There is a quota for this. You need to get a residency permit first. Think you will qualify for the residency permit. After certain years, you can apply for citizenship. The only foreigner I know personally who became a Thai citizen is a French guy. One of the criteria is you must be able to speak/read/write Thai at primary school level and sing the national anthem.
Additional information, in many road blocks in upcountry, the Thai police (MIB) will ask the suspects to sing the national anthem if they are suspect of being an illegal immigrant holding Thai IDs.
Hey erection2011 if you can sing back to front you are in fro a real hard-on because they will elevate you into the royalty.
I guess different people has their own reasons. For me its personal and differs from others and I am actually thinking very hard to do so. But then I have the advantage of a stable livelihood here and here for the long haul. Also wife and I had already decided that we will make Thailand our base for the rest of our lives. Plan perhaps is for me to get citizenship and wife remain Singapore citizen. Anyway its still too early. May happen in 5 yours though.
Right, it's 100. And this 100 is split into countries/regions which means if there are many people applying from the same country as you, the chance is lower. If there are no people from your country applying, you stand a high chance. Another criteria is how much the applicant has contribute to LOS. Now you know why some farangs do charity and let the whole world know.
Personally, feel that a LOS citizenship is not necessary unless you intend to own a large plot of land or business.
Japanese way of doing biz is more straight forward than in LOS. Never restrict oneself. I know of a Pattaya based American teacher now moving into Myanmar to do business.yes you are 100% right ..different people has their own reasons . for me whichever country benefit me and my business ..i will go . currently japan have not let me down ..so i just stay on ...but i still have thai passport if plan A fails
why are those farangs all dying to become los citizens i wonder.
The farangs that became LOS citizens probably have business interests and most of their countries allow dual/multiple citizenship.Initially I was thinking of getting citizenship from Canada or Australia. What was attractive was the good healthcare system, stability, network of friends & relatives,... They also look after their citizens. If you get into trouble abroad, you can expect them to come to your aid.
However I'm running out of time & I think the lifestyle in LOS should be OK.
Thought Royal Orchid Gold can masuk SQ lounger.
why are those farangs all dying to become los citizens i wonder.
However I'm running out of time & I think the lifestyle in LOS should be OK.
There is no need to restrict oneself to one particular country or place. Even in LOS, there are still many places I have yet to explore.
Have some small investments in rice/fruits farming in the north east/eastern region and this allow me to travel once in a while. Yes, no matter how vibrant or exciting Pattaya is, there are times I need to get out of Pattaya for awhile.
BKK is a place I am thinking for a long time for biz investment but nothing have come out yet. Hopefully, can come out with something soon so can have reason to visit BKK more often. :p
Pii Johnny333 please don't talk like this leh, pretty scarry la "running out of time" chey, tai-kat-lai-see
johnny,Living & Working in Spore takes a toll on one's health :o
I don't expect to up the lorry, but worry about ending up an invalid like the old leaf. I'm sure that some have noticed that he's been very quiet
So want to enjoy life as much as possible before ending up like those old men you find in the void decks
My definition of enjoyment is to do things I really like and not worry too much, not necessary spending money or travelling.
many 'steal eat' types.....dun get caught doing a cantona hor.....its just now worth it.Hey you guys should check out
http://www.singtip.com/
It's a site where the thai community in sg keeps in touch. Seen many thai gals married to sinkie guys.
many 'steal eat' types.....dun get caught doing a cantona hor.....its just now worth it.
how do you know? They look familiar to you?
Actually i see their faces they look quite chio and those types that club.
'Steal eat' can be anyone, any sex, any age and any profession. Many times, the least expected ones turn out to 'steal eat'. Majority of those 'steal eat' I know personally are male with certain level of success in their careers.many 'steal eat' types.....dun get caught doing a cantona hor.....its just now worth it.