• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Apology to the Workers Party

Bro, this is something that I always wondered about WP. I know the formula works as the results speak for themselves. However we do not get the representation that we need in parliament. Lets face it, they seem to game the elections process.

In fact I am going to start a new thread on something that surfaced only recently amongst the PAP skunkworks in regard to the Town Council Strategy which has played into the hands of the WP. The original plan and notion was to hobble opposition candidates by placing the onerous task of running HDB estates and then sidelining them from Parliament and the public eye. It did discourage quality candidates from putting their hands up as that is not aspiration of normal politician. But it also encouraged mediocre candidates to work the ground and the ignorant voters are taken in. I have no doubt that it is hard work but not my cup of tea.

I am well aware they are strong words but these like the SDP's activities of the past are extra parliamentary tactics.

Dear Scroo,

The concept of reserved seating has as much to do with a mind map of politics in Singapore and how to win in Singapore. The WP or the WP's political cultural base is formed from Low's experiences. In his mind , one can knock on doors and sell the party newsletter every weekend to win seats and build party branding. The very idea of a JB style strategic exploitation of a momentary weakness in Anson is seen as impossible in this day and age.

Knocking on doors every week for years involves effort and hence the notion of "reserved seating" Why should anyone walk in a GRC for years only to see it disappear in the smoke of a three cornered fight ?

The SDP culture is one of protest , forums which has now evolved lately into more grassroots work, i.e block parties ? Any investment in door to door visits ? I doubt it because if it was done I would have read or heard abt it the SDP PR machinery being as strong as it is

So its as much as clash of " How to beat the PAP' as it is a clash of egos.

Locke

In fact I am going to start a new thread on something that surfaced only recently amongst the PAP skunkworks in regard to the Town Council Strategy which has played into the hands of the WP. The original plan and notion was to hobble opposition candidates by placing the onerous task of running HDB estates and then sidelining them from Parliament and the public eye. It did discourage quality candidates from putting their hands up as that is not aspiration of normal politician. But it also encouraged mediocre candidates to work the ground and the ignorant voters are taken in. I have no doubt that it is hard work but not my cup of tea.

Maybe our creator or the human evolution process did not give any one individual a monopoly of talents. Clever people are not known to be the most hardworking and those who work hard are not the smartest and that is why they can only work hard.

As such while we hope for politicians who are honest, clever and hardworking, there is no such perfect candidate. Bush or Romney were obviously poor up there but the Republican ideology is attractive.

That's why I don't support the idea of choosing the best candidate among the opposition. Politics is about the entire machinery team. A dud from WP or RP has to do is to listen to their party's policy teams. I will rule out SDA and RP as I am only confident that WP and SDP have such teams.

Dear Scroo

Which model works best ? I would say with limited resources and manpower maybe a combination of the two. The representation will come as long as the ground continues to be cultivated. Aljunied will not be the last. The WP has to move away from its chinese working middle class roots and find an alliance with the liberal western educated young. The SDP has to move the other direction. Impossible ? Well thats how the PAP won.

Locke

Bro, this is something that I always wondered about WP. I know the formula works as the results speak for themselves. However we do not get the representation that we need in parliament. Lets face it, they seem to game the elections process.

I am well aware they are strong words but these like the SDP's activities of the past are extra parliamentary tactics.

My point is that WP is not prepared to take on serious and big issues because they do not have the confidence or the mettle to handle such issues. They therefore work hard on the ground to build support or retain support. Getting the support is not the end. There is a job to do.

If the PAP was smart, they will not pay any attention to WP at all and eventually people will move away from WP, based on parliamentary performance. Parliamentary performance is not just on the floor of Parliament but tackling national issues across various media, raising support and profile, getting people to focus on important issues as well as looking after constituents' needs.

By now PAP should know that WP only reacts aggressively when allegations or issues affects them directly. The sell and leaseback for computer financial software is a case in point. Another is TCH's unnecessary comments and interference during Hougang BE. if he did not do anything during the Hougang BE, there will no issues to latch onto.

My sincere believe is that party members and those with relatives siting in CEC can convince the CEC to separate Town Council and Parliamentary work in 2 equal parts and pay equal attention. To see progress , you will need to rate them separately at least annually and also seek the views of others outside the party. The other thing is that the CEC composition is a dead giveaway on the quality of candidates. This is despite the stringent recruitment process.

If you recall a party member recently put out a list of all the things that WP have been doing to dismiss detractors comments. That list is also another insight where the focus lies. I don't blame the party member/blogger as it has been institutionalised over years.

Maybe our creator or the human evolution process did not give any one individual a monopoly of talents. Clever people are not known to be the most hardworking and those who work hard are not the smartest and that is why they can only work hard.

As such while we hope for politicians who are honest, clever and hardworking, there is no such perfect candidate. Bush or Romney were obviously poor up there but the Republican ideology is attractive.

That's why I don't support the idea of choosing the best candidate among the opposition. Politics is about the entire machinery team. A dud from WP or RP has to do is to listen to their party's policy teams. I will rule out SDA and RP as I am only confident that WP and SDP have such teams.

Yes, a a combination of the 2.

I think WP got it right to put a foot thru the door in the early years with their present model. From one seat to 6, the next step requires a change in strategy. Time to show the roar of the lion. Be a bit more brave in attracting candidates rather than have such a closed system. Some are good at oratory which for hundreds of years is a proven tool to bring about change. But they may not be good at ground work. There has to be a balance.

Time to look far and hard for a litigator and not a conveyancer. Horses for causes.

As to the Chinese middle class, you can sense that they overly cautious. Time to venture a bit more.

Dear Scroo

Which model works best ? I would say with limited resources and manpower maybe a combination of the two. The representation will come as long as the ground continues to be cultivated. Aljunied will not be the last. The WP has to move away from its chinese working middle class roots and find an alliance with the liberal western educated young. The SDP has to move the other direction. Impossible ? Well thats how the PAP won.

Locke

sgp politics very Jilat !!!

Opposition fighting amongst themselves .

Every one want to be Big Bro .

like that how lahh ???

a) 2012 - Hougang BE
b) 2013 - Pungo BE
c) 2014 - xxx BE
d) 2015 - xxx BE
e) 2016 - General Election :(

If the PAP was smart, they will not pay any attention to WP at all and eventually people will move away from WP, based on parliamentary performance. Parliamentary performance is not just on the floor of Parliament but tackling national issues across various media, raising support and profile, getting people to focus on important issues as well as looking after constituents' needs.

Can't disagree with you. If PAP totally ignored WP, a lot of wind will be taken out of its sails. Sure it's not easy to ignore a party that has seats. WP is certainly not a party that can survive without seats like SDP.

If you recall a party member recently put out a list of all the things that WP have been doing to dismiss detractors comments. That list is also another insight where the focus lies. I don't blame the party member/blogger as it has been institutionalised over years.

I recall and criticized it. The effort to compile the near-exhaustive list of grassroots activities was marred by having not even a section on the issues. I could have done a search on the online hansard and come up with at least 10. Later I found out she was an office holder of their youth wing, which makes the WP look pathetic and ingrained in their members that issues are not regarded as important.

VW may just be the fix for now. Someone with vocal chords and fire in the belly and a wider bandwidth for issues in parliament, yet his Party continuing to do the legwork.

WP's vocal presence has been too quiet on other than bread-butter issues, which would not win votes from the English-educated middle class.

The WP is strong as a party but this time around, individual-wise, SDP seems to me to have the stronger candidate for the occasion.

Let there be alternatives, even with the Opposition bench. This way, we can go into GE2016 stronger.

like that how lahh ???

a) 2012 - Hougang BE
b) 2013 - Pungo BE
c) 2014 - xxx BE
d) 2015 - xxx BE
hahaha....leave it to all the big brothers lah
so your tip for SA came in or not?

Once the candidates are announced it will be interesting to see the headlines in the various print media, especially The New Paper.

Once again we can see Sinkies' simple minds are centuries behind the ang mos in evolution.
If the ang mo is driving an Evo X then Sinkies are driving Evo I.
The ang mos understood the simple concept if you bicker among yourself you will get no wehere.
Maybe because the Yanks went through a painful civil war... is that what it takes for Sinkies to wise up?
TS is a classic example of "Sinkie" - a term coined by Tonychat (for definition pls ask the man himself)
They will rather be lord over by their hated master than to see their fellow siblings succeed.
They will rather fight their siblings than their hated masters.
They think they are articulate and sarcastic but to me that is mere stupidity.

The WP is strong as a party but this time around, individual-wise, SDP seems to me to have the stronger candidate for the occasion.

Who is good enough to do a cavalry charge and occupy Punggol SMC? SDP?

My point is that WP is not prepared to take on serious and big issues because they do not have the confidence or the mettle to handle such issues. They therefore work hard on the ground to build support or retain support. Getting the support is not the end. There is a job to do.

By now PAP should know that WP only reacts aggressively when allegations or issues affects them directly. The sell and leaseback for computer financial software is a case in point. Another is TCH's unnecessary comments and interference during Hougang BE. if he did not do anything during the Hougang BE, there will no issues to latch onto.

My sincere believe is that party members and those with relatives siting in CEC can convince the CEC to separate Town Council and Parliamentary work in 2 equal parts and pay equal attention. To see progress , you will need to rate them separately at least annually and also seek the views of others outside the party. The other thing is that the CEC composition is a dead giveaway on the quality of candidates. This is despite the stringent recruitment process.

There are 2 schools of thought when it comes to understanding the behavioral pattern of voters. .

One concept believes that "all politics is local" . It encapsulates the principle that a politician's success is directly tied to his ability to understand and influence the issues of his constituents. Politicians must appeal to the simple, mundane and everyday concerns of those who elect them into office. Those personal issues, like bird dropping, estate maintenance rather than big and intangible ideas, are often what voters care most about. The prediction is that most people who vote are focused on resolving their local issues.

Another concept believes that "all politics is national". The theory is most people, somehow during elections are casting votes to "send a message" to the highest levels; The principle predicts that most people will vote for local politicians simply as a mean to act on feelings about the government, such as misgiving or approval on gov policies.

People who are more concern about national issues are usually the very anti PAP electorates while centrist look into both national and local issues. Do bear in mind the apolitical one which I think is the majority usually will look mostly at local issues and may not even vote along party line but whom they are more comfortable with. With the of top-down strategy adopted by SDP means their candidates will have very little face to face interaction with residents especially those who are apathy to politics. PAP have no competitor over this segment of voters for as long as they send some grassroots leader as candidate. I suspect VW effect is over-estimated. WP would be better off sticking to LLL to show voters their sincerity rather than to give the impression of fickle mindedness.

Let face it, there is no escape from local issues. It a tried and tested strategy for PAP else why would they fought every GE as by localizing the election as much as possible.

Good write-up and arguments bro.

In fact as I mentioned to lockeliberal, I plan to start a thread on this issue which has resurfaced within the controlling party in recent days and they have been consulting people outside their party to get a sense if there is a need for directional change. PAP under GCT with the advise of then experts circa 1992 moved towards local politics on the believe that it is resource intensive and with PA and grassroots firmly within their control they would have a clear advantage.

Unfortunately WP took to it like duck to water.

My sense is that WP has not got enough traction on the ground and LLL is not the same quality as SL, CSM, etc. The younger generation are likely for for VW. With the influx of FTs, structural employment, ageing, etc local and national issues are merging at a local level.

Anyway I am not sure, and keen to find out the outcome.

There are 2 schools of thought when it comes to understanding the behavioral pattern of voters. .

People who are more concern about national issues are usually the very anti PAP electorates while centrist look into both national and local issues. Do bear in mind the apolitical one which I think is the majority usually will look mostly at local issues and may not even vote along party line but whom they are more comfortable with. With the of top-down strategy adopted by SDP means their candidates will have very little face to face interaction with residents especially those who are apathy to politics. PAP have no competitor over this segment of voters for as long as they send some grassroots leader as candidate. I suspect VW effect is over-estimated. WP would be better off sticking to LLL to show voters their sincerity rather than to give the impression of fickle mindedness.

Let face it, there is no escape from local issues. It a tried and tested strategy for PAP else why would they fought every GE as by localizing the election as much as possible.

Bro, I was not even born yet and was swimming in my father's right testicle when the Marine Parade BE took place in December 1992. Hence, I have absolutely no idea of this event. As such, I had to rely on the venerable and trustworthy Singapore media for information on why it was called and why JBJ did not contest. What I found is shown in blue.

How ironic. In 1992 the Marine Parade BE was called to allow JBJ to contest.

A politically shrewd manoeuvre.
4 December 1992, 147th Prostitute Press (Business Times Division)

"...The by-election, said Mr Goh, would also be part of the effort to bring fresh blood into the party and the government, as the snap poll had not given him enough time to find all the candidates he wanted.

That effort has now taken on a new urgency with the news that both of Mr Goh's deputies, Ong Teng Cheong and Lee Hsien Loong, have been diagnosed as having cancer.

Last Sunday, Mr Goh said voters should see the by-election as a way to get into the government people of ministerial calibre...

...Mr Goh is popular with Singaporeans, and especially so in his own constituency. He is asking his own constituents for their re-endorsement, for their support of his style of government and his policies and programmes, and of the new faces he wants to bring into Singapore's political leadership."

He would have done so except that a team led by CSJ stood in his way. Not much distinction between the two. Both always considered themselves "above".

Disappointed JBJ says time is running out for him.
10 December 1992, 147th Prostitute Press (Business Times Division)

"WORKERS' PARTY secretary-general J B Jeyaretnam said yesterday he was disappointed at not being able to contest the Marine Parade by-election, as time might be running out for him.

The Workers' Party failed to file nomination papers on time because one of its slate of four members did not turn up. When nominations closed at noon, only Mr Jeyaretnam, Jufrie Mahmood and party chairman Tan Bin Seng were present at the registration centre.

