• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another Sinkie has chosen to be food delivery man as his career

Commentary: Does rise in food delivery roles suggest something's wrong with full-time employment?​

Platform firms may be adding new workers to the Singapore economy - workers who would otherwise not have entered the workforce in the first place, says NUS Business School's Professor Sumit Agarwal.
Commentary: Does rise in food delivery roles suggest something's wrong with full-time employment?

Food delivery riders riding along Paya Lebar Quarter. (Photo: Calvin Oh)

Sumit Agarwal

09 Nov 2021

SINGAPORE: Over the past few years, the food delivery and ride-hailing portions of the gig economy have exploded.
In a short period, Deliveroo, foodpanda and Uber got big enough to get listed on stock exchanges.
Lockdowns, a fear of taking public transport or heading to crowded supermarkets, as well as rules disallowing big groups from eating out together, mean a greater demand for doorstep delivery and private-hire services.
In 2020, Singapore’s proportion of own-account workers — self-employed workers who are not employers — among working residents was at a decade-high of 9.7 per cent.

CHOICE OF THE GIG WORKERS

Some may feel that the rise of such roles threatens the stability of the traditional economy. But it’s a misconception the gig economy robs the old world of workers.
The traditional economy workers have invested enormous resources like time and money in obtaining these skills and they would want to be compensated for them.
Although COVID-19 may have upended assumptions about work and life, driving and deliveries, dependent on effort, orders and changing conditions, seem hardly suited to workers in full-time roles who want more stability and structure in their jobs.

Such workers also generally do not need much formal education and extensive work experience to perform their roles.
Among Singapore’s own-account workers whose gig work is their main job, 54 per cent had non-tertiary education, 19 per cent had diploma or professional qualification and 27 per cent had a degree.
Second, the gig economy, even in its entirety, is relatively tiny compared to the traditional economy, despite its fast growth. It can only absorb a tiny fraction of the workers even if they wanted to switch.
While the proportion of own-account workers among working residents in Singapore is at a decade-high, it is still a small number. It is possible that in these tough economic times, some workers are searching for their next job and may find gig work appealing.
Instead of stealing workers from the traditional economy, platform firms may be adding new workers to the Singapore economy - workers who would otherwise not have entered the workforce in the first place - and putting a floor on unemployment during this pandemic.
We know gig work offers people, who have familial responsibilities and can only work a few hours a day or certain blocks of time, a rare chance to earn income on-demand without being shackled to a full-time role with worktimes they cannot control.
food-delivery-riders_0.jpg

Food delivery riders in Singapore. (File Photo: Calvin Oh)
More research studies on the effects of platform companies on employment and incomes will outline to what extent platform gigs can be a safety net and preserve work ethic.
While the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) 2020 Labour Force Survey shows that there are more residents who do own-account work on a non-preferred basis — 37,400 in 2020 compared to 21,500 in 2019 — this number is smaller than the pre-pandemic level of 46,700 in 2017.
The proportion of own-account workers who did it not because of their preference, at 16 per cent, also pales in comparison to the 84 per cent who chose to do it because of the flexibility and freedom.
The same MOM survey showed that while 52 per cent of own-account workers faced challenges at work in 2020, primarily because of the pandemic, only 12 per cent of this group sought employee work as a solution.
As the economy readies for the pick-up, delivery work and other gigs may provide a bridge between permanent jobs, as a Grab survey of driver partners show. More than 70 per cent said they planned to stop driving after two years.
“We hope most of them don’t stay. And when the economy recovers, they go on to do other things,” Grab Managing Director Yee Wee Tang said in an interview with TODAY last month.
“We're more than happy to help where we have our Grab academy training programmes to help them find a role outside Grab,” he added while on CNA’s Heart of the Matter podcast this week as he highlighted that many of them do not want full-time roles in the first place.
About 70 per cent of Grab’s partners only had a highest education level of secondary school or lower, he said.

BETTER PROTECTIONS FOR GIG WORKERS AS THEIR NUMBERS GROW

Having achieved early success, deliveries and ride-hailing platform firms now have to address a nagging criticism — that little protection is offered for the gig workers who contributed to their success.
At the nascent stage of the gig economy, at least, these platforms benefited as they do not price in additional costs that full-time employment of such workers might require, like CPF contributions or healthcare benefits.
Yet, Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong spoke about the need to protect lower-wage delivery workers during his National Day Rally speech this year.
An advisory committee has been set up to come up with recommendations on how they can be better protected and assured of a more secure future, looking at work injury compensation, union representation and a more balanced relationship between such workers and platforms.
My advice is for the committee to examine how these workers can be better protected, while being careful not to endanger the roles and incomes they make. Due consideration for the huge consumer benefits should also be given.
Many have benefitted from the convenience, time savings and the chance to avoid going out to get groceries in the middle of a raging pandemic.

People’s consumption habits have changed for good. They have tasted the convenience offered by gig platforms. They will want more.
I see a two-pronged approach. First, in health benefits, such platform firms should do more for their gig workers. After all, they would benefit if their workers were healthy and fulfil more transactions.
Injury insurance is a first step but insufficient. Delivery and ride-hailing platforms should offer comprehensive insurance just like any traditional economy company would offer to its employees. For example, the gig platforms should also cover family members of the gig workers for health insurance coverage. There could also be coverage for paid sick leave.
On the larger question of the social compact around gig work, a flurry of legislative developments light the path for how Singapore can move forward.
Many countries and cities have started to look more into protecting the gig workers with a range of protections offered, balancing the need to make gig work less harrowing against making it too rigid.
There are small ways in which conditions can be improved. New York City recently passed a series of bills to improve the pay and working conditions of the food delivery workers.
One bill specifically requires platforms to make arrangements with restaurants to have washrooms available to delivery workers.
grabfood_0.jpg

A Grabfood delivery rider (left) travels on the road in Singapore on Sep 24, 2018. (Photo: AFP)
Another compels food delivery companies to show projected earnings, estimated trip time and distance before an order is accepted, along with limits they can set on trips to make – so food deliverers can make an informed decision before taking each order.
On the other end of the spectrum are countries mandating platform companies treat such workers like full-time employees with paid leave and fixed hours.
Portugal is moving to pass laws to get ride-hailing drivers and delivery workers recognised as staff with formal contracts and benefits. But the question is also whether such moves force workers needing flexibility to drop gig work entirely.

Workers want autonomy over how they make money. As nations reopen borders and economies pick up, the gig economy will still have a place in a world of work that is evolving past the cookie-cutter 9-to-5 job.
This part of the gig industry will keep growing. Besides the common food and parcel delivery, some platforms are providing doorstep services such as haircuts and the repairing of electrical appliances.
The challenge is how to let it flourish, while protecting workers.
As to whether the traditional world of work can be improved, the answer is yes but that’s another commentary for another day.

Sumit Agarwal is the Low Tuck Kwong Distinguished Professor of Finance, Economics and Real Estate at National University of Singapore (NUS) Business School, and the Managing Director of the Sustainable and Green Finance Institute at NUS.
He is also the author of Kiasunomics and Kiasunomics 2. The opinions expressed are those of the writer and do not represent the views and opinions of NUS.

Other dumb sinkies have become superman or drive cab. Sinkies are retarded

60% of food delivery riders in Singapore signed up during Covid-19 pandemic: Survey​

mi_grabriders_300322.jpg

When asked for their motivation for pursuing gig work, 57 per cent cited flexibility as the main draw. PHOTO: ST FILE
kokyufengg.png

Kok Yufeng
Transport Correspondent

MAR 30, 2022

SINGAPORE - About 60 per cent of food delivery riders here entered the gig economy during the Covid-19 pandemic, a survey by the three major food delivery platforms here has found.
But almost two in three of the 4,200 riders polled said they delivered food only on a part-time basis, with 54 per cent working fewer than 20 hours a week on average, according to the survey released on Tuesday (March 29).
Carried out between March 4 and 17, the survey is the first to be jointly conducted by Grab, Deliveroo and foodpanda.
A link to the poll was distributed via the platforms' mobile applications and rider communication channels.
The results showed that 29 per cent of the riders relied on food delivery work for all of their income, and just 25 per cent said they did gig work for more than 40 hours a week.
When asked for their motivation for pursuing gig work, 57 per cent cited flexibility as the main draw.
The food delivery platforms said gig work remains largely misunderstood in Singapore, citing what they claimed was a common misconception - that delivery riders are low-wage workers.

Data from last year across the three platforms showed that median hourly earnings for riders here were between $12 and $18.
This, the platforms said, is higher than the $7 to $11 per hour advertised for food and beverage (F&B) roles, and $8 to $9 per hour paid to cleaners and security guards.
In the latest survey, 52 per cent of the delivery riders said gig work had materially improved their financial position.

