should no comment about Myammar/Aung Suu Kyi. More people will hate him. He will have to lay low for few month.
Who hates him? Mostly the Burmese peasants and farmers and commoners. Not the Burmese elite or even the Burmese junta. And what can the former classes do about it?
If the students protest, their study passes would be revoked and they can kiss their tertiary education here goodbye, so don't be an idiot please.
he just being practical
he know what is power
winning an election is just one part, you need to get rid of opposition, outlaw protest, take over the media, put your men in army and police, build a secret police force, put your people in judiciary
Suu kyi only did one part, so she is not ruler.
just like the opposition in singapore, even the opposition win the election, they are nothing. they are not ruler. they can be topple very quickly, because they dun have army, police support.
so if you think if 66% of sinkies vote for you, everything will be OK. hardly. stop day dreaming .
SM Goh is being practical indeed
As long as the junta doesn't cause too much trouble for the rest of ASEAN (never mind the poor Burmese) and everyone gets to make some nice $$$, no need for the PAP types to get too pushy over Burma.
"Separately, Mr Goh also touched on the situation in Myanmar. He said while pro—democracy leader Aung San Suu Kyi is seen by the West as the solution, she is also "part of the problem" because she believes she is the government.
Mr Goh noted that Ms Suu Kyi’s political party needs to seek a fresh mandate in the 2010 general election."
— CNA/ir
Yup! that is the bottom line.But Goh had gone further.He had taken Aung Suu Kyi to task...why would he do that,unless he wanted the status quo in Burma to remain...That begets another question..Why?....do Leegime has a huge investment in Burma which needs their junta's protection?....
"Separately, Mr Goh also touched on the situation in Myanmar. He said while pro—democracy leader Aung San Suu Kyi is seen by the West as the solution, she is also "part of the problem" because she believes she is the government.
Mr Goh noted that Ms Suu Kyi’s political party needs to seek a fresh mandate in the 2010 general election."
— CNA/ir
Yup! that is the bottom line.But Goh had gone further.He had taken Aung Suu Kyi to task...why would he do that,unless he wanted the status quo in Burma to remain...That begets another question..Why?....do Leegime has a huge investment in Burma which needs their junta's protection?....
The biggest investors in Burma are companies from China, Thailand, Singapore, and India (in that order). These are govt linked companies and private investors who got involved through close relationships with you know who. Singapore's bilateral trade with Burma is estimated at US$2 billion annually. So the "Leegime" and their good friends have a lot vested in Burma. I don't think a messy "peoples' revolution type" change of govt is the kind of scenario they want. SM Goh and Co prefer a nice happy transition where the junta starts to share power (a little bit of democracy + a lot of control = sounds familiar right? hint: PAP style politics).
I think SM Goh is realistic enough to see that the current status quo is unsustainable. So, you do begin to see why he singled out ASSK for a little comment. He is suggesting that ASSK and her supporters should start to PLAY BALL with the junta before things get really messy and the world gets another Marcos and Suharto type debacle.
Dear London
I would rate India China above Singapore simply because these countries buy and supply the foreign exchange necessary for the survival of the regime. Gas Teak Oil and Gems above all else.
Locke
Dear London
I would rate India China above Singapore simply because these countries buy and supply the foreign exchange necessary for the survival of the regime. Gas Teak Oil and Gems above all else.
My discussions even ten years ago with my Profs came to the conclusion that well a) the US would not intervene like in Iraq, b) That the Burmese Military will continue to shoot and oppress its own people and do it well ensuring its survivability though in the process improverishing the very people that it claims to protect. and thus GCT is suggesting that the NLD should play ball because they have no other realistic option.
We did discuss in detail the possibility of another Marcos or Suharto style action and we ruled that out because the structure of the dictatorship was more like that of North Korea and Iraq with the Burmese Military being perfectly happy to shoot students and monks :_)))
Locke
<style></style>You have to look beyond and further.Agreed trade and business plays a big part in G to G relations.US has been the biggest culprit.Iraq is an example and even in Indonesia.It is now confirmed CIA engineered Sukarno's fall in the 60s because Ford and other American company had huge investments there.And Sukarno was leaning towards the now defunct communist USSR.
Now country to country wise.Only China wants the Burmese Junta to stay.Not because of its natural resources but for strategic reason.Because only through Burma China can project itself to the Indian Ocean.
But Leegime cosying up to the Burmese Junta goes beyond G to G business interests.It is sort of personal.Why?..Because countries like Singapore and especially Thailand would want to plunder Burmese natural resources in cahoots with its junta.But the ultimate market for Burmese goods are US & Europe.So Singapore and Thailand are only playing middleman for Burmese natural resources....But US and Europe must respect its public opinion and goods of Burmese origin are in its black list....
Simply putting if you want benefit by buying and selling stolen goods than you risk fooling around with law enforcement agencies.Its only a question of time before you count bars.I am sure Leegime knows that well.So that begets the question ; what's the difference to Leegime if its trades with Burmese Junta or Aung in the governance?....I would speculate that Leegime has personal interest in the survival of Myanmar military junta.It spells $$$$$ in their pockets.
Show proof hor! If not you'll be sued! That's life! You don't want to be kicked in the balls by the people in power do you small people? Know your place, then we can talk! KNNBPCB!
An ocean separates us.
SM Goh was kind enough not to sue the folllowing people:Alamak if Washington Post or FEER say same like wooden Goh......Like Goh is the real problem to Dr.Chee.Sure kenna sue sue one.Sue everybody,the printer lah,the publisher lah,the delivery man also lah.
Dear London
Alas Mandela dealt with a civillian white government, the whites in SA whilst being perfectly willing to suppress the political rights of the black were not stupid enough to place themselves under white military rule. Both sides had to move in S Africa but the military were out of the equation
How monolithic or stable is the Burmese Military ? That I suspect is the million dollar question.
Locke