• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Any iPad users out there?

3G version includes WiFi also lah....... if not why cost more.... -____-"""

??

Yes the 3G model also includes the h/w for wifi but if you use it in 3G mode you have to pay your friendly telco extra.

Nowadays many places are offering free Wifi access but 3G services will always cost $. Why spend extra for the 3G model if you don't intend to use it ? The cost is higher if your using a Spore telco while your overseas:( Even in the US the more popular models sold are the non-3G models

One of the biggest shortcomings I find with the iPad is that there is no ethernet jack for broadband. I'll have to replace my broadband modem with one that has wifi if I want to use an iPad at home :(

Real cool to carry it around and surf anywhere you like. e-books are the next thing, where you dl journals, mags, etc

Notice that the Mac shops in Spore already carry iPad cases months before the official Spore release date. So there must be some grey market products out there :)

??

Yes the 3G model also includes the h/w for wifi but if you use it in 3G mode you have to pay your friendly telco extra.

Nowadays many places are offering free Wifi access but 3G services will always cost $. Why spend extra for the 3G model if you don't intend to use it ? The cost is higher if your using a Spore telco while your overseas:( Even in the US the more popular models sold are the non-3G models

One of the biggest shortcomings I find with the iPad is that there is no ethernet jack for broadband. I'll have to replace my broadband modem with one that has wifi if I want to use an iPad at home :(
If you have a phone/data plan, 12gig a month is enough, you can surf in your toilet, outside a park, at the seaside. You dun need to go to malls, library to access Wifi.

What i'm trying to say was it is worth it to buy the 3G iPad rather than just the Wifi version :):)

if use in singapore, wifi almost everywhere, no need 3G.... but if use local telcos for overseas roaming 3G, probably will cost a bloody bomb,,,,,, so for station in singapore, probably no need 3G,,, when overseas, you dare to roam 3G meh?

Overseas switch to wifi lah, alamak....... -_-""" Singapore where got almost everywhere? in a bus? coffeeshop? in an open field, like botanic garden, stadium, seaside, sheares bridge? LOL :D:D:D

If you have a phone/data plan, 12gig a month is enough, you can surf in your toilet, outside a park, at the seaside. You dun need to go to malls, library to access Wifi.

What i'm trying to say was it is worth it to buy the 3G iPad rather than just the Wifi version :):)

Have thought about getting an iPhone with a data plan, but really can't justify it because I'm not a mobile sort of person.

When I'm in Spore you'll find me at my desk if I need to use the computer. When I go out the only connection I have is a simple handphone :)

If I decide to get an iPad I may get the cheapest version to test the waters & upgrade later when there are newer more capable models.

I have been using for 2 months now and it is great. I can do emails (multiple) read ppt etc......give presentations etc. It is a great productivity tool. I am able to do most of the functions of laptop and it is great for travel. Only thing missing is not able to make presentations.

please update us with your iPad experience. Personally I am quite skeptical about this new device. Unless there is a killer app that runs solely on the ipad, i fail to see the point of owning one.

that's only my opinion. hope apple comes up with something groundbreaking again.

I think the days of the killer apps are history.

It's now more about colors & product packaging. Everyone can make cheap computers but Apple understands how to packages them in a sexy way that's why they have people like Ives & his design team :)

I have been using for 2 months now and it is great. I can do emails (multiple) read ppt etc......give presentations etc. It is a great productivity tool. I am able to do most of the functions of laptop and it is great for travel. Only thing missing is not able to make presentations.
I'm sure there are applications for presentations bah, have to search :p:p

If I may ask which version did you get , 16/32/64GB, WIFI or Wifi/3G :confused: If given the choice would you still pick the same configuration?

As for presentations did you try Keynote by iWorks(an Apple subsidiary)?
http://www.apple.com/ipad/features/keynote.html

Think iPod Classic

It's only got 160GB of space but it'll give you more to play around with:D

For serious music listening i use Sony X-1060B...IMHO...nothing cum close...Dun count mod, headphone amp and customize IEM hor...:D:p

Serious audiophiles would avoid compressed music & stick to CDs or LPs :)

I've got a pair of floor standing speakers, Yamaha amps, Tjoeb CD player which I rarely use nowadays:rolleyes:

depends on your usage, it's really cool. It's great to read books, magazines and surf net. The screen size is great compared to a smart phone.

An interesting article as to who is buying iPads.
Proving that the iPad is no toy & here to stay :)

http://www.appleinsider.com/article...are_at_use_in_most_fortune_100_companies.html

Apple says iPhone and iPad are at use in most Fortune 100 companies

By Sam Oliver
Published: 06:55 PM EST

More than 80 percent of Fortune 100 companies are using the iPhone, and about 50 percent of the Fortune 100 are deploying or testing the iPad, Apple revealed Tuesday.

Apple Chief Operating Officer Tim Cook announced those figures during the company's quarterly earnings conference call Tuesday evening. He said that the company is selling iPads and iPhones "as fast as (they) can make them," including those sales to the enterprise market

The iPhone has steadily grown in the enterprise market since it was first introduced in 2007. But Apple's comments on Tuesday would seem to suggest that the iPad has found faster adoption in the enterprise market.

The remaining question is: What are those businesses using the iPad for? Apple's executives did not provide any indication, though numerous companies have publicly embraced the device, giving some idea of where the iPad is being used.

Earlier this month, Wells Fargo revealed it initially bought 15 iPads used to demonstrate products at an investor conference. While the company spent two years looking at the iPhone, it spent just two weeks to approve the iPad for use. The company's experience with the iPad has led it to buy "a bunch" more.

In addition, Mercedes-Benz has used the iPad to sell cars, allowing sales people to handle credit applications on the touchscreen tablet device. The company is now considering using iPads at all 350 of its U.S. dealerships.

And SAP has developed its own iPad application, allowing managers to approve shipping of customer orders. The company also has a handful of other custom applications planned for development.

Well today is the day that the iPad is officially available in Spore, July 23rd. Went down to take a look & the store I went to was sold out :eek:

I was told there's a 2 to 3 week waiting period for stocks.

However they had 3 iPads on display for those who wanted a hands on. It's actually smaller then I expected. A very clean design, it's a minimalist design with only tiny switches on the upper right hand side, for locking & volume control. The USB port is at the bottom side.

It's also quite light & shouldn't be a problem for people to handle.

The price for the WiFi model is:
16GB $728
32GB $878