• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

At least three parties keen to take on PAP at next general election

G

Ginchiyo Tachibana

Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Jan 27, 2010

3 parties eye Tampines

By Sue-Ann Chia & Kor Kian Beng

TAMPINES GRC is shaping up to be a hot spot in the next general election, with at least three opposition parties keen to contest the five-MP constituency. What draws them is the People's Action Party's (PAP) anchor minister helming the group representation constituency - National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan. Why? They are convinced there is some unhappiness on the ground over housing and the contest would give them the opportunity to hit out at housing policies, particularly the affordability of public housing.

Read the full report in Wednesday's edition of The Straits Times.

<!-- by line --> <!-- end by line --> <!-- end left side bar --> <!-- story content : start -->

kingrant

Actually, didnt Lim Hng Kiang also plant the time bomb for MBT when he was the Minister in charge of HDB?

Robert Half

Singapore
Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Jan 27, 2010

3 parties eye Tampines

By Sue-Ann Chia & Kor Kian Beng

TAMPINES GRC is shaping up to be a hot spot in the next general election, with at least three opposition parties keen to contest the five-MP constituency. What draws them is the People's Action Party's (PAP) anchor minister helming the group representation constituency - National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan. Why? They are convinced there is some unhappiness on the ground over housing and the contest would give them the opportunity to hit out at housing policies, particularly the affordability of public housing.

Read the full report in Wednesday's edition of The Straits Times.

<!-- by line --> <!-- end by line --> <!-- end left side bar --> <!-- story content : start -->

Tampines people very Pro-PAP ...you think they will give opposition a chance :confused:

Soul_Reaper

I donch care how many parties contesting.
All I'm interested in is that there is an opportunity for me to cast my vote.
As long as there is an opposition candidate..... whether good, bad, capable, kuching kurap, scholar or ITE dropout..... HE WILL GET MY VOTE!! He can't do any worse than the current bunch of useless MIWs :(

IR123

Tampines people very Pro-PAP ...you think they will give opposition a chance :confused:

I would have thought Tanjong Pagar, Ang Mo Kio and Marine Parade are very pro-PAP.

What makes you think Tampines people are very pro-PAP? They don't speak Teochew?

IR123

I saw this on the RP website:

The Reform Party In case you think - from the recent article onTampines- RP has no intention of contesting a GRC, I can assure you we do. I did send a statement but it clearly wasn't liked. I am not going to contribute to a media theme of in-fighting amongst the opposition and three-cornered fights.​

Does this mean RP has no intention of contesting in Tampines?

RP should reconsider.

As the opposition is not homogenous, a vote for RP does not equate to a vote for WP or SDA or NSP or whatever.

As the opposition is not homogenous, if RP feels it can do a better job in Hougang or Potong Pasir, it should just move in and offer an alternative. This principle applies to every area for contesting.

In many ways, this will make each opposition party create their own unique propositions, lead to greater competition and hungrier parties.

This is far more honest than saying 'you dislike the PAP, so vote for us' when there is no 'us' in the opposition camp - only me, me and me.

IR123

Dear RP,

To quote you:

Wake up to your proper role as citizens​

"Cast off the slumber into which you have been led into for the last 50 years. Wake up to your rights as a human being, to your proper role as citizens of this country."​

The proper role as citizens of this country is to vote for that party which we as individual citizens believe can run or better this country.

The proper role as citizens is NOT to vote against the PAP or against any party for that matter.

The proper role as citizens is to vote affirmatively for the better party, each according to his/her perceptions.

Correspondingly, the proper role for RP is to contest in Tampines so long as RP believe it can offer better alternatives than the other parties.

You need to live your talk.

Sideswipe

SMC increased to 12. GRC sizes will be reduced which meant a few new GRC could be formed anywhere on the island.

expect major changes to the electoral boundaries for next GE.

The last 2 years, ruling parties in developed countries all over the world have suffered significant losses in elections due to the worldwide economic crisis. Will PAP suffer a defeat, maybe a GRC loss too?

Elections should be held after June this year, unlikely to be in 2011 which will give our oppositions time to get ready. I'm expecting a General Election from June-Dec this year.

Lee Hsien Tau

I saw this on the RP website:

The Reform Party In case you think - from the recent article onTampines- RP has no intention of contesting a GRC, I can assure you we do. I did send a statement but it clearly wasn't liked. I am not going to contribute to a media theme of in-fighting amongst the opposition and three-cornered fights.​

Does this mean RP has no intention of contesting in Tampines?

RP should reconsider.

As the opposition is not homogenous, a vote for RP does not equate to a vote for WP or SDA or NSP or whatever.

As the opposition is not homogenous, if RP feels it can do a better job in Hougang or Potong Pasir, it should just move in and offer an alternative. This principle applies to every area for contesting.

In many ways, this will make each opposition party create their own unique propositions, lead to greater competition and hungrier parties.

This is far more honest than saying 'you dislike the PAP, so vote for us' when there is no 'us' in the opposition camp - only me, me and me.

I support KJ to go into Potong Pasir.

Too many retirees in Potong Pasir oredi.....retired lawyer, and going to be retired nurse? Might as well be retired fund manager lor!

longbow

Actually not a bad investment if you can speak mandarin and english well. Also you must not have too many skeletons in your closet and have a good feel for the ground.

Deposit $15K, campaign cost probably under $35K. If you win $MP pay pretty good. Looking from money point of view.

Robert Half

I would have thought Tanjong Pagar, Ang Mo Kio and Marine Parade are very pro-PAP.

What makes you think Tampines people are very pro-PAP? They don't speak Teochew?

I used to stay there for 20 years & people in Tampines like their HDB flats to appreciate a lot :biggrin: the present properties rocket high prices made the people there very happy.

You can also do a check on Tampines GRC results in GE 2006, 2001 & 1997.

Even the Teochew Nangs in Tampines also support PAP .. not SDA or NSP :biggrin: