• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another Potential Fiasco in STB?

[TABLE="width: 100%"]
<TBODY>[TR="class: msghead"]
[TD="class: msgbfr1, width: 1%"][/TD]
[TD]

<TBODY>
[TD="class: msgF, width: 1%, align: right"]From: [/TD]
[TD="class: msgFname, width: 68%"] rodliao <NOBR></NOBR>[/TD]
[TD="class: msgDate, width: 30%, align: right"]9:04 pm [/TD]

[TD="class: msgT, width: 1%, align: right"]To: [/TD]
[TD="class: msgTname, width: 68%"] ALL <NOBR></NOBR>[/TD]
[TD="class: msgNum, align: right"](1 of 1) [/TD]

</TBODY>
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: msgleft, width: 1%"][/TD]
[TD="class: wintiny, align: right"]63447.1 [/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD][/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: msgtxt"][h=1]New tourism ad tells Aussies to 'get lost'[/h]
Zenzen
inSing.com - 18 hrs 51 mins ago
pc_600x450.jpg
<CITE>
A screenshot of the new 'Get Lost' ad.</CITE>
A new ad campaign by the Singapore Tourism Board (STB) has got some Singaporeans questioning whether it is offensive.
The 30-second ad is part of a new campaign launched by the STB on 8 March to promote Singapore to Australia, and will be shown in Australian cities including Sydney, Melbourne and Perth.
Themed "Get Lost and Find the Real Singapore", the ad depicts a number of Singaporeans showing off different aspects of Singapore and telling Australians to "Get Lost".
It begins with a Peranakan woman saying, "Hey you Aussie, you think Singapore's got no tradition? Get lost."
This is followed by two young women saying, "You think Singapore's all shopping centres? Get lost!"
Then a Malay satay seller appears and says, "You think Singapore's just chilli crab? Get lost lah!", followed by man holding a glass of wine, saying, "You think you know Singapore? Get lost!"
The ad ends with the tagline, "Get lost and find the real Singapore, your Singapore."
The ad has already caused some controversy as some think it is inappropriate for the ad to tell people to "get lost".
Some Singaporean netizens who have seen the ad comment that they found it "really awkward", "silly" and even "offensive".
A netizen, "wong5505" exclaimed that he did not understand the phrase "get lost", and had found the ad meaningless.
However, the STB has clarified with Shin Min Daily News that the phrase "get lost" is in fact not offensive to Australians.
See the ad here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8t1_L7D7ZRg&feature=player_embedded

[/TD]
[/TR]
</TBODY>[/TABLE]

Should let Char_Anz explain the concept of this ad, lol

What a joke! In land scarce Singapore and one of the most densely pop cities in the world, where 3 out of 5 are foreigners, how to get lost?

I know. One HDB estate is like another. You can actually get lost inside anyone of the concrete jungles.

One foodcourt is also like another. So too are malls. Same brands, same dour faces to serve you.

Everywhere you go, you see Indians. You would think you are in India. Even lion dancers are Indians. WTF! How not to get lost?

Hurry, hurry, watch it (and download it) before some fucktard flags it or takes it down.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8t1_L7D7ZRg

STB only hires first/second class honours degrees, scholars and FTs.

Great to see all that talent produce such a gem, LOL.

'Get lost' is sooooo bland. They should have used 'Get the fuck out of here' as a catch phrase.

I should be STB's marketing consultant...

[video=youtube;TL6NY5lfBAg]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TL6NY5lfBAg[/video]

Trying to imitate Aussie's 'where the bloody hell are you' tourists ads but fell flat.

That Su Lian superbitch still there? Back then her fetish was fuck any dick as long as they were black...how come settled for an indo dick in the end?

What a joke! In land scarce Singapore and one of the most densely pop cities in the world, where 3 out of 5 are foreigners, how to get lost?...

I take our world class public transport & nowadays it's very common for a bus to be delayed by passengers asking the driver for directions:eek:

Not offended at all. Really, they should fuck off and get lost. I'm offend by the sentence "Get lost and find the real Singapore, your Singapore". What do you mean "your Singapore"?

Singapore belongs to Singaporean, you twits!

Dunno how much of an impact this will make in Oz. Guess I will wait for my drinking sessions and see if my Aussie mates talk about it.

I actually find the ad quite tongue-in-cheek as someone living in Oz, a light hearted response to Laura Bingle standing in a bikini and in her redneck accent saying "Where the bloody hell are you"?

But timing wise, a bit slow, seeing how the Aussie ad was 3-4 years ago.

But as a Singaporean, I'm slightly concerned about the lack of Indians represented in the ad.

.... But as a Singaporean, I'm slightly concerned about the lack of Indians represented in the ad.

Agreed, the ad should have shown an Ah Neh flipping prata!

Then another Ah Neh (big brother) will feel offended that Ah Nehs always seen as flipping prata. Then one Ah Neh will quibble with another Ah Neh! Ah Tiong comes in and separate them - like Pakistan separated from India. And then again East Pakistan could not agree with West Pakistan and fought for separation. And then independant East Pakistan decided to call itself Bangladesh. They never stopped quarrelling till thy kingdom comes!

Complication starts when Ah Nehs in Singapore also come from Ceylon - because some Ah Nehs there quarrelled among themselves about the name and decided to call itself Sri Lanka! And the Sri Lankan Tamil Ah Nehs did not agree with native Sri Lankan Sinhalese Ah Nehs - and they fight. There seems to be a truce now in the sub-continet (exclude insular Maldives Ah Nehs who are still fighting in parliament) - till the next world cricket game.

However to most Singaporeans, all Ah Nehs are Ah Nehs - regardless of whether they are Ah Nehs from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh or Sri Lanka. Only issue now is the rich and talented Ah Nehs - from whichever part of the subcontinent - come to settle down in Singapore as FTs and our poor Singaporean Ah Nehs feel they are a down-trodden class of Ah Nehs. That's why they are not happy when some unenlightened Singaporeans give them the iconic prataman image (an Ah Neh lawyer image - albeit quarrelsome in courts - would be more appropriate).

All said and done, Singapoor is proud that it has two former Ah Neh Presidents, two Ah Neh deputy Prime Ministers (one former) and many Ah Neh ministers and MPs - in spite of the Chinese majority. Singapore is a democratic and meritocratic country - all Ah Nehs are able to live and work together in harmony. Undoubtedly, thanks to the pragmatic forward-looking government.:D

You into ah neh huh?
Don't mean to offend any Ah Nehs out there. I was intrigued by the post which seems to imply that all ads must have all the four races in it!

It's Monday - Black Monday. A little amusement - truth told in a fictitious way!

i think he love watching Ah Neh flipping prata..give him/her satisfaction..

Have you seen a Chinese - whether Ah Beng or Ah Tiong - flipping prata? The closest I have ever seen is the man flipping popiah skin the traditional way!

[video=youtube;9Z2-fu9UG7A]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Z2-fu9UG7A[/video]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Z2-fu9UG7A

Ah Tiongs taking over everything..........near future they will flip pratas also....you can count on that

Nothing wrong with that! I will have prata with Chinese flavour - may be better than the one in Clementi - non-halah.

always try to act cool and hip end of the day always kena backfired ;)

S R Nathan will be disappointed by this comment coming from a loyal PAP supporter like you..:D :rolleyes: :D

Read the rest of the post, you twit!

See only the word "skirts" and you get aroused - it's only the skirt-ing on the table!