• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A story that will either be hidden away or not reported at all by SPH or Mediacorp

GeylangCheongster

Re: A story that will either be hidden away or not reported at all by SPH or Mediacor

The same Bloomberg story got mention Business Times, Straight Times and Today lah

In fact it was Today which first reported the GIC $10 billion loss and the first to report UBS CEO resign

My problem with you is that when you use a spurious argument you dilute your case

Having said that, I want to say that Temasek and GIC are a bunch of idiots

THE_CHANSTER

Re: A story that will either be hidden away or not reported at all by SPH or Mediacor

In fact it was Today which first reported the GIC $10 billion loss and the first to report UBS CEO resign

The article was only released from Bloomberg at 5.48am GMT today by Netty Ismail so there is no way it would have made the print editions of the local press.
Today, BT and ST get most of their news "2nd hand" via news agencies such as Thomson Reuters, Associated Press and the BBC so they will never be the first to report anything (unless maybe if it occurred in Singapore).

that is part of CPF money gone for good. who is taking responsibility ?

Cruxx

that is part of CPF money gone for good. who is taking responsibility ?

There's no need for responsibility. 60% of Singaporeans are happy to see their hard earned savings being squandered.

vamjok

“If we consider a longer-term horizon, then some of the issues like what UBS faces today should not be seen as failed investments,” said Inderjit Singh <----yah stupid bahyi, your long term investment period is 100 years is it

Char_Azn

“In aggregate the financial investments have paid off, especially those in Asia,” said Rachel Ziemba, a director at Roubini Global Economics in London. “But the one in UBS continues to be a headache for GIC, both because of economic losses, but also perhaps because of the reputational risk.”

For all the crazy doom and gloom and how SG is bankrupt rumor just base on a single bad investment, GIC overall still makes money.

KuanTi01

“If we consider a longer-term horizon, then some of the issues like what UBS faces today should not be seen as failed investments,” said Inderjit Singh <----yah stupid bahyi, your long term investment period is 100 years is it

Well said. Haven't we heard of damage control & spin doctor. Mr Singh is the hatchet man here. Just like CPF at age 55, now it's more like CPF at 100 years; this will mean taking a long term view right into the coffin!

hairylee

Well said. Haven't we heard of damage control & spin doctor. Mr Singh is the hatchet man here. Just like CPF at age 55, now it's more like CPF at 100 years; this will mean taking a long term view right into the coffin!

Yes, agree. This bayi is nothing but a hatchet man.

ya, man! ...

juz like, any investment made in lehmann bros oso cannot n shud not b seen as failed investments on a longer-term horizon! ... :mad: