• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious A Jurong resident shares her view about PAP and asked do they really care for the people & with the people?

Sounds like those ONS Liao with a Sinki man, wake up next day and kpkb as regretted piak

Experts now recommend a 12-month emergency fund. Here’s how to quickly save thousands in cash.​

Economists worry a recession will start in the next few months. There’s still time to beef up your emergency fund by thousands of dollars with these aggressive — but temporary — changes.​

By

Venessa Wong
Follow

Published: April 12, 2025 at 10:00 a.m. ET

As economic uncertainty rises, some financial planners suggest bumping up emergency savings to cover 12 months of necessary expenses — and to do it quickly.
As economic uncertainty rises, some financial planners suggest bumping up emergency savings to cover 12 months of necessary expenses — and to do it quickly.PHOTO: MARKETWATCH PHOTO ILLUSTRATION/ISTOCKPHOTO

Referenced Symbols​

Many personal-finance experts were already warning that a cash emergency-savings account covering three months of necessary expenses in case of unemployment was likely too little for today’s job market — recommending a six-month buffer instead.

Now, as President Donald Trump’s tariff plans increase economists’ expectations of a recession and sent the Nasdaq

COMP
+2.06%

and Russell 2000

RUT
+1.57%

stock indexes dipping into bear-market territory last week, some financial planners are suggesting bumping up those savings to cover a whopping 12 months of necessary expenses, and say it needs to happen quickly — especially if you are in an industry or occupation that has few job openings or are the sole earner in your household.

Moody’s Analytics Chief Economist Mark Zandi put the chance of a recession at 60% even after Trump announced a 90-day pause on “reciprocal” tariffs for dozens of countries. The markets rebounded briefly this week, but if the president doesn’t change course on tariffs in the next four to six weeks, “we’re done,” Zandi told MarketWatch. “I suspect by June, we will see job loss.”

Jurong People knows which side the bread is buttered ... they want to be on that "right side" to enjoy the benefit.

1744547072364.png

SM Lee urges S’poreans to work together as one Team Singapore amid challenging global environment​

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong addressing residents at Cheng San Market & Cooked Food Centre on April 12.

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong speaking to Ang Mo Kio residents at a community event at Cheng San Market and Cooked Food Centre on April 12.ST PHOTO: AZMI ATHNI
Chin Soo Fang
UPDATED APR 13, 2025, 05:31 AM

SINGAPORE – Singaporeans need to work together as one Team Singapore in order to face a challenging external environment, including the latest US tariffs and China’s reciprocal moves, and their impact on global trade, said Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

“Those are all external problems, and what we can do about them is to work together domestically at home, to be one team, one Team Singapore, so that we can deal with them as one people, one nation,” said SM Lee.

“We have the responsibility to protect our home, our future, our countrymen... working together to give Singapore a better tomorrow.”

SM Lee urges S’poreans to work together as one Team Singapore amid challenging global environment​

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong addressing residents at Cheng San Market & Cooked Food Centre on April 12.

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong speaking to Ang Mo Kio residents at a community event at Cheng San Market and Cooked Food Centre on April 12.ST PHOTO: AZMI ATHNI
Chin Soo Fang

UPDATED APR 13, 2025, 05:31 AM
SINGAPORE – Singaporeans need to work together as one Team Singapore in order to face a challenging external environment, including the latest US tariffs and China’s reciprocal moves, and their impact on global trade, said Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

“Those are all external problems, and what we can do about them is to work together domestically at home, to be one team, one Team Singapore, so that we can deal with them as one people, one nation,” said SM Lee.
“We have the responsibility to protect our home, our future, our countrymen... working together to give Singapore a better tomorrow.”
sor hai still not retired yet. Sor hai is sor hai