Party member Gan Eng Guan came running into the centre five minutes after nominations closed, leading many reporters to think he was the fourth man.

But at a press conference later, Mr Jeyaretnam said Mr Gan was not the missing candidate, whom he described as a graduate in his 30s. He said he had yet to find out what had happened...."

like that how lahh ???

a) 2012 - Hougang BE
b) 2013 - Pungo BE
c) 2014 - xxx BE
d) 2015 - xxx BE

They are stupid ! That's the reason why after reading of what they're doing these few days I decided to post less of Political issues, I now agree with TonyChat Sinkies should not be saved they deserve to be "Milked" dried.

These "Politicians" are the cream of the 40% am I right ?! They can't agree who to represent the rest and let that single party fight papies ? Lets say i give way to you, so you eat first.. so you owes me one.. next time you give way to me.

Simple thing like this cannot cooperate wanna lead the Cuntry ?!!! #$%&% !!!

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe.”
― Albert Einstein

JBJ just like CSJ always came up with excuses to explain away his actions. Everyone knows that there are people standing in reserve in the event of someone, a GRC candidate or an assentor, fails to show up on Nomination Day. (The idea that JBJ would not have people standing by is not credible, especially given JBJ's view that time was running out for him..) In the Marine Parade BE in 1992, which was called to allow JBJ to stand, JBJ disputed CST's statement that the then SDP had a right to field a team as it was the rising force after the 1991 GE. JBJ wanted to avoid the two strongest opposition parties slugging it out in a constituency which would leave him defeated and his party battered. JBJ was hoping that SDP would not field a team and allow him a clear run. SDP fielded a team led by CSJ, whoi simply ignored JBJ. JBJ then chickened out. JBJ will not tell the media he chickened out, so he contrived a phoney excuse.

The wheel has turned full circle.

Some people do indeed believe that they are "above". They will get to see whether the voters agree with that, and also the lay of the land, in a multi-cornered fight.

That's also the same reasoning i've been telling TonyChat.. the 60% are the smart assholes, they're smart enuff to vote for the Blue chips shares and the increasing properties hike. Its the 40% that are the daft and stupid and the true blue Sinkies trouble makers that can't even co-operate to do one most simple & important thing right and make hella noise ....

Dear PT

I believe you know me well as a WP member and supporter from the days of old. Do note that politically , PE is not Hougang, thus One more or One less does not make a difference in the larger scheme of things in parliament. Some supporters will be loud and fervent but there is a bottom line behind the passion and it is as follows..Locke

Dear Bro Lockeliberal,

I have been wrong on many, many counts; from criticising the Venerable Low Thia Khiang to slamming the WP (and even criticising and slamming Goh Meng Seng. As a short aside and if you still remember, GMS was then the hero and darling of the WP members, crowd and supporters for his inate talent and special abilities in criticising, denigrating and condemning non-WP individuals and non-WP political parties).

If you remember, I was the one who introduced the label "WP Baru" to denigrate the WP under what I then saw was the racist, insipid and cowardly leadership of Low Thia Khiang. I did so for several reasons. Chief of this was my naive but sincere belief that Singapore must never turn Sinocentric and that it must always be sincerely committed to multi-racialism as a genuine political and national belief and not for political expediency or so that political parties will be able to field a GRC team. Commitment to and multi-racialism must be an unshakeable belief and not political tokenism. I also felt that politics should never just be about the running and management of Town Councils or grassroot works. I then felt and sincerely believe that politics is about the national vision, economy, security, strategic directions for the future and other "high brow" issues.

At that time, I felt that Low Thia Khiang was not up to the task and that he is and would amount to nothing more than a Sinocentric penghulu of a kampung (that's "village chief" for those who come from SAP schools or who do not know the national language) and no more. With the passing of time and with 6 WP MPs+ 2 WP NCMPs in Parliament , I can see that I was wrong and am embarassed and ashamed to admit that I was wrong.

With a Sikh and a Malay MP and Sylvia Lim's view "that it has been the party’s experience that Indians tend to leave after getting party cadreship" the WP has clearly demonstrated it is not resorting to political tokenism but is indeed committed to multi-racialism as a genuine political belief. Politics, as I have now realised, is indeed about the running of Town Councils and grassroot work. The bonus in having the WP in Parliament though is that the WP MPs not only excel in the running of their Town Councils. They excel as Parliamentarians as well. Their convincing, dizzying and sizzling parliamentary performances is nothing short of scintillating. Their fearless, fearsome and robust engagements in parliamentary debates on "weighty" issues augurs well for the present and the future of Singapore.

I hope the WP members/ astroturfers, crowd and supporters have, in that little corner of their big hearts, the magnamity to forgive me for my past trangressions.

You all were right. I was wrong.

Yours remorsefully,
PTADER