• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Anxious PAP Team In Aljunied GRC Starts Election Walkabout Today

SNAblog

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_555059.html

Jul 18, 2010
Aljunied MPs create a stir
Teo Wan Gek
By Teo Wan Gek

walkabout.jpg

ALJUNIED GRC MPs created a buzz on Sunday with their first full team-walkabout of the year - part of what Foreign Minister George Yeo described as an on-going preparation for the next general election.

The five MPs spent two hours with residents at the wet market and hawker centre at Block 630 Bedok Reservoir Road.

They then watched a puppet show staged by the Zhangzhou Puppet Troupe from China as part of a series of events being held for Racial Harmony Month.

The team had a previous walkabout in the GRC's Paya Lebar-Kovan ward in June, but Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Hwee Hua was not present as she was overseas at that time.

Speaking to reporters on Sunday, Mr Yeo responded to questions about the GRC's preparations for an election, which must be held by February 2012.

'We should be prepared for elections by the end of this year,' he said. 'We have to stay very close to the ground, respond to the residents' needs, solve problems we are able to solve and help make their lives better.'

Hahaha

Sylvia lim should work harder than these guys if she want to be a MP

Maybe some of you won't agree, but I have always found Georgie to be one of the few more likeable pappy even though I don't know him.
Don't really know why, perhaps he gives the impression that he speaks well, writes well, responds to ordinary people, does not talk or behave in a condescending and arrogant manner and appears to be intelligent and knowledgeable about many things.

If there is interest among the forummers, perhaps we can discuss who we find the least likeable. :)

Maybe some of you won't agree, but I have always found Georgie to be one of the few more likeable pappy even though I don't know him.
Don't really know why, perhaps he gives the impression that he speaks well, writes well, responds to ordinary people, does not talk or behave in a condescending and arrogant manner and appears to be intelligent and knowledgeable about many things.

If there is interest among the forummers, perhaps we can discuss who we find the least likeable. :)

Lee Kuan Yew was one of my likeable pappy, I was fascinated by the speeches he gave, my family would be enthralled whenever he makes a speech when it was telecast on TV from B&W to Colour & beyond..I was especially fascinated by his speeches in English, then to "saudara, suadara"..then to Mandarin & fortunately he didn't learn Tamil...

Until 'reality' hit us all, when we have to 'scrap' along with the ever changing government policies & me, becoming an adult; to earn a living.....downtrodding the common people like us...

I am not ashame to say that LKY was one of my likebale pappy...but now, when that voice comes on....I turn off!:p

I thought the PAP takes things very confidently, all elections to them are 'bao chiat'...a 'gong go chia' with a cone loud speakers that circle the prectint is all they need....and they get into parliament...

They then watched a puppet show staged by the Zhangzhou Puppet Troupe from China as part of a series of events being held for Racial Harmony Month.

Hmmm......do they still need to learn and improve themselves ? I thought they are already experts in that aspects !

Why are they wasting money on Chinese Puppet shows...where Georgie Yeo is a Teochew right?...they are still Teochew Puppet Show Troupe in SINgapore...ohh!! I forgot, he is not a lesser mortal...so teochew puppet show he don't know....ha ha ha:p

Lee Kuan Yew was one of my likeable pappy, I was fascinated by the speeches he gave, my family would be enthralled whenever he makes a speech when it was telecast on TV from B&W to Colour & beyond..I was especially fascinated by his speeches in English, then to "saudara, suadara"..then to Mandarin & fortunately he didn't learn Tamil...

Until 'reality' hit us all, when we have to 'scrap' along with the ever changing government policies & me, becoming an adult; to earn a living.....downtrodding the common people like us...

I am not ashame to say that LKY was one of my likebale pappy...but now, when that voice comes on....I turn off!:p
He was never one of mine, never liked his voice, laugh or gestures.
I did respect him once, but I don't take kindly to people who appears to be "talking down" to me, even if he is supposedly smarter.

