• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Airline Pilot Arrested For Taking Drugs

Windsor

Pilot arrested for alleged drug use

http://www.todayonline.com/Hotnews/EDC120205-0000010/Pilot-arrested-for-alleged-drug-use

04:45 AM Feb 05, 2012

The Indonesian police have arrested an airline pilot on suspicion of using illegal drugs three hours before flying.

Lion Air pilot Syaiful Salam was arrested early yesterday in his hotel room in Surabaya city with a small amount of crystal methamphetamine in his possession, said narcotics agency director Brigadier General Benny Mamoto.

A urine test showed Salam, who was scheduled to fly three hours later, had consumed the drug, he said.

He also said Salam is the fifth Lion Air pilot in two months to be arrested for alleged drug use. Airline officials could not immediately be reached for comment. AP

Shit!:eek: No more Lion Air flights for me.:oIo:

sadshishamo

they should take away his flying licence. Drinking and consuming drugs prior to piloting duties is a definite no no.

Then they should jail him.

http://www.todayonline.com/Hotnews/EDC120205-0000010/Pilot-arrested-for-alleged-drug-use

The Indonesian police have arrested an airline pilot on suspicion of using illegal drugs three hours before flying.

Lion Air pilot Syaiful Salam was arrested early yesterday in his hotel room in Surabaya city with a small amount of crystal methamphetamine in his possession, said narcotics agency director Brigadier General Benny Mamoto.

A urine test showed Salam, who was scheduled to fly three hours later, had consumed the drug, he said.

He also said Salam is the fifth Lion Air pilot in two months to be arrested for alleged drug use. Airline officials could not immediately be reached for comment. AP

If even pilots are taking drugs, then surely it is possible that ship captains, bus drivers and taxi drivers may be doing the same.

Everyone should go for surprise urine tests, just like athletes.

Kohliantye

Pilots should not be doing this sort of thing.

They are wholly responsible for the safety of hundreds of passengers

It could be being lethargic or making return flights everyday

Even Silkair, AirAsia, Tiger and Jetstar pilots are being abused this way everyday.

These are just some local examples...

What about other budget carriers?

Something should be done like flying to a destination and settling into a hotel for a rest.

The next day fly back.

When everything is OK, swee swee , but when something happens, WAH LAU LEH. Board of Inquiries, etc....

IreneYeoh

Quite a number of pilots and attendants crew take drugs, especially on routes to countries where drugs are easily available. Most of them take it to relieve the stress or boredom. This type of job, time to be stressed is very stressed, time to be bored is very bored. Crew clears customs easily, almost as easily as diplomats.

Pilots are subjected to stricter code of conduct afaik...
Knew a pilot kena drink driving charge and upon his conviction he was sacked and pilot license revoked.
As he was still bonded he had to pay back all his training fees....

saratogas

From the pilots point of view... What is the point of working hard, earning $$$ if they can't enjoy themselves?!

TracyTan866

Drinking hours before flight is another flight safety problem.. some pilots are addicted to alcohol

TracyTan866

From the pilots point of view... What is the point of working hard, earning $$$ if they can't enjoy themselves?!

The same perspective is also for other occupations. Not just peculiar to pilots. But pilots must be responsible enough to make sure that their lifestyle does not jeopardise flight safety. so they need to stay within authorised limits

geylangchickenloyangduck

Quite a number of pilots and attendants crew take drugs, especially on routes to countries where drugs are easily available. Most of them take it to relieve the stress or boredom. This type of job, time to be stressed is very stressed, time to be bored is very bored. Crew clears customs easily, almost as easily as diplomats.

nah beh....i thought the ladies in Geylang very stress therefore some take drugs. I understand some customers of Geylang take drugs in form of blue pill because they r stressed. KNN, pilot very stress? Fucking over paid bus driver is stressed?

And the stewardesses are stressed? More stress than the birds in Geylang...u got to be kidding.

And the standard nowadays...even the girls at my Geylang is better haha...

Windsor

Have you any basis for saying this as it is tantamount to saying drugs can be brought through customs very easily? Do you know that air crews are subject to more stringent customs check than passengers? This is obviously because they travel frequently to certain airports and therefore are higher risks. Pilots cannot clear customs as easily you think and there are always the spot checks to consider. You know what you are talking about?:rolleyes:

TracyTan866

Pilots are subjected to stricter code of conduct afaik...
Knew a pilot kena drink driving charge and upon his conviction he was sacked and pilot license revoked.
As he was still bonded he had to pay back all his training fees....

Pilots have to keep fit, healthy and not consume alcohol nor drugs before flight..that's important

IreneYeoh

Have you any basis for saying this as it is tantamount to saying drugs can be brought through customs very easily? Do you know that air crews are subject to more stringent customs check than passengers? This is obviously because they travel frequently to certain airports and therefore are higher risks. Pilots cannot clear customs as easily you think and there are always the spot checks to consider. You know what you are talking about?:rolleyes:

Crew including pilots clear customs separately from passengers. It's "supposed" to be more stringent, yes, but it's still the cursory smile, token look and check on the luggage, wave us through. Passing through customs so many times as stewardess and as tourist, I know the difference. Spotchecks are all of two types, random and tip-off. The random type, don't worry, only just a few more minutes delay. The tip-off type, they'll escort into office. But they do search the whole plane too at every landing, not random and no need tip-off.

Windsor

Crew including pilots clear customs separately from passengers. It's "supposed" to be more stringent, yes, but it's still the cursory smile, token look and check on the luggage, wave us through. Passing through customs so many times as stewardess and as tourist, I know the difference. Spotchecks are all of two types, random and tip-off. The random type, don't worry, only just a few more minutes delay. The tip-off type, they'll escort into office. But they do search the whole plane too at every landing, not random and no need tip-off.

My pilot friends say that is not true. They are more strict. So who should I believe?