The platforms told The Straits Times that they chose to focus on food delivery riders as the experiences and issues they encountered are often conflated with those faced by third-party logistics drivers and ride-hailing drivers.
"It is important that we strengthen understanding of each segment of the gig economy suitably, accounting for the unique motivations and expectations," said the platforms in a joint statement.
The survey found resistance among riders towards mandatory contributions to the Central Provident Fund (CPF), which is a measure that an advisory committee on platform workers set up by the Government is considering to help improve their retirement and housing adequacy.
Platform workers in this case refer specifically to delivery workers, private-hire car drivers and cabbies, and the advisory committee is leading a review of the protections afforded to these workers.
While 43 per cent of the delivery riders polled by the three platforms already contribute to their CPF accounts, 61 per cent said they did not want CPF contributions to be deducted from their gig work earnings.
About 20 per cent said they would be open to it only if the deductions made up less than 10 per cent of their income.

Meanwhile, 55 per cent also said they are unwilling to pay any fees for third-party union representation, another measure being considered by the advisory committee.
The survey results have been shared with the Ministry of Manpower and the advisory committee, which is expected to complete its review later this year.
The platforms said: "It is important that... misperceptions are addressed as they will inform the Government's ongoing review and, in turn, impact not just riders and platforms, but also the broader ecosystem of merchants, F&B vendors and consumers."
This latest survey comes on the heels of two earlier studies on gig work here.
In February, the Institute of Policy Studies published a working paper warning of the risks and dangers of platform work in the longer term.
While the researchers were able to survey only 958 private-hire car drivers, they also conducted in-depth interviews with a number of delivery riders and observed them at work.

Last week, research group Blackbox published its own study and found high job satisfaction and a strong sense of financial security among food delivery riders.
Blackbox's poll of 175 riders and a qualitative study involving two focus groups also found that many riders felt their work was often misunderstood and their views under-represented.
In a statement on Tuesday, the Advisory Committee on Platform Workers said it will consider the feedback from such surveys and work towards "sustainable solutions".
"As platform companies grow, it will be increasingly important for such companies to provide support to their platform workers," added the committee.
"Unmet needs of workers today could potentially impose costs on future generations of Singaporeans."

Bright future ahead for him.
Can earn more as a food deliveryman than as an electrician, mechanic, other tradesman.
Grab, FoodPanda, Deliveroo, AirAsia, Pickupp....many employers to choose from.

You forgot Mediacorp, the biggest ITE employer.

ITE graduates are now among the most powerful influencers in Singapore via national TV. Your children are learning Chinese and English from these ITE actors and actresses.

I watched a video about Hongkies moving to UK. They didn't end up in London, but a place called Warrington, nearer to Liverpool.

Most of them started working in the food delivery business and according to the person being interviewed, he earns 300 pounds a week, which is 1,200 pounds a month. It's a little more than S$2,000 per month, and he has 2 kids to feed. The wife works in a recruitment centre.

So the UK government is doing the opposite. High-paying PMET jobs for UK citizens and food delivery jobs for newly-minted UK residents.

We can't even have a decent brawl without having to face disciplinary action???

What the hell has become of the world?
Pap just wanted to collect kopi $ . You think they care whether who win who lost who die who injured? If there is no brawl or crime then pap worlee.

We can't even have a decent brawl without having to face disciplinary action???

What the hell has become of the world?
Our good old days were better. Classroom fight, street fights, kopitiam fights... then all run off different ways..
That's it..

Couple raise 5 young children on combined food delivery income of $4k​

md_family2_04062022.jpg

Mr Ahmad Nidzam Abdul Razak and Madam Nur Aisyah Sukor with four of their children aged between 11 months and eight years. Their oldest son, who is nine years old, is not in the photo. ST PHOTO: DESMOND WEE
Deon Loke and Varun Karthik

JUN 5, 2022

SINGAPORE - Who says you cannot raise five young children while doing gig work?
Mr Ahmad Nidzam Abdul Razak, 34, and Madam Nur Aisyah Sukor, 33, have managed to do just that, while working full time as food delivery riders.
The couple have five children between 11 months and nine years old. They earn a combined monthly income of about $4,000.
Madam Aisyah admitted: "There are people who say, 'You are just a food delivery rider, how do you feed your family?'"
Early last year, Mr Ahmad was let go from his trailer driver job after sustaining a hand injury. His wife was then heavily pregnant with their fifth child.
After regaining his confidence in riding a bicycle, he began working as a full-time GrabFood delivery rider in March last year to support his family.
"I was working part-time with Grab since 2019, so I already knew how it worked," he said.

Madam Aisyah, who was formerly a manager at McDonald's, wanted to rejoin the workforce but found it tough juggling work with caregiving commitments.
"When my husband was doing Grab, I observed and thought maybe I could join too," she said.
For the couple, the flexibility was a draw.
Madam Aisyah, who started the job in March this year, said: "You don't have to answer to anyone. You have more control, and you can focus on taking care of the family."
On a typical day, both of them wake up at 5am and send their children to school before starting their shift at 9am. While she ends work at 5pm to look after the children, he continues working till about 9pm. They take turns to pick up their children from the babysitter and after-school student care centres.
To make ends meet, the couple make sure they set aside 10 per cent of their monthly earnings.
"You have to think, 'How am I supposed to support my family, pay for the house? How are we going to be sufficient?' The platform isn't a stable form of income," said Madam Aisyah, stressing the need to save for rainy days.
md_family3_04062022.jpg

The couple said they enjoy their jobs and the time they get to spend together as a family. ST PHOTO: DESMOND WEE
Mr Ahmad added: "You really have to have some discipline. Whatever you do, you have to plan for it."
When asked if they plan to continue doing food delivery in the long run, the couple said they enjoy their jobs and the time they get to spend together as a family.
Madam Aisyah said: "Our family comes first. It doesn't matter what we do, family is first. Everything else is secondary."

He quit 5-star hotel chef job to become food delivery man for more family time​

fhdelivery040622.jpg

A Grab food delivery rider pushing his bicycle on an overhead bridge at Braddell Road on Jan 10, 2022. PHOTO: ST FILE
mm22.png

Malavika Menon

JUN 5, 2022

SINGAPORE - Working as a sous chef at a five-star hotel for a year, Mr Johan Wu had a hectic schedule managing daily orders in the kitchen and participating in culinary festivals.
But getting through shifts that sometimes stretched for as long as 14 hours took a toll on his family time.
He decided to quit his job in December 2018, after his daughter turned one year old, and started doing food delivery instead.
The 31-year-old, who welcomed his second child in December last year, said being a platform worker has allowed him to spend more time with his family. He now works five days a week, for 10 hours a day.
"Before I left my (chef) job, I missed out on a lot of my daughter's milestones, like the first time she walked. I felt that I should give myself a break so I could spend more time with her," said Mr Wu, who worked with online platforms Honestbee and Uber Eats before joining Grab as a food delivery rider in 2020.
"Being part of the gig industry offers me the flexibility I need."
A typical week for Mr Wu involves two rest days, when he can enjoy time with his freelance wedding coordinator wife, five-month-old son and five-year-old daughter.

Mr Wu said he can earn about the same income from food delivery as he did from his former job - between $2,500 and $2,800 a month.
He said: "There are days when the demand is very low and you have to put in extra hours, just like overtime hours at any other job."
Mr Wu plans to continue delivering food for now but still has hopes of returning to the kitchen as that is where his passion lies.
However, he will do so only when employment opportunities improve and when his children are older.
Food delivery comes with its own share of challenges, Mr Wu pointed out, from bad weather to dealing with customers who are upset with long waiting times.
Over time, he has learnt to note the time a customer places his order and ensure that customers have included their unit numbers in the orders when he is making deliveries.
The job also comes with some memorable moments, such as the time delivery riders across various platforms looked out for one another during the circuit breaker period in 2020, he said.
"I realised that most of the delivery riders are very nice and willing to help, giving suggestions on how to find restaurants, guiding me to service lifts or the right floor level. It is an unspoken culture of help that really touched my heart," he added.
"Now I try to pay it forward by reaching out to help other riders who I notice are looking rather lost when I'm out and about."

I realised that most of the delivery riders are very nice and willing to help, giving suggestions on how to find restaurants, guiding me to service lifts or the right floor level. It is an unspoken culture of help that really touched my heart," he added.
This is verlee true. Losers tend to help losers more than any winner in a orfid. Orfid Winner just want to win more and more.

2 years of Covid-19​

'It has given me another option': Singer who became food delivery rider​

wgt-norhidayah-290422.jpg

Ms Norhidayah Mohd Ali could not get a job for months. Now that she is doing delivery, it has given her another option. PHOTO: BERITA HARIAN
Samuel Devaraj

APR 30, 2022

SINGAPORE - Ms Norhidayah Mohd Ali, 35, a singer at entertainment venues for 17 years, had her career disrupted because of the pandemic and eventually became a part-time food delivery rider with Deliveroo.

I remember I was doing a gig in March 2020 when the Government announced nightlife will have to shut in two days. On my last day of performing, I said to the customers: "We'll be back soon. Don't miss us!" I thought we would be back again in a few months.
During circuit breaker, it got stressful - finding a job was difficult because when I went for interviews, they'd say 'I see you sing all the time. You don't have the experience we are looking for.'
And it went on - six months, then eight months, I began to think there's no way nightlife is going to return.
Even though I took a course in online retail, it was hard for me to find a job. I tried working in dispatch, but I couldn't take it.
After I learnt from a friend who was doing food delivery how flexible it was, I decided to give it a try. I was nervous on the first day but I met a fellow rider who showed me how to complete the deliveries.
That was eight months ago and now, I'm used to it. I deliver on a motorbike. Doing delivery is a way of helping my husband, an engineer who is supporting our family, including my father, parents-in law and 14-year-old son.

There was once I was delivering food at about 1am to a condo when a customer, upon opening the door to receive his order, realised I was a woman and asked me what I was doing outside at this hour.
He asked me to wait awhile, came back with a $50 note, and told me to go back home and rest. I found that heartwarming.
I've learnt to be patient. Previously I always got angry at the smallest things. When I deliver food, some customers get agitated when their food is late. I know I cannot snap at the customers, so I've learnt to suppress my anger.
At home, I apply the same thing.
A few months ago, I started doing live-streaming for my singing from about 5pm-7pm, then I would deliver food from 8pm-2am.
Since restrictions have eased, I have returned to my live singing and will be doing that five times a week. I will be returning to my old workplace in Haji Lane and performing at places like Acid Bar.
But I have no intention of leaving food delivery and will do it on my days off. I enjoy doing it.
Because of Covid-19, the whole world changed just like that, at the snap of the fingers. I don't know what could be next. So I told my husband, I'm not going to leave Deliveroo. I will do it in my own time.
It has given me another option. So if anything happens to the nightlife scene, I know at least I have another way out.

On The Ground​

Platform workers stuck in career cul-de-sacs deserve closer look so others don't fall into same trap​

kokyufengg.png

Kok Yufeng
Transport Correspondent
mi_research_030322.jpg

Researchers from the Institute of Policy Studies found that platform workers lack savings and are financially stressed. PHOTO: BLOOMBERG

MAR 4, 2022

SINGAPORE - For the past two years, Riz has been trying to leave the ride-hailing business, but he just cannot seem to get out. Despite applying for close to 170 jobs, the 38-year-old has not had much success.
Boon Lai, 35, started delivering food four years ago as a temporary measure but now finds himself stuck as well. The university graduate has tried multiple training and upskilling programmes to no avail, and has accepted that he has to continue his current gig until it is no longer viable.
These were some of the struggles that platform workers shared with Institute of Policy Studies (IPS) researchers in a study published on Monday (Feb 28).
The participants, including Riz and Boon Lai, were given pseudonyms to protect their identities.
While the study highlighted several downsides to platform work that need to be addressed - from the lack of savings to worsening health - the fact that workers risk becoming trapped in a job they see no future in is perhaps the most concerning.
Platform workers like Riz and Boon Lai choose to enter the industry for its perks.
They get to be their own boss and are drawn in by the flexible hours, a low barrier to entry and the promise of better pay instantly.

But the study found that many see platform work as temporary, though if Riz's and Boon Lai's experiences are anything to go by, full-time platform workers could easily get sucked into social insecurity, particularly if they are low income.
The IPS researchers said: "Boon Lai may not have been a precarious worker before food delivery, but after prolonged periods of being 'stuck' in this work, his career options and social security continue to drop."
According to the latest Ministry of Manpower statistics, about 63,900 workers did platform work as their main job last year.

