• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Was brought to a restaurant off Rom Klao (near to the Suvarnabhumbi Airport) today for lunch. Its in a nice natural environment. I'd like to share what we had this afternoon:

First the drinks of course:

FA88DFFA-A041-42D2-974C-FA40FF5C3E81-228-0000008F83C423E4.jpg

Apple Soda with Lemongrass

26532851-63F8-4B91-AADF-582AC7A73253-228-0000008F4B27E48A.jpg

The legendary Singha of course (2 bottles)

The Environment
63A1B678-F9B7-4C24-B283-B4E9CB2AD53A-228-0000008EA977DF33.jpg

387A0A82-21AC-4CC0-B590-3EA4F570BABB-228-0000008F0BEA45F7.jpg

Inside Dining
475DF731-B8D7-4146-840F-C0ACE4EEF926-228-0000008ECBDD32FB.jpg

Outside Dining
422FBC51-F879-4CB1-8F8A-7EC18DDAA26C-228-0000008EBD95220B.jpg

The Food

F887FD84-B154-4106-953C-FFC96E14C946-228-0000008E9A0E8A83.jpg

Spaghetti Thai style ladden with lots of Thai natural herbs

40E713AE-B0AC-480B-9BD8-B545BBB4FF0D-228-0000008E9E2B9414.jpg

Dory Fish with sweet sour sauce

D6C4BC2A-8D57-4B48-ABB5-8A7907FDB464-228-0000008EE46BD145.jpg

Prawns with Lemongrass and other herbs

D7280ADC-FAFF-43AB-B522-D271D1704563-228-0000008F30CEC353.jpg

Pork Jerky Salad

5D8F56A2-D2ED-4B8E-9EFF-BCB2878DA95F-228-0000008ED67D89C6.jpg

Chicken Wings

All these with the drinks = S$40, was a nice lunch

Was brought to a restaurant off Rom Klao (near to the Suvarnabhumbi Airport) today for lunch. Its in a nice natural environment. I'd like to share what we had this afternoon:

First the drinks of course:

All these with the drinks = S$40, was a nice lunch

Hehehe. Looks delicious!

An interesting traditional dish eaten by Thais at the start of the meal is a herb charged dish known as "Miang Kam". This is rare to most foreigners as it is not commonly sold in the food centres and road sides as its only eaten at home or in some traditional restaurants. Today lunch in office I had the change to eat this again and I thought I show you guys this very interesting food.

It is normally serve on a place laden roasted coconut strips, fresh lime, shallots, chucky ginger, roasted peanuts, fresh chilli padi, haybee (dried prawns). A bowl of palm syrup with "secret ingredients" will be added later.

0543C745-DA3D-4985-AC97-1B27AB763DDD-2008-0000015FE311D039.jpg

Close up
35CC0D75-E0F3-452C-9E6A-10D9FED60AD5-2008-0000015FC46C8294.jpg

The way to eat is to mix all up in the leaf that you form into a cone like this with the sauce added on top
261010F2-D44F-4C4F-A0D5-03C0E1629C56-2008-0000015FFEBC330C.jpg

Finally you fold it up and ready to makan
650A9DB0-9937-4CDB-926F-75C8A2C6DB38-2008-0000015F9D09CE49.jpg

This is like a snack before or during the main meal. Taste wise it the leaf is a little bitter but coupled with all the other herb inside and the sauce it is a little sweet and sour all at the same time. Taste really nice.

Hey anyone know how local can use iphone5 for LOS since its not launched there yet....the macro sim thingy
Hehehe. Don't worry. I also don't know how the macro or micro sim works. All can say is just saw two ip5 hours ago when just had dinner with a fellow bro moments ago. Of course my
S3 also no lose face. Blame it on the camera man lah.

Can the ip5 owner post the pics of dinner please. Heheheh.

Have to go pick up small one now. pai seh. Will post my pic later. And also thanks for the wonderful dinner and HENNESSY. :smile:

knn, you all won't believe it. I have to go back to Bali hi again cos' small one is with friends there but cannot ride motor.

Hey anyone know how local can use iphone5 for LOS since its not launched there yet....the macro sim thingy

Pii Natong very simple, go AIS just ask them to change its free. Wife and I using iPhone 5 now with AIS issued nano SIM. Other service provider I don't know but I assume they are ready too.

Luckily I took this photo during the exchange

7F3DA431-F20E-41C5-8290-11CD813954B7-1222-00000149CBB7E74C.jpg

Ok thanks for the info bro....
LOS better than sinkie telcos....change sim no need charge.
Gf is visiting next week that's why..

Pii Natong very simple, go AIS just ask them to change its free. Wife and I using iPhone 5 now with AIS issued nano SIM. Other service provider I don't know but I assume they are ready too.

Luckily I took this photo during the exchange

7F3DA431-F20E-41C5-8290-11CD813954B7-1222-00000149CBB7E74C.jpg

Just finished dinner with Chonnat Pattaya. Now still on the road to Bangkok. Nangnual Seafood restaurant should be the best restaurant on Walking Street. Arrived early 5.30pm need to start early as need to get back to Bangkok.

Just in time for sunset
65ABD5C6-2F22-4C26-BE64-F6DF4255A129-2278-0000018EFBECB439.jpg

Highlight special dish Lobster Cheese
79D79CCC-6F5D-428F-A110-CDD42F11E626-2278-0000018F74B15736.jpg

267DD737-3EFA-44FC-9D41-8852E25CEC7F-2278-0000018F98E10717.jpg

3E76735F-821C-42D5-A054-880DFD584466-2278-0000018FF7D8F73D.jpg

208A4292-B12C-44CF-8C89-82C00C618C77-2278-00000190103D6F11.jpg

Sweet Sour Garoupa
5F346E23-F5DE-45B4-A513-88958E144741-2278-000001904C33F610.jpg

284A4F92-34F5-4FEC-80AF-B43591740ACB-2278-000001906686E2D7.jpg

BBQ hum
91E2D646-6875-4294-BA9A-4C7479AD1DFF-2278-00000190DD89FE3B.jpg

E416343B-D639-466F-9B75-CBED12259031-2278-00000191014A58EC.jpg

Vege
7C467123-4831-40DA-900F-6962E8BC33DF-2278-00000191984AD472.jpg

4DB4E7FC-3435-4E17-9EF2-1B858EC87A24-2278-00000191D28AF2FC.jpg

Had cray fish and crab fried rice

Almost finish this 1L bastard
C90D2858-4C6E-4F53-A2BF-A1846CCE75A2-2278-000001924C79351E.jpg

how much u paid for the lobster? looks nice...

It goes by weight la. Don't know how much it costs. But the whole meal costs 6,236 baht (S$250) without the brandy, I brought the brandy there. Meal is not expensive.

Light dinner tonight at Somtan Nua, along the Kaset Nawamin Lay Pra Kao junction. Nice restaurant more like a pub with live band

DC2957A9-6A04-4EA7-89B0-97B950F69ED2-2437-000002700459A9AC.jpg

5F43E23C-5FF6-4CF7-9D7D-BD930F091EEE-2437-0000026FFC5A1B75.jpg

The band
801C7E6E-E1A6-4EF6-9E37-50A44BCE83CD-2437-00000270190033EB.jpg

Its night time so the photos above a little dark

Simply 4 dishes with a soup

3A3C974E-2EDA-4F24-9429-D28C1A359DE4-2437-0000026DEBD39F6C.jpg

Somtam with Fresh Raw Crab (Somtam PU)

DFDC9BAB-749D-45B1-A568-8093405F0DA9-2437-0000026DE1A6F81B.jpg

Somtam with Thai fermented noodles (Tam Sua)

209EE9ED-A678-460F-A6FA-6CB125C70373-2437-0000026E047F46C7.jpg

Traditional Isaan Soup with lots of herbs and a little pork (Tom Saeb)

3ACE3232-7CF9-4C2D-83FF-30C4BA0F23A9-2437-0000026E0E469E25.jpg

Tom Saeb closed up (pretty spicy soup)

2886D730-8583-45D5-BE42-0DE3F6B44457-2437-0000026E2B57E768.jpg

Deep Fried Seabass with caramelized fish sauce (Pra Kapong Thod Nam Pla)

3927DDF0-D200-4DD6-9E2A-08DEB508DA64-2437-0000026E34F2B05C.jpg

Closed up

DB8BDC5C-BD49-43D4-87B5-A342C25437C6-2437-0000026E532D8365.jpg

Chicken Wings to go with this

A50BBA8A-7791-4AB0-934C-403CBD11A345-2437-000002701FDCA3AD.jpg

and this

88204238-348E-4167-82B1-1D6C6DCFB7D9-2437-0000026E7D53A8BD.jpg

C794F1E4-8E2E-4611-85C0-A8A1B64803C0-2437-0000027203EEBBA0.jpg

yinyang

Light dinner tonight at Somtan Nua, along the Kaset Nawamin Lay Pra Kao junction. Nice restaurant more like a pub with live band
Recall I was there back in 2009. But then missed out on Tiger promo (best live menu specimen):p