• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

81-Year-Old Hawker Sells Chwee Kueh At Taman Jurong From 6am Daily

i believe it depend which country we are in if in sg there nothing much those retire pioneers can do because there no help from the gahmen and many end up pushing trolley collecting boxes to karang guni just to buy food for the day.

if in other countries even in malaysia the pioneers there can retire gracefully. in Australia the retired people can do alot of things like gardening, meet up with friends drink coffee and eat cakes chatting at shopping centre of take cruise eery year :smile:
Everyone in malaysia has a car. So elderly can find anyone they want. Sinkies crawl to busstop . Pray you dont fall on the way.

LOL, Mediacock's 8days had quite the nerve. :rolleyes:

Look at the Hunchback of Notre Dame Taman Jurong: very youthful indeed. :whistling:

taman-jurong-chwee-kueh--3-.jpg
Oh yes i can tell by her back very healthy. One fall walking to take public transport and up lorry

By the way, putting a 'no pork' or 'no lard' sign doesn't work. Most Muslims look for the halal symbol/certification. The more anal ones want the business to be Muslim-owned. :wink:

Also, the standard price of chwee kway these days is one for $0.50. Three for $1 is quite impressive. Then again Taman Jurong isn't a CBD or touristy area, the rent must be lower.

In addition, many chwee kway stalls today sell chwee kway that were pre-made by machines, particularly this so-called 'Bedok' franchise, with outlets everywhere. So much for UNESCO 'hawker culture'. :rolleyes:

Bedok%2BChwee%2BKueh%2B1.jpg
Old license 800dollars. Then they up by a few hundred. Young punk takes license wven higher than that. Charge at that price they die. Charge higher we all die

Sinkies are a "proud" race. They would turn down freebies fm garment. They feel tat those sicks, old, handicapped should just die. Solvent green they said. Cos they feel its a waste of tax payers money. They feel tat sinkies should work till they drop dead! Still die die vote for same garment since independence day. Tell me lah...which garment of the day wouldnt love such proud citizens? :roflmao: :roflmao:

Yes in Singapore the leaders "take care" of the old and infirm but only after they take very good care of themselves first! In the meantime the old if they can, should continue to work until they drop dead.

By the way, putting a 'no pork' or 'no lard' sign doesn't work. Most Muslims look for the halal symbol/certification. The more anal ones want the business to be Muslim-owned. :wink:

Also, the standard price of chwee kway these days is one for $0.50. Three for $1 is quite impressive. Then again Taman Jurong isn't a CBD or touristy area, the rent must be lower.

In addition, many chwee kway stalls today sell chwee kway that were pre-made by machines, particularly this so-called 'Bedok' franchise, with outlets everywhere. So much for UNESCO 'hawker culture'. :rolleyes:

That's what I've been saying.. But someone says it's meant for vegetarians.. LOL

Yes in Singapore the leaders "take care" of the old and infirm but only after they take very good care of themselves first! In the meantime the old if they can, should continue to work until they drop dead.

As long as they are happy doing what they love, it's all good.

Just remember to prepare the will beforehand and make sure all post-death arrangements are made. :thumbsup:

man-eating-outside.jpg
4671d6dc1d5436f8b9384d2d7533517b.jpg

30750077_-_14_02_2014_-_zycard.jpg

K.N.N.

This stall gots extra pricing.

KNN They charged for extra ingredients,
separated ingredients,
extra chilli,
etc.

I am ok with no pork, no lard signage as it cost money to get the premise halal certified.

View attachment 99753

t first glance, 81-year-old hawker Peng Ah Bah appears too frail for his laborious job. He’s completely hunched over as he potters around his neat, sparse stall in Taman Jurong, where he sells chwee kueh every day from 6am. The traditional Teochew snack consists of soft steamed rice cakes, topped with savoury chye poh (preserved turnips) and chilli.

View attachment 99752

A stall with no name

Ah Bah’s stall has no name. Its signboard is emblazoned with the generic Chinese words for chwee kueh (which is why his regulars simply call it “Taman Jurong chwee kueh”). When 8days.sg dropped by the stall, we were greeted by the surprisingly robust elderly man, who took our order by heartily booming in Hokkien: “How many you want?” We repeated ourselves a couple of times, ’cos uncle is a little hard of hearing.

But when we requested to take his photo, a pleased Ah Bah sprang up from his hunched posture, pulled down his mask and placed his hands assertively on his counter. “Come, come take my photo,” beamed our twinkly-eyed model. “Wah, he must be damn havoc last time,” our dining companion muttered.

https://www.8days.sg/eatanddrink/81...-chwee-kueh-at-taman-jurong-from-6am-13843494

Why didn't the old fart double his prices? PAP worked very hard to give his traditional food UNESCO status.

That's what I've been saying.. But someone says it's meant for vegetarians.. LOL

I know it is for vegetarians because I have one living with me and she buys chwee kuey with chai poh only.

Vegetarians will not buy food from non vegetarian stalls... That's a fact!

Your "facts" are getting wilder and more ridiculous. My vegetarian friend just had a vegetarian meal from Papa Rich last night.

https://papparich.co.nz/menu/

There are 11 vegetarian items on the menu and they are very popular with those that don't want to eat murdered animals.

Papa Rich is not a vegetarian stall. It serves all sorts of dishes.