The researchers found that due to age and irrelevant experience, the longer a worker stays in platform work, the harder it is to leave.
What is worse is that full-time platform workers have to pull long hours to earn a decent wage, which takes time away from skills training. Of the 958 private-hire car drivers polled, 29 per cent said they spent more than 59 hours a week on the road.
So what can be done about this?
First, as the researchers acknowledged, any interventions need to take into account the wide range of platform workers out there.
Just as there are those who slog for hours, 31 per cent of the drivers polled said they worked fewer than 20 hours a week, so solutions cannot be one-size-fits-all.
MORE ON THIS TOPIC
A mixed start for cabby and food delivery rider in 2022, even as Singapore economy recovers
More support needed for platform workers' retirement needs, baseline work injury coverage
Yet, drawing the line between casual and full-time platform workers can be tricky as one could switch from part time one month to full time the next month.
That is the beauty of platform work, some would argue.
To boost career mobility, one suggestion by the researchers is for more help to be given to platform workers to pivot to new jobs.
To be fair to the platform companies, they have been trying.
Ride-hailing giant Grab has long touted its GrabAcademy initiative, which provides training and career support. Just last month, it tied up with Secura Group to provide new security officer training courses and up to 200 job opportunities.
Similarly, food delivery firm foodpanda last year partnered Temasek Polytechnic and e-learning platform Gnowbe to offer courses to its riders, while Deliveroo has partnered online education platform OpenClassrooms since 2018.
But have these initiatives actually helped platform workers here bridge the ever-widening skills gap? Why are some still having trouble finding new jobs?
These are areas that warrant further investigation.

Another possible way is to secure the long-term finances of platform workers, so they can afford to plan ahead.
The three key areas being looked at by the advisory committee on platform workers - improving housing and retirement adequacy, likely through Central Provident Fund (CPF) contributions; beefing up workplace injury insurance; and enhancing representation - should help to do this.
There is also the question of whether workers getting stuck in platform work is a symptom of larger issues related to poor wages and conditions for bottom earners.
Associate Professor Irene Ng, from the National University of Singapore's department of social work, pointed this out during a panel discussion on Monday.
Fixing this may be beyond the remit of the advisory committee but, with younger people taking on more non-standard work arrangements, policymakers should keep a close eye so others do not fall into the same traps as platform workers.
Legislative changes are being considered, but this is a path that Singapore seems unlikely to take. Professor Danny Quah, dean of the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy and vice-chairman of the advisory committee, said as much on Monday when he described changing the laws here as a blunt instrument.

Still, pain points, such a lack of transparency on compensation and incentive structures, need to be tackled, even if they are less pressing. The control exerted via algorithmic management is another issue raised by IPS that should be addressed.
Regulations in this regard could help to level the playing field.
The IPS study said it is crucial that there are not only government interventions, but also solutions from platform companies and driver and rider associations. Such co-created and collaborative solutions provide the best way forward, the study said.
Hopefully, given the extensive public consultations that have taken place, recommendations to be put forth by the advisory committee later this year will help platform workers like Riz and Boon Lai find the best way out of their cul-de-sacs.

Delivery, private-hire platform workers risk being trapped in poverty, precarity: Study​

AK_sgcov_280222.jpg

The flexibility on offer is a major draw for platform workers, with 76 per cent of the drivers citing it as a reason why they became PHV drivers. PHOTO: ST FILE
kokyufengg.png

Kok Yufeng
Transport Correspondent

FEB 28, 2022,

SINGAPORE - Food delivery and private-hire vehicle (PHV) platforms allow people from low-income backgrounds to earn a quick buck and much more than what they normally would, but these workers run the risk of becoming trapped in poverty and precarity.
Researchers from the Institute of Policy Studies (IPS) warned of this in a study published on Monday (Feb 28).
They said in their working paper that these individuals may also become entrenched in such platform work, even as they see such jobs as a way out of unemployment and helplessness.
Because of a lack of savings and voluntary Central Provident Fund (CPF) contributions, being stuck in platform work also poses additional challenges to future aspirations, such as home ownership.
Hence, the IPS researchers proposed several interventions to address the downsides of platform work, including mandating or incentivising workers and companies to make contributions to CPF, health savings and insurance.
They also suggested more help be given to platform workers so they can pivot to new careers.
A basic level of protection should be made mandatory as this may allow for a more level playing field so that platform companies do not have to compromise on worker welfare in order to turn a profit.

The study used a mix of a survey and interviews with both PHV drivers and delivery riders, as well as observation.
Led by IPS principal research fellow and head of the institute's Social Lab, Dr Mathew Mathews, the study started in late 2019 and is still ongoing.
Through listings provided by ride-hailing firm Gojek, which provided funding for the study, 958 PHV drivers were surveyed.

