• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

At Changi Airport.....

You have a good point. Singaporeans must not elect liars into Parliament

you're too idealistic and naive my dear. politics and honesty don't mix well. it's the same everywhere in the world in any political system.

Originally Posted by wizard View Post
Ah neh stand behind me. I will tahan the bullet for you.
When i die you still can buy air ticket and go back india.. I am doing my national service.

Another mis-cue?

this bro here implied that in line of national service he prepared to die to protect an FT

i will be sian if i am the mata loh...

if there is really some kee siow i first to die....weapon i only a water gun compared to MP5 that the SAF / SAR21 carrying...how to fight?

And they probably wear Kelvar armour oso...the mata - only the peak cap and blue cotton shirt...

i feel awkward and uncomfortable if i know the policeman is an NSman and the soldiers are NSFs.

My questions wld be: "how qualified and experienced is this team? will they be able to handle the unexpected?"

Of course I can't answer that as I don't know the three personally. Generally, it depends on what are the trainings they've received and duties they've experienced. An ex-regular PNSman would have five years worth of regular trainings and duties experience behind him, plus whatever during subsequent reservist call-ups. Soldiers whether NSF, NSmen or regular would certainly have broader weapons training than any policeman.

mata followed, just in case, to make an arrest mah

the SAF soldiers can not make an arrest :D

correct. it's the same here at u.s. airports. during high alerts, national guardsmen buddy up with cops in airport patrols. the u.s. (regular) military don't participate in domestic operations due to the constitution.

mata followed, just in case, to make an arrest mah

the SAF soldiers can not make an arrest :D

---

i am not too sure...by virtue of having the SAF soldiers patrolling the premises, surely authority have been given to them to handle any situation - meaning, using force to restraint or final extent, shoot to injure / kill if the situation calls for.

now if the SAF soldier cannot arrest...but they can kill ....meaning...the mata is still needed to handcuff the body?

Or meaning SAF hold the bugger at gunpoint while the mata snap handcuffs?

then the gurkas? they have the authority to arrest?

---

i am not too sure...by virtue of having the SAF soldiers patrolling the premises, surely authority have been given to them to handle any situation - meaning, using force to restraint or final extent, shoot to injure / kill if the situation calls for.

now if the SAF soldier cannot arrest...but they can kill ....meaning...the mata is still needed to handcuff the body?

Or meaning SAF hold the bugger at gunpoint while the mata snap handcuffs?

then the gurkas? they have the authority to arrest?

Gurkhas are police officers with police power of arrest. Anyway, in an emergency reactionary situation like a terrorist opening fire, both police and army can fire back in self-defence or to defend against threat to public. The question about arrest is in suspicious pre-emptive situation, when someone looks like posing a threat, only police officers (of all ranks) can arrest or give the order to arrest. Technically, in such a situation, army commissioned officers (2LT and above) on duty also has the power to order arrest.

you're too idealistic and naive my dear. politics and honesty don't mix well. it's the same everywhere in the world in any political system.

hahaha..thank you.

I take your comments as a compliment. Idealistic is good...you call me naive, but i see it as childlike and that is a virtue.

you accept that politics and honesty do not mix. that's fatalistic

unlike you, i expect honesty from our politicians.

Gurkhas are police officers with police power of arrest. Anyway, in an emergency reactionary situation like a terrorist opening fire, both police and army can fire back in self-defence or to defend against threat to public. The question about arrest is in suspicious pre-emptive situation, when someone looks like posing a threat, only police officers (of all ranks) can arrest or give the order to arrest. Technically, in such a situation, army commissioned officers (2LT and above) on duty also has the power to order arrest.

yes, something like that. when i was still a regular and was involved in an ops with army many yrs back(not exercise!). i was with this group of army people and some were 2nd LT and above, but come to handling real situations. they will still turn to regular police sgt (me! :D )for instructions. i think army only good for exercise and not real situations! :mad: people thought they were in-charge, but ended up police sgt (me! :D ) giving instruction and they follow.