casual staff...

longdongsilver

Australia life hard ????

You cannot create stress for OZ workers or they will go on paid stress leave indefinitely. And you cannot sack them.

It is not fair or sustainable to ask these generations to fund their larger parent generations through an endless retirement.
Age pensions originated a century ago, when most people died before reaching pensionable age. Today the pension age remains virtually the same while life expectancy is 20 years greater and work is far less strenuous and dangerous.

most auusies from birth to death will one time or another get to enjoy the benefit provided by others..when a baby is born ,parents get baby bonus/substantial parental leave..when a youth is on his/her own..they get newstart if they are jobless or in between jobs..when the parents are job less they get unemployment benefits..they pay back to the society when they have found job..of course there are bludgers that stay unemployed forever but most decent people would still prefer to have a job than being a bludger if they can help it coz a job gives people dignity..

AUSTRALIANS would be forced to work until they turn 70, under a radical late-retirement plan from the government's top policy agency.
Pensioners would also have to hand the taxman a slice of the family home to help pay for aged care.

The Productivity Commission will today propose lifting the pension age from 65 to 70, to save taxpayers $150 billion in welfare and health spending as the baby boom generation hits retirement.

It warns that many Australians cannot afford to spend 35 years in retirement, and argues that elderly people are "neither infirm nor inept'' to keep working.
The PC calculates that taxes would need to rise 21 per cent to pay for the extra health and aged care costs of a population that will have more 100-year-olds than babies by the turn of the century.

Children born today will live well into their 90s, it says, and the number of Australians older than 75 will increase by 4 million - roughly the population of Sydney or Melbourne - over the next 50 years.

However the most provocative suggestion contained in the report is to raise the retirement age to 70 - saving taxpayers $78,000 in pension payments to every retiree.

The pension age is already on track to increase to 67 years by 2023, while the "preservation age'' for accessing superannuation will jump from 55 to 60 years by 2024.

Taxpayers spent $36 billion last financial year on pensions for the nation's 2.4 million retirees, who receive $376 a week for singles or $567 a week for couples.

Two out of three Australians aged 65 or older rely on the aged pension.
The report says the GFC wiped out a third of Australians' superannuation savings - pushing more people onto the old age pension.

It also reveals that generation Y stands to inherit a massive $400 billion worth of housing over the next 15 years - even though one in three baby boomers will leave nothing to the kids.

A third of baby boomers expect to spend all their money and assets before they die.

The report also proposes tapping into pensioners' greatest asset - the family home - by making them hand the government half the yearly increase in their home's value.

A pensioner with a home worth $500,000, for example, could expect to see its value rise by $10,000 a year.

Once a pensioner needed assistance at home - or if their partner had to enter an aged care home - then half that capital gain, or $5000 a year, would be earmarked for the government.

The money would be paid to the government once the house was sold.
"Having individuals contribute even half the annual real increase in their home values towards aged care services could reduce government expenditures by around 30 per cent,'' the report says.

"An equity release scheme of this kind would still leave older households with an appreciating asset base and provide a means to increase the quality of services provided over the long term.''

The report says Australia will have to spend an extra 6 per cent of national income to support an ageing population over the next 50 years.
It warns that governments will need to raise taxes or cut other spending to pay the bills.

I will be surprised if the Aussies take this lying down.

Only a right-wing government can do this.

Soon, life in sinkapore would be better than Australia.

It is just like buying an insurance policy, of course I will.
You are already paying more than that in fees and deductions in sinkapore and you get nothing in return. Low tax is bs in sinkapore ...your 'subsidized' pigeon hole is a tax that never ends, your CPF is another tax ....

Australia life hard ????

It is totally fair and sustainable. The previous generation build the Australia that is today with its social safety net. They paid for it then, so why can't they enjoy it now?
It is not sustainable when the present generation refuse to pay for it. In that case, these people should move to sinkapore.

Our PAP are far sighted. Kudos to them.

Far sighted my foot. Cheats and liars ...that's the PAP. If similar stunts done in first world countries, the PAP would be out and probably lynched.

We need Ah Beng Inc to deal with the PAP and its supporters like you.