Georgie is quite a pleasant guy i supposed.

then again, since they started off at Pasar Makan @ Bedok Reservoir, some background on this place. the wet market was renovated back in 2005/06 after the mysterious fire back in 2003/04? sadly to say, freshly renovated and it was proven to be a phua chu teng which required more renovation work to install additional panels to shield the folks inside the food market from the rain.

then recently, they "upgraded" the flooring tiles at Pasar Makan, tearing apart the original floor tiles to put in place some fancy broken tiles. i believe those stall owners were made to pay thousands for this "upgrade", which in my personal point of view: a waste of money. then i heard the retail owners who were in some Pasar Makan committee or something would get "subsidies" woh! :eek::eek::eek:

not too sure if those retailers are happy or not, if i'm not mistaken, even got one kopitiam close shop liao. folks around the area suspected it has to do with the "upgrading fees" for the flooring tiles and/or some rental issue. always has to be money issues lah :D:D:D

I thought the PAP takes things very confidently, all elections to them are 'bao chiat'...a 'gong go chia' with a cone loud speakers that circle the prectint is all they need....and they get into parliament...

bao jiak?
word is, heard some folks staying in Aljunied GRC receiving a note in the wee hours on 6th May 2006, apologizing for taking too much time on the Gomez issue rather than looking at the electorates need during the election rallies.

those notes were photostatted copies, clearly some last minute work and not the usual printed pamphlets. is this considered canvassing on balloting day? :eek::eek::eek:

my fav line from Taiwanese melodrama 爱 now showing on Channel 8 everyday.

选票还没开え前 谁赢谁输 都不知道

our oppositions must remember that... :D

bao jiak?
word is, heard some folks staying in Aljunied GRC receiving a note in the wee hours on 6th May 2006, apologizing for taking too much time on the Gomez issue rather than looking at the electorates need during the election rallies.

those notes were photostatted copies, clearly some last minute work and not the usual printed pamphlets. is this considered canvassing on balloting day? :eek::eek::eek:

Why didn't the oppositions collect all these and PRESENT ARMS!:D but still 'bao chiak'...look at their smug faces...Mabrokey, WKS, Abang Y....;)

He was never one of mine, never liked his voice, laugh or gestures.
I did respect him once, but I don't take kindly to people who appears to be "talking down" to me, even if he is supposedly smarter.

He doesn't have a pleasant voice, it is a turn off, but during the years of pre to post Independence....you can not fault him for being convincing!....you just love to hate him & hate to love him....but we know inside us all....we have been played out...& now that voice is a turnoff, worse his offspring!:eek:

bao jiak?

Yes I received that note too. It was so revolting to read that. I regretted not keeping a copy. It was the PAP who kept on and on about Gomez and they have the cheek to say that it was WP who dragged the issue on? The PAP treated us like idiots and fools. In a way, they were right because fucking stupid Sinkies still voted them in.

Don't really know why, perhaps he gives the impression that he speaks well, writes well, responds to ordinary people, does not talk or behave in a condescending and arrogant manner and appears to be intelligent and knowledgeable about many things. ...
seems dat he got say tis b4 woh! ...

George Yeo
(The Straits Times, 1995)
"If you are not of a certain intellectual class, don't even think of debating with me, you should stick to the Internet instead."

George Yeo seems like a good guy and HELPS to increase the value of Singapore through his diplomatic stuff.

It's the party that people vote against.

Anyone thinks Sylvia Lim can uproot George Yeo from Aljunied? I think SAF may be activated for this freak fluke. Lol

Wow actually shaking hands with a dirty fish monger. Prostitute press at its best. I suppose you guys know why it was a fishmonger they took.

Exactly same in my family. My parents adored the bastard.

I think the headline "Aljunied MPs create a stir" is very strange. It is really not a flattering headline to the PAP.

I predict the print edition will not have this headline and the sub editor will be put to sleep.