• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Are Retrenchments Good For Singapore?

ckmpd

Because of PAP, Singapore is infiltrated by foreign trash.

When there are large scale retrenchments, the ones mainly affected are the foreign trash. This is good as they will have to leave Singapore. This may give pap the chance to redeem themselves by reducing foreign workers.

So the coming retrenchments can turn out to be good for Singapore if pap knows how to do the right thing

When there are large scale retrenchments, the ones mainly affected are the foreign trash. This is good as they will have to leave Singapore. This may give pap the chance to redeem themselves by reducing foreign workers.

So the coming retrenchments can turn out to be good for Singapore if pap knows how to do the right thing

For every 1 FT get retrenched PAP will import 2 FT, its going to give em more excuses to boost the economy.

You got a point. If PAP doesnt repent, then retrenchments will kill Singapore further.

But if pap learns its lesson and is wiser, it will not replace any retrenched FT

If fts get retrenched they just look for better opportunities overseas,I know at least two pinoys who used to work at takashimaya orchard now working in Australia.

think of this.
for every FT that got retrenched and forced to return home, there is one vote less.

good. we can witness the next popping of the property bubble and COE bubble.

We need to understand the nature of retrenchment. Is it structural ? That is the jobs are lost and will not returned. Or is it just economical ? That is the retrenchment is driven by economics ?

If it is structural, it is not good for Singapore unless we have a plan put in place to move people on to new jobs or to learn new skills. Otherwise, it is painful for those who lost their jobs permanently.

We are starting to see that in many industries even in the civil service and stat board.

Productivity improvements due to technology and automation have displaced older workers and those jobs are lost forever. It is not good.

We need to understand the nature of retrenchment. Is it structural ? That is the jobs are lost and will not returned. Or is it just economical ? That is the retrenchment is driven by economics ?

If it is structural, it is not good for Singapore unless we have a plan put in place to move people on to new jobs or to learn new skills. Otherwise, it is painful for those who lost their jobs permanently.

We are starting to see that in many industries even in the civil service and stat board.

Productivity improvements due to technology and automation have displaced older workers and those jobs are lost forever. It is not good.

Alamak. What talking you? It is good time for you to use your SkillsFuture credits to reskill, upskill and deep skill. Maybe you find your passion in clearing plates? Or feel young again like NS time by becoming jaga? It is a good time to re-live life again. Lucky you! Loong want to be young again also cannot. Millions of sinkies waiting for him to open rice. With great power comes great responsibilities. Retrench people pat pat backside go off, but those that suffer are the ones who stay. Go holiday who will cover duties? Count your blessings. :)

I have been retrenched before, but I count myself lucky. I got retrenchment benefits that allowed me to go for a pretty long holiday. The retrenchment was not a surprise to me as I was prepared both financially and emotionally. In Singapore, you have to save and plan for rainy days. Don't assume that you will work forever. I have a friend who bought an expensive condo and a Merc when he was a big-shot in a company, but when he was laid off, he was forced to sell his Merc and condo. Retrenchment is no good; it jeopardizes your plans and curtails your dreams, but let's be realistic, it is happening ... or it is going to happen. And it is happening not just in Singapore but all over the globe even in Europe and US.

It is strategitical, emotional and psychological. There are still plenty of jobs out there. SMEs are dragging its heal to find placement/replacement, in the hope to catch cheaper/faster & better workers. There is no lack of jobs to match local talents, but expect employers/bosses to roll out vacancies after vacancies, every day, repeatedly, just to find that stupid deluded cheap bait thinking we are doomed. If you are not desperate and have the financial mean to wait, don't fall into the trap of make-believe "economy downturn" make up by these capitalist society.

Retrenchment allows companies to purge the weak and unproductive workers. Without retrenchment, there cannot be renewal of talent.

Blessed be the Holy Goh who encouraged retrenchment.

It is good for Singapore as long as it's not your job is the mantra here......

all our attempts at creating new industries to create new jobs have failed,the only ways of expanding our economy is by turning ourselves into a low tax,tax sheltering environment,and delivering tons of cheap labour to foreign multinationals at the expense of locals,sinkies are suffocating under the suppressed wage environment thats barely 1/3 our so called national gdp and the high cost of living.this is no longer a structural fault or anything,the ponzi scheme must come to an end,the human immigration and debt fuelled growth and using our precious hard earned savings and cpf and temasek holdings to prop up the economy and our jiak liao bee glcs must come to an end.debt levels are unsustainable and at all time high,this is no longer a matter of LKY's magic or PAP's wisdom leading us to the promise land.it is merely a bunch of fools who have pushed the boundaries of economica and the markets to the limits and now the house of cards must fall.

i reccomend any SBFeR reading this now to save and horde as much wealth as u can and be prepared to jump ship at the first sight of iceberg.for when they finally call out "ICEBERRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGG" it will be too late.my goal is to leave this country before the next general election.

there is no room for creativity or innovation in singapore,just look at america,they are inventing new products on kickstarter everyday,everything is too expensive in singapore,people would rather spend 100k on a car,rather then spend a few k to build their own battery bank for their electric bike or van.u cant start a business out of ur home or garage because everyone lives in hdb flats,or u have to pay thousands of dollars to rent some shop space.have u seen anyone do a solar setup in their home in singapore,electic bills in landed properties can go as high as $800 to 1k per month and no sinkie has ever thought of going solar?or start a ebay business or amazon?or invest in real estate?people in america and australia can build multimillion dollar real estate portfolios in less than 3 years because houses are as cheap as 35k in their countries and they can use leverage to grow rapidly,in sg what kind of real estate can u do?buy hdb or condo and sit on it for twenty years?the market place in singapore is miniscule and pathetic,the marketplace in america is humongous,in the hundreds of billions and trillions,u can start any kind of business selling anything and everything because u have a customer base of 300 million people.... our economy is a bunch of coolies and farmers eking out a living making their tiny paychecks from mncs trying to prop up these drowning whale of a economy.like a fish drowning in water.

lots of money can give singapore the illusion of punching above its own weight,but when the steriods is worn off and the silicon is leaking out of the breast implants......

oh by the way the civil service and stat board are useless too,they contribute nothing at all to the economy and,i estimate its just a tool/ mechanism to feed a few hundred thousand jiak liao bee sinkies,getting rid of the civil service and cutting down on the ministries would prolly help save tens of billions of dollars and reduce the burden on our country,worthless porlumpa sinkies should be thrown to the sharks too.

very soon hand jobbers and blow jobbers will go the way of self-service vending machines.

are you .........stupid or dumb...............PAP do right thing...........still sleeping between your mom's legs ah you...............

all our attempts at creating new industries to create new jobs have failed,the only ways of expanding our economy is by turning ourselves into a low tax,tax sheltering environment,and delivering tons of cheap labour to foreign multinationals at the expense of locals,sinkies are suffocating under the suppressed wage environment thats barely 1/3 our so called national gdp and the high cost of living.this is no longer a structural fault or anything,the ponzi scheme must come to an end,the human immigration and debt fuelled growth and using our precious hard earned savings and cpf and temasek holdings to prop up the economy and our jiak liao bee glcs must come to an end.debt levels are unsustainable and at all time high,this is no longer a matter of LKY's magic or PAP's wisdom leading us to the promise land.it is merely a bunch of fools who have pushed the boundaries of economica and the markets to the limits and now the house of cards must fall.

i reccomend any SBFeR reading this now to save and horde as much wealth as u can and be prepared to jump ship at the first sight of iceberg.for when they finally call out "ICEBERRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGG" it will be too late.my goal is to leave this country before the next general election.

there is no room for creativity or innovation in singapore,just look at america,they are inventing new products on kickstarter everyday,everything is too expensive in singapore,people would rather spend 100k on a car,rather then spend a few k to build their own battery bank for their electric bike or van.u cant start a business out of ur home or garage because everyone lives in hdb flats,or u have to pay thousands of dollars to rent some shop space.have u seen anyone do a solar setup in their home in singapore,electic bills in landed properties can go as high as $800 to 1k per month and no sinkie has ever thought of going solar?or start a ebay business or amazon?or invest in real estate?people in america and australia can build multimillion dollar real estate portfolios in less than 3 years because houses are as cheap as 35k in their countries and they can use leverage to grow rapidly,in sg what kind of real estate can u do?buy hdb or condo and sit on it for twenty years?the market place in singapore is miniscule and pathetic,the marketplace in america is humongous,in the hundreds of billions and trillions,u can start any kind of business selling anything and everything because u have a customer base of 300 million people.... our economy is a bunch of coolies and farmers eking out a living making their tiny paychecks from mncs trying to prop up these drowning whale of a economy.like a fish drowning in water.

lots of money can give singapore the illusion of punching above its own weight,but when the steriods is worn off and the silicon is leaking out of the breast implants......

No MNCs, no cheap labour, then who pay taxes? How will you afford a world class government? :confused:

I have been retrenched before, but I count myself lucky. I got retrenchment benefits that allowed me to go for a pretty long holiday. The retrenchment was not a surprise to me as I was prepared both financially and emotionally. In Singapore, you have to save and plan for rainy days. Don't assume that you will work forever. I have a friend who bought an expensive condo and a Merc when he was a big-shot in a company, but when he was laid off, he was forced to sell his Merc and condo. Retrenchment is no good; it jeopardizes your plans and curtails your dreams, but let's be realistic, it is happening ... or it is going to happen. And it is happening not just in Singapore but all over the globe even in Europe and US.

Poor @ginfreely got fired and lost job :frown:

Retrenchment is good for bosses.
It cut headcount lower manpower costs.
Then productivity will increase as remaining 5 persons will be doing the original 10 persons jobs.
Overall it benefit the boss