• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Question Of Salts

Nowadays, there's a health rage going on against salt. Less salt please or no salt please seems to be the mantra for healthy eating.

Since childhood, I've been drinking cola with a dab of salt. I saw many adults doing that, and they claimed that it's a healthier and more delicious way of drinking cola. I gave it a try and never looked back.

When I lived in the US, my American friends frowned disapprovingly when I asked for an extra satchet of salt at the Mc's counter. They thought I was going to use it on the fries, but were visibly taken aback when I emptied it into my cola. Is it really unhealthy to continue with such practice?

Another salt that has been with me since childhood is Eno fruit salt. Once again, I was told it was healthy. I gave it a try and have no complaint.

y worry now? ...

u oredi eaten so much mor salt than young punks eat rice ...

y worry now? ...

u oredi eaten so much mor salt than young punks eat rice ...

You know why I brought this up? Last year, after reading too much health articles, I decided to cut the salt habit. No salt here no salt there. No more salt in my cola. Even for fries, I'd tell Mc to pack my fries before sprinkling salt. For Chinese and Japanese food, no more soy sauce.

A few months later, I felt very ill and weak, hardly the finger strength to lift a cup of tea. Then one day, I collapsed, semi-conscious. I was ambulanced to hospital and warded; salt deficiency and low blood pressure.

For two days and two nights in hospital bed, I was fed with nothing but potassium drip. We all know it's a salt just like sodium, better quality perhaps. By the third day, I was revitalised enough to take solid food.

While it's true I've overdone myself in the abstinence from salt, I think that the anti-salt health scare is being overdone too. Anyway, after discharge from hospital, I've gone back to my salt habits feeling fine.

If u r an active sportsman, you will lose more salt than the average person through sweating. So you need to replenish your salt more than others.

As long as you have balanced meals frequently, and every thing in moderation, you should be fine with excercise.

More Salt, less salt, more tea, less tea, more coffee, less coffe....blah, blah blah.......depend on who is paying the author to write the article at that point in time.

You know why I brought this up? Last year, after reading too much health articles, I decided to cut the salt habit. No salt here no salt there. No more salt in my cola.

Are you hiding your other bad habits and put the blame on salt?

And how long have you been in this low salt diet to seriously cause your body to malfunction?

I know lot's of diabetes patient are on a prolong diet of low salt diet. Won't they are being chartered to hospital and put on drips regularly. ;)

I have never understood why people put salt into cola drinks or on fruits.
What purpose does it serve?
Tried it and concluded that it doesn't taste better.

This is the first time I've heard of someone needing to be hospitalise because of lack of salt :eek:

The thing that we should all cut back on is sugar. It is sugar that is causing an increase in type II diabetes among adults. With type II diabetes one is more susceptible to problems with the heart & blindness.

I have never understood why people put salt into cola drinks or on fruits.
What purpose does it serve?
Tried it and concluded that it doesn't taste better.

Sprinkling it over pineapple is suppose to reduce the sting you get when eating pineapples. The uncomfotable feeling of the tongue.

Putting it in cola is to reduce the acidity??

Are you hiding your other bad habits and put the blame on salt?

No intention to hide anything, but it was the doctor who told me that my condition was caused by low salt level in turn causing low blood pressure.

Anyway, since you asked, I was a one-pack puffer and six-pack beer guzzler per day for many years, with or without salt or anti-salt diet. Confessing that to the doctor caused me extended stay in the hospital for CT scan, which caused me nightmares on the night before the morning scan. What if my lungs are in trouble? What if my liver and kidneys are in trouble?

Fortunately, the scan showed all my organs are fine. But of course, the doctor advised me to quit both alcohol and tobacco. I haven't quit totally as yet, but I've cut down by half by now. I intend to quit tobacco totally but not alcohol. I'd still like to enjoy a glass of beer, wine or liquor now and then. I've gotten rid of binge drinking already though.

And how long have you been in this low salt diet to seriously cause your body to malfunction?

I think it was through three to four months as symptons of illness and weakness gradually built up and showed.

I know lot's of diabetes patient are on a prolong diet of low salt diet. Won't they are being chartered to hospital and put on drips regularly. ;)

My case has nothing to do with diabetes. I thought diabetics are supposed to be on low sugar diet for solid food since the the blood can't absorb the sugar because of natural sugar digestion malfunction, but require injection or drip direct into bloodstream for the sugar level required by the blood?

u poodle run here run there catch theif one no need to worry about diet one.

Salt to me is "kiam" in hokkien and also means "suay", when I kanna 3rd time recently by NEA, Kanna fine $700 + 5HRS CWO.Total I have paid $1400 fine in 2 years.:mad:

Btw, I smoke 1 pack lights and beer everyday except when I am driving, dun know how to appreciate hard liquor. Wine is ok and I like to mix with beer.

I drink a lot of green tea,whether hot or beverage can after every meal. I have my dosage of Vit C to back me up on my sinus. Cut down to 2 meals a day,bopian want to sian charbor!

I have been wanting to quit smoking but failed,the longest i have quitted is for a month.:o

i think you are too presumptuous to dismiss the dangers of a high sodium diet. Different people have different body types and it is always good to eat in moderation. Eliminating salt from your diet is a silly idea. So is drinking coke with it {sorry I'm just frank}.

One thing I have to warn you is that smoking kills the tastebuds so we tend to eat food that is sweeter and saltier than normal. That is another danger of smoking.

Salt to me is "kiam" in hokkien and also means "suay", when I kanna 3rd time recently by NEA, Kanna fine $700 + 5HRS CWO.Total I have paid $1400 fine in 2 years.:mad:

I can't claim that I've never littered before but only occasionally and never got caught before. You sure are a litterbug to get caught so many times.

Btw, I smoke 1 pack lights and beer everyday except when I am driving, dun know how to appreciate hard liquor. Wine is ok and I like to mix with beer.

Can't appreciate liquor like scotch? How to support Scotland?

Wine mixed with beer? :confused: No wonder you sound mixed up.

for me, i dun like sweet stuff. My first cup of coffee every morning consist of coffee mate and sugar, in the day, I prefer kopiO with little sugar. When I am hungry, I eat digestive biscuits apart from my 2 meals.

The only problem i have with food is I Like burgers from burger King or McDonald, even so for Mc, I will limit to Filet O' Fish meal.:D

i think you are too presumptuous to dismiss the dangers of a high sodium diet. Different people have different body types and it is always good to eat in moderation. Eliminating salt from your diet is a silly idea. So is drinking coke with it {sorry I'm just frank}.

One thing I have to warn you is that smoking kills the tastebuds so we tend to eat food that is sweeter and saltier than normal. That is another danger of smoking.

Anyway, since you asked, I was a one-pack puffer and six-pack beer guzzler per day for many years, with or without salt or anti-salt diet.
I thought diabetics are supposed to be on low sugar diet for solid food since the the blood can't absorb the sugar because of natural sugar digestion malfunction, but require injection or drip direct into bloodstream for the sugar level required by the blood?

Jizz, I am on 3 pack beer daily for many years too. You makes me feel holy. :D
Anyway, depending on your body size, for me this is my limit.

Diabetes has many types, my nephew was on a low salt diet throughout his teen.

for me, i dun like sweet stuff. My first cup of coffee every morning consist of coffee mate and sugar, in the day, I prefer kopiO with little sugar. When I am hungry, I eat digestive biscuits apart from my 2 meals.

The only problem i have with food is I Like burgers from burger King or McDonald, even so for Mc, I will limit to Filet O' Fish meal.:D

you should also stop sucking cocks.

I dun think I am litterbug category, imagine just finish my 1st CWO and get caught the next day again! and was due to my ignorance that drain cannot dump my ciggy bud. What can I say!!!:mad:

Serious, I dun know how appreciate Whisky,scotch and cognac type of alcohol.
I Like beer,stout and wine. Mixing beer and wine will cause serious hangover but I am ok, I like the feeling of world circling ard me.:p

I can't claim that I've never littered before but only occasionally and never got caught before. You sure are a litterbug to get caught so many times.

Can't appreciate liquor like scotch? How to support Scotland?

Wine mixed with beer? :confused: No wonder you sound mixed up.