• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Asian Students Still Idolize Western Professors

micromachine

Lieutenant General
It’s a white privilege that stems from a deep sense of Asian inferiority when it comes to the realm of ideas.

About 25 years ago, my university received a grant to offer executive-education programs in Southeast Asian countries. An Indian colleague and I, both experienced professors in our Top 10-ranked MBA program, were selected to teach. But we had a hard time selling the program in Singapore, despite our school’s reputation.

Potential clients told our local partner, “Why should I pay American prices for one Chinese and one Indian?” Many of them expected an American professor to be a white male.

So to open each session we trotted out my husband, a white American who looked like (and was) a professor. We later learned that other North American business schools also did this.

White privilege has many manifestations, causes and consequences, which vary by situation. I focus here on the tendency to equate white with expertise at higher levels of education and the labor force, in the West as well as in Asia.

In American universities, studies have shown that female and ethnic-minority instructors are given lower performance ratings by male and female students of all races. In Singapore’s multicultural universities, even white male faculty acknowledge that a white premium exists, with white professors, especially men, receiving higher teaching evaluations from Asian students.

Asian executive-education participants at major U.S. business schools are sometimes overtly racist in response to teaching faculty, many of whom are Chinese, Indian or Korean. Asian executives and students want to be taught by whites, and to study with whites in class. They express disappointment when they perceive there are too many Asians in both faculty and student ranks.

read more at Asian Students Still Idolize Western Professors

And the reason is simple. Only white people can speak English properly. Hell, I would rather have an angmoh professor speaking professional Queen's English than hearing a cringeworthy sinkie accent or incomprehensible Indian accent.

Even for online courses that use English as a medium of instruction, I will choose the white teacher.

It’s a white privilege that stems from a deep sense of Asian inferiority when it comes to the realm of ideas.

About 25 years ago, my university received a grant to offer executive-education programs in Southeast Asian countries. An Indian colleague and I, both experienced professors in our Top 10-ranked MBA program, were selected to teach. But we had a hard time selling the program in Singapore, despite our school’s reputation.

Potential clients told our local partner, “Why should I pay American prices for one Chinese and one Indian?” Many of them expected an American professor to be a white male.

So to open each session we trotted out my husband, a white American who looked like (and was) a professor. We later learned that other North American business schools also did this.

White privilege has many manifestations, causes and consequences, which vary by situation. I focus here on the tendency to equate white with expertise at higher levels of education and the labor force, in the West as well as in Asia.

In American universities, studies have shown that female and ethnic-minority instructors are given lower performance ratings by male and female students of all races. In Singapore’s multicultural universities, even white male faculty acknowledge that a white premium exists, with white professors, especially men, receiving higher teaching evaluations from Asian students.

Asian executive-education participants at major U.S. business schools are sometimes overtly racist in response to teaching faculty, many of whom are Chinese, Indian or Korean. Asian executives and students want to be taught by whites, and to study with whites in class. They express disappointment when they perceive there are too many Asians in both faculty and student ranks.

read more at Asian Students Still Idolize Western Professors

Another typical whinging Indian or Ah Beng. I know many of these students pay a "premium" to study in universities in the west for the "overseas" experience, to improve their English, broaden their experience by being exposed to western culture, etc.

Imagine if they were put in a class, all of whom are fellow asians. They might as well remain in their home countries to pursue their courses. Or if they are taught by an academic whose fucked-up call-centre accent makes it very difficult to decipher what he or she is trying to convey.

As for the claim that "studies have shown that female and ethnic-minority instructors are given lower performance ratings by male and female students of all races", it would simply mean that they are fucked up academics who thoroughly deserve their low ratings. The politically correct policies of universities in the west in insisting on a mandatory minimum of "minorities" (women and "ethnics") whose only competency is because they possess a vagina or the "correct" skin colour, result in these people teaching when they are hopeless at teaching. That would explain their "lower performance ratings".

These whingers are simply being too precious.

I sometimes hire western people, especially with blond hair, to walk around in my public showrooms to impress potential asiatic clients. The asiatics are more likely to sign on the dotted line when they see good white folk with blonde hair pushing or buying my company's products and services.

Time will come once they revealed abd apologize to china ans asian tbey were big time drug traffickers then they will walked with tgeir tail between their legs.

What a dump woman and a Professor at that. When people pay money there are certain expectation to be met. And she cannot even figure this out and wants to impart her knowledge. Even Caucasian Americans will move away from a US college if it has a majority corp of lecturers from 3rd world background even if they were all qualified in the US.

She needs to know that she is not I.M. Pei, Kenzo Tange, VS Naipaul or Zaha Hadid, where they are in demand all over the world. If her stature was prominent, it would not be an issue.

What a dump woman and a Professor at that. When people pay money there are certain expectation to be met. And she cannot even figure this out and wants to impart her knowledge. Even Caucasian Americans will move away from a US college if it has a majority corp of lecturers from 3rd world background even if they were all qualified in the US.

She needs to know that she is not I.M. Pei, Kenzo Tange, VS Naipaul or Zaha Hadid, where they are in demand all over the world. If her stature was prominent, it would not be an issue.

I agree. These are professors of an MBA program and they have not figured out why people buy what they buy. Actually they did figure it out eventually and used a stand-in, but why complain ?

Lets not forget she threw in her trophy white husband and that makes it even more disgusting. Here we are trying to bring in a supposedly a reputable institution to allow those Singaporeans who cannot to travel and live overseas and this institutions decides to let the husband step in when the wife did not get the gig. Holy fuck! what kind of institution are we dealing with when deals are done with families and relatives.

I agree. These are professors of an MBA program and they have not figured out why people buy what they buy. Actually they did figure it out eventually and used a stand-in, but why complain ?

An MBA program is not about curriculum or even qualifications, it is about access and immersion. What good can these rootless asiatics do for their high flying students? White just makes things right.

and two wongs don't make it white.