• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Any problems with SPC petrol?

hockbeng

I've been advised by friends and some mechanics to avoid using petrol at SPC stations.

The reason is that they supposedly use some corrosive additives that are bad for engines.

Is there any truth in it?

Any car experts here who can comment?

Not true lah... all petrol have standards to meet before they are allowed to be sold...

why do u think they wanna add corrosive addictives? to me..all petrol are the same...only diff is the octane level...

i've been advised by friends and some mechanics to avoid using petrol at spc stations.

The reason is that they supposedly use some corrosive additives that are bad for engines.

no! Absolutely problem-free, except for the price....too high!!! Now crude oil below us$40...logical pump price shd be s$1.10!!!

I've been advised by friends and some mechanics to avoid using petrol at SPC stations.

this type of thing u also believe??

then what about gst to help the poor?? u believe or not??

All petrols are basically the same besides having different octane ratings for cars who need them.The only difference is the additives they have in their juice. If you do a search, you will see that this topic has been discussed before.

I am having problems with Shell 95 lately, very poor mileage acheived. My car went for servicing lately. Usually can get 10km per litre, now like around 8.5km... I never high rev my engine leh, why like that? Watered down petrol?

:confused::confused:

i feel a bit sad, i saw a rabbit right in front of me when i am driving 100km/h. night time, i see some thing on the road, when it is closer, i can see a rabbit right in front of my car, so i quickly turn left to avoid it.

but the little rabbit, suddenly dash left too, and i can feel my car hit something, the little rabbit became a pancake.

if it stay still, i am sure my driving skill will avoid it, and i react faster than it, i turn left first, so it should move right, but rabbit ask for it and became my first road kill for 10 years.

knn you think a company like them wants to put themselves at risk of being sued by thousands of car owners?

got a 2nd hand car, have been using SPC (1/2 year), no problems so far

but i experienced better millage with 98 than 95

anyway, next pump will be using Caltex, coz got SAFRA card, which offers additional 7% :)

anyway, next pump will be using Caltex, coz got SAFRA card, which offers
additional 7%​
:)

It only goes to show that the petrol companies can still lower prices further, cos on top of the standard 5%, further discount such as the above can still be granted...

i feel a bit sad, i saw a rabbit right in front of me when i am driving 100km/h. night time, i see some thing on the road, when it is closer, i can see a rabbit right in front of my car, so i quickly turn left to avoid it.

but the little rabbit, suddenly dash left too, and i can feel my car hit something, the little rabbit became a pancake.

if it stay still, i am sure my driving skill will avoid it, and i react faster than it, i turn left first, so it should move right, but rabbit ask for it and became my first road kill for 10 years.

At that kind of speed, anything you saw on the road, be it a dog, cat or a box, other than a human beings, just ram on to it. Avoiding such obstacles may endanger your live if you try to swerve either right or left.
If you have no other choice, pull the handbrake, step on the gas and make one hard turn either left or right. Never brake, this way the car will spin at least 180 degrees. Best to avoid collision with lorry, the most the rear hit. By then the impact will be lessen.

100 ok lah
can still control, anything above 160 will be a problem.
no time to pull handbrake, i am sure of it.

If you have no other choice, pull the handbrake, step on the gas and make one hard turn either left or right. Never brake, this way the car will spin at least 180 degrees.

why still stepped on gas? i know pulling the handbrake will make car spin but i thought must stepped on brakes to lock the front wheel so that the back will spin?

Recently, just start using SPC Levo 95 again after a long break, the petrol seem to have more "smoothness" to engine and my wallet

During my driving days, I vividly remembered SPC petrol always makes my engine weak with poor pickup. Petrol feels diluted. Best was Shell. Dunno about now though.

U shouldn't be driving @100km/h... 80-90km/h is max.