• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ah Neh Heritage Centre

saratogas

What makes us a Sinkie? Preserving Culture and our roots?... So Gahment set up a Heritage Centre for Ah Nehs!

Singapore yesterday started a $9.69 million building an Indian Heritage Centre which will showcase trades and culture of early Indian settlers in the city state when completed in 2015.

The centre "will offer an immersive and interactive experience for all visitors, through multimedia displays which contain images and interviews, guiding devices ... tracing key migration patterns," said Singapore Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam at the ground breaking ceremony.

It is located in Serangoon Road or "Little India", a shopping precinct where one can find a wide range of shops and businesses dealing in Indian products and foods.

When completed, the centre would look like a "shining jewel" in the day and a welcoming "glowing lattern" in the night," said Shanmugaratnam on the centre's design.

Don't ever forget their caste system... many come here to be Higher class!

The centre would also feature a mixture of modern and traditional Indian architectural elements.

Artifacts and pictures of early days of the Indian migrants were being donated by the local Indians to the centre.

About 200 Indian community and business leaders attended the ground breaking ceremony that morning.

Singapore's links to the Indians go back to the early colonial days. The city state has an Indian population of over 500,000 and is one of the most popular destination for Indian tourists and businessmen.

Never forget their caste system...

It is just the beginning!!!

http://www.todayonline.com/voices/build-culture-first-ask-what-spores-goal

To build culture, first ask what S’pore’s goal is
I refer to this week’s VoicesTODAY topic, “How can we build a strong Singapore culture?” As a start, let us consider this in the context of a Mindshare survey last year that more than half of us apparently would migrate if given a choice. (Start with this Ah Neh Heritage Centre)

As a Singaporean, I am concerned about the implications. The answer to how we can build a strong Singapore culture should thus be based on how we can build Singapore as a nation. We must ask ourselves what Singapore’s eventual goal is.

To eventually rejoin Malaysia, and to sustain the country until that fateful day? Some letter writers discussed just that in 2009 in a local newspaper. If so, we can allow for the small group of citizens who do leave.

We would fill our economic needs with ready-made citizens; there will always be more who are keen. But this is not the answer and I am sure that our leaders do not think this way, either.

As a country, we must embody the idealism of building an inclusive society with love, patriotism and a unique Singapore identity. No citizen should feel that they would rather be a permanent resident here.

When we believe we are one nation, even a city of 6.9 million citizens would not feel crowded. There are denser cities in Asia where these issues are not prevalent. Therefore, we can rise to the challenge.

In concise terms, a strong Singapore culture is developed from a national identity constructed based on behaviours, values, language, institutions and physical structures.

All these aspects must expound the history and culture of the land and our people, concretise and protect the present, and ensure the future identity through master-planning and, most importantly, Singapore’s independence.

That is the “how”. The question that remains for us to answer, though, is what Singapore’s eventual goal should ideally be.

If they can't even preserve our Hawker Food, what makes you think they can preserve our Heritage....

Singapore yesterday started a $9.69 million building an Indian Heritage Centre which will showcase trades and culture of early Indian settlers in the city state when completed in 2015.

Malay Village has just been leveled. Now they are building an Indian Heritage Centre? :o

Why? Is Ah Neh calling the shots?

Ah great, I first smoked ganja at Indian PUB's centre where my friend lived! His uncles also smoked ganja! Will they feature this cultural tradition of our Hindu brothers?

How about drinking toddy & then lie flat on the "five foot way" or the drains? will that be another heritage?? heh heh heh or getting drunk come home & beat up the wife that the neighbor have to call the police..

I really do not mind if its to honour the Indian pioneers of Singapore. But I am very sure the newbies from Shitland will somehow hijack this for themselves.

own chinese dialect also don wan to preserve wana talk abt shits ...

How about drinking toddy & then lie flat on the "five foot way" or the drains? will that be another heritage?? heh heh heh or getting drunk come home & beat up the wife that the neighbor have to call the police..

I think the toddy was done away from home. If they drank at home, it was Johnny Walker Red. Never witnessed them beating their wives though but I saw one father and a few of his sons hantam one son who was a ladyboy. I think the family quite malu of him so they had this "honour" system of beating him up. Quite sad actually. That didn't change him though, he still went about the surrounding construction sites looking for patrons to satisfy.

Malay Village has just been leveled. Now they are building an Indian Heritage Centre? :o

Why? Is Ah Neh calling the shots?

Malay Village was a dead/dying place anyway. A white elephant and a concept of hare-brained scholars.

Had a school excursion there many years ago, but that's it.

It's boring, sterile and artificial. Typical of any place which had been meddled by the pappies.

Anjing Jah!, you cannot find a decent lampost to pee against issit?, so much come here to bark your racist crap? lol

You deserve another dog biscuit.

have a good one doggie :D

oh fuck when will the pandering to these filthy shit skins ever stop?

true laksaboy, but lets not let this detail deter racists from taking potshots at minorities lol.

Malay Village was a dead/dying place anyway. A white elephant and a concept of hare-brained scholars.

Had a school excursion there many years ago, but that's it.

It's boring, sterile and artificial. Typical of any place which had been meddled by the pappies.

Anjing Jah!, you cannot find a decent lampost to pee against issit?, so much come here to bark your racist crap? lol

Hahahaha . He still maintain his innocent that he's not racists ;) should we call him accidental racists the next time ? ;)

[video=youtube;6yVMik5Mfwk]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6yVMik5Mfwk&sns=em[/video]

[video=youtube;HRfjLfyXYlA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HRfjLfyXYlA&sns=em[/video]

Cool anti-racism rap .

[video=youtube;dZxXzJXRWvA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dZxXzJXRWvA&sns=em[/video]

andyfucker butt hurt ppl don't like your shit skinned race? Wasn't it you the one that called them shits too and the Chinese urines?

spore has urines, m&ds and shits.
I never denied it.

My wish is for all of us to live as one big happy family, not familee

Good doggie for picking up and following my posts. you must like to play fetch. Well done Jah :)

more dog biscuits for u lol

andyfucker butt hurt ppl don't like your shit skinned race? Wasn't it you the one that called them shits too and the Chinese urines?

spore has urines, m&ds and shits.
I never denied it.

My wish is for all of us to live as one big happy family, not familee

Good doggie for picking up and following my posts. you must like to play fetch. Well done Jah :)

more dog biscuits for u lol

Of course when i ask it to you like this you have to tell a lie but it's plain obvious to see you don't like chinese at all. You are the one following me.

Guys be nice. Remember the yesterdays when there was a clown called QXP? Talk very power...but kena whack and quietly disappear into oblivion. I have not been here in a very long time. Now it appears we have this Jah(mban) guy. He must be the resident clown in this forum. Enjoy his "garang"-ness. In real life, he is just a wanker. Probably no guts to confront the Ahnehs and the Mats. So KPKB online like that CB Amy Cheong. ;-)