• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A person wearing a tie & Long-sLeeved shirt commands more respect..

Blokes having to wear a long sleeve shirt and a tie are mostly workers and employees. Even the so-called "bosses" (eg. managers, executives etc.) are all wage earners. Real bosses and business owners don't usually bother much about attire. For myself, I wear a polo t-shirt and chinos / jeans to work everyday. My staff are free to wear jeans and t-shirts to work. Just no shorts and bermudas.
depends on the type of industry.......its not to command respect per se but some for industry you need to project a professional image. Even a billionaire boss dun go to a press conference dressed in his weekend wear.

People who wear 2 piece suits and no time command no respects, eg. our MP and Ministers. When u show up in Parliament and cannot even put a tie on, you are just a lazy asshole and disrespecting the solemn institution of the Parliament. People who wear 2 piece suits and no tie, are usually at the end of a long work day and relaxing for drinks in a restaurant or lounge. That's not how they show up for work. Being paid multimillion dollar salary, u would think it would kill them to put a tie on.

Also, people who wear pink dress shirts all the time with their business attire also command no respect. I am talking to u Gay Loong.

1. bro, even if ah pink comes in with some 2-pc or 3-pc.
2. it just does not command any respect hoh.
3. plus the pinky attire, it loses all credibility.
4. standing next to its butchman, it has the worst image!

The character of the person will earn the Admiration of his peers rather than his tie.:o

Agree with Narong - dress code relates to the occasion , the place etc and goes in line with respect and courtesy. One is missing the point if one talks about wearing casual, smart casual or a suit in your work.

Few are trendsetters but most are trend followers. Then we have clowns who don't know how to dress at all.

The trend is to wear chinos and t shirts in the work place and to switch to smart causal or to don a tie when meeting clients. Everyone wants to emulate silicon valley and thats fine. It does not mean that you are cool or a trendsetter, just a follower like many of us.

Fashion is one thing that is not dictated by you or me but society as a whole and a tiny minority that have the means (influence) to set a trend.

Does that notion stiLL hoLd any water today ?..or perhaps it was the way we were raised to give more attention & respect to peopLe who donned them in those days..;)
Hack, i have not been wearing one since my nephew's wedding, aLways being more comfortabLe with
my coLLared T's, bermuda's, jeans & pants..:)

You go to Sim Lim Square any ah-neh shop buy thumbdrive you'll be served by him in tie and long-sleeved. I'm not sure if he'll command your respect though.

A man with singlet and bow-tie combie usually commands more respect. Girls usually jizz in their panties when they see a man in this high-powered attire.

no true
the tie and long sleeve attire
was invented by the powers that wish to control us
the tie is like a rope around your neck (collARED AND "obey")
THEY SUBCONSCIOUSLY TRYING TO INSTILL subservent attitude in the masses
which they treat like cattle

that is why Billionaire Richard Branson REFUSE to wear a tie
becos he KNEW wat it was for

This is brilliant. Didn't know this. Never really thought about it...

no true
the tie and long sleeve attire
was invented by the powers that wish to control us
the tie is like a rope around your neck (collARED AND "obey")
THEY SUBCONSCIOUSLY TRYING TO INSTILL subservent attitude in the masses
which they treat like cattle

that is why Billionaire Richard Branson REFUSE to wear a tie
becos he KNEW wat it was for

No wonder Steve Jobs wear turtle-neck and jeans niah.

When I go for a casual meeting, my assistant will go with a shirt and tie and I will go with a shirt with collar unbuttoned. On formal occasions, I may need to put on a 马褂 but those are very rare occasions indeed.

When I go for avcasual meeting, my assistant will go with a shirt and tie and I will go with a shirt with collar unbuttoned. On formal occasions, I may need to put on a 马褂 but those are very rare occasions indeed.
i am partial to safari suits for formal occasions.......i think real men can carry a safari suit well

You mean like this high powered Ah neh?
safari.jpg
(He came up tops when i googled @safari Suits) --- You have mustache?, Its seems to be a must-have with a safari suit.

One thing I cant stand is compared to Ang Mor land,,the PAP parliamentarians all well proper suit and tie and in sinkieland,,,they just wear normal, expect respect to them to be given, and treat the people with disdain. However I was told that when LKY 1st came to power, he change the dress code to so as not to appear to atas to the common man,,(yeah right) To me he is just lazy and our PAP MPs dress low class due to lazyness, and like what some forumners say even Ah Beng and AH Ned sales man in Sim Lim wear shirt and tie..

Man we cant even get the PAP MPs to attend parliament,,,so for dressing in sinkieland,,PAP really screw things up...just my rant lah

Agree with Narong - dress code relates to the occasion , the place etc and goes in line with respect and courtesy. One is missing the point if one talks about wearing casual, smart casual or a suit in your work.

Few are trendsetters but most are trend followers. Then we have clowns who don't know how to dress at all.

The trend is to wear chinos and t shirts in the work place and to switch to smart causal or to don a tie when meeting clients. Everyone wants to emulate silicon valley and thats fine. It does not mean that you are cool or a trendsetter, just a follower like many of us.

Fashion is one thing that is not dictated by you or me but society as a whole and a tiny minority that have the means (influence) to set a trend.

One thing I cant stand is compared to Ang Mor land,,the PAP parliamentarians all well proper suit and tie and in sinkieland,,,they just wear normal, expect respect to them to be given, and treat the people with disdain. However I was told that when LKY 1st came to power, he change the dress code to so as not to appear to atas to the common man,,(yeah right) To me he is just lazy and our PAP MPs dress low class due to lazyness, and like what some forumners say even Ah Beng and AH Ned sales man in Sim Lim wear shirt and tie..

Man we cant even get the PAP MPs to attend parliament,,,so for dressing in sinkieland,,PAP really screw things up...just my rant lah

As I've said a million times, Singaporeans have no sense of aesthetics. Who cares if one wears cheap new balance shoes in parliament? Power is all that matters. One can be rude, ugly and downright callous in this non-cuntry but he can never be without power. To be a sinkie is to be condemned to an emotionally stunted existence. There is simply no Singlish equivalent of "Joie de vivre". :rolleyes:

1. aiyoh!
2. bro, honest if ever i don a safari thing.
3. i literally convert myself into a young uncle image!