Of these drivers, 75 per cent drove for other platforms, such as Grab, as well.
The researchers also conducted 75 in-depth interviews, and followed and observed a number of study participants at work.
Presenting the findings on Monday, Dr Mathews said the team hopes to poll delivery riders as well, but has yet to get a good sample.
The researchers found that involvement in full-time platform work can impede long-term career mobility and take time away from upskilling pursuits.
MORE ON THIS TOPIC
More drivers wanted as taxi and private-hire ridership rebounds
Satisfaction with taxi, private-hire car services held steady in 2021: PTC survey
Older and better educated PHV drivers had a harder time finding other jobs similar to their previous roles or relevant to their education and training. About 49 per cent of PHV drivers polled felt they had no choice but to turn to platform work.
The flexibility on offer is a major draw for platform workers, with 76 per cent of the drivers citing it as a reason why they became PHV drivers.
But there exists a paradox for full-time platform workers as they may not be able to afford to enjoy this autonomy.
ac_carroad_010322.jpg

About 49 per cent of PHV drivers polled felt they had no choice but to turn to platform work. PHOTO: ST FILE
To earn a good wage, workers have to slog and "grind", said the researchers, citing the example of a delivery rider who earned more than $5,000 a month but had to cycle for more than 12 hours a day almost every day to hit that figure.
Before the pandemic, flexibility meant being able to earn a bigger income and spend more time with loved ones, said research associate Thian Wen Li. But with Covid-19 and changes to incentive structures, it now means volatility and insecurity.
Platform workers are also at the mercy of others, from opaque algorithms to changing policies, adding further stress to their physical and mental health.
So even though 57 per cent of those polled said they could tolerate the pressures of being a PHV driver, only about 40 per cent said they were satisfied with the job, and only 20 per cent said their overall quality of life had improved.

About 44 per cent said their health had worsened since they started driving.
Platform workers lack savings and are financially stressed, the researchers found.
Around 62 per cent of drivers surveyed said they did not have enough money set aside to take care of their personal and family needs for the next three to six months if they stopped working.
About 50 per cent did not make any voluntary CPF contributions.
There is also a possible trend of younger, lesser educated workers shunning conventional jobs as they view platform work as ideal.
The researchers said: "Our report does not provide insights into other types of similar work. Arguably the conditions for them may be as, or more, difficult.
"Nonetheless, the precarity that some of our respondents feel forebodes possible work conditions as more technology is developed to facilitate how people work.
"It is important at this juncture to consider the type of social protections that are necessary," they added.
20200216_1581852038120_1839326047421455_12_2lud5_zuann.jpg

To earn a good wage, workers have to slog and "grind", said the researchers. PHOTO: ST FILE
In a panel discussion later on Monday, Associate Professor Irene Ng from the National University of Singapore’s department of social work said there may be a need to rethink employment legislation in order to cover the increasing number of platform-based and non-standard work arrangements.
But Professor Danny Quah, dean of the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, said changing labour laws may be a blunt instrument.
“For now, we are trying to see whether a fine-tuned adjustment that focuses on the specific characteristics of platform workers is something that might be better for everyone,” said Prof Quah, who is the vice-chairman of an advisory committee set up to strengthen protections for platform workers.
He added: “As we think about the dangers and risks of platform work, we need to constantly compare this with other parts of the employment landscape.”
Gojek Singapore’s general manager Lien Choong Luen said: “Even if you don’t believe in any altruism, the fact that (companies) have longer-term self-interest means that we need to take care of the (platform workers)... It is not adversarial.”

Five ways to provide support​

In a study of workers who rely on jobs from online platforms such as ride-hailing and food delivery apps, researchers from the Institute of Policy Studies have proposed five interventions to support these platform workers.
• They suggested mandating, or at least incentivising, private-hire vehicle drivers, delivery riders and platform companies to contribute to the Central Provident Fund. This is to help workers save for their healthcare and retirement needs.
• The researchers proposed implementing a rest period policy for private-hire car drivers who spend long hours on the road. This would involve nudging drivers to rest after driving for a predetermined time, and encouraging them to lead healthier lifestyles.
• More assistance should be given to help platform workers pivot to new careers, said the researchers. They gave the example of raising awareness of schemes that help workers find work or reskill.
• The researchers suggested launching a public campaign to educate potential drivers and riders on the realities of platform work.
• Finally, Singapore's urban infrastructure could be designed to be friendlier and safer for food delivery riders, they added.
The researchers said it is crucial to recognise that platform workers are a diverse group. Any intervention must take this into account for it to be successful, they added.

