• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Air Asia enjoys over 25% yearly growth

GoFlyKiteNow

AirAsia, the region's biggest budget airline, is taking a contrarian approach by adding flights and expanding amid the slump.

Chief Executive Tony Fernandes believes AirAsia will benefit as travelers downgrade to budget carriers. It became the first airline in the world to remove fuel surcharges on all its flights last month.

AirAsia expects to fly 19 million passengers this year and 24 million in 2009, he said _ up from 15 million last year.

The carrier plunged into the red for the first time in the third quarter, largely due to foreign exchange losses and unwinding of fuel hedging contracts.

But Fernandes said AirAsia has no plans to cancel or defer its order for 175 Airbus aircraft, of which 55 have been delivered with nine more targeted for 2009.
"We are confident," he said. "We are a beneficiary of the economic slump just like McDonald's and Wal-Mart as people are looking for more value."

DearestGodlikeWarlord

AirAsia, the region's biggest budget airline, is taking a contrarian approach by adding flights and expanding amid the slump.

Chief Executive Tony Fernandes believes AirAsia will benefit as travelers downgrade to budget carriers. It became the first airline in the world to remove fuel surcharges on all its flights last month.

AirAsia expects to fly 19 million passengers this year and 24 million in 2009, he said _ up from 15 million last year.

The carrier plunged into the red for the first time in the third quarter, largely due to foreign exchange losses and unwinding of fuel hedging contracts.

But Fernandes said AirAsia has no plans to cancel or defer its order for 175 Airbus aircraft, of which 55 have been delivered with nine more targeted for 2009.
"We are confident," he said. "We are a beneficiary of the economic slump just like McDonald's and Wal-Mart as people are looking for more value."

If budget airlines would also cover routes to East Asia and Europe (America and Latin America are too ambitious) then I would go to church tomorrow to count my blessings.

SO much better than Tiger Airways that dun even set up any rescue flights when customers are stranded. If they cannot even do business, why exist at all???

Tiger, Jetstar and ValueAir started because Singapore envy of the AirAsia. Now with ValueAir gone both Tiger and Jetstar struggling to survive is going to be out of Air very soon.

Its the tragic Singapore story lah.

Want to be the 'everything' HUB but how to copy successfully if its not in 10 year exam series :rolleyes:

Its the tragic Singapore story lah.

Want to be the 'everything' HUB but how to copy successfully if its not in 10 year exam series :rolleyes:

The education in singapore is really a joke. Zero creativity input and still tell the whole world they are first world.

silverfox@

The education in singapore is really a joke. Zero creativity input and still tell the whole world they are first world.

If the education in singapore is really a joke, why do so many people, including your beloved Khon Thais still send their kids to singapore to study?

You mean to say if you know there got shit, you still jump inside?

silverfox@

All these budget air is crap.
You can go and check their prices and nothing near budget unless you are a traveller who book months in advance and don't change your timing.

Landing and taking off is like the whole plane is going to dismantle.
Only Jetstar has allocated seating.

If the education in singapore is really a joke, why do so many people, including your beloved Khon Thais still send their kids to singapore to study?

You mean to say if you know there got shit, you still jump inside?

There are 60 millions Thais in Thailand and only a few % of them are dumbfuck enough to sent their kids to sinkieland. There are numerous Thais who go to Aus, England and USA to study, why dun you talk about them? And to add, there are numerous FT who use sinkieland as a stepping stone to move to Aus, Eng and USA as their real place to stay.

Not all Thais understand the state of education in sinkieland. It is same as not all sinkies stay in sinkieland to be slave, only those good for nothing get stuck there and worst for some who need to ball lick their way through.

Only Tiger is struggling to survive. If not for the face-saving and egoistic sinkie govt to hold them, there isn't this airline existing at all.

Like i say, if they aren't good enough to be in business, why be there in the first place. It is a waste of tax payers money.

I really don't understand the education system in Spore :confused:

The kids have so many books to carry, that they need luggage with rollers to carry all the books :eek:

Can see that the the parents are under so much stress, see many of these unhappy parents at Popular Book Store :rolleyes:

Why rob the children of their childhood with alot of useless information. Even if they go to Uni, they don't need so many text books.

I have seen those 'lazy' Canadian students in Canadian Universities. They start with only grade 12(O levels) background but go on to surpass the students from Spore with A levels. :eek:

Even if you are a local grad, you are loosing out to cheaper foreign grads. :rolleyes:

The kids have so many books to carry, that they need luggage with rollers to carry all the books :eek:

Can see that the the parents are under so much stress, see many of these unhappy parents at Popular Book Store :rolleyes:

Why rob the children of their childhood with alot of useless information. Even if they go to Uni, they don't need so many text books.

I have seen those 'lazy' Canadian students in Canadian Universities. They start with only grade 12(O levels) background but go on to surpass the students from Spore with A levels. :eek:

Even if you are a local grad, you are loosing out to cheaper foreign grads. :rolleyes:

Education is about quality and it does not revolved only around books. It is about the people they mix with , the things they do and the environment too.

Plus creativity as well and how it is nurture while being educated, and also about handling rules and self expression and the way student handle problems in real life and not revolve around school rules and books.

Only 3rd world mindset such as those from PAP thinks that education is all about books.

The way i see sinkie kids being educated, i can foresee that they only know how to open their ass, apply vaseoline and then let their govt screw when they grow up.

And you know why that sinkie scholar jump to his death after being rejected by a PRC girl? His life is only books, he learn his life in books.

And please dun dream about entrepreneurial spirits, sinkie dun have any if they are being brainwashed in such education for 20 years.

Of course Canadian kids do better in life, they received first world education that fit for a developed human being.

DearestGodlikeWarlord

So you're saying the Singaporeanse are in essence, born to fail? :wink::biggrin::wink:

They are not born to fail, but the "SYSTEM" is against them.

For example the typical Canadian, is out there working when they are 17 to 21 years old. These people may be armed with a grade 12, diploma or degree.

If you consider the high cost in Spore, the longer you are out of the job market, the costlier$$$ it is for your parents. Why burden Sporeans with "education' when they have to compete with foreigners & have to eventually in the words of the gov't 'upgrade' yourself :rolleyes: