• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ang Moh Doo Lan Noise. Poodle Respond Swiftly. If Sporns?

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Are police more effective than NEA in noise control?
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to my Forum Online letter, 'Assailed by loud noise despite calls to NEA hotline' (June 6). I have received a letter from the National Environment Agency (NEA), advising that the contractor responsible was fined last year for breaking noise limits on one occasion.
The letter stated that this year, the limits have yet to be broken.
This last fact is the bone of contention. As I write at 8.11pm on Tuesday, there is a din so loud that if it was a neighbour making the noise, the police would be here in 15 minutes to deal with it. I know this because a neighbour used a drill late one night and the police responded promptly to our complaint.
NEA also stated that noise monitors were installed at the site. Either the limits of noise are too high in Singapore or the monitors are faulty, because I cannot believe that in a modern society, the noise the contractor is currently making is considered acceptable.
Most importantly, can someone please tell me what is the difference between a neighbour making a loud noise shattering the peace of a neighbourhood and a contractor building a condominium doing the same thing? In one case, the police respond quickly and the situation is dealt with. In the other, the NEA calls the site to 'inquire' about the noise. The noise invariably continues.
Darren Blakeley

besotted

darren, plse go back to britain and serve your queen

this ain't a colony any more, go home, go home

Agoraphobic

Nothing disturbs the peace more than some moron riding his piece of shit Harley. LTA should make these bastards install mufflers in their pipes. Fucking ancient crap piece of clanking metal.

LTA should give Harley, ear plugs, ear mufflers....or he should go back to Dover....:rolleyes:

Semaj2357

LTA should give Harley, ear plugs, ear mufflers....or he should go back to Dover....:rolleyes:

Mr Davidson aka fatboy etc does'nt need ear plugs & muffs, he only requires synthetic oil, petrol and lots of hot air for his tyres, not forgetting pipe mufflers.....

Yoshitei

If you know your engine stuffs well, you'll know that Harley Davidson engine technology is based on a 1900 design used widely in planes of those days.

It's not a V-twin as what everyone claims it to be, it's a 2 cylinder radial engine, thereby giving it it's unique exhaust note.

From an engineering standpoint, it needs an odd number of cylinder to be smoother and Harley with it's 2 cylinder design makes it one of the roughest engines around with a 404 degree gap between firing.

Engines such as the Honda V4 have a 90 degree firing making it one of the smoothest engines without counter-balances.

And it's something only Westerners and those who buy into their lifestyle could appreciate. Personally, it's loud, slow and pointless.

I'll take a V4 mated to a Yoshi pipe any day. Sounds better, go faster.

JohnTT

F%@K these Ang Mohs lah! Always complaining! :mad:
Want no noise, move to a big bungalow with huge compound lah!
If not, be a deaf! Sick of hearing stinking Angmohs complaining!

This is for him! :oIo:

besotted

This cheebyekia works in media one lah

Whole life complain about S'pore this S'pore that

Go back England lor, kanina come here then complain

takcheksian

Ya lah! :p:p:p

Chow ang moh, who ask you not to be Foreign Talent and live in GCB? :confused::confused::confused:

You live in GCB, confirm wont kenna all that construction noise like us poor sporns who live in peesaiholes! :oIo::oIo::oIo:

F%@K these Ang Mohs lah! Always complaining! :mad:
Want no noise, move to a big bungalow with huge compound lah!
If not, be a deaf! Sick of hearing stinking Angmohs complaining!

This is for him! :oIo:

Ang Moh Doo Lan Noise. Poodle Respond Swiftly. If Sporns? ...
depends on whether lesser or gr8ter mortal ...

... Most importantly, can someone please tell me what is the difference between a neighbour making a loud noise shattering the peace of a neighbourhood and a contractor building a condominium doing the same thing? ... Darren Blakeley
ah darren ...

watz ze difference betwin ...
- a naybor making a loud noise shattering ze piece of a nayborhood ...
- a contractor building a condo doing ze same ting ...
- n angmo writing 2 a forum 2 make 1 hell of a noise on other ppl making noises? ...

ze answer:
ze noise invariably continues ... :o

:rolleyes:

Agoraphobic

Hi Halsey:

I don't think he'll wnat to head back to Dover. Even though things have slowed down in Sg, its not slowed down as much as elsewhere. Maybe that's why its so darn noisy in Sg.

Was walking in Tampines Mall and I quickly realized every shop was blaring its own music and the overall effect was just a drone, coupled with people's voices. I think shopping centre management should bar individual shops from playing music and have only ONE source of music piped throughout the mall at a regulated level.