One less prospective employer for food deliverymen

AirAsia’s food delivery service no longer available in Singapore​

rrairasiadelivery0101_0.jpg

The message on AirAsia Food's Web-based ordering platform, saying that the SIngapore address was outside the service’s coverage area. PHOTOS: AIRASIA
Chin Hui Shan

Jan 1, 2023

SINGAPORE – AirAsia Food, Malaysian budget carrier AirAsia’s food delivery service, appears to have stopped its operations in Singapore.
When The Straits Times tried to place an order on its Web-based ordering platform by inputting a Singapore address, a message appeared, saying that the address was outside the service’s coverage area.
The message then asked users to “check (the service) out” at several Malaysian locations, such as Sri Petaling in Kuala Lumpur and George Town in Penang.
This happened during ST’s attempts to order food on the platform over 12 consecutive days, from Dec 20 to 31, 2022.
A successful order could not be placed and AirAsia did not answer ST’s queries.
The food delivery function is not found on AirAsia’s app, which allows users to book flights and hotels, as well as send parcels and earn points.
AirAsia Food was launched in Singapore in March 2021 and delivered food from about 80 eateries, including Swee Choon Tim Sum Restaurant and No Signboard Seafood.

It charged eateries a commission of 15 per cent, which was lower than that charged by the three major food delivery operators – GrabFood, FoodPanda and Deliveroo.
AirAsia said that its lower commission would mean lower charges for customers.
AirAsia’s food delivery business was part of the company’s foray into digital services. It moved to diversify its business after the company was hit by the Covid-19 pandemic, which grounded the bulk of its airplane fleet.

Experts said that new entrants like AirAsia to the food delivery business here would find it difficult to gain a foothold, given how incumbents like Grab have conquered the local market.
Professor Lawrence Loh, director of the National University of Singapore (NUS) Business School’s Centre for Governance and Sustainability, said: “The Singapore food delivery market is completely dominated by GrabFood, the biggest player, followed by FoodPanda and Deliveroo. It is extremely saturated and has no room for new entrants, including AirAsia.”
Existing food delivery companies have “built decent economies of scale and become quite entrenched with customers, restaurants and riders”, hence the environment is tough for new entrants, said Dr Zafar Momin, an adjunct associate professor at NUS Business School.

Besides having smaller-scale operations and accepting lower margins, the newcomers also face competitive delivery costs and rider supply issues, Dr Momin said.
He added that the post-pandemic market growth for food delivery has slowed significantly, as more people are returning to offices to work and ordering from such platforms less frequently.
“This makes it even harder for new entrants to survive, especially if they wish to hold a low-cost position as a differentiating factor,” he said.
Dr Seshan Ramaswami, associate professor of marketing education at Singapore Management University, said what while AirAsia Food’s low commission might have helped to get more merchants on board, the food delivery service did not seem to offer a clear selling point to consumers, who are already “spoilt with many choices”.
He added that most regular consumers likely have multiple food delivery apps installed and may be wary of adding to the clutter on their phones.
AirAsia’s food delivery service here was off to a slow start when it received only about 100 orders daily in its first four months of operations.
However, in July 2021, Mr Tony Fernandes, chief executive of AirAsia’s parent company Capital A, said the performance of the food delivery platform was “exactly what we predicted”. He said then that AirAsia’s priority was to improve the platform’s technology infrastructure.
The resumption of air travel may have made the carrier think twice about its food delivery business, said Prof Loh.
“AirAsia will now have to channel its resources and refocus on the aviation recovery – the time window for pivoting back is narrow and, if it does not act fast, it may lose out to its air travel competitors,” he said.
In September 2022, AirAsia Group said it is aiming to restore its pre-pandemic flight levels by end-2022 as it continued to reopen routes and increase capacity.
AirAsia resumed its airline operations in Singapore, at Changi Airport’s Terminal 4, in September 2022. Mr Fernandes said at the time that the group was operating 168 flights weekly to 12 destinations across Asean. These made up about 60 per cent of its pre-pandemic flights.

In November 2022, AirAsia X – the long-haul airline unit of AirAsia Group – posted a net profit of RM25.1 million (S$7.65 million) in the three months ended September, compared with a net loss of RM652.5 million in the previous quarter.
Prof Loh said the pivot to food delivery was likely a considered move at the onset of the pandemic, when it was difficult to foresee when air travel would resume.
“But as the pandemic situation is extremely dynamic, no business direction can be set in stone,” he added.
Dr Momin said: “It makes sense for low-cost aviation players like AirAsia to diversify and build non-aviation digital assets, especially when the aviation industry was severely stalled.”
However, this may not always succeed, he added.
“What is more important is that they react quickly and decisively, and remain resilient,” he said.

So many "self-employed entrepreneurs", PAP must be pleased with themselves.

Are hitmen, assassins and professional killers considered as entrepreneurs too ?